فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل تحتكر مياه نهر الأردن، وآن أوان تقاسمها

إسرائيل تحتكر مياه نهر الأردن، وآن أوان تقاسمها

Jordan River
حجاج مسيحيون إنجيليون من البرازيل يلوحون بأياديهم أثناء صلاتهم في أحد طقوس التعميد الجماعية في مياه نهر الأردن بمنطقة ياردينت شمال إسرائيل يوم ١٢ أكتوبر ٢٠١٩. المصدر: GALI TIBBON / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON

نشر موقع “The Conversation” مقالةً سلطت الضوء على السياسة التي تتبعها إسرائيل على مستوى التحكم بالموارد المائية الخاصة بنهر الأردن. ويقوم صاحبا المقالة مارك زيتون، أستاذ الأمان المائي بجامعة “إيست أنغليا”، ومنى دجاني، طالبة الدكتوراه في السياسات البيئية والتنمية بكلية لندن للاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية، بسرد الأمثلة على هذه السياسة ومنها تخزين المياه واحتكار مياه بحيرة طبريا وحرمان غزة من المياه العذبة.

وكان الأردن قد استعاد مؤخراً منطقتين اعتاد الإسرائيليون زراعتهما لما يزيد عن خمسين سنة. وتحمل المنطقة الأولى اسم الغمر (تُعرف بتسوفار في إسرائيل)، وهي تقع في جنوب البحر الميت في صحراء النقب، أما المنطقة الثانية فاسمها الباقورة (نهاريم) وتقع في بقعةٍ خصبة يتصل بها أحد روافد نهر الأردن الرئيسية.

ويرى زيتون ودجاني أن هاتين المنطقتين لم يكن ليتم احتلالهما في الأصل لولا مياههما التي يحتاج إليها الجيش الإسرائيلي والكيبوتسات للحفاظ على المزارع. فالصدفة لا تتحكم في علاقة إسرائيل بالمسطحات المائية.

أما الذي مكّن من عودة المنطقتين فكان تطبيق البنود بعيدة المدى لمعاهدة السلام بين الأردن وإسرائيل. إلا أن بعض الأجزاء التي تخص المياه من المعاهدة نفسها كانت قصيرة النظر لسوء الحظ، وتساهم في استمرار العجز المائي للأردن الذي يُعدّ من أكثر بلدان العالم جفافاً.

يأتي ذلك في الوقت الذي يعاني فيه الفلاحون الفلسطينيون من شحّ المياه، إذ يفرض عليهم هذا الوضع اتفاقيات المياه مع إسرائيل ضمن عملية “أوسلو الثانية” في عام 1995. ويزداد الوضع سوءاً مع كل صيف حار حين ينخفض منسوب المياه، وتزداد التوترات.

أما إسرائيل فتملك قرار التفاوض للتوصل إلى اتفاقيات أكثر عدالة، ويعود السبب في ذلك إلى تحكّم تل أبيب في أغلب كميات المياه على الرغم من أنها أقل مَن يحتاج إليه. إلا أن ما يتوجب علينا مناقشته هو المنطق الذي يتحكم في هذه الاتفاقيات في المقام الأول، لا سيما وأن هذا المنطق يعتمد في جوهره على العقيدة الاقتصادية التي لا ترى في الماء أكثر من سلعة تُباع أو تُتداول، ناهيك عن الاعتماد عل أيديولوجيا سياسية تركز على الاحتفاظ بالمياه قدر الإمكان.

أكثر من يحتاج المياه أقل من يحصل عليها

يظهر أثر تسليع المياه في الباقورة كوضوح الشمس. إذ يجري نهر اليرموك غرباً ليلتقي بالتيار الرئيسي لنهر الأردن الذي يواصل جريانه جنوباً بين المملكة الأردنية من جهة وإسرائيل والضفة الغربية الفلسطينية من الجهة الأخرى. لكن في هذه الأيام لا يستفيد المزارعون في سوريا والأردن من نهر اليرموك، بل يمتص المزارعون الإسرائيليون كل قطرةٍ منه في خزانهم.

ويعاني نهر الأردن نفسه من الجفاف منذ عام 1964، حين احتكرت إسرائيل استخدام بحيرة طبريا (تعرف أيضا ببحر الجليل أو بحيرة كينيرت) بالقرب من مصدر النهر. ومنذ ذلك الحين، يموت البحر الميّت مع الأسف عند نقطة انتهاء النهر.

واستطاع الإسرائيليون خلال هذا الوقت ابتكار تقنيات عالية للري بالتنقيط، وطبقوا مخططات رائعة في إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف، وبنوا الكثير من محطات تحلية المياه، ما دفع المعلقون للقول بأن إسرائيل تتمتع بفائضٍ كبير من المياه.

Baqura jordan
صورة تم التقاطها من الجانب الإسرائيلي من الحدود وتظهر جنود أردنيين يصلون أمام علم بلادهم في أحد الفعاليات التي تم تنظيمها في منطقة الباقورة “نهاريهم” الموجودة على شرق نهر الأردن وذلك يوم ١١ نوفمبر ٢٠١٩. المصدر: MENAHEM KAHANA / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ MENAHEM KAHANA

في المقابل، يتزايد عطش الأردن الذي يستضيف ملايين الفارين من حروب الكويت والعراق وسوريا. كما أنه يفتقر إلى المياه السطحية، وهو ما يدفعه إلى تحلية المياه من ساحله الصغير على العقبة. ويجري تشجيع الأردن على ضخ المياه باهظة الثمن من هناك إلى مدينة إيلات الإسرائيلية المجاورة مقابل إعادة ضخ إسرائيل المياه العذبة للأردن من بحيرة طبريا (المتنازع عليها).

أما سكان الضفة الغربية من الفلسطينيين، فإنهم يحصلون الآن على كميات مياهٍ أقل مما اعتادوا الحصول عليه عندما تم توقيع اتفاقية أوسلو الثانية. وتكلفة تحلية المياه باهظة لغالبية أهل غزة، كما تلوث مياه الصرف المياه الجوفية، وتخلق الجراثيم مجالاً حيوياً ساماً. إزاء كل هذا، تبيع إسرائيل لغزة كمياتٍ قليلة من المياه العذبة، إلا أن معظم المياه التي تمر من بحيرة طبريا إلى 200 كيلومتر شمالاً، على مرأى من سكان القطاع لكن بعيداً عن متناولهم، تتوقف عند الحدود لتُستغل في زراعة البطاطا التي يتم تصديرها لأوروبا (ذات الوفرة المائية).

اللوم يقع على الأيديولوجيا لا على التغير المناخي

ثمة ميلٌ لإلقاء اللائمة على تغيّر المناخ أو اللاجئين عندما يتم اللجوء على هذا النوع من السياسات المائية، وغالباً ما يعزى هذا الأمر لعدم قدرة هذين العاملين على الرد، علماً بأن من خلق هذه الفوضى هم نفسهم من يستطيعون تغييرها ويقدرون على ذلك.

وفي الوقت الذي لا تحتاج فيه الدولة الإسرائيلية إلى كل هذه المياه، فإن توزيع السيطرة على نهر الأردن وما يرتبط به من طبقات المياه الجوفية يظل انعكاساً للقوة النسبية بين الدول المتنافسة. فإسرائيل تتحكم في بكميةٍ مياه أكبر مما يتحكم فيها الأردن وفلسطين مجتمعتين، علماً بأن إسرائيل تتحكم بأكثر من ضعف ما تستحقه إذا طبقنا معايير اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة للمجاري المائية لعام 1997.

ويشير هنا صاحبا المقالة إلى عدم التزام إسرائيل بالوعد الذي قطعته للأردن في اتفاقية السلام الموقعة بين الجانبين عام ١٩٩٤ على مستوى إعادة المياه. أما في الضفة الغربية، فيتضح خيار إسرائيل بتخزين المياه من خلال لجنة المياه المشتركة الفلسطينية الإسرائيلية التي أنشأتها أوسلو. وتوافق هذه اللجنة على مد خطوط المياه التي تحتاج إليها كل مستوطنة إسرائيلية جديدة في الضفة الغربية، بينما تمنعها عن مشاريع القرى الفلسطينية، وهذا يدل على أن المياه أصبحت وسيلة فعالة للاحتلال أو حتى للتطهير العرقي.

تحدّى الأيديولوجيات، ومزّق الاتفاقيات

يسهل التذرّع بتوجيهات اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة للمجاري المائية إذا كان كل ما نحتاج إليه لإنهاء الصراع على نهر الأردن هو تحديث الاتفاقية، إلا أن الاتفاقية ذكرت تفاصيل تقاسم المياه بطريقة “منصفة ومعقولة” وجميع الدول المعنية وقعت عليها ما عدا إسرائيل.

لكن قبل ذلك، لا بد من أن نواجه فكرة أن المياه سلعة يمكن تخزينها أو بيعها لأعلى سعر. ولا تكفي الحقائق والأدلة إذا نظرنا إلى عمق ترسخ هذه الممارسة في المؤسسات السياسية والاقتصادية في المنطقة. لكن يمكن للباحثين تسليط الضوء على الأضرار الناجمة عن سياسة المياه، ويمكن لعلماء البيئة التساؤل عن مدى عقلانية تصدير المحاصيل المزروعة في الصحراء لأوروبا. ومهمتنا أخيراً هي استبدال أيديولوجيات التعمية بشعور عميق بالعدالة، حتى يكون التقسيم الظالم للمياه غير مقبول تماماً كالعبودية.

ويختتم زيتون ودجاني مقالتهما بالتالي: “ستأتي التشريعات والسياسات المطلوبة من تلقاء ذاتها حالما يلوح هذا أفق هذا المستقبل. هذا الأمر حدث في الباقورة والغمر، ويمكن له أن يحدث كذلك مع المياه”.

“الآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة تعبّر عن وجهة نظر الكاتب ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن وجهة نظر فنك”.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON | ©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON | ©AFP ⁃ MENAHEM KAHANA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • تحدياتٌ كثيرة تعزّز من صعوبة فرض حظر السلاح في ليبيا

    يقتضي حدوث هدنة مستقرة في ليبيا لإرساء نظام كفء وفعَّال لحظر الأسلحة. ومن المستبعد أن يشهد الشعب الليبي – المستفيد النهائي – أي تحسن في القريب العاجل. إذ أدَّت سنوات من التدخل الدولي إلى وجود العديد من الدول التي تملك مصالح راسخة في ليبيا، ولا أحد على استعداد لتحمل الخسائر حالياً.
  • الشرق الأوسط أكثر اضطراباً من أي وقتٍ مضى

    مع كلّ أسف، قد تزداد هذه التطورات سوءاً حتى ظهور جيلٍ جديد من القادة يحاول بجدّية الالتزام بحلّ هذه النزاعات بطريقةٍ إنسانية وعادلة لضمان دوام الاستقرار.
  • آن الأوان لإنهاء نظام المحاصصة الطائفية مع استمرار الاحتجاجات

    تحتاج مؤسسات تقاسم السلطة إلى تفكيك ما يعيشه لبنان من حالة تفسيرٍ ضيّقة للنص. وتمثّل هذه الاحتجاجات لحظة مفصلية لبدء حوارٍ وطني عن كيفية توسيع أسس احتواء الجميع في الحياة السياسية اللبنانية. المحتجون استطاعوا حتى هذه اللحظة التضامن مع بعضهم البعض، متجاوزين بذلك حدود الطائفية والطبقية والجندرية وهو ما كان مستحيلاً في السابق. وقد يكون هذا التضامن طريق العبور إلى مستقبل ما بعد طائفي، سواءً أكان ذلك بنظامٍ يكفل تقاسم السلطة أو بدونه.

Fanack Home / Israel is hoarding the Jordan River – it’s time to share the water

Israel is hoarding the Jordan River – it’s time to share the water

Jordan River
Evangelical Christian pilgrims from Brazil raise their hands as they pray during a mass baptism ceremony in the waters of the Jordan River at Yardenit in northern Israel on October 12, 2019. Photo: GALI TIBBON / AFP ©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON

By: Mark Zeitoun & Muna Dajani

Two areas farmed by Israelis for more than 50 years have recently been returned to neighbouring Jordan. The first, al Ghamr (known in Israel as Zofar), is located south of the Dead Sea in the Naqab/Negev desert. The second, al Baqura (Naharayim) is found at the fertile point where a major tributary joins the Jordan River.

The association with water bodies is no coincidence: neither land would have been occupied in the first place were it not for the water that the Israeli army and kibbutzim required to sustain the farms.

The return of the lands was made possible by remarkably far-sighted clauses inserted in a 1994 peace treaty between Jordan and Israel. Unfortunately, the parts of the same agreement concerning water could not be more myopic, and ensure that one of the most arid countries in the world – Jordan – remains parched.

Meanwhile, Palestinian farmers do not have enough water. This situation is locked in by a water agreement signed with Israel in 1995, as part of the “Oslo II” process. And as the water levels drop, tensions rise. It gets worse with every scorching summer.

As it controls the most water but needs it the least, Israel has the choice to negotiate fairer agreements. But what must be challenged first is the thinking that led to the agreements in the first place – an economic doctrine which sees water as nothing more than a commodity to be sold or traded, and a political ideology that is fixated on holding on to as much water as possible.

Those who need water most have the least

The effects of the commodification of water are crystal clear at al Baqura. There, the Yarmouk river flows westwards and used to meet the Jordan River mainstream which flows south between Jordan (the country) on one side and Israel and the Palestine West Bank on the other. But these days almost every drop of the Yarmouk not used by farmers in Syria and Jordan is hoovered into a reservoir by farmers in Israel.

The Jordan River itself has run dry ever since 1964, when Israel cornered sole use of Lake Tiberias (aka the Sea of Galilee, or Lake Kinneret) near the river’s source. The Dead Sea at the river’s endpoint has been (apologies) dying, ever since.

Innovators in Israel have in the meantime perfected drip irrigation techniques, implemented impressive schemes which re-use wastewater, and built so many desalination plants that some commentators suggest it now has too much water.

Baqura jordan
A picture taken from the Israeli side of the border shows Jordanian soldiers praying in front of a national flag during a ceremony at the Jordan Valley site of Naharayim, also known as Baqura, east of the Jordan River on November 11, 2019. Photo: MENAHEM KAHANA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MENAHEM KAHANA

Meanwhile Jordan is increasingly parched, as it hosts millions of people who have fled wars in Kuwait, Iraq, and Syria. With no surface water of its own to speak of, Jordan resorts to desalination on its tiny coastline at Aqaba. It has been encouraged to pump the expensive flows from there to the neighbouring Israeli city of Eilat, in exchange for freshwater Israel is to pump back to Jordan from (the contested) Lake Tiberias.

The Palestinian residents of the West Bank actually have less water available now than when Oslo II was signed. In Gaza, desalination is too expensive for most, and with wastewater contaminating the groundwater, “superbugs” are creating a toxic “biosphere of war”. Israel does sell a small amount of freshwater to Gaza, but most of the water it channels from Tiberias 200km to the north stops at the border – tantalisingly in view of the Gazans but out of their reach, reserved instead to grow potatoes that are exported to (a rather wetter) Europe.

Blame ideology, not climate change

There is a tendency to blame climate change or refugees for these policy choices, probably because they cannot talk back. But those who created the mess are the ones who should and can change it.

While the Israeli state doesn’t need so much water, the distribution of control over the Jordan River and associated aquifers remains a mirror reflection of the relative power between the rival states. Israel controls more water than Jordan and the Palestinians combined, and more than double its entitlement when measured against the principles of the 1997 UN Watercourses Convention.

Water that Israel promised Jordan back in the 1994 peace treaty has still not materialised. In the West Bank, Israel’s choice to hoard is expressed through the Oslo-created Israeli-Palestinian joint water committee. Because the committee approves the water lines that every new settlement in the West Bank needs, but blocks projects for Palestinian villages, water becomes an effective tool of colonialism or even ethnic cleansing.

Challenge the ideologies, rip-up the agreements

It would be straightforward to invoke guidance from the UN Watercourses Convention, if all that was required to end the Jordan River conflict was updating the agreements. The convention details how water can be shared “equitably and reasonably” and all the states involved signed up – bar Israel.

But first we must challenge the idea that water is a commodity that can be hoarded away or sold only to the highest bidder. But given the extent to which the practice is entrenched in the political and economic systems of the region, evidence and argument are not enough on their own. Researchers can highlight the damage caused by water policy, and environmentalists may question the rationale of exporting desert-grown crops to Europe. Eventually, the task is to replace the blinding ideologies with a strong sense of justice, so that unfair water sharing comes to be seen as unacceptable as slavery.

The required policy and legislation will flow naturally, once this future is seen. It happened at al Baqura and al Ghamr, and it can happen with water.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://theconversation.com/ in December 19, 2019.

The Conversation

“The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not necessarily express Fanack’s views.”

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON | ©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON | ©AFP ⁃ MENAHEM KAHANA

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Libya: why enforcing an arms embargo is so hard

    A stable truce in Libya needs an efficient arms embargo. The ultimate beneficiaries of such an embargo – the Libyan population – are unlikely to see any improvements soon. The years of international meddling have led to many countries having steadfast interests in Libya, and as it currently stands, no one is willing to take losses.

  • Middle East: Ever More Unstable

    Sadly, these developments coupled with a worldwide crisis of leadership may well worsen before a new generation of leaders can rise and try in earnest to resolve many of these conflicts humanely, passionately and equitably to ensure their durability.
  • As protests continue, Lebanon’s sectarian power-sharing stalemate must end

    Power-sharing institutions need not be as narrowly prescribed as they currently are in Lebanon. These protests are a critical moment for the start of a national conversation on how to expand the basis of inclusion in Lebanese political life. So far, protesters have joined up across sect, class and gender in a way previously considered impossible. It is this solidarity that may yet serve as the pathway towards a post-sectarian future, with or without power-sharing.