فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الاختراق / اتفاقات أوسلو

اتفاقات أوسلو

اتفاقات أوسلو ياسر عرفات اسحق رابين
الرئيس الأمريكي بيل كلينتون يراقب بينما زعيم منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ياسر عرفات يصافح رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي اسحق رابين خلال التوقيع على اتفاقات أوسلو في واشنطن

وجدت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية نفسها في عزلة دبلوماسية مرة أخرى في نهاية الحرب الباردة وتفكك الاتحاد السوفييتي. كما وقفت إلى جانب صدام حسين في حرب الخليج (1990-1991) بعد أن غزا الجيش العراقي الكويت. فتوقف تدفق الأموال من الدول المانحة مثل السعودية والكويت ودول الخليج.

نجح الرئيس الأميركي جورج بوش ووزير الخارجية جيمس بيكر في تشكيل ائتلاف من 34 دولة، من بينها ثماني دول عربية، وهي: البحرين، ومصر، والمغرب، وسلطنة عمان، والمملكة العربية السعودية، وقطر، والإمارات العربية المتحدة، وسوريا، ووحدات من القوات المسلحة الكويتية التي عبرت حدود المملكة العربية السعودية. من جهة أخرى، أيدت كل من الأردن واليمن ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية صدام حسين سياسياً. بدأ التحالف يوم 17 كانون الثاني/يناير 1991 بشن عمليات جوية على المواقع العراقية في كل من الكويت والعراق، أعقبه في 23 شباط/فبراير هجوم بري واسع النطاق على جبهة واسعة جداً في عملية عرفت باسم “عاصفة الصحراء”. وبعد مئة ساعة، انتهت المعركة. خلال ما يسمى بحرب الخليج، أطلقت العراق صواريخ سكود على أهداف في كل من السعودية وإسرائيل، في محاولة لإثارة هجمات انتقامية إسرائيلية، الأمر الذي كان من المحتمل أن يتسبب بانقسام التحالف. وتحت ضغط أمريكي، لم ترد إسرائيل.

بعد وقت قصير من تحرير الكويت، رأت واشنطن أن الوقت مناسب (أيضاً في مقابل الدعم العربي) لتنظيم مؤتمر سلام متعدد الأطراف يتناول قضايا الشرق الأوسط في مدريد (اسبانيا – 30 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر حتى 1 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1991). وإلى جانب الولايات المتحدة (المضيف الرسمي) والاتحاد السوفيتي، حضر المؤتمر وفود من إسرائيل والأردن وسوريا ولبنان، بالإضافة إلى ممثلين من مصر ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي (الوفد المراقب) والاتحاد الأوروبي. ولم تتم دعوة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، التي شهدت انخفاضاً حاداً في التمويل والمساندة السياسية بعد دعمها للعراق خلال حرب الخليج. وعوضاً عن ذلك، تم إضافة شخصيات بارزة من الضفة الغربية و قطاع غزة – وثيقة الصلة بمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية – إلى الوفد الأردني، الذي كان بالتالي ضعف حجم الوفود العربية الأخرى التي حضرت المؤتمر. أعقب المحادثات العامة متعددة الأطراف على المستوى الوزاري مفاوضات ثنائية بين إسرائيل والأردن/الفلسطينيين، وسوريا، ولبنان. وتناولت المجموعات الفرعية التي شارك فيها خبراء قضايا مثل المستوطنات اليهودية والمياه واللاجئين وغيرها.

استمرت المحادثات والمفاوضات متعددة الأطراف والثنائية لشهور، دون نتيجة تُذكَر. ولم تنجح إسرائيل في التوصل إلى اتفاق سلام منفصل مع الأردن. هذا في حين وصلت المحادثات مع سوريا إلى طريق مسدود حول مسألة الانسحاب الإسرائيلي الكامل من مرتفعات الجولان. وتمسك الوفد الفلسطيني بمطالبه: اعتراف إسرائيل بحق الشعب الفلسطيني في تقرير مصيره، والانسحاب الإسرائيلي الكامل من الضفة الغربية (حتى القدس الشرقية) وقطاع غزة، وتفكيك المستوطنات اليهودية، وإقامة دولة فلسطينية، وإيجاد حل لمشكلة اللاجئين.

في أواخر آب/أغسطس 1992، أطلع وزير الخارجية الإسرائيلي شمعون بيريز نظيره الأميركي وارن كريستوفر على “اختراق في أوسلو”، حيث كانت إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، عن طريق الوساطة النرويجية، على وشك توقيع اتفاق “على المبادئ”.

عام 1992، أدت حالة الركود في مفاوضات مدريد إلى سعي الحكومة الإسرائيلية الجديدة بزعامة حزب العمل إلى البحث عن بدائل. فقد وجدت شريكاً لديه استعداد للتفاوض مرة أخرى ضمن قيادة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية المهمشة دبلوماسياً في تونس. بعد أشهر من الدبلوماسية السرية عبر الوساطة النرويجية، وقعت إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية إعلان المبادئ للحكومة الذاتية الانتقالية في واشنطن، 13 أيلول/سبتمبر 1993، تلا ذلك تصافح علني بين رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي إسحق رابين وزعيم منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ياسر عرفات في البيت الأبيض تحت إشراف الرئيس الأمريكي بيل كلينتون. وفي المراسلات ذات الصلة، اعترفت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية بـ “حق دولة إسرائيل في الوجود في سلام وأمن”، في حين اعترفت إسرائيل بمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية بوصفها “ممثل للشعب الفلسطيني”.

أعقبت “إعلان المبادئ” سلسلة من الاتفاقات، يشار إليها باسم “اتفاقات أوسلو“. ومع ذلك، تم تأجيل جميع القضايا الرئيسية – مثل الحدود والقدس الشرقية والمستوطنات اليهودية ومشكلة اللاجئين – إلى ما يسمى بمفاوضات الوضع النهائي، والتي كان من المقرر أن تبدأ خلال عامين على الأكثر، بعد الانطلاقة الرسمية للمرحلة الانتقالية (4 أيار/مايو 1994 – 4 أيار/مايو 1999).

كانت عملية أوسلو بالنسبة للأردن العقبة الأخيرة في وجه إبرام اتفاق سلام مع إسرائيل. وفي 14 أيلول/سبتمبر 1993، بعد يوم واحد من توقيع “إعلان المبادئ” تم الإعلان عن جدول الأعمال الأردني الإسرائيلي المشترك. وأخيراً، وبحضور الرئيس كلينتون، في 26 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1994، تم توقيع معاهدة السلام بين إسرائيل والأردن في وادي عربة (إسرائيل)، على مقربة من الحدود مع الأردن.

إقرأ المزيد

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، ...
ملف فنك الشامل عن إسرائيل يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
وعلى الرغم من عدة جولات من المفاوضات بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيلي...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: J. DAVID AKE ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Breakthrough / Oslo Accords

Oslo Accords

Oslo Accords Yasser Arafat Yitzhak Rabin
US President Bill Clinton looks on as PLO leader Yasser Arafat shakes hands with Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin at the signing of the Oslo Accords in Washington DC

With the end of the Cold War and the dissolution of the Soviet Union, the PLO once more became diplomatically isolated. It had also sided with Saddam Hussein in the Gulf War (1990-1991), during which the Iraqi army had invaded Kuwait. Funding from donor states such as Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and the Gulf States stopped.

American President George H.W. Bush and Secretary of State James Baker succeeded in forming a coalition of 34 nations, including eight Arab countries: Bahrain, Egypt, Morocco, Oman, Saudi Arabia and Qatar, the United Arab Emirates and Syria, and units of the Kuwaiti Armed Forces that had escaped across the border to Saudi Arabia. Conversely, Jordan, Yemen and the PLO supported Saddam Hussein politically. On 17 January 1991, the coalition commenced with air operations against Iraqi positions in both Kuwait and Iraq, followed on 23 February by a massive ground assault over a very wide front, Operation Desert Storm. One hundred hours later the battle was over. During this so-called Gulf War Iraq launched Scud missiles on targets in both Saudi Arabia and Israel, in an attempt to provoke Israeli retaliation, which could have divided the coalition. Under American pressure, Israel did not retaliate.

Shortly after the liberation of Kuwait, Washington considered the time right (also in return for the Arab support) to organize a multilateral Middle East peace conference in Madrid (Spain, 30 October – 1 November 1991). Besides the United States and (formal host) the Soviet Union, delegations from Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Lebanon attended the meeting as well as representatives of Egypt, the Gulf Cooperation Council (as an observer delegation), and the European Union. The PLO – which experienced a severe drop in funding and political backing following its support of Iraq during the Gulf War – was not invited. Instead, prominent personalities from the West Bank (except from occupied East Jerusalem) and the Gaza Strip – all close to the PLO – were added to the Jordanian delegation, which thus became twice the size of the other Arab delegations present.

Multilateral and bilateral talks and negotiations continued for months, without much result. Israel did not succeed in achieving a separate peace agreement with Jordan. The talks with Syria became deadlocked on the issue of total Israeli withdrawal from the Golan Heights. The Palestinian delegation stuck to its demand of recognition by Israel of the right of self-determination of the Palestinian people, total Israeli withdrawal from the West Bank (including East Jerusalem) and the Gaza Strip, the dismantlement of the Jewish settlements, the establishment of a Palestinian state, and a solution for the refugees.

In late August 1992, Israeli Foreign Minister Shimon Peres briefed his American counterpart Warren Christopher about a ‘breakthrough’ in Oslo, where Israel and the Palestinian Liberation Organization (PLO), through Norwegian mediation, were on the brink of signing an agreement ‘on principles’.

In 1992, the stagnation in the Madrid negotiations prompted the new Labour government in Israel to look for alternatives. It found a willing partner in the once again diplomatically marginalized PLO leadership in Tunis. After months of secret diplomacy through Norwegian mediation, Israel and the PLO signed the Declaration of Principles on Interim Self-Government in Washington on 13 September 1993, followed by the widely publicized handshake of Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin and PLO leader Yasser Arafat on the lawn of the White House, under the watchful eye of American President Bill Clinton. In accompanying letters, the PLO recognized ‘the right of the State of Israel to exist in peace and security’, while Israel recognized the PLO as ‘the representative of the Palestinian people’.

The Declaration of Principles was followed by a series of agreements, referred to as the Oslo Accords. However, all major issues – such as the borders, East Jerusalem, the Jewish settlements, the position of the refugees – were postponed to so-called Final Status Negotiations, which would be initiated within two years, at the latest, after the formal start of the Interim Phase (4 May 1994-4 May 1999).

For Jordan, the Oslo Process had removed the last obstacle to striking a peace deal with Israel. On 14 September 1993 – one day after the signing of the Declaration of Principles – the Israel-Jordan Common Agenda was announced. Finally, and in the presence of President Clinton, the Israel-Jordan Peace Treaty was signed in the Arava Valley/Wadi Araba (Israel) on 26 October 1994, close to the border with Jordan.

Further Reading

Israel witnessed the war against Lebanon and three other wars against Gaza. Furthermore, the United States announced its...
Fanack’s Israel country file provides a comprehensive overview about Israel, its history, politics, culture, economy a...
Fanack presents in-depth insight into several topics concerning the conflict, including Arab-Israeli negotiations, Arab-...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: J. DAVID AKE ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!