فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / الاقتصاد / الطاقة الشمسية في إسرائيل

الطاقة الشمسية في إسرائيل

الطاقة الشمسية في إسرائيل ألواح شمسية
عمال يقومون بتركيب ألواح شمسية على أحد الأسطح في غديرة، اسرائيل. Photo Chameleons Eye / Rex Features

لا تنعم إسرائيل بوفرة الموارد الطبيعية، فمنذ الإكتشاف الأخير للغاز الطبيعي في البحر المتوسط، كانت إسرائيل مجردةً من الوقود الأحفوري الغنيّ لدعم اقتصادها. ومع ذلك، تتمتع البلاد بمعدلٍ سنويّ مرتفع لأشعة الشمس، وبخاصة في صحراء النقب في الجنوب، والتي تُسخرها لصالحها. وبالتالي، لم تدَّخر إسرائيل أي جهدٍ ممكنٍ لتغيير الموارد التي يمكن الوصول إليها وتطوير اقتصادٍ نابضٍ بالحياة.

يعمل المهندسون الإسرائليون على استغلال الطاقة الشمسية منذ عام 1948، إذ أصبح تطبيقها عنصراً أساسياً بالنسبة لـ90% من الأسر الاسرائيلية، حيث يستخدم العديدون سخانات المياه الشمسية على أسطح المنازل. وبفضل سنواتٍ من الخبرة المتراكمة والإبداع، تحتل إسرائيل الطليعة في مجال تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية، ويتم إدراج الشركات الاسرائيلية في مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية في جميع أنحاء العالم. فعلى سبيل المثال، تتضمن الشركات الرائدة في أسواق مشاريع تقديم الخدمات، شركة BrightSource Industries، وشركة Solel، وشركة Brenmiller Energy، ومقرها جميعاً اسرائيل.

الطاقة الشمسية في إسرائيل الطاقة الشمسية المركزة
الطاقة الشمسية المركزة في مركز بن غوريون القومي للطاقة الشمسية، في اسرائيل. Photo Brian Howard

تنقسم الطاقة الشمسية إلى قطاعين: صناعة الألواح الضوئية، والطاقة الشمسية المركزة. تتعامل الشركات الاسرائيلية الرائدة بالطاقة الشمسية المركزة (CSP)، مثل الأبراج الشمسية والعاكسات الشمسية، ذلك أن الطاقة الشمسية المركزة تنتج كمية أكبر من الطاقة وفقاً لقيمة التكلفة في المناطق ذات الإشعاعات الشمسية المرتفعة، مثل صحراء النقب في اسرائيل. فقد تقدمت تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية في البلاد إلى الحد الذي باتت فيه تنافس تقريباً أسعار الطاقة من الوقود الأحفوري، وذلك وفقاً لتقرير بلومبرغ عام 2008 نقلاً عن الشركة الاسرائيلية Zenith Solar. ولكن في عام 2009، اكتشفت اسرائيل احتياطيات من الغاز الطبيعي في البحر، في حقليّ ليڤياثان وتمر، وبالتالي، حدّت هذه الاكتشافات من الضرورة العاجلة لتطوير تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية في البلاد.

تاريخياً، كانت أزمة نقص الوقود في اسرائيل ما استدعى استغلال الطاقة الشمسية واستخدام سخانات المياه الشمسية. فبعد أزمة الطاقة في سبعينيات القرن الماضي، أقرّ الكنيست (البرلمان الاسرائيلي) قانوناً يُلزم بتركيب سخانات المياه الشمسية في المنازل عام 1980. وبحلول عام 1990، كان مطلوباً من جميع المباني السكنية الجديدة تثبيت النظام. دفع هذا الاستخدام المبكر والمدعوم من قِبل الدولة للطاقة الشمسية إلى ازدهار هذه الصناعة. وحالياً، تمثل الطاقة الشمسية ما نسبته 3% من الاستهلاك المحلي الأولي للطاقة، مما يجعل البلاد رائدةً عالمياً في هذا المجال وفقاً لنصيب الفرد الواحد. ويمكن رؤية سخانات المياه الشمسية على أسطح غالبية المباني السكنية في جميع أنحاء البلاد، حيث تُقدر وزارة البنية التحتية الوطنية أنّ الألواح الشمسية المستخدمة لتسخين المياه توفر على اسرائيل ما يقارب المليونيّ برميل من النفط سنوياً.

وتعتبر صحراء النقب في الجنوب، والوادي الشرقي من وادي عربة، الواقع بين البحر الميت ومدينة إيلات الجنوبية، أكثر المناطق عرضةً للشمس في البلاد، فضلاً عن كون التربة في الجنوب غير صالحةٍ للزراعة. هذان العاملان مجتمعان حولا هذه المنطقة الجنوبية إلى مركزٍ لصناعة الطاقة الشمسية الاسرائيلية. ويعتبر المركز الوطني للطاقة الشمسية الذي أسس عام 1987 ويقع في جامعة بن غوريون، في سديه بوكر في صحراء النقب، مركز أبحاثٍ عالميّ معروف. يتضمن المركز مشاريع مثل أكبر عاكس للطاقة الشمسية في العالم، الذي بُنيّ في مشروعٍ مشترك مع شركة Zenith Solar عام 2007، والذي يستخدم صحناً عاكساً قطره 10 متر مربع. وقد أثبتت تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية المركزة باستخدام الألواح العاكسة أنها أكثر كفاءة بخمس مراتٍ من حقول الألواح الضوئية المسطحة الاعتيادية.

فقد وصل نموذج مبدأي جاهز للتسويق لتزكيز طاقة شمسية أكثر بألف مرة من الألواح المسطحة. وتعمل شركة Megalim Solar Power ومقرها اسرائيل، والتي تساهم فيها شركة General Electric، حالياً على بناء برجٍ للطاقة الشمسية في صحراء النقب، إذ سيتجاوز طول البرج الـ240 متراً، وسيولد ما يصل إلى 121 ميجاوات من الطاقة الكهربائية بعد الانتهاء منه في عام 2017، حيث ستتجاوز تكلفة البناء الـ773 ميلون دولار وسيوفر المشروع حوالي 1% من الكهرباء في اسرائيل.

وتهدف الحكومة إلى إنتاج 10% من طاقة البلاد من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة بحلول عام 2020. ويعتبر برج شركة Megalim واحداً من العديد من مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية الكبرى. فقد تم افتتاح محطة Zmorot Solar Park التي تعمل على طاقة الألواح الضوئية الشمسية والبالغ قدرتها 50 ميجاواط، من قِبل شركة EDF للطاقة في عام 2016. تقع المنشأة في صحراء النقب وتمتد على طول أكثر من 60 هكتاراً وتضم 207,000 لوح شمسي. كما يستخدم مجمع روتم الصناعي، الواقع في مدينة ديمونة في صحراء النقب، أكثر من 1600 مرآة شمسية. وتعتزم شركة Bright Source Industries بناء ثلاث محطات شمسية جديدة في كاليفورنيا لاختبار تقنية جديدة للأشعة الشمسية.

وتعتبر صناعة تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية خير مثالٍ على كيفية تكيّف البلاد مع واقع غياب وفرة الموارد الطبيعية. ففي نوفمبر 2015، قدم العلماء الاسرائليون حلولاً للطاقة الشمسية في اسرائيل في مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتغير المناخي في باريس، والذي حضره ممثلون من أكثر من 166 دولة عضو في الأمم المتحدة، والذين تعاهدوا على إتخاذ اجراءات بشأن تغيير المناخ بحصر احترار الأرض بأقل من درجتين مئويتين خلال القرن القادم.

كما يمكن لاستخدام الطاقة الشمسية أن يكون عنصراً في تسريع التعاون الاقتصادي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، وبخاصة بين اسرائيل والأراضي الفلسطينية. فقد شارك غيرشون باسكن، وهو رجل أعمال يعمل في مجال الطاقة الشمسية ومن مؤيدي التعاون الاقتصادي مع الفلسطينيين، بمشاريع خاصة بالطاقة الشمسية بين الاسرائليين والفلسطينيين. وفي مقابلةٍ له مع Fanack، أخبرنا أنه لا توجد سياسة رسمية للحكومة الاسرائيلية بعدم دعم مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية في قطاع غزة، التي تقع ضمن الأراضي الفلسطينية.

ويُضيف “لا يوجد أي اعتراض مطلقاً من قِبل منسق الأراضي. إلا أن المشكلة تكمن في الحفاظ على المشروع قابلاً للتطبيق على نطاقٍ واسع.” كما أخبرنا باسكن أن الحكومة الاسرائيلية لا تسمح بدخول بعض المواد إلى قطاع غزة، لأنهم يعتقدون بإمكانية استخدامها كأسلحة، منها على سبيل المثال بطاريات الألواح الشمسية. ومع ذلك، يمكن للمرء ملاحظة وجود ألواحِ شمسية على بعض أسطح المباني في غزة، إلا أنه وفقاً لباسكن، فإن تنفيذ مشروع واسع النطاق للطاقة الشمسية في غزة قد يحتاج إلى جهات مانحة كبيرة ليتم تطبيقه، إذ سيكون من الصعب على أي شركة خاصة الحصول على التصنيف الائتماني، وتقديم بيانات مالية. حقيقة ضارة أخرى يستشهد بها باسكن ألا وهي أن الكثيرين في غزة لا يدفعون فواتير الكهرباء.

كما يمكن أيضاً مشاركة تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية المتقدمة في اسرائيل مع الدول المجاورة التي تواجه تحدياتٍ مناخية مماثلة. ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من اكتشاف الغاز الطبيعي، ينبغي مواصلة انتاج الطاقة الشمسية، لتجنب الاعتماد على مصدر وحيد للطاقة.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Chameleons Eye / Rex Features

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Economy of Israel / Solar Power in Israel

Solar Power in Israel

solar power in israel insralling solar panels
Workers installing solar panels on the roof in Gadera, Israel. Photo Chameleons Eye / Rex Features

Israel has not been blessed with plentitude of natural resources. Until the recent discovery of offshore natural gas, Israel was devoid of rich fossil fuels to support its economy. However, the country does have an annual incidence of sunshine, especially in the Negev desert in the south, which it has harnessed to its advantage. Israel has never shied away from using every effort to alter its accessible resources and develop a vibrant economy.

Israeli engineers have been working on harnessing solar power since 1948 and the practice has become a staple for 90% of Israeli households. Many use solar water heaters on the rooftops of residential buildings. Due to years of accumulated experience and ingenuity, Israel is at the cutting edge of solar energy technology, and Israeli companies are incorporated within solar projects around the world. For example, market leaders in utility scale projects include Israel-based BrightSource Industries, Solel and Brenmiller Energy.

solar power in israel concentrated solar power
A concentrated solar power at the Ben-Gurion National Solar Energy Center in Israel. Photo Brian Howard

There are two segments of solar energy: photovoltaic industry and concentrated solar power. The leading Israeli companies deal with concentrated solar power (CSP) such as solar towers and solar reflectors, since CSP produces a higher
amount of energy per cost value in regions with high solar incidence, like Israel’s Negev desert. The country’s solar technology has advanced to the point where it is close to compete with fossil fuel energy prices, according to a 2008 Bloomberg report citing the Israeli company Zenith Solar. But in 2009, Israel discovered natural gas reserves offshore, in the Leviathan and Tamar gas fields. These discoveries have consequentially reduced the country’s immediate urgency of solar technology development.

Historically, Israel’s fuel shortage crisis was the trigger to harness solar energy and use solar water heaters. After the energy crisis of the 1970s, the Knesset (the Israeli Parliament) passed a law requiring installation of solar water heaters in homes in 1980. By 1990, all new residential buildings were required to install the system. This early, state-backed use of solar energy made the industry boom: nowadays, solar energy accounts for 3% of the primary national energy consumption in Israel, making the country the world leader per capita. Solar waters can be seen on rooftops of most residential buildings all around the country. The Ministry of National Infrastructure estimates that solar panels for water heating saves Israel approximately two million barrels of oil a year.

The Negev Desert, in the south, and the eastern valley of Arava, between the Dead Sea and the southern city of Eilat, are the sunniest parts of the country. In the south, the soil is not arable. These two aggregated factors transformed this southern region into the center of the Israeli solar industry. Founded in 1987 and located in the Ben-Gurion University, at Sede Boqer in the Negev desert, the National Solar Energy Center is a world renowned research center. It counts projects such as the world’s largest solar reflector, built in a joint project with the company Zenith Solar in 2007, which uses a 10 square-meter reflector dish. The reflector’s concentrated solar power technology has proved to be five times more efficient than standard flat photovoltaic panels in testings.

A prototype ready for commercialisation reached a concentration of solar energy that was more than 1,000 times greater than flat panels. The Israel-based company Megalim Solar Power, whose shareholders include General Electric, is currently building a solar power tower in the Negev desert. The tower will be over 240 meters tall and will generate up to 121 megawatts of electric power after its completion in 2017. The cost of construction is over $773 million and will provide around 1% of Israel’s electricity.

The government aims to produce 10 percent of country’s energy from renewable sources by 2020. Megalim’s tower is one of many grand solar projects. The 50-megawatts solar photovoltaic power plant Zmorot Solar Park was inaugurated by EDF in May 2016. The facility, located in the Negev desert, extends over 60 hectares and counts 207,000 solar panels. The industrial complex of Rotem, near the Negev desert city of Dimona, uses more than 1600 solar mirrors. Bright Source Industries plans to build three new solar plants in California to test a new solar ray technology.

The industry of solar energy technology has been a good example of how a country can adjust to reality in the absence of abundance of natural resources. In November 2015, Israeli scientists presented Israel’s solar energy solutions at the United Nations Climate Change talks in Paris, which representatives from over 166 UN member states attended and committed to keep global warming below an increase of two degrees Celsius over the next century.

Harnessing solar power can also be element of expediting economic cooperation within the Middle East region, and particularly bewteen Israel and the Palestinian territories. Gershon Baskin, a businessman in solar energy and an advocate of economic cooperation with Palestinians, has taken part in solar energy projects with Israelis and Palestinians. He told Fanack that there is no official policy by the Israeli government not to support solar power in the Gaza strip, a Palestinian territory.

“There is no objection at all by the coordinator of the territories,” he said. “The problem stems from keeping the project viable on a large scale.” Baskin told Fanack the Israeli government does not permit certain materials to enter the Palestinian territory of the Gaza strip, as they believe they may be used as weapons. Batteries for solar panels, he added, may count as such. However, one does see solar panels on some of the rooftops in Gaza. However, Baskin argues, a Gaza-wide solar power project would take a large donor to be viable: he considers it would be difficult for a private enterprise to get credit rating and provide financial statements. Another detrimental fact Baskin cites is that many in Gaza do not pay their electrical bills.

Israel’s advanced solar technology could also be shared with neighbouring countries facing similar climate challenges. Despite the discovery of natural gas, solar energy should continue to diversify, in order to avoid depending on a sole source of energy.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Chameleons Eye / Rex Features ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Flickr

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!