فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / العصور القديمة / الإمبراطورية العثمانية

الإمبراطورية العثمانية

فلسطين
الامبراطورية العثمانية في القرن السابع عشر

تم تقسيم فلسطين إدارياً عدة مرات في ظل الأتراك العثمانيين (1516-1918). حيث ارتبطت في البداية بدمشق، ثم بصيدا، ثم بعكا، ثم بدمشق مرة أخرى. وكانت المنطقة في نهاية المطاف، في نهاية القرن التاسع عشر، مقسمة إلى مناطق نابلس وعكا، وكلاهما تنتميان إلى بيروت، ومنطقة القدس ذات الحكم الذاتي والموضوعة مباشرة تحت القسطنطينية. كانت السيطرة العثمانية متقلبة في فترات من الهيمنة غير المباشرة، وفي فترات أخرى مباشرة بالأكثر. كما تذبذبت ثروات المنطقة الاقتصادية. ولكن في القرون الثلاثة الأولى من الحكم العثماني، بالكاد خضعت فلسطين إلى تغييرات هيكلية.

عام 1799، شرع الإمبراطور الفرنسي نابليون بونابرت بحملته إلى مصر وفرض حصاراً على عكا، أهم ميناء على ساحل فلسطين التاريخية. وبمساعدة السفن الحربية البريطانية، صد المدافعون الأتراك الهجوم. وبعد ستة أسابيع، أجبرت القوات الفرنسية على التراجع، وفي النهاية تخلت فرنسا كلية عن حملتها لتوسيع إمبراطورية نابليون إلى الشرق الأوسط.

عام 1831، احتل الوالي العثماني في مصر، محمد علي، فلسطين لحساب سيده الأعلى في القسطنطينية. فتح حكمه الذي استمر 9 سنوات البلاد على التأثيرات الغربية. ولكن اضطر محمد علي إلى الانسحاب من المنطقة إلى مصر عام 1830 عندما جاءت القوات البريطانية والنمساوية والروسية لنجدة القسطنطينية.

أثرت الإصلاحات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية التي أدخلتها الحكومة العثمانية على فلسطين بشكل كبير. وتم تشجيع الملكيات الخاصة، وبدأ القطاع الزراعي ينتج إلى السوق العالمية، وازداد عدد السكان، وازدهرت الطبقة المتوسطة الفلسطينية (انظر أيضاً حقبة جديدة). إلى جانب ذلك، ازداد اهتمام القوى الأوروبية، وأسست القوى الأوروبية القنصليات والمراكز التجارية في القدس والمدن الساحلية في فلسطين. عام 1882، أسس اليهود الروس أول مستوطنة في فلسطين. وكانت هذه أول مستوطنة ليهود من خارج المنطقة.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Ancient history / The Ottoman Empire

The Ottoman Empire

Map of the Ottoman Empire
Map of the Ottoman Empire in 1680 CE

Under the Ottoman Turks (1516-1918), Palestine’s administration was divided several times. First tied to Damascus, then to Sidon, then to Acre and then to Damascus again, at the end of the 19th century the region was eventually divided into the districts of Nablus and Acre, both belonging to the province of Beirut, and the autonomous district of Jerusalem, placed directly under Constantinople. Ottoman control fluctuated between periods of indirect hegemony and, in other periods, more direct control. The region’s economic prosperity also fluctuated. In the first three centuries of Ottoman rule, however, Palestine hardly underwent structural changes as a result of Ottoman rule.

In 1799, however, the French Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte undertook an expedition to Egypt and laid siege to Acre, the most important port on the coast of Historical Palestine. With the help of British war ships the Turkish defenders managed to stave off the attack. After six weeks the French troops were forced to withdraw, and France eventually gave up its campaign to expand the Napoleonic Empire to the Middle East.

In 1831, the Ottoman viceroy of Egypt, Muhammad Ali, occupied Palestine at the expense of his overlord in Constantinople. His nine-year rule opened up the country to Western influences. However, in 1830 Muhammad Ali was forced to withdraw from the region to Egypt when British, Austrian and Russian forces came to the aid of Constantinople.

The economic and social reforms introduced by the Ottoman government deeply affected Palestine. Private property ownership was encouraged, the agricultural sector started to produce for the world market, the population grew and the Palestinian middle class prospered (see also A new era). Moreover, the interest of the European powers was aroused, and the Western powers established consulates and business offices in Jerusalem and in the port cities of Palestine. In 1882, Russian Jews founded the first settlement in Palestine. This was the first settlement by Jews from outside the region.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.