فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الاختراق / الانتفاضة

الانتفاضة

First Intifada
مواجهات بين متظاهرين فلسطينيين والجيش الإسرائيلي في الضفة الغربية

أدى استمرار احتلال فلسطين في النهاية إلى اندلاع الانتفاضة الشعبية الأولى للفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية و قطاع غزة، والتي بدأت في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1987. وكانت بمثابة صدمة ومفاجأة للحكومة الإسرائيلية والقيادة الفلسطينية على حد سواء. وسرعان ما أثبتت أساليب الجيش الإسرائيلي الساعية إلى إخماد الانتفاضة عدم فاعليتها. وعلى العكس، بدأ صراع طويل المدى. ونتيجة لذلك، ارتفعت الدعوات – كما في الغرب – لوضع حد للاحتلال.

كانت تكتيكات الانتفاضة متعددة: إضرابات عمالية منظمة وإغلاقات تجارية ومقاطعة البضائع الإسرائيلية ومظاهرات لا نهاية لها. شارك العديد من الشباب بالانتفاضة، بالتلويح بالإعلام الفلسطينية ورشق الجيش الإسرائيلي بالحجارة. وكانت مخيمات اللاجئين مصادر لا تنضب من المتطوعين. ولم تكن الانتفاضة بعيدة عن العنف. ووفق منظمة بتسليم الإسرائيلية لحقوق الإنسان، قتل نحو 1376فلسطيني خلال ست سنوات على يد القوات المسلحة الإسرائيلية، و 185 يهودياً إسرائيلياً على يد الفلسطينيين. وتم اعتقال أكثر من 15000 فلسطيني. وقتل المئات من الفلسطينيين المشتبه بتعاونهم مع إسرائيل، من قبل فلسطينيين آخرين.

مع أن الانتفاضة كانت بمثابة رد فعل طبيعي على الاحتلال، سرعان ما شرع القادة المحليون في تنظيمها. وكان بينهم قادة تيار جديد على الساحة السياسية الفلسطينية: إسلاميو حماس والجهاد الإسلامي. ظلت المنظمتان، باختيارهما، خارج منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية.

كي تتمكن منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية من استعادة السيطرة على التطورات السياسية في فلسطين اتخذت قيادتها في المنفى في تونس خطوتين. كانت الخطوة الأولى في 15 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1988 مصادقة المجلس الوطني الفلسطيني على قراري مجلس الأمن الدولي 242 و 338، وهو ما يعني تأييداً رسمياً لمقاربة الدولتين في المفاوضات المقبلة. وفي الوقت نفسه، قررت نبذ “الإرهاب بجميع أشكاله (حتى إرهاب الدولة)”. وهو ما فتح الطريق أخيراً أمام الولايات المتحدة لحوار رسمي مع منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية (على أن هذا الحوار ما لبث أن توقف بسبب موقف منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية المؤيد للعراق في أزمة الكويت).

أما الخطوة الثانية، في اليوم نفسه، فكانت إعلان استقلال فلسطين، الذي أعلنه رسمياً رئيس منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ياسر عرفات في اجتماع المجلس الوطني الفلسطيني في الجزائر العاصمة. ومع أنها كانت ذات طابع رمزي، فقد كان الهدف واضحاً: تأسيس دولة فلسطينية في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة. تم تسهيل كلتا الخطوتين بعد أن قام العاهل الأردني الملك حسين، الذي فقد تأثيره السياسي على الفلسطينيين على مر السنين، بقطع علاقات الأردن القانونية والإدارية مع الضفة الغربية في 31 تموز/يوليو 1988، فقط بعد أشهر من اندلاع الانتفاضة. وكان الحكم الذاتي للفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية المرتبطة بالأردن خياراً بعيداً عن الأجندة السياسية، مع أنه ظل الخيار المفضل لحزب العمل الإسرائيلي لمدة طويلة. (لمزيد من المعلومات، انظر أيضاً الانتفاضة في المفاوضات العربية الإسرائيلية)

إقرأ المزيد

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، ...
ملف فنك الشامل عن إسرائيل يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
في نهاية الخمسينات، أعلنت قيادة جديدة عن نفسها باسم منظمة التحرير...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ESAIAS BAITEL ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Breakthrough / The First Intifada

The First Intifada

A confrontation between Palestinian demonstrators and the Israeli army in the West Bank Photo HH
A confrontation between Palestinian demonstrators and the Israeli army in the West Bank Photo HH

The continuation of the occupation of the Palestinian territories eventually led to the outbreak of a popular uprising (the First Intifada) of Palestinians in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip, starting in December 1987. It came as a shock and a surprise for the Israeli government and the Palestinian leadership alike. It soon became clear that the methods used by the Israeli army to quash the uprising, were ineffective. On the contrary: a five-year period of confrontation commenced. As a consequence, the calls – also in the West – for an end to the occupation swelled.

The tactics of the Intifada were multiple: organized labour strikes, shop closures, boycotts of Israeli goods, endless demonstrations. Many youngsters took part in the uprising, waving Palestinian flags, and throwing stones at the Israeli military. The refugee camps were inexhaustible sources of recruitment. The uprising was far from non-violent. According to Israeli human rights organization B’Tselem, in the course of six years 1,376 Palestinians were killed by the Israeli Armed Forces or Jewish settlers, and 185 Jewish Israelis by the Palestinians. More than 15,000 Palestinians were imprisoned. Some hundreds of Palestinians, suspected of collaborating with Israel, were killed by fellow Palestinians.

Although the uprising was a spontaneous reaction to the occupation, it was soon organized by local leaders. Among them were leaders of a new current in Palestinian politics, especially in Gaza: the Islamists of Hamas and the Islamic Jihad. Both organizations remained, by choice, outside the PLO.

In order to regain control over political developments in the Occupied Territories, the PLO leadership in exile in Tunis took two steps. The first move was the endorsement on 15 November 1988, by the Palestinian National Council of UN Resolutions 242 and 338, thus formally supporting a two-state approach in future negotiations. At the same time ‘terrorism in all its forms (including state terrorism)’ was rejected. For the United States this finally opened the way for a formal dialogue with the PLO (soon afterwards ties would be severed because of the PLO’s pro-Iraqi stand in the Kuwait Crisis).

The second step, on the same day, was the Declaration of Independence of Palestine, solemnly proclaimed by PLO chairman Arafat at the Palestinian National Council meeting in Algiers (Algeria). Although only of a symbolic nature, the objective was clear: the establishment of a Palestinian state in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. Both steps were made easier after King Husayn of Jordan, who over the years had lost political influence on the Palestinians on both sides of the Jordan River, cut Jordan’s legal and administrative ties with the West Bank on 31 July 1988, only months after the outbreak of the Intifada. Autonomy for the Palestinians in the West Bank in association with Jordan – the long-time preferred option of the Israeli Labour Party – was thus off the agenda. (For more in depth information, see also Intifada in Arab-Israeli Negotiations)

Further Reading

Israel witnessed the war against Lebanon and three other wars against Gaza. Furthermore, the United States announced its...
The State of Israel is a small country with a surface area of over 20,000 square kilometres. Claims to what Fanack calls...
At the end of the 1950s, a new leadership announced itself in the organization of the Palestinian Liberation Organizatio...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.