فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / الحكم / السياسة في تقلّب بعد فشل تشكيل حكومةٍ إئتلافية في إسرائيل

السياسة في تقلّب بعد فشل تشكيل حكومةٍ إئتلافية في إسرائيل

Israel- Benjamin netanyahu
رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو يقف قبل التصويت على مشروع قانونٍ لحل الكنيست في 29 مايو 2019، في الكنيست في القدس. Photo AFP

لم يكن الفشل في تشكيل حكومةٍ إتئلافية بعد الإنتخابات سابقةً في إسرائيل، إلا أن الدعوة لإجراء إنتخاباتٍ جديدة بعد 40 يوماً فحسب من الإنتخابات أمرٌ غير مسبوق

يتمثل الإجراء المعتاد في بحث الرئيس عن ثاني أكبر حزب لتشكيل الحكومة. ومع ذلك، على الرغم من حقيقة حصول حزب الليكود الذي يرأسه رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو وحزب أزرق- أبيض الجديد الذي يقوده رئيس الأركان السابق بيني غانتس على 35 مقعداً لكلٍ منهما من أصل 120 مقعداً في الكنيست في انتخابات 9 أبريل 2019، إلا أنه كان من الواضح أنه لا يمكن لأي حزبٍ أن يحظى بمقاعد كافية لتشكيل الحكومة. لهذا السبب، صوت الكنيست بحل البرلمان والدعوة إلى انتخاباتٍ جديدة.

فقد كان وزير الدفاع السابق أفيغدور ليبرمان، الذي يرأس حزب إسرائيل بيتنا القومي، الشريك المتردد، والذي منعت مقاعده الخمس فحسب نتنياهو من تشكيل حكومة (رفض بعض الشركاء المحتملين الانضمام إلى ائتلافٍ يضم 60 مقعداً أو حتى 61 مقعداً، وذلك بسبب عدم الاستقرار الملازم لمثل هذه الحكومة).

هناك الكثير من التكهنات حول سبب قيام ليبرمان بسد الطريق أمام مرشده وزميله القديم بهذه الطريقة، خاصة وأنه زعم مراراً وتكراراً في الفترة السابقة للانتخابات أنه سيدعم تولي نتنياهو فقط منصب رئيس الوزراء.

تقول إحدى النظريات أن ليبرمان كان يتصيد ليحظى بالمنصب لنفسه. ونتيجةً لذلك، وضع شرطاً في تحالفه مع الأحزاب اليهودية الأرثوذكسية المتطرفة بأن تقوم الحكومة بتعديل مشروع قانون إعفاءهم من التجنيد العسكري الإلزامي. يعدّ هذا مطلباً قديماً لم يمنعه من التحالفات السابقة لنتنياهو، وهو أيضاً مطلبٌ يمكن للأحزاب الأرثوذكسية المتطرفة الاعتماد عليه للرفض، وهو ما فعلوه.

علاوةً على ذلك، يعدّ شريك حزب أزرق- أبيض الرئيسي، حزب هناك مستقبل، الذي يدعم مشروع القانون، مرفوضاً لدى الأحزاب الأرثوذكسية المتطرفة.

من الصعب تصور خروج كوكبة جديدة من الكتل الرئيسية من يمين الوسط ويسار الوسط من الانتخابات المقررة في 17 سبتمبر، ومن المرجح أن تكون هناك تغييرات داخل كل كتلة – فلربما تدخل بعض الأحزاب الصغيرة التي لم تتجاوز العتبة الانتخابية البالغة 3,25% في أبريل في حين قد يجد آخرون أنفسهم دون الحد الأدنى. في الواقع، من المرجح أن تعود هذه التغييرات بالفائدة على الكتلة اليمينية، مما سيؤدي إلى خسائر لدى اليسار.

فقد تمكن حزب ميرتس اليساري من تجاوز العتبة بفضل التصويت العربي. لربما يكون هذا التصويت هو التحول الوحيد المهم في الانتخابات الجديدة، ففي أبريل، كانت نسبة الناخبين العرب أقل من المعتاد، ويعزى ذلك جزئياً إلى خيبة الأمل بسبب التنافس السياسي الذي أدى إلى انهيار القائمة المشتركة للأحزاب العربية.

في هذه المرة، قررت الأحزاب العربية التنافس مرةً أخرى، ومن المحتمل أن تعود معظم الأصوات العربية التي ذهبت إلى ميرتس، إن لم يكن جميعها، إلى القائمة المشتركة. ومن المرجح أن تفوز هذه القائمة بمزيد من المقاعد بفضل تزايد الإقبال العربي.

بيد أن إضعاف ميرتس أثناء تعزيز قوة الأحزاب العربية لن يساعد كتلة يسار الوسط لأن الحزب القيادي، أزرق – أبيض كان قد صرح إنه لن يشكل ائتلافاً مع الأحزاب العربية.

بالنظر إلى احتمال عدم تغيير انتخابات سبتمبر الصورة العامة، سيُطلب من نتنياهو تشكيل الحكومة الجديدة. لربما سيكون قادراً على القيام بذلك إذا ما حققت الأحزاب اليمينية المتطرفة نتائج أفضل، وذلك باستعادة ما يصل إلى سبعة مقاعد تم خسراتها سابقاً عندما لم يتجاوز حزب اليمين الجديد الديني العتبة الإنتخابية. ومع ذلك، من شأن هذا أن يطرح مشاكل أخرى.

المشكلة الأولى، التي أصبحت واضحةً في جهود نتنياهو الائتلافية بعد أبريل، هي أنه سيتعين على نتنياهو تقديم تنازلاتٍ كبيرة، لا سيما للأحزاب اليمينية المتطرفة والأحزاب الأرثوذكيسة المتشددة. فعلى سبيل المثال، طالب اتحاد الأحزاب اليمينية بإلغاء قانونٍ يحظر الفصل بين الرجال والنساء في وسائل النقل العام فضلاً عن رغبته أن تُحكم إسرائيل وفقاُ للقانون اليهودي.

حاول نتنياهو استرضاء الناخبين، نافياً حتى أخذه بعين الإعتبار مثل هذه الأمور في محادثات الائتلاف، إلا أن هناك أدلة مكتوبة على أن هذه المطالب تمت مناقشتها في الواقع. ولا يوجد سببٌ لتوقع أنها لن تثار مرةً أخرى. وإلى جانب المطالب المعتادة للأحزاب الأرثوذكسية المتطرفة من أجل ناخبيهم، مثل تمويل التعليم الديني، من المحتمل أن تكون هناك مطالب جديدة وتنازلاتٍ كبيرة.

إن غالبية الإسرائيليين إما علمانيون أو تقليديون، إلا أن بناء الحكومات الائتلافية لطالما كان يعتمد على الأحزاب الدينية الصغيرة. في الواقع، كان هذا شوكةً في خاصرة الأحزاب الرائدة والجمهور لسنواتٍ عديدة، لكن الأحزاب الأرثوذكسية الصغيرة تشكل الآن جزءاً كبيراً (16 مقعداً في أبريل) من كتلة يمين الوسط.

تتمثل المشكلة الثانية التي تواجه نتنياهو في توقيت الانتخابات الجديدة، فقد قام بحل الحكومة السابقة وسعى إلى إجراء انتخابات أبريل من أجل إنقاذ نفسه من السجن بتهم شبهات الفساد. كانت الخطة على ما يبدو تتمثل في إجراء الانتخابات، ومع وجود الأغلبية اليمينية الجديدة في الكنيست، سيضمن حصوله على الحصانة من المقاضاة لكونه رئيس الوزراء الحالي. ودون تغيير قوانين الحصانة الحالية، يمكن القيام بذلك عن طريق إقرار قانونٍ يحرم المحكمة العليا من سلطة إلغاء أغلبية الأصوات التي تصوّت لصالح الحصانة. إن الاتفاق على خطوةٍ كهذه في الكنيست ضد المحكمة يعدّ أمراً أساسياً في محادثات الإئتلاف الأخيرة ، ويبدو أن الشركاء المحتملين قد أيدوها.

ومع ذلك، سيكون قد فات الأوان لإصدار مثل هذا القانون بعد انتخابات سبتمبر، ويرجع السبب في ذلك في أن الإدعاء العام كان قد اعتبر بالفعل أن التهم في ثلاث قضايا ضد نتنياهو كافية لمقاضاته، مع مراعاة إجراء جلسة استماع لنتنياهو. تم تحديد موعد الجلسة في سبتمبر ومن المتوقع صدور لوائح الاتهام.

ومع ذلك، فإن الوضع متقلّب في جميع أرجاء الطيف السياسي، حيث تم رفض أو إسقاط معظم اقتراحات الدمج المحتملة من جناح اليسار. كما لم يعرب حزب العمل، الذي ينشغل بمحاولة استبدال زعيمه الذي تنعدم الثقة به، آفي غباي، عن أي اهتمامٍ بدعوة ميرتس للاندماج.

فقد قاد غباي حزب العمل إلى أسوأ هزيمةٍ له على الإطلاق، مما قلل من قوة الحزب إلى ستة مقاعد فقط. ولربما يدخل اثنان من المتنافسين الشبان اللذان يحظيان بشعبيةٍ كبيرة، ستاف شافير وإيتسيك شمولي (كلاهما دخل المعترك السياسي بعد قيادتهم مظاهراتٍ ضخمة تدعو إلى تحقيق العدالة الاجتماعية عام 2011) في مواجهةٍ ضد الزعيم السابق عمير بيرتز. وإلى جانب حزب العمل، هناك حديث أيضاً عن عودة إيهود باراك وتسيبي ليفني إلى السياسة، ضمن حزبٍ قائم أو بمفردهما.

وعلى عكس اهتمام زعيمة ميرتس تمار زاندبرغ بالاندماج مع حزب العمل، هناك دعوات داخل الحزب لتحويله إلى حزب يهودي-عربي مشترك بالكامل، مع تولي القيادة عربي ويهودي. سيتم طرح هذه الفكرة في اجتماع الحزب القادم، ولكن من غير المرجح أن تكتسب زخماً. ولكن يعكس ذلك الاعتراف بقوة التصويت العربي، إلا أنه يدل أيضاً على الخوف من أن لا يتجاوز حزب ميرتس العتبة الإنتخابية.

من جانبه، أعلن حزب أزرق- أبيض أنه لا يرى أي حاجةٍ إلى توحيد الجهود مع أي طرفٍ آخر. أما بالنسبة لليمين، فالصورة النهائية غير واضحة. فبعض قادة الأحزاب السابقين يعودون، أو يحاولون العودة، إلى حزب الليكود في محاولةٍ لتأمين الدخول إلى الكنيست القادم. حزبٌ رئيسي واحد من يمين الوسط، حزب موشيه كحلون، كولانا، قد تم حله بالفعل وعاد إلى أحضان الليكود، إلا أن رواد الليكود غير مهتمين بالتخلي عن مناصبهم لصالح المنشقين السابقين في الحزب. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن يحدث أي شيء تقريباً من الآن وحتى 17 سبتمبر.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Governance & Politics / In Israel, Failure to Form Coalition Government Leaves Politics in Flux

In Israel, Failure to Form Coalition Government Leaves Politics in Flux

Israel- Benjamin netanyahu
Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu stands before a vote on a bill to dissolve the Knesset (Israeli parliament) on May 29, 2019, at the Knesset in Jerusalem. Photo AFP

Failure to form a coalition government after elections is not unheard of in Israel. But to have to call new elections just 40 days after the previous ones took place is unprecedented.

The normal procedure would be for the president to look to the next largest party to form a government. However, despite the fact that Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s Likud party and the new Blue and White party led by former chief of staff Benny Gantz both won 35 of the Knesset’s 120 seats in the 9 April 2019 elections, it was clear that no party could garner enough seats to form a government. For this reason, the Knesset voted to dissolve the parliament and call for new elections.

Former Defence Minister Avigdor Lieberman, who heads the nationalist Yisrael Beiteinu party, was the unwilling partner whose mere five seats prevented Netanyahu from forming a government (some potential partners refused to join a 60- or even 61-seat coalition, given the inherent instability of such a government).

There is much speculation as to why Lieberman blocked his old mentor and colleague in this way, especially since he had repeatedly claimed in the run-up to the elections that he would only support Netanyahu for prime minister.

One theory is that Lieberman was angling for the job himself. As a result, he made it a condition of allying with ultra-Orthodox Jewish parties that they change their military draft exemptions. It is an old demand that had not kept him out of previous Netanyahu coalitions. It is also a demand that the ultra-Orthodox parties could be counted on to reject, which they did.

Moreover, the Blue and White party’s main partner, Yesh Atid, which supports the draft, was unacceptable to ultra-Orthodox parties.

It is hard to envisage a new constellation of the major centre-right and centre-left blocs emerging from the elections scheduled for 17 September. There will most likely be changes within each bloc – some small parties that did not pass the electoral threshold of 3.25 percent in April may get in while others may find themselves below the threshold. In fact, such changes are likely to benefit the right-wing bloc, resulting in losses on the left.

The left-wing Meretz party managed to cross the threshold thanks to the Arab vote. That vote may be the only significant shift in the new elections. In April, the percentage of Arab voters was lower than usual, partly because of disappointment over the political rivalries that led to the collapse of the Joint List of Arab parties.

This time around, the Arab parties have decided to run together again, and so it is likely that most if not all of the Arab votes that went to Meretz will return to the Joint List. This list is also likely to win more seats thanks to a higher Arab turnout.

However, weakening Meretz but strengthening the Arab parties will not help the centre-left bloc since the leading party, Blue and White, has said it will not form a coalition with the Arab parties.

Given the likelihood that the September elections will not change the overall picture, Netanyahu will be asked to form the new government. He may be able to do so if the far-right parties do better, restoring as many as seven seats previously lost when the religious New Right Party did not pass the electoral threshold. However, this would present other problems.

The first problem, which became evident in Netanyahu’s post-April coalition efforts, is that Netanyahu will have to make significant concessions, notably to the far-right and ultra-Orthodox parties. The Union of Right-wing Parties, for example, has already demanded the abrogation of the law banning separation of men and women on public transport and wants Israel to be governed by Jewish religious law.

Netanyahu has tried to placate voters, denying that he even considered such matters in the coalition talks, but there is written evidence that such demands were in fact discussed. There is no reason to expect that they will not be raised again. Along with the usual demands of the ultra-Orthodox parties for their own constituents, such as funding for religious education, there are likely to be newer demands and significant concessions.

The majority of Israelis are secular or traditional, but the building of coalition governments has long been dependent upon the small religious parties. Indeed, this has been a thorn in the side of leading parties and the public for many years, but the small ultra-Orthodox parties now form a large part (16 seats in April) of the centre-right bloc.

The second problem for Netanyahu is the timing of the new elections. He dissolved the previous government and sought the April elections in order to save himself from prison for alleged corruption. The plan apparently was to hold the elections and, with the new right-wing Knesset majority in place, obtain immunity from prosecution for a sitting prime minister. Without changing existing immunity laws, this could be done by passing a law that would deny the authority of the Supreme Court to overturn a majority vote in favour of immunity. Agreement to such a Knesset move against the court was central to the recent coalition talks, and the prospective partners appear to have backed it.

However, it will be too late to pass such a law after the September elections. The reason is that the attorney general has already deemed the charges in three cases against Netanyahu sufficient for indictment, subject to a hearing with Netanyahu. The hearing is set for September and indictments are expected to be issued.

Across the political spectrum, the situation is in flux. Most of the possible merger suggestions by the left wing have been rejected or dropped. Labour, which is busy trying to replace its discredited leader Avi Gabbay, has not expressed any interest in Meretz’s call for a merger.

Gabbay led Labour to its worst defeat ever, reducing the once powerful party to just six seats. Two popular young contenders, Stav Shaffir and Itzik Smuli (both of whom entered politics after leading the massive 2011 social justice demonstrations) may face off against former leader Amir Peretz. Beyond Labour, there is also talk of Ehud Barak and Tzipi Livni returning to politics, within an existing party or on their own.

In contrast to Meretz leader Tamar Zandberg’s interest in merging with Labour, there are calls within the party to convert it into a fully joint Jewish-Arab party, with an Arab and a Jew at the top. This idea will be raised at an upcoming party meeting, but it is unlikely to gain traction. Still, it reflects acknowledgement of the power of the Arab vote, but it is also indicative of the fear that Meretz may not pass the electoral threshold.

For its part, the Blue and White party has stated that it does not see any need to join forces with any other party. On the right, the final picture is unclear. Some former party leaders are returning, or trying to return, to the Likud party in an attempt to secure entry to the next Knesset. One key centre-right party, Moshe Kahlon’s Kulanu, has in fact dissolved back into Likud, but Likud frontrunners are not anxious to relinquish positions to former party defectors. Still, almost anything can happen between now and 17 September.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.