فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / وُجوه / قصة نفتالي بينيت

قصة نفتالي بينيت

Naftali Bennett, Chairman Of Jewish Home Party, Speaks In Jerusalem
نفتالي بينيت, رئيس حزب البيت اليهودي Photo UPI Photo/Eyevine

يجد نفتالي بينيت نفسه في عام 2015 في دوّامة المجتمع الإسرائيلي، فمن ناحية يعتبر بينيت نجم صاعد في السياسة الإسرائيلية، فضلاً عن كونه رمز الاتجاهات الهادئة في المجتمع الإسرائيلي إذ يمتاز حليق الرأس بجسمه الرياضي وأرصدته البنكية المكدسة بالملايين وعندما يتكلم الانجليزية تبدو لكنته أقرب إلى الأمريكية.

أنتج بينيت هذا حملة فيديو ذكية تستهدف الإسرائليين العصريين والعلمانيين. ويظهر في الفيديو سيدتين من أعضاء حزبه من بين الحشود على استعدادٍ للتصويت له إلى أن يصرحوا ممازحين عن مشكلة وجود بينيت آخر في الحزب اليميني.

كان بينيت، الذي يرتدي قلنسوة كبيا المحاكة على رأسه الحليق على الدوام، الرئيس السابق لمجالس المجتمعات المحلية في مستوطنات يهودا والسامرة وغزة، وهي مجموعة الضغط التي تمثّل المستوطنيين اليهودين في الضفة الغربية. واليوم، وبعد سنوات من العمل السياسي، بات بينيت زعيم حزب البيت اليهودي المتطرف، وهو حزب سياسي ساهم في إعادة هيكلة إلى جانب الحفاظ على المعايير الأساسية لليمين الديني الصهويني.

كيف تمكن نفتالي من إدارة هذا التكتل السياسي الدقيق بين الإخلاص لليمينية الصهوينية الدينية والإنخراط مع التيار الحر السائد في إسرائيل؟
لا بد للمرء أولاً بأن يفهم المعضلة التي ينبثق منها. فقد ولدت الصهيونية الدينية قبل قرن من الزمان وانتفعت إلى حدٍ كبير من حركات القرن التاسع عشر التي سعت إلى الجمع الصارم بين الشعائر الدينية اليهودية والمشاركة في المجتمع الحديث.

وفي قديم الزمان، حصر حكام أوروبا اليهود بين جدران الأحياء اليهودية، حيث تم منعهم من دخول التيار الإقتصادي أو الثقافي. ولكن تغير هذا في القرن التاسع عشر: تهاوت جدران الأحياء اليهودية، ومنح القادة الليبراليون اليهود الحقوق القانونية الكاملة، وتساءل اليهود حول كيفية الرد على هذا الوضع الغريب حيث أصبحوا ظاهرياً مواطنين متساويين. وظهرت العديد من الأجوبة على هذا التحدي، ولا يزال الجدل بين هذه المجموعات المختلفة، حتى يومنا هذا، ما يُميّز التاريخ اليهودي الحديث.

وقد أجاب البعض أنه يتعين على اليهود الاستمرار في كل من مراقبة التعاليم الدينية والمشاركة في المجتمع على نطاق أوسع. وينبغي إستمرار تعليم الأطفال النصوص الدينية إلى جانب تلقيهم التدريب العلماني بما في ذلك التعليم الجامعي. وفيما يتعلق بالشعائر الدينية، لا وجود للحلول الوسط. ولكن إلى جانب الإلتزام الديني الصارم، قد يُسمح بالمشاركة في المجتمع الحديث.

الفجوة بين المتدينيين والعلمانيين

عندما ظهرت الصهيونية بعد قرن، لفتت بشكلٍ طبيعي أنظار اليهود بعيداً عن هذه المدرسة. فقد دعت الصهيونية بشكلٍ كبير إلى ضرورة بناء اليهود دولة خاصة بهم. في تلك الدولة، لن يبتعد اليهود عن العالم الحديث ولكن لن ينغمسوا فيه أيضاً، بدلاً من ذلك، سيعملون على بناء مؤسساتهم الخاصة التي من شأنها أن تحافظ على الهوية اليهودية فضلاً عن كونها جزء من النظام الدولي الليبرالي الحديث. رأى الحاخامات إمكانية تطبيق هذه الفكرة وبدأت شراكتهم مع الصهاينة العلمانيين (وكذلك الإشتراكيين) في بناء الدولة.

وفي نفس الوقت، كان للحاخامات إتجاهين. أولاً، وبالنسبة لهم لن تكون الدولة اليهودية نسخة عن أوروبا وسطى تتحدث الألمانية كما اقترح الملحد ثيودور هرتزل، حيث يستمتع الرجال الذي يرتدون القبعات بعروض الأوبرا في حين يتحاشى الحاخامات السلطة السياسية. وبدلاً من ذلك، في الصهيونية الدينية، تمتلك الدولة هوية يهودية عامة وذات توجه ديني.

ثانياً، فقد واجه حاخامات الصهيونية الدينية مشكلة لاهوتية: في التقاليد اليهودية، تحدث قمة العودة إلى صهيون فقط عند عودة المسيح. وإبان عهد الإنتداب البريطاني، تدفق اليهود إلى أرض إسرائيل بأعداد هائلة وأكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى حيث كانوا يسعون لإنشاء دولة ذات سيادة. تتمثل إحدى الإحتمالات في أنّ اليهود استبقوا عودة المسيح وبالتالي يكونون بذلك انتهكوا القانون اليهودي. هذه وجهة النظر التي يتبناها تيار الحريديم المعادي للصهيونية (المتشددين)، ومن ناحية لاهوتية، يُفسر سبب رفض الحريديم الخدمة في جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي (IDF) أو الاندماج في المجتمع الإسرائيلي على نطاق أوسع.

يتمثل الإحتمال اللاهوتي الآخر في أنه في حال أعاد اليهود السيادة في أرض إسرائيل، فهذه علامة على أنّ عصر الميسحانية قريب. وهذا هو الرأي المقبول، على مدى العقود، من قِبل المزيد والمزيد من الصهاينة المتدينين. فضلاً عن ذلك، فقد منح نصر إسرائيل السريع عام 1967 المزيد من الأدلة على الخطة الإلهية، وكذلك كانت فرصة استيطان يهودا والسامرة، مهد التاريخ والدين اليهودي.

ومع مرور الوقت، أدى شعور القطاع القوي بالغرض السياسي إلى تحوله إلى اليمين. هذا الشعور بوجود الهدف، حتى وإن كان هدف ميسحاني، يفصل أيضاً الحزب الديني الوطني عن التيار الاجتماعي السائد في إسرائيل. كما أن العزلة الجغرافية للمجتمعات الوطنية الدينية المتجانسة على قمة جبل الضفة الغربية، تُجبر أيضاً النشطاء السياسيين على الإبتعاد عن السياسة على أرض الواقع.

التأثير المتزايد

ومع ذلك، فإن النشاط السياسي للقطاع لم يفصله فقط عن التيار السياسي الإسرائيلي السائد، بل ساعد أيضاً في إعادة تشكيله. أصبح المعكسر الديني الوطني مؤثراً في السياسة، وفي البيروقراطية الحكومية، وفي الجيش. وبدأت الموارد المالية بالتدفق على المستوطنات من النظام السياسي، لدرجة إلى أن المستوطنة الواحدة في الضفة الغربية باتت تتلقى أموالاً حكومية لتطويرها أكثر من تلك التي تحظى بها مناطق بأكملها في إسرائيل.

كما نجحت الصهيونية الدينية ثقافياً، إلى الحد الذي وفقاً لدراسة حديثة أجراها معهد إسرائيلي للديمقراطية، يتشابه ما نبسته حوالي 21 بالمائة من اليهود الإسرائيليين مع القطاع فيما يتعلق بنمط الحياة والتوقعات المستقبلية، حتى وإن كان العديد منهم غير حريصين من ناحية دينية. وبعيداً عن كونهم منعزلين، أصبح القطاع الديني الوطني بشكلٍ تدريجي دعامة متميزة في المؤسسة.

من جهة، أصبح بعد ذلك القطاع الديني الوطني أكثر بعداً عن التيار السائد في إسرائيل، إلا أنه من جهة أخرى، أصبح أكثر اندماجاً فيه.

البيت اليهودي: جاذبية أكبر

واجه نفتالي بينيت هذا التناقض، فقد ترعرع نفتالي في أسرة صهيونية متدينة. وفي الجيش، خدم في وحدة القوات الخاصة ماتكال، وهي ذات الوحدة التي خرج منها بنيامين نتنياهو وإيهود باراك. وفي مرحلة البلوغ، أسس بينيت مشروعاً تكنولوجياً حقق أرباحاً وصلت إلى 145 مليون دولار عام 2005. وبعد ذلك خطى بينيت خطوات جدية نحو المعترك السياسي، حيث تولى منصب رئيس هيئة الاركان لزعيم المعارضة في ذلك الحين بنيامين نتنياهو ورئيس لوبي المستوطنين قبل أن يتم انتخابه لرئاسة البيت اليهودي.

عندما تولى بينيت زمام الأمور في البيت اليهودي، كان مجرد حزب صغير ورصين يمتلك القليل فقط من مقاعد الكنيست التي تهتم حصراً للعناصر الأساسية في المعسكر الديني الوطني. اختار تمثيل القطاع بأمانه ولكن ليس بالضرورة لجلب الإسرائيليين من خارج الصهيونية الدينية.

إلا أن بينيت كانت لديه رؤيا مختلفة: باعتباره نجم شاب في “أمة ريادة الأعمال”، استغل مصداقية الشارع وسحره الشخصي لتوسيع نطاق حزبه. فقد عمد بينيت إلى تشجيع انضمام الإسرائليين الأقل تديناً، وحتى العلمانيين إلى الحزب. حافظ الحزب على جوهره الفكري والثقافي في المعسكر الديني الوطني، إلى أنه سعى إلى إضافة مؤيدين للحزب يرونه باعتباره البديل والخيار السياسي الأكثر جاذبية. يُمثل حليف بينيت السياسي أييلت شاكيد، وهو علماني يقطن في أحد الأحياء الراقية شمال تل أبيب النهج الجديد ليصبح رمز البيت اليهودي.

وربما استنتج بينيت أن استراتيجيته يمكن أن تسفر عن فوائد كبيرة للقطاع الديني الوطني. فبدلاً من أن يحصر نفسه باعتباره حزب سياسي صغير مهمش، يمكن للقطاع اكتساب سلطة سياسية هائلة. فهم بينيت بالفطرة ما أظهرته دراسة المعهد الإسرائيلي للديمقراطية في وقت لاحق: لدى العديد من الإسرائليين إنسجام كبير مع المعسكر الديني الوطني، حتى وإن كانوا هم أنفسهم ليسوا جزءاً من جوهرها. يمكن أن تكون هذه المجموعة هدفاً طبيعياً لتوسع البيت اليهودي سياسياً ويمكن أن تزيد إلى حد كبير تمثيل الحزب في الكنيست، الذي من شأنه أيضاً أن يمكّن الحزب من توجيه المزيد من الموارد المالية نحو المستوطنات والمزيد من الغنائم نحو المؤسسات الدينية الوطنية.

وفي انتخابات عام 2013، نجحت استراتيجية بينيت، حيث رفع حزب البيت اليهودي تمثيله في الكنيست إلى اثني عشر مقعداً من أصل أربعة مقاعد سابقاً (أو سبعة مقاعد إذا ما أخذنا بعين الإعتبار المقاعد الثلاث من الأحزاب الدينية الأخرى التي يُشارك فيها بينيت). ومع اقتراب حملة عام 2015، يبدو أن البيت اليهودي لا يزال قادراً على رفع عدد ممثليه أكثر.

ومع مرور الأسابيع الأولى للحملة، سارت الأمور وفقاً لخطة بينيت الاستراتيجية. ففي أول شريط مصور لحملته الإنتخابية، ارتدى بينيت ملابس عصرية وتجول في شوارع تل أبيب ساخراً من خصومه السياسيين لإعتذارهم عن خطايا لم يرتكبوها. أما في الفيديو الثاني، فيظهر بينيت كنجم يقوم بنفسه بتحرير مقاطع لخصومه السياسيين الجبناء وهم يرتعدون خوفاً أمام وسائل الإعلام الدولية، بينما يقف بينيت أمامهم دون أن يعتذر عن شيء. في حين أن الفيديو الثالث، يُظهر سيدتين علمانيتين تتحدثان بحماس عن نجمهما بينيت ومآثره الكبيرة على الإقتصاد الإسرائيلي.

ولكن يرى آخرون في المعسكر الديني الوطني الأمور بطريقة مختلفة. فقد عملوا على مدى قرون لإنشاء مؤسسات مجتمعات مستقلة، وذلك من خلال إبقاء أجزاء أخرى من إسرائيل بعيدة. صوتوا لصالح الحزب الذي هو حزبهم، بينما هددت رؤيا بينيت بالحرية وجهة نظرهم الأصولية. كيف يمكن “للبيت اليهودي” الإنتشاري والأكثر تعددية أن يكون موطن جوهر القطاع الديني الوطني نفسه؟

النزاهة المهددة؟

ازداد التوتر لسنوات، وفي يناير 2015 طفح الكيل. سعى بينيت إلى استقطاب ما يُسمى بناخبين “اليهود المزراحيون التقليديون” وهم يهود من أصول شرق أوسطية الذين ليسوا علمانيين تماماً ولا متدينين متشددين تماماً. يُمثل هذا القطاع حصة كبيرة من سكان إسرائيل بوجهات نظرهم السياسية اليمينية وولعهم بالتقاليد الدينية، إذ يشكلون توسعاً طبيعياً آخر لإئتلاف بينيت. كما أعلن بينيت أنه سيُضيف إلى قائمة المرشحين إلى الكنيست عن البيت اليهودي لاعب كرة القدم السابق إيلي أوهانا، وهو نجم سابق في فريق بيتار القدس وناشط، منذ فترة طويلة، في حزب الليكود، حيث يُعتبر أوهانا من أشد المؤيدين لليهود الشرقيين (مزراحيم) ويعدّ الوجه الأمثل لتسويق حملة بينيت الإنتخابية.

ولكن هذه الاستراتيجية لم تقنع زملاء بينيت من القادة والنشطاء في البيت اليهودي. لماذا يُعتبر أوهانا الذي حقق إنجازات رياضية مؤهل أكثر من الآخرين للكنيست من وجهة نظر بينيت؟ كيف يمكن لحزب ديني أن يكون ممثله أوهانا الذي ينتهك بلعبه مباريات في فترة ما بعد ظهر السبت حرمة يوم السبت لدى اليهود ويجر في ذلك آيضاً آلاف المتفرجين في الملعب وعبر شاشات التلفاز؟ في حين يرى البعض أن في الأمر خبث أكبر من مجرد المشاركة في المبارايات: لماذا يتحول القطاع الديني الوطني، الذي يُسيطر عليه الأشكناز (اليهود من أصول أوروبا الشرقية والوسطى) إلى اليهود المزراحي الأقل تأثيراً مثل أوهانا؟

نمت معارضة ترشيح أوهانا على المستوى الشعبي. وبعد عدة أيام، انسحب أوهانا في حين تراجع بينيت عن قراره. ويبدو أن التخلي عن أوهانا أثنى اليهود الشرقيين عن التصويت للبيت اليهودي بعد أخذهم الأمر بعين الإعتبار. ولا زال هناك ناخبين آخرين انشقوا عن البيت اليهودي لصالح التصويت لحزب يميني بديل آخر.

ومنذ الفشل الذريع لحملة أوهانا الانتخابية، بدأ بينيت العمل مجدداً على حملته التي تهدف إلى حشد الدعم الديني الوطني الأساسي. ولا تزال الجدوى طويلة الأمد لاستراتيجية حزبه وقطاعه، أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى، سؤالاً مطروحاً. هل سيواصل القطاع الديني الوطني مسيرته نحو الإتجاه السائد الإسرائيلي، أم أنه سيعزز أصوله الفكرية والثقافية؟ سيكون لإجابات هذه الأسئلة تأثير كبير على المجتمع والسياسة الإسرائيلية.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Faces / The Story of Naftali Bennett

The Story of Naftali Bennett

Naftali Bennett, Chairman Of Jewish Home Party
Naftali Bennett, Chairman of Jewish Home Party Photo UPI Photo/Eyevine

Naftali Bennett finds himself, in 2015, at a vortex of Israeli society. On one hand, Bennett, a rising star in Israeli politics and a symbol of quiet trends in Israeli society, sports a shaved head, millions in the bank, and, when speaking English, a nasal accent that sounds almost American.

This Bennett has produced savvy campaign videos meant for Israel’s hip and attractive secular set. Two female members of that in-crowd are seen, in a Bennett campaign video, ready to vote for him, until, tongue in cheek, they remember the problem: the other Bennett—the right-wing one.

This Naftali Bennett, who wears his knitted kippa on that shaved head, is a former chairman of the Council of Jewish Communities of Judea, Samaria, and Gaza, the umbrella lobbying-group representing Jewish settlers in the West Bank. Today, after years of political activism, Bennett has risen to head Bayit Yehudi (“Jewish Home”), a political party that he has helped to reshape but that remains the standard bearer of right-wing religious Zionism.

How can Naftali Bennett manage this delicate fusion between fidelity to right-wing religious Zionism and engagement with the freewheeling Israeli mainstream?

One needs to understand the dilemma from which it springs. Religious Zionism was born a century ago and drew on nineteenth-century movements that sought to combine strict Jewish religious observance with participation in modern society. Once, Europe’s rulers had walled Jews into ghettos, barring them from entering the economic or cultural mainstream. In the nineteenth century, that changed: the ghetto walls came down, liberal leaders granted Jews full legal rights, and Jews wondered how to react to this strange situation in which they were, ostensibly, equal citizens. Many answers to that challenge sprang up. The debate between these various groups is, to this day, the defining one of modern Jewish history.

Some have answered that Jews should both continue to observe the religious precepts and participate in the wider society. Children should continue to be schooled in religious texts but should also receive secular training, including university education. On religious observance, there would be no compromise. But, alongside the strict religious observance, participation in modern society could be permitted.

Rift between the religious and the secular

When Zionism emerged a century later, it held a natural attraction for Jews from this school. Zionism held, for the most part, that Jews should build a state of their own. In that state, Jews would neither shrink from the modern world nor assimilate into it. Rather, they would build their own institutions that would both maintain a Jewish identity and also be part of a modern, liberal international order. Rabbis saw the potential in the idea and partnered with secular (and even socialist) Zionists in building the state.

At the same time, the rabbis added two twists. First, for them, the Jewish state would not be a German-speaking copy of Central Europe, as the atheist Theodor Herzl proposed, where men in top hats would attend the opera and rabbis would eschew from political power. Rather, in religious Zionism, the state would have a public and religiously-oriented Jewish identity.

Second, the rabbis of religious Zionism faced a theological problem: in Jewish tradition, the climactic return to Zion happens only on the Messiah’s return. By the time of the British Mandate, Jews were coming to the Land of Israel in ever-greater numbers and seeking sovereignty. One possibility is that Jews had preempted the Messiah and thus violated Jewish law. This is the view adopted by the anti-Zionist Haredi (ultra-Orthodox) stream and, in theological terms, explains why the Haredi refuse to serve in the Israel Defense Forces (IDF) or integrate into a wider Israeli society.

The other theological possibility is that, if the Jews are recreating sovereignty in the Land of Israel, it is a sign that the messianic age is near. This view is the one accepted, over the decades, by more and more religious Zionists. Israel’s lightning victory in 1967 provided further evidence of the divine plan. So, too, did the opportunity to settle Judea and Samaria (the West Bank), the cradle of Jewish history and religion. Over time, the sector’s strong sense of political purpose led it to the right. This sense of purpose, even messianic purpose, also separated the national religious from Israel’s social mainstream. The geographical isolation of homogeneous national-religious communities on the West Bank ridge even set the political activists apart physically.

Increased influence

Yet the dedicated political activity of the sector did not only separate it from the Israeli political mainstream but also helped to reshape it. The national religious camp became influential in politics, in the government bureaucracy, and in the military. Budgetary resources began to stream into the settlements from the political system, so much so that single settlements in the West Bank received more government-development funds than entire regions in Israel proper.

Religious Zionism also succeeded culturally, to the extent that, according to a recent study by the respected Israel Democracy Institute, some 21 percent of Israeli Jews identify with the sector in terms of lifestyle and outlook, even if many of them are not themselves religiously observant. Far from being an outlier in Israeli society, the national religious sector gradually became a distinct pillar of the establishment.

On one hand, then, the national religious sector has become more distant from mainstream Israel but, on the other, it has become more integrated into it.

Bayit Yehudi: a broader appeal

Confronting this paradox was Naftali Bennett. Bennett grew up in a religious Zionist household. In the army, he served in the elite Sayeret Matkal combat unit, the same unit that produced Benyamin Netanyahu and Ehud Barak. In adulthood, Bennett founded a high-tech start-up that sold for $145 million in 2005. Bennett then entered the political arena in earnest, serving as chief of staff for then-opposition leader Benyamin Netanyahu and head of the settlers’ lobby before being elected to head Bayit Yehudi.

When Bennett took it over, Bayit Yehudi was a small, staid party with a handful of Knesset seats that catered exclusively to the core elements in the national religious camp. It chose to represent the sector faithfully but not necessarily to bring in Israelis from outside religious Zionism.

Bennett had a different vision: as a young superstar of “Start-Up Nation,” he would use his high-tech street creed and personal charm to expand the party’s tent. Bennett would recruit into it less religiously observant—and even secular—Israelis. The party would retain its ideological and cultural core in the national religious camp but would also add supporters who could see the party as an alternative, attractive political option. Bennett’s political ally Ayelet Shaked, a secular resident of a fashionable north Tel Aviv neighborhood, exemplified the new approach and became a Bayit Yehudi icon.

Bennett probably reasoned that his strategy could yield huge benefits for the national religious sector. Instead of walling itself off politically into a small, fringe party, the sector could gain immense political power. Bennett understood innately what the Israel Democracy Institute study later showed: many Israelis have an affinity for the national religious camp, even if they themselves are not part of its core. This group could be a natural target for Bayit Yehudi’s political expansion and could increase substantially the party’s Knesset representation. That would, in turn, enable the party to direct more budgetary resources towards the settlements and more spoils towards national religious institutions.

In the 2013 elections, Bennett’s strategy succeeded. Bayit Yehudi increased its representation in the Knesset to twelve seats, up from four seats previously (or seven seats, if we include three from another religious party, some of whose elements Bennett took in). Heading into the 2015 campaign, Bayit Yehudi looked set to increase its representation still further.

The first weeks of the campaign went according to Bennett’s strategic plan. In his first campaign video, Bennett dressed as a hipster and prowled the streets of Tel Aviv, mocking his political opponents for apologizing for sins he had not committed. In the second video, Bennett stars as himself, editing together clips of his craven political opponents cowering before the international media while he, Bennett, stands against them unapologetically. In the third video, those two secular ladies gush about their superstar Bennett and his grand deeds for the Israeli economy.

But other parts of the national religious camp see things differently. They worked for decades to create independent institutions and communities, to keep other parts of Israel at bay. They voted for a party that was their party. Bennett’s freewheeling vision threatened this purist view.

How could an expansionist, more pluralistic “Jewish Home” still be a home for the core of the national religious sector itself?

Purity threatened?

That tension simmered for years, and, in January 2015, it boiled over. Bennett sought to reach out to so-called “traditional Mizrahi” voters, that is, Jews with family origins in the Middle East who are not fully secular but who are also not fully religiously observant. This sector accounts for a significant share of Israel’s population and, with its right-wing political views and its fondness for religious tradition, is another natural expansion for the Bennett coalition. Bennett announced he would add to Bayit Yehudi’s Knesset slate former football player Eli Ohana. A former star for the Beitar Jerusalem squad and longtime Likud activist, Ohana is strongly identified with traditional Mizrahim and is the perfect face for Bennett’s marketing.

But fellow leaders and activists inside Bayit Yehudi were less convinced. Why was Ohana, whose career achievements were athletic, more qualified for the Knesset than others Bennett had passed by? How could a religious party put out Ohana as standard bearer when, by playing matches on Shabbat afternoon, Ohana had not only publicly violated the Shabbat but also caused hundreds of thousands of spectators and television viewers to do so as well? Some saw a more sinister prejudice at play: why should the national religious sector, dominated by Ashkenazim (Jews with family roots in Central and Eastern Europe), be turning to a lesser Mizrahi such as Ohana?

Objections to Ohana’s nomination grew at the grassroots. After a few days, Ohana withdrew his candidacy, and Bennett backed down. The ditching of Ohana seems to have alienated traditional Mizrahim who might have considered voting for Bayit Yehudi. Still other voters seem to be defecting from Bayit Yehudi to a further-right alternative.

Since the Ohana fiasco, Bennett has retrenched into a campaign aimed at shoring up his core national religious support. The longtime viability of his strategy for his party and his sector is, more than ever, an open question. Will the national religious sector continue its march into the Israeli mainstream, or will it reinforce its ideological and cultural purity? The answers to those questions will have a significant impact on Israeli society and politics.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.