فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر

من الماضي الى الحاضر

Israel- David Ben-Gurion
رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي ديفيد بن غوريون يعلن قيام دولة إسرائيل ، 14 مايو 1948. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ unknwon

تعود أقدم الاكتشافات الأثرية المسجلة فيما يعرف بفلسطين التاريخية بين عامي 7500 و3100 ق.م في جبل القفرة جنوبي الناصرة وسفح الرمل قرب طبريا. وأكدت الاكتشافات أن المنطقة شهدت نوعاً من الحياة البسيطة وكان أهم ما شهدته تلك الحقبة تأسيس أريحا التي تعتبر أقدم بلدة في التاريخ.

العصور القديمة

وكانت هجرة الكنعانيين أولى الهجرات البشرية الهامة إلى فلسطين التاريخية في بداية الألف الثالثة قبل الميلاد. وباتت المنطقة تتحدث بثلاث لغات هي الكنعانية والآرامية والعربية. وحملت المنطقة اسم أرض كنعان حتى وصول القبائل الكريتية إليها عام 1200 ق.م.

في الألف الثالثة قبل الميلاد، وصل النبي إبراهيم من بلدة أور في العراق وأنجب إسحق والد يعقوب الذي يسمى كذلك إسرائيل وإليه ينتسب الإسرائيليون.

وشهدت هذه الأرض سلسلة من الغزوات قامت بها القبائل الكريتية التي استقرت في شواطئ يافا وغزة، فسميت تلك المنطقة بفلسطين نسبة إلى اسم القبيلة الكريتية الغازية التي اندمجت مع الكنعانيين.

هاجر يعقوب وأولاده إلى مصر وقام ابنه يوسف على خزائنها، واستقر الإسرائيليون في مصر وكثر عددهم. ومع بدء تعرض الإسرائيليين للاضطهاد في عهد رمسيس الثاني، قرر موسى الخروج بهم إلى أرض كنعان. ومكث هؤلاء في الصحراء أربعين سنة قبل دخول فلسطين. وتمكن داود من إقامة مملكة لبني إسرائيل في القدس عقب الانتصار على جالوت.

وتولى داود الملك ونجح في توحيد الإسرائيليين والقضاء على الخلافات والحروب القائمة بينهم. واستطاع داود هزيمة اليبوسيين وتأسيس مملكة إسرائيل وعاصمتها أورشليم (القدس).

وبعد موت سليمان بن داود عام 935 ق.م، انقسمت المملكة إلى يهوذا في القدس ومملكة إسرائيل في السامرة.

زوال الممالك اليهودية

شهد عام 920 ق.م احتلال شيشنق ملك مصر لمملكة يهوذا. وفي عام 721 ق.م، هاجم الآشوريون مملكتي إسرائيل ويهوذا واحتلوهما وفرضوا الجزية عليهما. وحاولت مملكة إسرائيل التمرّد، ليقمع الآشوريون التمرّد ويأخذوا معظم السكان أسرى إلى العراق.

شنّ نبوخذ نصر الكلداني هجوماً على فلسطين عام 597 ق.م واستولى على القدس عاصمة يهوذا وأخذ ملكها وعائلته ومعظم قادتها أسرى إلى العراق، وأقام في القدس ملكاً جديداً. وفي عام 586 ق.م عاود نبوخذ نصر غزو يهوذا.

وبسبب غزوات الآشوريين والكلدانيين، اختفت دولة اليهود في فلسطين بعد استمرارها لأربعة قرونٍ (1000 – 586 ق.م) كانت حافلة بالخلافات والحروب والاضطرابات.

غزا الفرس فلسطين عام 539 ق.م، واستمرت هيمنتهم عليها لقرنينٍ من الزمن. وفي عهدهم، عادت بقايا قبيلة يهوذا من بابل إلى القدس.

واحتل الرومان فلسطين وجعلوها ولاية رومانية تابعة لروما. وخلال فترة الحكم الروماني شهدت فلسطين ميلاد السيد المسيح عيسى بن مريم. وشهد عام 135م آخر محاولة لإقامة دولة يهودية في فلسطين عندما تزعّم أحد الحاخامات اليهود عصياناً، فهاجمهم الحاكم الروماني هادريان واحتل المنطقة اليهودية في القدس ودمرها، وبنى في ذلك المكان مدينة جديدة حرم على اليهود دخولها. بعد تلك الواقعة، لم يحاول اليهود إثارة أي قلاقل حتى مجيء القرن العشرين الذي قامت في منتصفه دولة إسرائيل.

وكان الإسلام قد دخل إلى فلسطين التاريخية منتصف القرن السابع. ومرت المنطقة بالعهود: الأموي، العباسي، الصليبي، والعثماني، انتهاءً بالانتداب البريطاني عام 1917. واستمر الانتداب إلى مايو 1948 تاريخ إعلان قيام دولة إسرائيل “نكبة فلسطين” وفقاً لقرار التقسيم 181 الصادر عن الأمم المتحدة في نوفمبر 1947.

تأسيس إسرائيل

بعد إلحاق إسرائيل أول هزيمة بالعرب عام 1948، تمكن الإسرائيليون من إرساء قواعد دولتهم. وأجرت أول انتخابات تشريعية في يناير 1949 وفاز بها حزب ديفيد بن غوريون بأغلبية المقاعد. وفي مايو من العام ذاته، اعتمدت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة القرار رقم 273 الذي تم بموجبه قبول إسرائيل عضواً بها.

واستمر بن غوريون رئيساً للوزراء حتى عام 1963، في فترةٍ شهدت العديد من الأحداث – ولم تنقطع سوى عام واحد برئاسة موشيه شاريت (1954 – 1955). ومن أهم الاحداث إعلان القدس عاصمة لإسرائيل في ديسمبر 1949، ومنح جميع اليهود الحق بالهجرة لإسرائيل والاستقرار فيها والحصول على جنسيتها في يوليو 1950؛ والمشاركة في العدوان الثلاثي على مصر عام 1956.

ومع تولي ليفي أشكول لرئاسة الوزراء (1963 – 1969)، تم رفع الأحكام العرفية المفروضة على فلسطينيي إسرائيل منذ تأسيس الدولة. وبعد حرب يونيو 1967، احتلت إسرائيل قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية وشبه جزيرة سيناء ومرتفعات الجولان.

وفي فترة رئاسة غولدا مائير للحكومة الإسرائيلية (1969 – 1974)، هاجمت القوات المصرية والسورية المواقع الإسرائيلية في سيناء والجولان ضمن حرب الغفران / أكتوبر 1973. وشهدت الرئاسة الأولى لإسحاق رابين (1974 – 1977) إطلاق سراح مئات الرهائن المحتجزين في مطار عنتيبي بواسطة مختطفين ينتمون لتنظيم الجبهة الشعبية لتحرير فلسطين في يوليو 1976. وشهدت مرحلة مناحم بيجن (1977 – 1983) توقيع معاهدة السلام بين مصر وإسرائيل في مارس 1979 واجتياح لبنان في يونيو 1982.

ومع تولي شمعون بيريز لرئاسة الوزراء (1984 – 1986) تم إجلاء حوالي7 آلاف يهودي إثيوبي لأوّل مرة سراً إلى إسرائيل من مخيمات اللاجئين في السودان. فيما شهدت رئاسة لإسحاق شامير (1986 – 1992) قيام الانتفاضة الأولى في ديسمبر 1987 وعقد مؤتمر مدريد في أكتوبر 1991. ومع تولي رابين رئاسته الثانية للحكومة (1992 – 1995)، وقعت إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية اتفاق أوسلو الأول في سبتمبر 1993، كما تم توقيع معاهدة السلام مع الأردن.

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، واعتراف الولايات المتحدة رسمياً بالقدس عاصمة لإسرائيل والسيادة على مرتفعات الجولان في ديسمبر 2017 ومارس 2019 على التوالي.

إقرأ المزيد

في العقود الأخيرة من القرن التاسع عشر، ازدادت شعبية حركة في الأوساط اليهودية في أوروبا تدعم عودة اليهود من الشتات إلى أرض إسرا...
في غضون ذلك، تلاشى تصميم بريطانيا على البقاء في فلسطين. وأنهكت الحرب الإمبراطورية اقتصادياً ومعنوياً. وافتقرت إلى الرغبة في ا...
© Copyright NoticeClick on link to view the associated photo/image: ©Hollandse Hoogte ©Hollandse Hoogte
كانت حرب حزيران/يونيو 1967 (التي تعرف في الغرب باسم حرب الأيام الستة، 5-10 حزيران/يونيو) الأكثر فصلاً في العلاقات بين إسرائيل وجيرا...
تشابك الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي أكثر فأكثر مع الحرب الباردة. عزز الاتحاد السوفييتي علاقاته مع مصر وسوريا. وفي تشرين الثاني/نوف...
[four_fifth spacing=”yes” last=”no” background_color=”” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” background_position=”left top” border_size=”0p...
© Copyright NoticeClick on link to view the associated photo/image: ©Hollandse Hoogte ©Hollandse Hoogte

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ unknown | ©AFP ⁃ unknwon

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present

Past to Present

Israel- David Ben-Gurion
Israeli Prime minister David Ben-Gurion proclaims the state of Israel, 14 May 1948. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ unknwon

The earliest archaeological discoveries recorded in what is known as the historic Palestine date between 7500 and 3100 BC in Jabal Al-Qafra at the south of Nazareth and Safh Al-raml near Tiberias. The discoveries confirmed that the region witnessed a kind of simple life. The most important thing in that era was the establishment of Jericho, which is considered the oldest town in history.

Ancient times

The migration of the Canaanites was the first important human migration to historical Palestine at the beginning of the third millennium BC. At that time, the region has had three languages: Canaanite, Aramaic and Arabic. The region bore the name of the land of Canaan until the arrival of the Cretan tribes in 1200 BC.

In the third millennium BC, Abraham arrived from Ur in Iraq and gave birth to Isaac, the father of Jacob who is also called Israel and to whom the Israelites belong.

This land witnessed a series of invasions carried out by the Cretan tribes that settled in the coasts of Jaffa and Gaza. The land was named Palestine after the name of the invading Cretan tribe that merged with the Canaanites.

Jacob and his children left to Egypt, and his son Joseph was responsible of its treasury. Israelites settled in Egypt and their number there increased. As the Israelites began to be persecuted during the reign of Ramses II, Moses decided to take them to the land of Canaan. Israelites stayed in the desert for forty years before entering Palestine. David was able to establish a kingdom for the Israelites in Jerusalem after the victory over Goliath.

David reigned and succeeded in uniting the Israelites, in addition to eliminating their disagreements and internal wars. David was able to defeat the Jebusites and establish the Kingdom of Israel with Jerusalem as its capital.

After the death of Solomon, the son of David, in 935 BC, the kingdom was divided into Judah in Jerusalem and the Kingdom of Israel in Samaria.

The Demise of Jewish kingdoms

In 920 BC, King of Egypt Shoshenq, conquered the Kingdom of Judah. In 721 BC, Assyrians attacked and conquered both kingdoms, imposing a tax on them. The Kingdom of Israel tried to revolt. However, Assyrians suppressed the revolt and took most of the population captive to Iraq.

Nebuchadnezzar the Chaldean launched an attack on Palestine in 597 BC, seizing Jerusalem, the capital of Judah. He took the king of Judah, his family, and most of its leaders as captives to Iraq. Moreover, he appointed a new king in Jerusalem. In 586 BC, Nebuchadnezzar reconquered Judah.

Due to the invasions of Assyrians and Chaldeans, the Jews’ state disappeared in Palestine after its continuation of four centuries (1000 – 586 BC). This era was riddled with disputes, wars, and turmoil.

Persians invaded Palestine in 539 BC and their dominance continued for two centuries. During their reign, the remnants of the Judah tribe returned to Jerusalem from Babylon.

The Romans conquered Palestine and made it a Roman province. During that era, Palestine witnessed the birth of Jesus Christ, the son of Mary. The last attempt to establish a Jewish state in Palestine was in 135 CE when one of the Jewish rabbis led a rebellion. However, the Roman ruler Hadrian attacked them and occupied the Jewish area in Jerusalem and destroyed it. In that place, he built a new city that the Jews were forbidden to enter. After that incident, Jews did not attempt to provoke any unrest until the middle of the twentieth century when the State of Israel has been founded.

Islam entered historic Palestine in the middle of the seventh century. The region ruled by the Umayyads, the Abbasids, the Crusaders, the Ottomans and the British Mandate in 1917. The mandate continued until May 1948, the date of the declaration of the establishment of the State of Israel “the Nakba of Palestine” in accordance with the United Nations partition resolution No.181 issued in November 1947.

Establishment of Israel

When Israel secured its first victory on Arabs in 1948, the Israelis were able to establish the bases of their state. The first legislative elections were held in January 1949, and David Ben Gurion’s party won the majority of seats. In May of the same year, the United Nations General Assembly adopted Resolution No. 273, by which Israel was admitted as a member.

Ben Gurion served as prime minister until 1963. In his reign many events took place – his reign was only interrupted by Moshe Sharett (1954-1955). Among the most important events is declaring Jerusalem as the capital of Israel in December 1949; granting all Jews the right of return to Israel, settle there, and obtain its citizenship in July 1950; and participating in the tripartite aggression against Egypt in 1956.

With Levi Eshkol as prime minister (1963-1969), the martial law imposed on the Palestinians of Israel since the founding of the state was lifted. After the June 1967 war, Israel occupied the Gaza Strip, the West Bank, East Jerusalem, the Sinai Peninsula, and the Golan Heights.
During Golda Meir’s presidency of the Israeli government (1969-1974), Egyptian and Syrian forces attacked Israeli positions in Sinai and Golan during the Yom Kippur / October War 1973. The first term of Yitzhak Rabin as a prime minister (1974-1977) witnessed the release of hundreds of hostages held at Entebbe airport by kidnappers belonging to the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine in July 1976. The Menachem Begin phase (1977-1983) witnessed the signing of the peace treaty between Egypt and Israel in March 1979 and the invasion of Lebanon in June 1982.

With Shimon Peres holding the position of the prime minister (1984-1986), about 7,000 Ethiopian Jews were for the first time secretly evacuated to Israel from the refugee camps in Sudan. When Yitzhak Shamir was a prime minister (1986-1992), the first intifada broke out in December 1987 and the Madrid conference were held in October 1991. With Rabin taking over his second presidency of the government (1992-1995), Israel and the Palestinian Liberation Organization signed the Oslo I accord in September 1993. In addition, a peace treaty was signed with Jordan.

After that, the country witnessed the war against Lebanon and three other wars against Gaza. Furthermore, the United States announced its formal recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and sovereignty over the Golan Heights in December 2017 and March 2019, respectively.

Further Reading

Between 1900 and 1918, the number of Jewish settlements in Palestine rose from 19 to 47. The population of Palestine at the time was about 700,000, of whom just over 10 percent was Jewish. After Herzl's early death in 1904, a Rus...
Meanwhile, the British resolve to remain in Palestine faded. The war had exhausted the Empire economically and morally. It lacked the will to hold out in its colonies, where there was an incessant and violent struggle for indep...
On October 29, Israeli paratroopers dropped east of Suez at the southern entrance of the waterway. The next day, the Israeli army crossed into the northern part of the desert. The Israeli Air Force could pit the recently acquired ...
There had been sporadic shelling of Israeli villages and military positions by Syrian artillery from the Golan Heights in retaliation of Israeli provocations, followed by an air battle on 7 April 1967, in which the Israeli Air Fo...
A Palestinian armed group took its name from the September war in 1970: Black September. Members of the group assassinated the Jordanian Prime Minister Wasfi al-Tal in November 1971 during his visit to Cairo. Less than a year late...
In 1970s, the Arab-Israeli conflict became more and more intertwined with the Cold War. The Soviet Union strengthened its ties with (Nasserist) Egypt and (Baathist) Syria. In November 1971, Washington reached a memorandum of under...
For Israel, a peace deal with Egypt – its main Arab opponent – was of great importance, since it would neutralize its southern front and deprive its remaining Arab opponents of any war option. Already on 4 September 1975, both...
On 3 May 2011, as part of the Arab Spring, Fatah and Hamas signed an agreement to end their long drawn-out conflict. The agreement provides that elections will be held in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip for the PLC, and PNA, as w...
The second intifada, also known as the Aqsa Intifada, erupted after a provocative visit by Israeli opposition leader Ariel Sharon to the Haram al-Sharif (called the Temple Mount by Jews) in Jerusalem, one of the holy places of...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ unknown | ©AFP ⁃ unknwon

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.