فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / كيف تُشكل الأدوات السلمية الاحتلال الاسرائيلي لفلسطين

كيف تُشكل الأدوات السلمية الاحتلال الاسرائيلي لفلسطين

BDS
صورة لزجاجات النبيذ في مصنعٍ للنبيذ في مرتفعات الجولان التي ضمتها إسرائيل. أعلن الاتحاد الأوروبي أن البضائع الواردة من المستوطنات – المجتمعات اليهودية التي بنيت في المناطق التي احتلتها إسرائيل عام 1967 – يجب أن تذكر ذلك صراحةً على ملصقاتها على وجه التحديد، مما أغضب إسرائيل. Photo: JALAA MAREY / AFP
في نوفمبر 2019، قضت محكمة العدل الأوروبية بأن بعض السلع المستوردة من مستوطنات غير قانونية في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة يجب أن توصف بوضوحٍ على هذا النحو.

ورأت أن إغفال ذلك، “من المرجح أن يضلل المستهلكين، إذ لا يمكنهم أن يعرفوا، في حال عدم وجود أي معلوماتٍ يحتمل أن تثقفهم في هذا الشأن، أن منشأ السلع هو مكان أو مجموعة من الأماكن التي تشكل مستوطنة قائمة في تلك المناطق في انتهاكٍ لقواعد القانون الإنساني الدولي”.

كان رد فعل المجتمع المدني إيجابياً على هذا الحكم، حيث وصفته لوتي ليخت، مديرة قسم الاتحاد الأوروبي في هيومن رايتس ووتش، بـ”الخطوة المهمة تجاه الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي التي تلتزم بواجبها بعدم المشاركة في الرواية بأن المستوطنات غير الشرعية جزء من إسرائيل.”

وفي الوقت نفسه، قال شين ستيفنسون من منظمة أوكسفام إن المستوطنات “تنتهك حقوق وحريات الفلسطينيين،” مضيفاً أن “للمستهلكين الحق في معرفة أصل المنتجات التي يشترونها، وتأثير هذه المشتريات على حياة الناس.”

ومع ذلك، وصف النقاد في إسرائيل الحكم بأنه معيارٌ مزدوج، إذ قال إسرائيل غانز، رئيس المجلس المحلي للمستوطنين، إنه يُميّز ضد اليهود الذين يعيشون ويعملون في “وطنهم منذ آلاف السنين”، مضيفاً أنه سيعمل مع وزراء الخارجية الأوروبيين لمنع تنفيذه.

وتنبع القضية من حكمٍ سابق صادر عن المحكمة الأوروبية والذي أقر أن المواد الغذائية من المستوطنات غير مشروعة يجب أن تذكر ملصقاتها ذلك صراحةً. وتتحمل كل دولة على حدتها مسؤولية ضمان صحة الملصقات وعدم تضليلها للمستهلكين.

من جتها، طبقت فرنسا الحكم على النبيذ المنتج في مستوطنة يهودية في الضفة الغربية. فقد عارض مصنع النبيذ، بساجوت، الذي ينتج حوالي 350 ألف قارورة كل عام ويُصدّر معظمها، تنفيذ فرنسا لهذا القرار، إلى جانب جماعة مناصرة فرنسية- يهودية، إذ انتهت القضية في محكمة العدل الأوروبية، التي أيدت قوانين الاتحاد الأوروبي.

ومع ذلك، أشارت المتحدثة باسم المفوضية الأوروبية مينا أندريفا إلى أن إسرائيل والكتلة الأوروبية تربطهما علاقة تجارية خاصة وأن السلع المنتجة داخل الحدود المعترف بها دولياً تتمتع بتعريفة تفضيلية. وقالت “الاتحاد الأوروبي لا يدعم أي شكل من أشكال المقاطعة أو العقوبات ضد إسرائيل.”

في حين أن قرار محكمة العدل الأوروبية بشأن وضع ملصقاتٍ على المنتجات منفصلٌ عن حركة المقاطعة وسحب الاستثمارات والعقوبات (بي دي إس) التي يقودها الفلسطينيون، إلا إن كلاهما يبرهن أهمية تحريك أدوات المقاومة الاقتصادية والسياسية أو غير العنيفة.

فقد تبنى حركة المقاطعة نشطاء وأشخاص من جميع أنحاء العالم بهدف ممارسة ضغوطٍ اقتصادية وسياسية دولية على إسرائيل، تضامناً مع الفلسطينيين.

وعلى غرار حركة المقاطعة التي نشأت خلال نظام الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا، لدى حركة بي دي أس ثلاثة مطالب: إنهاء احتلال الأراضي الفلسطينية وتفكيك الجدار الأمني الذي ينتهك أراضي الضفة الغربية؛ وضمان المساواة في الحقوق للفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون داخل إسرائيل؛ وتمكين حق العودة للفلسطينيين في الشتات.

في حين جادل المعارضون للحركة بأنها تهدف إلى تفكيك الدولة اليهودية، أي أن الدولة لن تكون يهودية إذا مُنح الفلسطينيون حق العودة لأنها ستفقد أغلبيتها اليهودية.

Israel olive oil
مستوطن إسرائيلي يقوم بتجهيز عبوات زيت الزيتون في إحدى معاصر الزيتون في مستوطنة شيلو الإسرائيلية في الضفة الغربية المحتلة في 12 نوفمبر 2015. Photo: MENAHEM KAHANA / AFP

من جهته، قال عمر البرغوثي، الناطق الرسمي باسم الحركة، إنه لا يزال بإمكان الدولة الديمقراطية توفير اللجوء للاجئين اليهود مع مراعاة التجربة اليهودية، لكن يجب ألا يكون هناك قانونٌ عنصري يعود بالنفع على اليهود فحسب.

الحجة الأخرى ضد الحركة، على غرار انتقاد غانز لحكم محكمة العدل الأوروبية، هي أن تطبيق المقاطعة على إسرائيل وحدها، في حين أن هناك نزاعات إقليمية في أجزاء أخرى من العالم، هو معيارٌ مزدوج ومعاداة للسامية.

ففي الولايات المتحدة، حيث الجالية اليهودية الأكبر والأكثر تنسيقاً، منعت 26 ولاية، بموجب القانون، الوكالات غير الحكومية من التعاقد أو الاستثمار في الشركات التي تدعم حركة بي دي إس. ومع ذلك، فقد تم الطعن في قوانين الولايات، وفي بعض الحالات، تم إلغاؤها بسبب تناقضها مع الحق في حرية التعبير.

على المستوى الفيدرالي، وافق مجلس الشيوخ والكونجرس على تدابير تدين المقاطعة، بما في ذلك مشروع قانون لمكافحة بي دي إس تم إقراره في وقتٍ سابق من هذا العام. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، يعتقد 20 إلى 40% من الأميركيين أن المقاطعة قد تكون فعالة في إظهار معارضة معاملة إسرائيل للفلسطينيين.

ومع ذلك، داخل حركة المقاطعة هناك خلافاتٌ أيضاً، حيث ينادي البعض فقط باستهداف المستوطنات الإسرائيلية، التي تعتبر غير قانونية بموجب القانون الدولي، بينما يعتقد آخرون أنه من الضروري فرض عقوباتٍ على إسرائيل على نطاق أوسع.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن حوالي 700 ألف اسرائيلي يعيشون في المستوطنات الواقعة في الضفة الغربية المحتلة والقدس الشرقية.

وفي الوقت نفسه، يقول البعض إن حركة المقاطعة ووضع الملصقات ربما كان تأثيره، أو سيكون ضئيلاً. وفي هذا الشأن، قال كولتر لوويرس، الباحث في الدراسات الفلسطينية بجامعة إكسيتر، لفَنَك: “كان من الواضح منذ فترة طويلة أن حركة بي دي إس وحدها لن تكون قادرة على تحرير فلسطين.” وتابع، “حتى الآن، تشير الدراسات إلى أن التأثير الملموس الذي أحدثته حركة بي دي إس على الاقتصاد الإسرائيلي لا يكاد يذكر.”

وعلى الرغم من أهمية الضغط الخارجي على القوة المحتلة، وفقاً لوويرس، فإن التحرير يعتمد حقاً على “التحولات الخطيرة في الديناميكية السياسية الداخلية،” والتي يجب أن تحدثها حركة فلسطينية جماهيرية على الأرض.

وأضاف “هذا لا يعني أن عمل نشطاء حركة المقاطعة قد تم إهماله أو التقليل من أهميته،” وتابع، “في الوقت الحالي، الدور الأساسي لمجتمع التضامن هو دورٌ تثقيفي ورمزي.”

وفي الوقت نفسه، تنطبق قوانين الاتحاد الأوروبي فقط على المواد الغذائية المنتجة على أراضي المستوطنات، والواردات الأوروبية لا تمثل سوى 1% من صادرات إسرائيل في هذه الفئة.

كما ادعى غانز أن هذا الحكم سيضر بالسكان العرب الذين يعملون في أراضي المستوطنات وفي تصنيع السلع.

في الآونة الأخيرة، جادل المجلس العربي للتكامل الإقليمي، وهي مجموعة تابعة للسعودية تحاول تعزيز العلاقات مع إسرائيل، ضد مقاطعة إسرائيل، بحجة إن العلاقات السيئة أضرت بالدول العربية اقتصادياً وكذلك أضرت بالتنمية الفلسطينية.

من جهته، اعترف سام بحور، المحلل السياسي المستقل، بأن الأحكام الأصلية والأخيرة هي “خطوات بطئية،” واصفاً إياها بأنها جهود بيروقراطية تضمن استمرار الاتحاد الأوروبي في الامتثال لقوانينه وسياساته الخاصة، لكنه أكد أنها على الأقل خطواتٍ بطيئة في الاتجاه الصحيح.

“ومع ذلك، يتمتع الاتحاد الأوروبي بالكثير من القدرة على التأثير،” على حد تعبيره، وأضاف، “هذا صراعٌ سياسي بامتياز. يتطلب اتخاذ قرار سياسي… لذا، ما نطلبه اليوم هو أن يعترف الاتحاد الأوروبي، كاتحادٍ وكدولٍ مستقلة ذات سيادة، بدولة فلسطين.”

ووفقاً لوويرس، يجب على حركة التضامن الآن أن تحرج وتضغط على الشركات المتواطئة بالاحتلال الإسرائيلي لتقطع علاقاتها مع المستوطنات.

وقال “إن الخطوة الفورية التي يجب اتخاذها من قبل أي حملة من هذا القبيل هي الضغط على المفوضة السامية الحالية لحقوق الإنسان، ميشيل باشيليت، لتنشر للجمهور قاعدة بيانات الأمم المتحدة التي طال انتظارها للشركات المتواطئة في مشروع الاستيطان الإسرائيلي غير القانوني.” وتابع، “سيشكل صدوره انتصاراً كبيراً، مما يرسل تحذيراً واضحاً للشركات الدولية بأن هناك عواقب ستطال أولئك الذي يجنون أرباحاً على حساب الشعب الفلسطيني.”

إقرأ المزيد

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، ...
ملف فنك الشامل عن إسرائيل يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
المقاطعة الدولية والتدابير المتعلقة بالمستوطنات غير الشرعية في ظ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JALAA MAREY ©AFP | JALAA MAREY ©AFP | MENAHEM KAHANA ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / How Non-Violent Tools Are Shaping Israel’s Occupation of Palestine

How Non-Violent Tools Are Shaping Israel’s Occupation of Palestine

BDS
A picture shows wine bottles at a winery of the Israeli-annexed Golan Heights. The European Union announced that goods from settlements — Jewish communities built in areas occupied by force in 1967 — must be specifically labeled, infuriating Israel. Photo: JALAA MAREY / AFP ©AFP ⁃ JALAA MAREY

In November 2019, the European Court of Justice (ECJ) ruled that certain goods imported from illegal settlements in occupied Palestinian territories must be clearly labelled as such.

Otherwise, it said, ‘consumers have no way of knowing, in the absence of any information capable of enlightening them in that respect, that a foodstuff comes from a locality or a set of localities constituting a settlement established in one of those territories in breach of the rules of international humanitarian law’.

Civil society reacted positively to the ruling, with Human Rights Watch’s European Union Director Lotte Leicht calling it “an important step toward EU member states upholding their duty not to participate in the fiction that illegal settlements are part of Israel”.

Meanwhile, Shane Stevenson from Oxfam said settlements “are violating the rights and freedoms of Palestinians”, adding that “consumers have a right to know the origin of the products they purchase, and the impact these purchases have on people’s lives”.

However, critics in Israel called the ruling a double standard. Israel Ganz, head of the local settler council, said it discriminates against Jews living and working in their “homeland of thousands of years”, adding that he will work with European foreign ministers to prevent its implementation.

The case stems from a previous ruling by the European court that ruled foodstuffs from illegal settlements must be clearly labelled. Individual states are responsible for ensuring that labels are correct and not misleading to consumers.

France applied the ruling to wine produced in a Israeli settlement in the West Bank. The winery, Psagot, which produces around 350,000 bottles each year, much of which it exports, contested France’s enforcement, along with a French-Jewish advocacy group, and the case ended up back at the ECJ, which upheld the EU rules.

However, EU Commission Spokeswoman Mina Andreeva noted that Israel and the European bloc have a special trading relationship and that goods produced within internationally recognized borders enjoy preferential tariffs. “The EU does not support any form of boycott or sanctions against Israel,” she said.

While the ECJ ruling on labelling products is separate from the Palestinian-led Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS) movement, both demonstrate the mobilization of economic and political or non-violent tools of resistance.

BDS has been adopted by activists and people all over the world with the aim of putting international economic and political pressure on Israel, in solidarity with the Palestinians.

Modelled on the boycott movement that emerged during apartheid in South Africa, BDS has three demands: ending the occupation of Palestinian territories and dismantling the security barrier that encroaches on West Bank land; ensuring the equal rights of Palestinians living in Israel; and enabling the right of return for Palestinians in the diaspora.

Those opposed to the movement have argued it is aimed at dismantling the Jewish state, i.e. the state would no longer be Jewish if Palestinians are given the right of return as it would lose its Jewish majority.

Omar Barghouti, a spokesperson for the movement, said that a democratic state could still provide asylum for Jewish refugees with sensitivity to the Jewish experience, but there should not be a racist law that only benefits Jews.

The other argument against the movement, similar to Gantz’s criticism of the ECJ ruling, is that application of BDS to Israel alone, while there are territorial disputes in other parts of the world, is a double standard and anti-Semitic.

In the United States, where the Jewish community is larger and more coordinated, 26 states have made it illegal for government agencies to contract or invest in companies that support BDS. Even so, state laws have been challenged and, in some cases, struck down for contradicting the right to free speech.

At the federal level, the Senate and Congress have approved measures condemning the boycott, including an anti-BDS bill passed earlier this year. Despite this, 20-40 per cent of Americans believe BDS may be effective in showing opposition to Israel’s treatment of Palestinians.

Israel olive oil
An Israeli settler prepares olive oil containers at the Achia Olive press factory in the Israeli settlement of Shilo in the occupied West Bank on November 12, 2015. Photo: MENAHEM KAHANA / AFP ©AFP ⁃ MENAHEM KAHANA

Within the BDS movement itself there is divergence too, with some advocating only the targeting of Israeli settlements, which are illegal under international law, whereas others believe it is necessary to impose sanctions on Israel more broadly.

Nearly 700,000 Israelis live in settlements in the occupied West Bank and East Jerusalem.

Meanwhile, some say BDS and labelling has or will have little impact. “It has long been clear that on its own, BDS will never be able to liberate Palestine,” Colter Louwerse, a researcher in Palestine studies at the University of Exeter, told Fanack. “To date, studies show that the tangible effect that BDS has wrought upon the Israeli economy is negligible.”

While external pressure on the occupying power is important, according to Louwerse, liberation really depends on “serious shifts in the internal political dynamic”, which would need to be brought about by a mass Palestinian movement on the ground.

“That is not to say that the work of BDS activists has been altogether negligible or unimportant,” he added. “At the current moment, the crucial role of the solidarity community is educational and symbolic.”

Meanwhile, EU rules only apply to foodstuffs produced on settlement land, and European imports only account for 1 per cent of Israel’s exports in this category.

Gantz also claimed the ruling would hurt the Arab population working on settlement land and in the manufacturing of the goods.

Recently, the Arab Council for Regional Integration, a Saudi-affiliated group that is trying to strengthen ties with Israel, argued against boycotting Israel, saying bad relations have hurt Arab nations economically as well as Palestinian development.

Sam Bahour, an independent political analyst, acknowledged that the original and latest rulings are “baby steps”, describing them as bureaucratic efforts that ensure the EU remains in compliance with its own laws and policies, but he stressed they were at least baby steps in the right direction.

“However, the EU has much more power to influence,” he said. “This is a political conflict par excellence. It requires political decision making … So, what we’re asking for today is that the European Union, as a union and as individual sovereign states, recognizes the State of Palestine.”

According to Louwerse, the solidarity movement should now embarrass and pressure companies complicit in the Israeli occupation into severing their ties with the settlements.

“An immediate step to be undertaken by any such campaign is to pressure the current UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Michelle Bachelet, into releasing to the public the long-overdue UN database of companies complicit in the illegal Israeli settlement enterprise,” he said. “Its release would constitute significant victory, sending a clear warning to international businesses that there are consequences in the making for those who place profit over the Palestinian people.”

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ JALAA MAREY | ©AFP ⁃ JALAA MAREY | ©AFP ⁃ MENAHEM KAHANA

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.