فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / أيلول الأسود

أيلول الأسود

بعد حرب حزيران/يونيو عام 1967، أسست منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية مقرها في الأردن، حيث كان نصف السكان من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (والذين أعطوا خيار الحصول على الجنسية الأردنية عام 1969، وقد فعل ذلك أغلبيتهم العظمى). كانت مجموعات فلسطينية مسلحة تشن غارات من الضفة الشرقية لنهر الأردن على الضفة الغربية المحتلة، وتبعتها عمليات انتقامية إسرائيلية. وفي آذار/مارس عام 1968، هاجمت فرقة إسرائيلية قرية الكرامة الأردنية، والتي كان يعتقد بأنها مقر معظم مجموعات المقاومة. ورغم أن الفرقة ألحقت أضراراً، فقد تم صدها بقوة من قبل القوات المسلحة الفلسطينية والأردنية النظامية. رفع الحادث من معنويات الفلسطينيين وعزز من مكانة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في العالم العربي.

اختطاف الطائرات

تدهورت العلاقات بين الأردنيين والفلسطينيين تدريجياً، وخاصة بين القوات الأردنية المسلحة والمجموعات الفلسطينية المسلحة. من الجانب الأردني، كان الخوف يتزايد من أن يحاول الفلسطينيون الاستيلاء على السلطة في البلاد. أصبح تهديد سلطة الحكومة الأردنية والملك حسين، والعمليات الإسرائيلية الانتقامية الثقيلة بعد كل هجوم للفدائيين، تثير قلقاً بالغاً. ولم تنجح جهود السيادة على الجماعات الفلسطينية المسلحة ونزع سلاحها. وفي غضون أيام، تصاعدت الاشتباكات على نطاق صغير في صيف عام 1970، عندما شنت الجبهة الشعبية لتحرير فلسطين سلسلة من عمليات اختطاف طائرات. وفي 6 أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1970، خطفت وحدات فدائيي الجبهة الشعبية طائرة TWA وطائرة عائدة للخطوط الجوية السويسرية في غضون ساعتين، وبعد ساعتين خطفت طائرة لشركة Pan Am. في نهاية المطاف، تم إخلاء جميع الركاب من الطائرات قبل تفجيرها في الصحراء الأردنية من قبل الخاطفين.

تم إعلان القانون العسكري في الأردن، واندلع قتال ضار بين الجيش والجماعات الفلسطينية المسلحة. ووضعت الاشتباكات القوى الكبرى في حالة تأهب. وأرسلت الولايات المتحدة جزءً من أسطولها السادس إلى شرق البحر المتوسط، وحذا الاتحاد السوفييتي حذوها. وشرعت إسرائيل بـ “انتشار عسكري وقائي” على طول نهر الأردن للتدخل إذا اقتضت الضرورة. وبعد عدد من فترات وقف إطلاق النار والانسحاب الجزئي للمقاتلين الفلسطينيين من المدن والقرى، أصدرت حركة فتح بياناً في نيسان/أبريل عام 1971، تطالب فيه بإسقاط “السلطة الانفصالية العميلة” في الأردن. وفي تموز/يوليو، شن الجيش الأردني هجوماً جديداً على قواعد الفدائيين الفلسطينيين وأنهى وجود منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في الأردن. ونقلت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية مقرها إلى لبنان.

أخذت مجموعة فلسطينية مسلحة اسمها من حرب أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1971: أيلول الأسود. اغتال أعضاء في المجموعة رئيس الوزراء الأردني وصفي التل في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1971 خلال زيارته إلى القاهرة. وبعد أقل من عام، في أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1972، احتجزت نفس الوحدة الإرهابية مجموعة من الرياضيين الإسرائيليين كرهائن خلال الألعاب الاولمبية في ميونيخ، ألمانيا. لقي أحد عشر رهينة حتفه في هذه العملية.

فدائيون في شوارع عمان خلال أيلول الأسود عام 1970  Photo Keystone/HH
فدائيون في شوارع عمان خلال أيلول الأسود عام 1970 Photo Keystone/HH
زعيم منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية والملك حسين بعد الصراع  / Photo Keystone/HH
زعيم منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية والملك حسين بعد الصراع / Photo Keystone/HH
انفجار الطائرات المخطوفة في الأردن
انفجار الطائرات المخطوفة في الأردن
أحد الفدائيين في أولمبياد ميونيخ عام 1972
أحد الفدائيين في أولمبياد ميونيخ عام 1972

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Black September

Black September

After the June War of 1967, the Palestinian Liberation Organization (PLO) established its headquarters in Jordan, where half of the population consisted of Palestinian refugees (who in 1969 were given the choice to opt for Jordanian citizenship, which a large majority did). From the East Bank of the Jordan River the Palestinian guerrilla groups undertook raids on the now occupied West Bank, which was followed by Israeli retaliation. In March 1968, an Israeli brigade attacked the Jordanian village of Karameh, supposedly the headquarters of most of the guerrilla groups. Although the brigade inflicted damage, it was driven back by Palestinian and regular Jordanian Armed Forces. The incident improved Palestinian morale and won the PLO standing in the Arab world.

Plane hijacking

Gradually the relations between native Jordanians and Palestinians deteriorated, especially between the Jordanian Armed Forces and the Palestinian guerrilla groups. On the Jordanian side there was increasing anxiety that the Palestinians would eventually try to take over Jordan. The threat to the authority of the Jordanian government and King Husein, and the large-scale Israeli attacks following each guerrilla strike became a matter of grave concern. Efforts to rein in and disarm the Palestinian guerrilla groups came to nothing. In the summer of 1970, skirmishes escalated within days when the Palestinian PFLP launched a campaign to hijack planes. On 6 September 1970, PFLP guerrilla units hijacked a TWA jet and a Swissair jet within the space of two hours, followed two hours later by the hijacking of a Pan Am jet. All the passengers were eventually evacuated from the planes before these were blown up by the hijackers in the Jordanian desert.

Martial law was declared in Jordan, and fierce fighting broke out between the army and armed Palestinian groups. The clashes put the superpowers on alert. The United States dispatched part of its Sixth Fleet to the eastern Mediterranean, the Soviet Union followed suit. Israel issued ‘precautionary military deployments’ along the River Jordan to intervene if deemed necessary. After several truces and a partial withdrawal by the Palestinian guerrilla fighters from towns and villages, Fatah issued a statement in April 1971, demanding the overthrow of the Jordanian ‘puppet separatist authority’. In July, the Jordanian army undertook a new offensive against Palestinian guerrilla bases and ended the presence of the PLO in Jordan. The  Palestinian organization transferred its headquarters to Lebanon.

A Palestinian armed group took its name from the September war in 1970: Black September. Members of the group assassinated the Jordanian Prime Minister Wasfi al-Tal in November 1971 during his visit to Cairo. Less than a year later, in September 1972, the same terrorist unit took a group of Israeli athletes hostage during the Olympics in Munich, Germany. Eleven hostages lost their lives as a result of that action.

Fedayeen fighters in the streets of Amman during Black September in 1970 / Photo Keystone/HH
Fedayeen fighters in the streets of Amman during Black September in 1970 / Photo Keystone/HH
PLO leader Arafat and Jordan King Husayn after the conflict / Photo Keystone/HH
PLO leader Arafat and Jordan King Husayn after the conflict / Photo Keystone/HH
The explosion of the hijacked planes in Jordan
The explosion of the hijacked planes in Jordan
Palestinian commando at the Olympics in Munich, in 1972
Palestinian commando at the Olympics in Munich, in 1972

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.