فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / العصور القديمة / الحروب الصليبية

الحروب الصليبية

بدأت الحملة الصليبية الأولى عام 1095، عندما دعا البابا أوربانوس الثاني إلى بعثة عسكرية للسيطرة على الأراضي المقدسة، القدس، وفلسطين. وكانت هذه بداية قرنين من الزمان حارب خلالها المسيحيون والمسلمون بعضهم البعض في أغلب الأحيان – وفي بعض الأحيان أبناء الملة الواحدة – في كامل المنطقة الممتدة بين الأناضول وفلسطين، بل حتى إلى مصر.

ظهر الشقاق بين الصليبيين عندما نجح نورمان بوهيموند في الاستيلاء أخيراً على مدينة أنطاكيا، إحدى الكراسي البطريركية المسيحية، من السلاجقة. وكان الصليبيون قد وعدوا إمبراطور بيزنطيا بإعادة الأقاليم التي احتلوها، ولكن بوهيمند رفض الإذعان. وبعد الاستيلاء عليها بوقت قصير، استعاد جيش بقيادة كربغا، أمير الموصل، المدينة. وفي النهاية، تمكن الصليبيون من الاستيلاء على أنطاكيا مرة أخرى، ولكن صراعاً داخلياً اندلع. فبقي البعض في أنطاكيا، وأكمل البعض الآخر زحفه للاستيلاء على فلسطين، الأراضي المقدسة.

اتجه جيش غودفري حاكم بولون إلى الجنوب. وفي بادئ الأمر، لم يبدو القلق على الفاطميين بشكل علني من مرور الصليبيين عبر أراضيهم، بل وفكروا في مساعدتهم ضد السلاجقة. لكن هذا الأمر تغير عندما اقترب الأوروبيون من فلسطين ومصر. عام 1099، غزا غودفري القدس وأنشأ مملكة القدس اللاتينية.

بدا عدم وجود أية وسيلة لوقف النسخة المسيحية من الجهاد الإسلامي حتى عام 1144، عندما سقط معقل الصليبيين في الرها (أورفا في تركيا الحديثة) في يد محافظ الموصل عماد الدين زنكي بن آقسنقر. واستمرت الحرب ضد الصليبيين بشكل فعال بواسطة السلطان صلاح الدين يوسف بن أيوب، والمعروف باسم صلاح الدين، والذي انتصر في معركة حطين الهامة عام 1187، والتي جعلت معظم فلسطين تحت الحكم الإسلامي مرة أخرى.

في العالم الإسلامي، كان هناك عداء واضح بين شيعة مصر وسنة بغداد. وبقيت الإمارات الواقعة بين القوتين – خوفاً من السلاجقة الأتراك – منقسمة في ولائها. وأخيراً في عام 1292، المماليك، سلالة حكام مصرية – مع أنهم من أصول تركية وسُّنية – هم الذين وجهوا الضربة القاضية للصليبيين، والذين تم طردهم من عكا.

استمرت الحروب الصليبية قرنين من الزمان، وكلفت العديد من الأرواح وجلبت معها الكثير من الدمار والأمراض والفوضى. ولكن بوجه عام، سُمح للسكان المحليين – عدا العبيد وأسرى الحرب – بالبقاء أوفياء لإيمانهم. كما احتفظوا بسلطاتهم المحلية ونظامهم القضائي. ومن جوانب عديدة كان هناك تأثير متبادل بين الحضارتين الشرقية والغربية. وقد ازدهرت التجارة، وخاصة في المناطق الساحلية. وكان التجار من مسلمين ومسيحيين ويهود ينعمون بحماية خاصة عند عبورهم الحدود، حتى ولو اضطروا إلى دخول أراضي “العدو”. فكانت القوافل تجوب المنطقة بأسرها، وكانت السفن تبحر من مصر إلى صور إلى القسطنطينية، بل وإلى ما هو أبعد من ذلك.

تحت حكم المماليك، شكلت فلسطين جزءً من مقاطعة دمشق، وشهدت فترة قصيرة من الازدهار النسبي في البداية. وانتهى ذلك جزئياً بسبب الأوبئة المدمرة، مثل وباء الطاعون الذي أهلك الكثير من الناس في أوروبا، وجزئياً بسبب التدهور الاقتصادي الناجم عن الصراع على السلطة داخل النظام المملوكي. وفي النهاية، اندحر المماليك عام 1516 م أمام القوة الصاعدة للإمبراطورية العثمانية (التركية).

إقرأ المزيد

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، ...
ملف فنك الشامل عن إسرائيل يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
ومع معدل النمو السنوي الحالي البالغ نحو 2%، من المتوقع أن يواصل سكا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Ancient history / The Crusades

The Crusades

The First Crusade was launched in 1095, when pope Urban II called for a military expedition to take control of the Holy Land. This inaugurated a period of two centuries in which Christians and Muslims often fought one another – and sometimes their own co-religionists – in the whole region between Anatolia and Palestine, even stretching to Egypt.

Disunity amongst the crusaders arose when Norman Bohemond finally took the city of Antioch, one of the patriarchal sees of Christianity, from the Seljuk, a Turcoman Sunni dynasty. The crusaders had promised the Byzantine emperor to hand back the conquered territories, but Bohemond refused to comply. Shortly after his conquest, an army led by Kerbogha of Mosul retook the city. Eventually, the crusaders managed to re-conquer Antioch, but internal strife broke out. Some stayed, some went on to conquer Palestine, the Holy Land.

Godfrey of Bouillon’s army went south. In the beginning, the Fatimid did not seem overtly distressed by the Crusaders’ passing through their territory. This changed, however, when the Europeans approached Palestine and Egypt. In 1099, Godfrey of Bouillon conquered Jerusalem and established the Latin Kingdom of Jerusalem.

There seemed to be no possibility to stop the Christian variation on the Islamic jihad until 1144, when the Crusaders’ stronghold in Edessa (Şanlıurfa or Urfa in modern Turkey) was captured by Imad al-Din Zengi ibn Aq Sunqur, governor of Mosul. The war against the Crusaders was effectively continued by sultan Salah al-Din Yusuf ibn Ayyub, commonly known as Saladin, who won in 1187 the important Battle of Hattin, that brought most of Palestine under Muslim rule again.

In the Muslim world, there was a patent hostility between Shiite Egypt and Sunnite Baghdad. The emirates located between the two powers – fearing the Turkish Seljuk – remained divided in their allegiance. Eventually, in 1291, it was the Mamluks, a new Egyptian dynasty – though of Turkish origin and Sunnite – who brought the final blow to the Crusaders who were driven out of Acre.

The Crusades lasted two centuries, cost many lives, and brought a lot of destruction, epidemics and disorder. But on the whole, the local inhabitants were allowed to remain true to their faith – except for slaves and prisoners of war. They also retained their local authorities  and justice system. In many ways, the eastern and western cultures influenced one another. Trade thrived, especially in the coastal regions. Traders – whether they were Muslims, Christians or Jews – enjoyed special protection when crossing borders, even when they had to enter enemy territory. Caravans crossed the whole region, ships went from Egypt to Tyre to Constantinople and further.

Under the rule of the Mamluks Palestine formed a part of the district of Damascus and initially experienced a short period of relative prosperity. That came to an end, partly because of devastating epidemics as the Great Pestilence that at the same time decimated populations in Europe, partly through an economic deterioration caused by power struggles within the Mamluk regime. In the end, the Mamluks submerged in 1516 against the rising power of the Ottoman (Turkish) Empire.

Further Reading

Israel witnessed the war against Lebanon and three other wars against Gaza. Furthermore, the United States announced its...
Fanack’s Israel country file provides a comprehensive overview about Israel, its history, politics, culture, economy a...
With the current annual growth rate of about 2 per cent, Israel’s population is expected to continue to grow at a rela...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update