فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / العصور القديمة / الفتح العربي

الفتح العربي

في أوائل القرن السابع الميلادي، نجح الخليفة الأول من الخلفاء الراشدسن، أبو بكر، في توحيد القبائل العربية في شبه الجزيرة العربية تحت راية الإسلام، الدين التوحيدي الثالث الناشئ من المنطقة. وبالتالي دعا المؤمنين إلى حرب مقدسة أو الجهاد لنشر الإسلام خارج حدود شبه الجزيرة العربية. توفي أبو بكر عام 634 م خلال المراحل الأولى من الفتح، ولكن خلفه، الخليفة عمر بن الخطاب، انتصر في معركة حاسمة عند نهر اليرموك ضد الجيش البيزنطي للإمبراطور هرقل عام 636 م، وسقطت القدس وقيصرية عامي 638 و 640 على التوالي.

قسم عمر فلسطين إلى مقاطعتين (جند)، كما كان الحال في ظل الحكم الروماني والبيزنطي. تضمنت مقاطعة الأردن الجليل وعكا، بينما تضمنت مقاطعة فلسطين (جند فلسطين)، مع عاصمتها في اللد وفي وقت لاحق في الرملة، كل الأراضي جنوبي سهل زرعين (مرج بن عامر). وتم إعلان القدس كثالث أقدس مكان في الإسلام. وأصبح جبل الهيكل الحرم الشريف وتم بناء مسجد في جوار الهيكل السابق، وهو المسجد الأقصى. وسرعان ما بدأت عملية تعريب فلسطين، وأما أسلمتها فاستغرقت وقتاً أطول.

الأمويون هم أول حكام فلسطين في ظل الإسلام، وهي السلالة التي برزت بعد اكتساب السلطة من الحكام الذين كانت قاعدة حكمهم في مكة والمدينة. عام 690 م، شيد الخليفة عبد الملك بن مروان قبة الصخرة، وهي صرح مثير للإعجاب على قاعدة هيكل سليمان.

انتهى حكم الأمويين حوالي عام 750 م، عندما تولت الخلافة العباسية من بغداد، ولكن من وقت لآخر كان هناك انتفاضات قامت بها مجموعات في فلسطين بقيت موالية للأمويين. حوالي عام 980 م، احتلت السلالة الفاطمية من شمال أفريقيا، مصر، ولاحقاً فلسطين. عانت المنطقة تحت حكم الخليفة الفاطمي الحكيم، والذي أصدر تدابير تمييزية ضد السنّة والمسيحيين واليهود على حد سواء. عام 1017، أمر بتدمير أهم معبد مسيحي في القدس، وهو كنيسة القيامة. عام 1009، فقد الفاطميون السيطرة على القدس، عندما دخل الصليبيون فلسطين من أوروبا الغربية.

فلسطين فتوحات عربية
الفتوحات العربية في القرن السابع الميلادي
فلسطين مسجد قبه الصخرة
مسجد قبة الصخرة في القدس
فلسطين الامويوون
دولة الخلافة الاموية

إقرأ المزيد

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، ...
حالياً تلبي إسرائيل معايير الدولة الحديثة من نواحٍ كثيرة. وقد ترا...
ومع معدل النمو السنوي الحالي البالغ نحو 2%، من المتوقع أن يواصل سكا...

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Ancient history / The Arab conquest

The Arab conquest

In the early 7th century, the first of the Rightly Guided Caliphs, Abu Bakr, had succeeded to unify the Arab tribes on the Arabian Peninsula under Islam, the third monotheistic faith originating from the region. He subsequently called the faithful to a holy war or jihad to spread Islam beyond the boundaries of the Peninsula. Abu Bakr died in 634 during the first stages of the conquest, but his successor Caliph Umar ibn al-Khattab won the decisive Battle of Yarmouk against Emperor Heraclius’ Byzantine army in 636. Jerusalem and Caesarea fell in 638 and 640 respectively.

Umar divided Palestine into two districts (junds), as had been the case under Roman and Byzantine rule. The province of Jordan (Jund al-Urdunn) included Galilee and Acre, while the province of Palestine (Jund Filastin), with its capital in Lydda (Lod), and later in Ramla, comprised all the land south of the Plain of Esdraelon. Jerusalem was declared the third holiest place in Islam. The Temple Mount became al-Haram al-Sharif (The Noble Sanctuary) and near the former Temple a mosque was built, the Aqsa Mosque. The process of Arabization of Palestine quickly set in, Islamization however took longer.

The first dynastic rulers of Palestine under Islam were the Umayyads, a dynasty that had come to prominence after gaining power from the rulers whose power base was in Mecca and Medina. In 690, Caliph Abd al-Malik ibn Marwan erected the Dome of the Rock (Qubbat al-Sakhra), an impressive edifice on the foundations of the Temple of Solomon.

Umayyad rule ended circa 750, when the Abbasid dynasty from Baghdad took over, but from time to time there were uprisings by groups in Palestine which remained loyal to the Umayyads. Circa 980, the Fatimid dynasty from North Africa conquered Egypt and subsequently Palestine. The region suffered under the rule of the Fatimid Shia Caliph al-Hakim, who promulgated discriminatory measures against Sunnis, Christians and Jews alike. In 1009, he ordered the destruction of the most important Christian sanctuary in Jerusalem, the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. In 1099, the Fatimids lost control over Jerusalem, when crusaders from Western Europe entered Palestine.

Map of the Arab conquest in the seventh century
Map of the Arab conquest in the seventh century
The Dome of the Rock Mosque in Jerusalem / Photo Shutterstock
The Dome of the Rock Mosque in Jerusalem / Photo Shutterstock
Map of the Umayyad Caliphate in the year 750 CE
Map of the Umayyad Caliphate in the year 750 CE

Further Reading

Israel witnessed the war against Lebanon and three other wars against Gaza. Furthermore, the United States announced its...
The State of Israel is a small country with a surface area of over 20,000 square kilometres. Claims to what Fanack calls...
With the current annual growth rate of about 2 per cent, Israel’s population is expected to continue to grow at a rela...

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.