فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل تصب اهتمامها على العلاقات العامة لا لبناء السلام في الشرق الأوسط

إسرائيل تصب اهتمامها على العلاقات العامة لا لبناء السلام في الشرق الأوسط

Translation-Gaza demonstrations
متظاهرون فلسطينيون ينظرون إلى الغاز المسيل للدموع والدخان الصادر عن إطارات السيارات المحروقة شرقي مدينة غزّة يوم 14 مايو 2018 أثناء الاستعداد للاحتجاجات ضد الخطوة الأمريكية المثيرة للجدل بنقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس. المصدر: AFP.

نشر موقع “The Conversation” مقالة سلطت الضوء على الضربات الموجعة التي تلقتها صورة إسرائيل على المستوى الدولي في أعقاب ردها بالرصاص الحي على المتظاهرين من أبناء قطاع غزّة احتجاجاً على نقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس. وتناول بول دوفيل، الباحث الفخري في قسم دراسات السلام والنزاعات بجامعة سيدني، في مقالته تصاعد وتيرة مقاطعة الفنانين الغربيين لإقامة الحفلات الفنية في إسرائيل.

وبدأ دوفيل مقالته بالإشارة إلى أن افتتاح السفارة الأمريكية في القدس يشكّل نصراً كبيراً لإسرائيل على مستوى العلاقات العامة، خاصةً وأن تل أبيب انتظرت هذه الخطوة منذ عقودٍ من الزمن. وجاءت هذه الخطوة أيضاً في أعقاب الاحتفال بنصرٍ إسرائيلي آخر في مجال العلاقات العامة، إذ فازت المغنية الإسرائيلية نيتا بارزيلاي بمسابقة الأغنية الأوروبية “يوروفيجن” التي تحظى بشعبيةٍ كبيرة.

وأشادت صحيفة “نيويورك تايمز” بفوز بارزيلاي باعتباره “نصراً دبلوماسياً وتبرئةً وطنية” لرئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو ومناصريه. وأعرب نتنياهو نفسه عن اعتزازه بكون بارزيلاي “السفير الأفضل لإسرائيل”.

وبحسب دوفيل، فإن الأحداث التي وقعت بالقرب من حدود إسرائيل مع غزة طغت على ما تم تحقيقه من نجاحاتٍ على مستوى العلاقات العامة. وشهد يوم الاثنين الموافق لـ14 مايو 2018 إطلاق الجنود الإسرائيليون للنار على المتظاهرين الفلسطينيين في “المنطقة المحظورة” التي تفرضها إسرائيل في غزة بالقرب من الحدود، ما أدى إلى ما وصفه صاحب المقالة بـ”مقتل 60 فلسطينياً، منهم ثمانية أطفال”، وإصابة ما يزيد عن ألفي شخص.

وكان هذا اليوم الأكثر دموية في النزاع الإسرائيلي – الفلسطيني خلال السنوات الأربع الماضية. كما كان الرد الدولي على هذا الفعل شرساً، إذ قام كبار مسؤولي الأمم المتحدة بإدانة العنف باعتباره “انتهاكاً صارخاً لحقوق الإنسان”. وبدورها، أشارت وسائل الإعلام الإسرائيلية إلى أن العناوين الصحفية العالمية سلّطت الضوء على ما مارسته إسرائيل من عنفٍ بحق الفلسطينيين، لا على نيتا بارزيلاي أو على نقل السفارة.

وتعتبر هذه الإدانة الدولية للعنف الإسرائيلي بمثابة صفعةٍ لاستراتيجية إسرائيل المدبّرة والطويلة لغضّ البصر عمّا تقوم به من أعمال بحق الفلسطينيين ولتحسين صورتها على الساحة الدولية. وسعت حملة “براند إسرائيل” الممولة بشكلٍ جيّد والتي تم إطلاقها في عام 2005 لتحسين ما تحظى به إسرائيل من قوةٍ ناعمة ولإظهار ما يجعل هذه الدولة جذابة من ناحية السياحة والثقافة والاستثمار الأجنبي. وفي الوقت الذي باتت فيه ردة الفعل الأخيرة ضد إسرائيل في مرحلة التشكّل، فإنها تسعى بعناد نحو تغيير الآراء.

الموسيقيون كأدوات للقوة الناعمة

أعلن المسؤولون الإسرائيليون، في أعقاب النزاع الذي شهدته غزة في عام 2009، عن خطةٍ لإرسال الروائيين والمعارض الفنية والإنتاجات المسرحية إلى الخارج بهدف “إظهار وجه إسرائيل الأكثر جمالاً، وكي لا يتم النظر إلينا فقط في سياق الحرب” كما قال نائب وزير الخارجية للشؤون الثقافية آرييه ميكيل.

وبحسب التقارير الواردة، فإن إسرائيل تطلب أيضاً من الفنانين الذين يحصلون على تمويلٍ حكومي التوقيع على تعهد الولاء “لتعزيز المصالح السياسية لدولة إسرائيل من خلال الثقافة والفن، بما في ذلك المساهمة في خلق صورة إيجابية لإسرائيل”.

علاوة على ذلك، فقد تم نشر سلسلةٍ من كتيبات العلاقات العامة التي قام أخصائيو العلاقات العامة ومناصرو إسرائيل بصياغتها على مر السنين. وبحسب دوفيل، فقد أوصى هؤلاء بـ”مواصلة استخدام إسرائيل للثقافة (وغيرها من أدوات العلاقات العامة والتسويق) بما يكفل تعزيز الصورة الإيجابية لهذه الدولة”. وقام فرانك لونتز، الطبيب ومنظم الاستفتاءات الأمريكي المحسوب على التيار اليميني، بنشر أو دعم بعض هذه الكتيبات.

وسبق للونتز تطوير حملات العلاقات العامة الخاصة للجمهوريين المعارضين لإصلاح قطاع الرعاية الصحية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. كما كان له الفضل في إقناع الرئيس الأسبق جورج دبليو بوش بإيقاف استخدام مصطلح “الاحتباس الحراري العالمي” واستخدام مصطلح “تغير المناخ” عوضاً عنه، خاصةً وأن المصطلح الأخير يظهر كـ”تحدٍ أقل عاطفية ويمكن السيطرة عليه بشكلٍ أكبر”.

وقام المسؤولون الحكوميون الإسرائيليون بدعم كبار الفنانين الذين قدموا عروضاً في إسرائيل على المستوى الثقافي، ومن هؤلاء أليسيا كايز وراديوهيد. ولم تمر سوى عدّة أيام من إعلان رينغو ستار عن تنظيم حفلةٍ له في تل أبيب في شهر يونيو الجاري حتى كانت المنظمات الدولية المناصرة لإسرائيل تحتفل بهذا النصر.

وقام مناصرو الحكومة الإسرائيلية بتشكيل لوبي ضاغط من مدراء الترفيه – الذين أثارت جذورهم وحوافزهم الجدل – وذلك بهدف الضغط على الفنانين لتقديم العروض في إسرائيل وتجاهل دعوات مقاطعتها.

رد فعل سلبي من الفنانين

Translation- Netta Barzilai
المغنية الإسرائيلية نيتا بارزيلاي على خشبة المسرح أثناء الحفل الترحيبي الذي تم تنظيمه في تل أبيب يوم 14 مايو 2018 بعد فوزها بمسابقة الأغنية الأوروبية “يوروفيجين” في العاصمة البرتغالية لشبونة. المصدر: AFP.

يشير دوفيل إلى أن كل هذه الجهود لم تكن كافية للحيلولة دون قرار مجموعةٍ من الموسيقيين والممثلين والفنانين بدعم تقديم العروض في إسرائيل أو زيارة الدولة. وبحسب حركة “مقاطعة إسرائيل وسحب الاستثمارات منها وفرض العقوبات عليها” التي يقودها الفلسطينيون، فإن قائمة الفنانين الذين ألغوا عروضهم في إسرائيل أو رفضوا تقديم العروض تتضمن كلاً من إلفيس كوستيلو، ولورين هيل، و”يو 2″، وجان لوك غودارد، وسنوب دوغ، وكات باور، وفانيسا باراديس وغيرهم.

وشهد شهر ديسمبر من عام 2017 إلغاء المغنية النيوزيلندية لورد حفلة موسيقية كان من المقرر تنظيمها في تل أبيب، وذلك في أعقاب دعواتٍ أطلقها ناشطو حقوق الإنسان لمقاطعة إسرائيل. وتعهد أكثر من مئة من الكتاب، والممثلين، والمخرجين والموسيقيين بدعم قرارها. وجذبت هذه الخطوة تغطيةً إعلامية مكثّفة، بالتزامن مع توجيه التهديدات نحو الناشطين. وادعت المنظمات الموالية لإسرائيل أن لورد نفسها كانت ضحيةً “للبلطجة التي قام بها ناشطو حقوق الإنسان”.

وحاول مناصرو الحكومة الإسرائيلية في المجلس التشريعي لولاية فلورديا الحيلولة دون تقديم لورد للعروض في ولاية الشمس المشرقة. كما ضغط هؤلاء دون جدوى على الأماكن التي كان من المقرر تقديم العروض فيها بهدف إلغاء هذه العروض.

وفي ردٍ واضح على الهجمات الأخيرة التي قامت بها إسرائيل على متظاهري غزّة، رفضت الممثلة الإسرائيلية – الأمريكية نتالي بورتمان قبل بضعة أسابيع قبول جائزة كان من المقرر أن يقدّمها لها رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو. وقالت حينها بورتمان إنها “لا تريد أن تظهر وكأنها تؤيّد بنيامين نتنياهو”، مضيفةً إن “سوء معاملة الذين عانوا من انتهاكات اليوم لا يتوافق ببساطة مع قيمي اليهودية”. وكان ذلك تطوراً ملحوظاً بحسب ما يراه صاحب المقالة، نظراً لما أظهرته بورتمان من قوة في تأييد المواقف المناصرة لإسرائيل.

رد جديد؟

قابل المجتمع اليهودي الأمريكي الهجمات الإسرائيلية على متظاهري غزّة وافتتاح السفارة الأمريكية الجديدة في القدس خلال الأسبوع الماضي بمجموعةٍ من المخاوف والانتقادات. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن العديد من أبناء هذا المجتمع يصفون أنفسهم بـ”مناصري إسرائيل”، بما في ذلك السيناتور الأمريكي بيرني ساندرز. وسرعان ما بذلت إسرائيل جهودها في مجال العلاقات العامة لإدارة ردها بعناية على الإدانة الدولية.

ومع ذلك، تظهر بحوث حل النزاعات الدولية ما تتمتع به مواقف الشخصيات الثقافية المماثلة للورد وبورتمان من قدرة على تشكيل إسهاماتٍ هامة للحد من العنف ودفع جهود السلام. وبحسب الأدلّة الواردة في مجالات متنوعة ومماثلة لدراسات مكافحة الإرهاب، وبناء السلام، وحل النزاعات الدولية فإن اختلال توازن القوة ومايرافقه من انتهاكاتٍ لحقوق الإنسان يعتبر بمثابة عقباتٍ رئيسية في وجه تحقيق السلام عبر الحوار.

ويختم دوفيل مقالته بالتالي: “من الواضح أن إسرائيل تحافظ على خللٍ كبير في توازن القوة مع الفلسطينيين. وبرفض الدعوات التي وجهتها إسرائيل لهم ليكونوا من أدوات العلاقات العامة المحتملة، فإن هؤلاء الفنانين يرفضون الإسهام في اختلال توازن القوة الذي يشكّل عقبةً كبيرة في وجه السلام”.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel is prioritising PR over Peace-Building in the Middle East

Israel is prioritising PR over Peace-Building in the Middle East

Translation-Gaza demonstrations
Palestinian protesters look at tear gas and smoke billowing from burning tyres, east of Gaza City on May 14, 2018, as Palestinians readied for protests over the inauguration of the US embassy following its controversial move to Jerusalem. Photo AFP

By: Paul Duffill

The opening of the US embassy in Jerusalem last week represented a major PR coup for Israel, a move the country had sought for decades. It also came hot on the heels of another celebrated Israeli PR victory – the win by Israeli singer Netta Barzilai in the hugely popular Eurovision song contest.

The New York Times hailed Barzilai’s win as a “diplomatic victory and national vindication” for Israeli Prime Minister Netanyahu and his supporters. Netanyahu himself proudly declared Barzilai “the best ambassador of Israel”.

However, these PR successes were overshadowed by events near Israel’s border with Gaza. Last Monday, Israeli soldiers opened fire on Palestinian protesters in the “no-go zone” that Israel enforces in Gaza near the border, killing 60 Palestinians, including eight children, and injuring more than 2,000.

It was the bloodiest day in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in four years. And the international response was fierce. Senior UN officials condemned the violence as an “outrageous human rights violation”. Even Israeli media noted it was Israel’s anti-Palestinian violence, not Netta Barzilai or the embassy move, dominating international headlines.

This international condemnation of Israeli violence flies in the face of what has been a concerted, long-term PR strategy by Israel to occlude its actions against the Palestinians and improve its image on the international stage. The well-funded “Brand Israel” campaign, launched in 2005, was intended to improve Israel’s soft power and show what makes the country attractive from a tourism, culture and foreign investment perspective. But as the recent backlash against Israel illustrates, it’s struggling to change opinions.

Musicians as Soft Power Tools

Following the 2009 Gaza conflict, Israeli officials declared a plan to send novelists, art exhibitions and theatre productions overseas in order to “show Israel’s prettier face, so we are not thought of purely in the context of war,” as Arye Mekel, the Foreign Ministry’s deputy director for cultural affairs, put it.

Israel also reportedly requires artists who receive state funding to sign a loyalty pledge “to promote the policy interests of the State of Israel via culture and art, including contributing to creating a positive image for Israel”.

On top of this, a series of PR manuals have been published by public relations specialists and pro-Israel supporters over the years, recommending that Israel continue to use “culture” (and other PR and marketing tools) to promote a positive image of the country. Some of these manuals have been authored or supported by right-wing American spin doctor and pollster Frank Luntz.

In the US, Luntz developed PR campaigns for Republican opponents of healthcare reform and was credited with convincing former President George W. Bush to stop using the term “global warming” in favor of “climate change”, because the latter term “sounds a more controllable and less emotional challenge”.

In the cultural sphere, Israeli government officials have heartily promoted big-name artists who have performed in Israel, such as Alicia Keys and Radiohead. Within days of Ringo Starr announcing a concert in Tel Aviv this June, international pro-Israel organisations were already celebrating a victory.

Israeli government supporters have even set up an entertainment executives lobby group – whose origins and motives have attracted controversy – to pressure artists to perform in Israel and disregard boycott calls.

Push-back from Artists

Translation- Netta Barzilai
Israel’s Netta Barzilai performs on stage a festive welcome concert in the Israeli coastal city of Tel Aviv on May 14, 2018 after winning the Eurovision Song Contest on Sunday in Lisbon, Portugal. Photo AFP

Despite these efforts, a range of prominent musicians, actors and artists have decided against performing in Israel or visiting the country. According to the Palestinian-led Boycott, Divestment, Sanctions organisation, artists who have cancelled performances in Israel or declined to perform there include Elvis Costello, Lauryn Hill, U2, Bjork, Jean-Luc Godard, Snoop Dogg, Cat Power, and Vanessa Paradis, among others.

In December, the New Zealand singer Lorde cancelled a Tel Aviv concert following calls for an Israel boycott from human rights activists. More than a hundred writers, actors, directors and musicians pledged their support for her decision. The move attracted intense media coverage, as well as threats directed towards activists. Pro-Israel organisations claimed that it was Lorde herself who was a victim of bullying – by human rights activists.

Israeli government supporters in the Florida state legislature even tried to ban Lorde from performing in the Sunshine State, and unsuccessfully pressured concert venues to cancel her shows.

Then, in apparent response to Israel’s recent attacks on Gaza protesters, Israeli-American actress Natalie Portman refused to accept a prize a few weeks ago that was to be awarded to her by Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. She said at the time she didn’t “want to appear as endorsing Benjamin Netanyahu” and “the mistreatment of those suffering from today’s atrocities is simply not in line with my Jewish values.” It was a remarkable development given Portman’s previously staunch pro-Israel positions.

A New Response?

The Israeli attacks on Gaza protesters and the opening of the new US embassy in Jerusalem last week were also met by a chorus of concerns and criticisms from the Jewish-American community, many of whom identify as “pro-Israel”, including US Senator Bernie Sanders. Israel quickly deployed its PR efforts to carefully manage its response to the international condemnation.

However, research in international conflict resolution shows how stands by cultural figures like Lorde and Portman can make important contributions to reducing violence and driving peace efforts. Evidence from fields as diverse as terrorism studies, peace building, and international conflict resolution demonstrates that an imbalance of power and associated human rights abuses are major blocks to achieving peace through dialogue.

Israel clearly maintains a significant power imbalance over the Palestinians. By refusing invitations to Israel to be potential PR instruments, these artists are refusing to contribute to this power imbalance that is a such heavy obstacle to peace.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://theconversation.com in May 23, 2018.

The Conversation

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Why the Media needs to be more Responsible for how it Links Islam and Islamist Terrorism

    As a study conducted at the University of Vienna in 2017 confirmed, media coverage that does not explicitly distinguish between Muslims and Islamist terrorists fuels hostile attitudes toward the general Muslim population. With growing awareness of the impact of this kind of reporting, some media outlets like CNN have tried to distinguish between “moderate Islam” and “radical Islam”, “Islam” and “Islamic extremism”.
  • Egypt is building a New Capital City from Scratch – Here’s how to avoid Inequality and Segregation

    If it’s to succeed, Egypt’s new capital must stick to the principles of an inclusive city, where all citizens can come together and share the city and its opportunities. This was the most important design principle for Costa – but without meaningful policies to support low income residents, it could not endure in the Brasília he so beautifully created.