الصفحة الرئيسية / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حصار غزة

حصار غزة


من أجل تحرير نفسها من السيطرة المباشرة لعدد كبير من الفلسطينيين وتعزيز قبضتها على الضفة الغربية، قررت حكومة الليكود برئاسة رئيس الوزراء أرئيل شارون عام 2005 فك الارتباط أحادي الجانب من قطاع غزة. وتم الانسحاب الإسرائيلي الذي أعقب ذلك في آب/أغسطس. بعد ذلك بعامين، استولت حماس على السلطة في غزة في حزيران/يونيو عام 2007. ووفق الصليب الأحمر الدولي، لقي أكثر من مئة شخص مصرعه في معركة استمرت أسبوعاً بين مقاتلي حماس وفتح.

تعتبر حركة حماس، وهي اختصار لحركة المقاومة الإسلامية، منظمة إرهابية من قبل الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي. والمجموعة مسؤولة عن العديد من التفجيرات الانتحارية في إسرائيل، والهجمات الصاروخية من أراضي غزة على المدن والقرى الإسرائيلية، وإعدام المعارضين السياسيين دون محاكمة. بعد استيلاء حماس على السلطة مباشرة، فرضت إسرائيل حصاراً على قطاع غزة. لم يكن عبور الحدود مسموحاً، ولا عبور البضائع إلى غزة سوى التي (في رأي الإسرائيليين) كانت تخدم أغراضاً إنسانية. وتوقف الاقتصاد في غزة. أما السلع المحظورة من قبل إسرائيل كانت تصل فقط عن طريق أنفاق تحت الأرض على الحدود المصرية.

اعتباراً من صيف عام 2008 تقرر وقف إطلاق النار. وكانت حماس قد وعدت بوقف هجماتها الصاروخية، وبالمقابل تقوم إسرائيل برفع الحصار المفروض على غزة. وفي وقت مبكر من شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، اخترقت إسرائيل وقف إطلاق النار بشن هجوم دامٍ. نتيجة لذلك، قررت حماس عدم تجديد وقف إطلاق النار، ومن ثم عاد إطلاق صواريخ القسام المحلية الصنع من غزة إلى إسرائيل.

قامت إسرائيل بضربات جوية صباح يوم السبت 27 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2008 على البنية التحتية لحماس في شمال غزة ووسطها. كانت هذه فاتحة ما أسماه الجيش الإسرائيلي بعملية الرصاص المصبوب. أخذ هذا الهجوم حركة حماس على حين غرة. ووفقاً للبيانات الإسرائيلية، لقي حوالي 250 شخصاً من نشطاء حماس مصرعهم في موجة القصف الأولى، فضلاً عن بعض المدنيين. وفي 3 كانون الثاني/يناير 2009، وبعد يوم من القصف الجوي والمدفعي على معاقل حماس في غزة، توغلت قوات المشاة الإسرائيلية المدعومة بالطائرات والمروحيات المقاتلة في شمال قطاع غزة. بعد 22 يوماً من المعارك، انسحبت القوات الإسرائيلية من قطاع غزة. وقد أسفرت المعارك عن مقتل ثلاثة عشر إسرائيلياً، معظمهم من العسكريين، في حين لقي حوالي 1400 من سكان غزة مصرعهم، من بينهم 750 إلى 900 من غير المقاتلين.

أفادت بعثة تقصي الحقائق في أيلول/سبتمبر (تقرير غولدستون)، والتي شكلها مجلس الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان برئاسة القاضي ريتشارد غولدستون من جنوب أفريقيا، بأن “كل من القوات الإسرائيلية والميليشيات الفلسطينية ارتكبتا جرائم حرب خطيرة وانتهاكات للقانون الإنساني، والتي قد ترقى إلى جرائم ضد الإنسانية”.

قال غولدستون في عرض تقريره: “لقد استنتجنا، على أساس الحقائق التي وجدناها، بأن هناك أدلة قوية تثبت ارتكاب العديد من الانتهاكات الخطيرة للقانون الدولي، كل من القانون الإنساني الدولي وقانون حقوق الإنسان، من قبل إسرائيل خلال العمليات العسكرية في غزة “. “وقد خلصت البعثة إلى أن الأفعال التي ترقى إلى جرائم حرب وربما، في بعض النواحي، إلى جرائم ضد الإنسانية، قد ارتكبت من قبل قوات الدفاع الإسرائيلية”. ووفق التقرير “ليس هناك شك بأن إطلاق الصواريخ وقذائف الهاون (من قبل الجماعات المسلحة في غزة) كانت مدروسة ومحسوبة لتسبب خسائر في الأرواح وإصابات بين المدنيين والضرر للبنى المدنية. وقد وجدت البعثة بأن هذه الأفعال ترقى أيضاً إلى جرائم حرب خطيرة وربما جرائم ضد الإنسانية أيضاً”.

كانت إسرائيل قد رفضت التعاون مع اللجنة، حيث كان تفويضها بـ “دوافع سياسية” و “من جانب واحد”، وفق وزارة الخارجية الإسرائيلية. “يدعو التفويض إلى إجراء تحقيق حول انتهاكات القانون الدولي من قبل ’السلطة المحتلة، إسرائيل، ضد الشعب الفلسطيني‘. ولم تصدر أمراً بالتحقيق في الانتهاكات التي ارتكبتها المنظمات الإرهابية الفلسطينية”.

في أيار/مايو 2010، حاول أسطول تركي يتألف من ست سفن كسر الحصار المفروض على غزة. وفي محاولة لوقف الأسطول، صعد عناصر كوماندوس إسرائيلية إلى واحدة من السفن في المياه الدولية قبالة غزة. فشلت عملية القوات الإسرائيلية المسلحة ولقي تسعة أشخاص حتفهم على متن السفينة. رفضت إسرائيل تأسيس لجنة تحقيق دولية. ومع ذلك، وعد رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو برفع الحصار جزئياً. وفي تموز/يوليو 2010، خلصت لجنة تحقيق عسكرية إسرائيلية إلى أنه “من حيث الجهود الاستخباراتية، لم يتم تنفيذ جميع المناهج الممكنة لجمع المعلومات الاستخباراتية بالكامل، وأن التنسيق بين الاستخبارات البحرية والعسكرية الإسرائيلية لم يكن كافٍ”. وعلاوة على ذلك، كانت العملية “تعتمد بشكل مفرط على مسار واحد من العمل، وإن كان محتملاً، بينما لم يتم إعداد أية مسارات بديلة في حال حدوث سيناريوهات أخطر”. (انظر بلوج جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي)

مستوطنون يهود يحتجون على إجلائهم من غزة Photo HH
مستوطنون يهود يحتجون على إجلائهم من غزة Photo HH
مقاتلون من الجهاد الإسلامي يتدربون  Photo HH
مقاتلون من الجهاد الإسلامي يتدربون Photo HH
مقاتلان من حماس في غزة  Photo HH
مقاتلان من حماس في غزة Photo HH
أهالي غزة يتفرجون على استعراض لحماس  Photo HH
أهالي غزة يتفرجون على استعراض لحماس Photo HH
زعيم حماس اسماعيل هنية يلقي كلمة في غزة، تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2008   Photo HH
زعيم حماس اسماعيل هنية يلقي كلمة في غزة، تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2008 Photo HH
بعد غارة جوية على مركز للشرطة في غزة، كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2008  Photo UPI/HH
بعد غارة جوية على مركز للشرطة في غزة، كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2008 Photo UPI/HH

image_pdfimage_print

Home / Israel / Past to Present / Blockade of Gaza

Blockade of Gaza

To free itself from the direct control of a large number of Palestinians and to strengthen its grip on the West Bank, the Likud government of Prime Minster Ariel Sharon decided to disengage unilaterally from the Gaza Strip in 2005. The Israeli withdrawal that followed took place in August. Two years later, Hamas seized power in Gaza in June 2007. According to the International Red Cross more than a hundred people died in the week long battle between Hamas and Fatah fighters.

Hamas, an acronym of the Islamic Resistance Movement, is considered a terrorist organization by the United States and the European Union. The group is held responsible for numerous suicide bombings in Israel, rocket attacks from Gazan soil on Israeli towns and villages, and killings of political opponents. Immediately after Hamas’ seizure of power, Israel imposed a blockade of the Gaza Strip. No border crossings were allowed, and only goods that served humanitarian purposes (according to Israel) could pass into Gaza. The economy in Gaza came to a standstill. Contraband could only reach the population by way of underground tunnels from the Egyptian border.

From the summer of 2008, a ceasefire had been in place. Hamas had promised to cease its rocket attacks and in return Israel was to lift the blockade of Gaza. Early November, Israel violated the ceasefire by launching a bloody attack. As a result, Hamas decided not to renew the ceasefire, after which homemade Qassam rockets were once again launched from Gaza into Israel.

On Saturday morning, 27 December 2008, Israeli air attacks took place on Hamas’ infrastructure in northern and central Gaza. This was the opening of what the Israeli military called Operation Cast Lead. The offensive caught Hamas off guard. According to Israeli statements, about 250 Hamas operatives were killed in the initial bombing wave, along with civilians. On 3 January 2009, after a day of aerial shelling and artillery fire on Hamas strongholds in Gaza, Israeli infantry, backed by fighter jets and helicopter gunships, entered the Strip’s north. After 22 days of battle Israeli forces withdrew from Gaza. There were thirteen Israeli casualties, three of whom civilians. Circa 1,400 Gazans died, including between 750 to 900 non-combatants.

A Fact Finding Mission set op by the UN Human Rights Council and presided over by South African Justice Richard Goldstone, reported in September (Goldstone Report) that ‘both Israeli forces and Palestinian militants committed serious war crimes and breaches of humanitarian law, which may amount to crimes against humanity’.

‘We came to the conclusion, on the basis of the facts we found, that there was strong evidence to establish that numerous serious violations of international law, both humanitarian law and human rights law, were committed by Israel during the military operations in Gaza,’ Goldstone said at the presentation of the report. ‘The mission concluded that actions amounting to war crimes and possibly, in some respects, crimes against humanity, were committed by the Israel Defense Force.’ According to the report, ‘there is no question that the firing of rockets and mortars [by armed groups from Gaza] was deliberate and calculated to cause loss of life and injury to civilians and damage to civilian structures. The mission found that these actions also amount to serious war crimes and also possibly crimes against humanity.’

Israel had refused to cooperate with the mission, whose mandate was ‘politically motivated’ and ‘one-sided’, as the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs stated. ‘The mandate calls for an investigation into violations of international law by “the occupying Power, Israel, against the Palestinian people”. It does not mandate any investigation of violations by Palestinian terrorist organizations.’

In May 2010, a Turkish flotilla of six ships tried to break the blockade of Gaza. Trying to stop the flotilla, Israeli commandos boarded one of the ships in international waters off the Gaza coast. The Israeli Armed Forces made a botch of the operation and nine people on board were killed. Israel refused to set up an international commission of inquiry. Nevertheless, Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu promised to partly lift the blockade. In July 2010, an Israeli military commission of inquiry concluded that ‘in terms of the intelligence effort, not all possible intelligence gathering methods were fully implemented and that the coordination between Navy Intelligence and the Israel Defense Intelligence was insufficient’. Furthermore, the operation ‘relied excessively on a single course of action, albeit a probable one, while no alternative courses of action were prepared for the event of more dangerous scenarios’ (see Israel Defense Forces Blog).

Jewish settlers protesting against their removal from Gaza Photo HH
Jewish settlers protesting against their removal from Gaza Photo HH
Fighters of the Islamic Jihad in training Photo HH
Fighters of the Islamic Jihad in training Photo HH
Two Hamas fighters in Gaza Photo HH
Two Hamas fighters in Gaza Photo HH
Gazans at a Hamas demonstration Photo HH
Gazans at a Hamas demonstration Photo HH
Hamas leader Ismail Haniyeh delivers a speech in Gaza, November 2008 Photo HH
Hamas leader Ismail Haniyeh delivers a speech in Gaza, November 2008 Photo HH
After an air strike on a police station in Gaza, December 2008 Photo UPI/HH
After an air strike on a police station in Gaza, December 2008 Photo UPI/HH

image_pdfimage_print