فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / في إسرائيل ، لا ابتهاج بالاتفاقيات مع الإمارات والبحرين والسودان

في إسرائيل ، لا ابتهاج بالاتفاقيات مع الإمارات والبحرين والسودان

demos israel
متظاهرون مناهضون للحكومة يشتبكون مع الشرطة خلال مظاهرة ضد رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو ، 24 أكتوبر ، 2020. Photo: Emmanuel DUNAND / AFP

جاليا جولان

تمثل الاتفاقيات التي وقعتها إسرائيل مؤخراً مع الإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين والسودان إنجازاً طالما سعت إليه إسرائيل: قبول إسرائيل وإنشاء علاقاتٍ طبيعية التي قدمتها مبادرة السلام العربية لعام 2002، دون الاضطرار إلى الالتزام بالشروط المنصوص عليها في مبادرة السلام العربية، ألا وهي إقامة دولة فلسطين المستقلة وعاصمتها القدس الشرقية، وحل قضايا الصراع الأخرى مثل قضايا اللاجئين.

في الواقع، قدم رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو الاتفاقيات بما أسماه دليلاً على أن إسرائيل قادرةً على الحصول على السلام دون أن تُعطي شيئاً في المقابل- فأطلق عليها “السلام مقابل السلام،” بدلاً من “الأرض مقابل السلام،” التي لطالما اعتبرت الصيغة المعتمدة من قبل القادة الإسرائيليين السابقيين والعالم بأسره.

وعليه، يمكن الآن لإسرائيل اكتساب الشرعية التي لطالما سعت إليها بين الدول العربية في المنطقة، على الرغم من استمرار احتلال الأراضي الفلسطينية والصراع المستمر بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين. في الواقع، ما كانت الجامعة العربية تأمل بأن يوفر حافزاً لإسرائيل لتبني طريق السلام ذهب أدراج الرياح. فإسرائيل تحصل على ما تريد وتواصل التمسك بالأراضي المحتلة.

وبالطبع، ثمة دلالاتٌ سابقة واضحة على ذلك، فلأكثر من عقدٍ من الزمان، كانت إسرائيل تُقيم علاقاتٍ غير رسميةٍ مع هذه الدول وغيرها من دول الخليج الأخرى، بالرغم من التزام دول الخليج الظاهر بالقضية الفلسطينية ومبادرة السلام العربية. ويُفترض أن المصلحة الكامنة لهذه الدول كانت مصلحةً مشتركة مع إسرائيل لكبح تطلعات إيران العدوانية- وهي مصلحةٌ أدت على الأرجح إلى تدابير استخباراتية وأمنية مشتركة.

وبالإضافة إلى المنافع الاقتصادية التي قد تعود على كلٍ من إسرائيل وهذه الدول، فإن مصالح أخرى تدور في فلك الأمريكيين – منها إمكانية شراء الإمارات على سبيل المثال لطائراتٍ أمريكية متطورة، أو شطب السودان من قائمة الدول الداعمة للإرهاب.

ومن المرجح أن التعاون المستمر وراء الكواليس بات علنياً ورسمياً في هذا الوقت لخدمة حملة إعادة انتخاب الرئيس ترامب، عرّاب الاتفاقيات، فضلاً عن تعزيز مكانة نتنياهو في إسرائيل على الرغم من (أو لصرف الانتباه) عن لوائح الاتهام التي يواجهها بتهمة الفساد المصحوبة بمظاهراتٍ مناهضة لاستمرار قيادته في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

بالنسبة للجمهور العربي، زعمت الإمارات أن نتنياهو تخلى رسمياً عن محاولته ضم الضفة الغربية – وهي محاولة وجد نتنياهو بالفعل صعوبةً متزايدة في تنفيذها بسبب المعارضة المحلية والدولية. ومع ذلك، أوضح الزعيم الإسرائيلي على الفور أن الضم الرسمي مؤجلٌ فقط، إذ سيحصل ذلك في مرحلةٍ ما لاحقاً.

ومع ذلك، لطالما كان الضم غير الرسمي متواصلاً منذ سنوات والذي اتخذ شكل مصادرةٍ للأراضي وبناءٍ للمستوطنات. في الواقع، أعلنت الحكومة مؤخراً عن ترخيص لبناء 5000 وحدة استيطانية إضافية في الضفة الغربية المحتلة.

ومع اختفاء حافزٍ كبير، تم التخلي عن مقايضة المبادرة العربية، ومرةً أخرى تُرك الفلسطينيون لتدبر أمورهم بنفسهم.

وبالنسبة للفلسطينيين، وربما غيرهم ممن يسعون إلى سلامٍ حقيقي ودائم، يمكن للمرء تبني نظرة أكثر إيجابية تجاه الاتفاقيات، وبالتحديد، قد يأمل المرء أن تستغل دول الخليج علاقاتها مع إسرائيل، وخاصة العلاقات الاقتصادية المتوقعة، للضغط على إسرائيل للتحرك باتجاه الجبهة الفلسطينية.

فهذا ليس خارج نطاق المعقول، ولكن بالنظر إلى مصالح دول الخليج نفسها، بما ستكسبه من كلٍ من إسرائيل والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية (على الأقل في ظل إدارة ترامب)، فمن الصعب تصديق أن مثل هذا الضغط آتٍ قريباً. فلربما لن يكونوا مستعدين على وجه الخصوص للتضحية بالمزايا المربحة من أجل مساعدة الفلسطينيين.

يمكن للمرء أن يرحب باستهلال العلاقات بين إسرائيل ومختلف الدول العربية إذا كان ذلك قد أدى بالفعل إلى مستقبل أكثر سلاماً للمنطقة، بيد أن هذا ليس هو الحال. فعلى الرغم من العداء والمقاطعة، لم تكن هذه الدول، أي الإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين والسودان وربما عُمان ودول أخرى تليها، في حالة حربٍ مع إسرائيل ولا حتى تتمتع بقربٍ إقليمي من البلاد. ولا تزال هناك صراعاتٌ أخرى مستعرة في الشرق الأوسط، والصراع الوحيد الذي شاركت فيه إسرائيل، والذي هدد بالتصعيد بشكلٍ دوري في المنطقة، هو الصراع مع الفلسطينيين.

وبالفعل كانت القضية الفلسطينية على الدوام القضية الجوهرية بالنسبة لإسرائيل، حتى عندما تم استغلال القضية الفلسطينية من قبل الدول العربية أو القوى الخارجية. ومع ذلك، فإن هذه الاتفاقيات الجديدة لا تعني بأي حالٍ من الأحوال نهايةً قريبة لهذا الصراع.

في الواقع، تنزع هذه الاتفاقيات حافزاً غاية في الأهمية كان من الممكن أن يفلح في الاتجاه الإيجابي. ولعل هذا هو السبب- وهو ما أثار دهشة نتنياهو أيضاً- بأن الإسرائيليين لم يبتهجوا أو حتى يُبدوا اهتماماً خاصاً بهم. بل إن هذه الاتفاقيات قد تدفع باتجاه اندلاع انتفاضةٍ أو حربٍ مقبلة بدلاً من منعها. فهي لن تجلب الأمن والاستقرار للإسرائليين أو الفلسطينيين على حد سواء، فلمَ الابتهاج؟

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Emmanuel DUNAND ©AFP | Emmanuel DUNAND ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / In Israel, No Rejoicing over Agreements with UAE, Bahrain and Sudan

In Israel, No Rejoicing over Agreements with UAE, Bahrain and Sudan

demos israel
Anti-government protesters clash with police during a demonstration against Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu on October 24, 2020. Photo: Emmanuel DUNAND / AFP

Galia Golan

The agreements recently signed by Israel with the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Bahrain and also Sudan mark an achievement long sought by Israel: acceptance of Israel and the normal relations offered by the 2002 Arab Peace Initiative (API), without having to abide by the conditions stated in the API, namely the creation of an independent state of Palestine, with East Jerusalem as its capital, and resolution of other issues in the conflict such as the refugee issues.

Indeed Prime Minister Netanyahu presented the agreements as what he termed proof that Israel could have peace without giving anything in return – “peace for peace” he called it, instead of “territory for peace” deemed the formula by past Israeli leaders and the world at large.

Thus, now, Israel could gain the long sought legitimacy among Arab countries in the region, despite the continued occupation of Palestinian territory and the ongoing conflict between Israel and the Palestinians. What the Arab League had hoped would provide incentive for Israel to adopt the path of peace was, has, in effect, been thrown away. Israel is getting what it wanted and continues to hold onto the occupied territories.

Of course, the writing had long been on the wall. For over a decade, Israel had been conducting unofficial relations with these and other Gulf states, despite the ostensible commitment of these countries to the Palestinian cause and the API. The underlying interest of these states has presumably been a mutual interest with Israel to curb Iran’s aggressive aspirations – an interest that probably led to shared intelligence and security measures.

In addition to economic benefits that might accrue to both Israel and these states, other interests lay with the Americans – the possibility for the UAE, for example, to purchase advanced American aircraft, or Sudan’s removal from the list of states supporting terrorism.

It is most likely that the ongoing, behind the scenes cooperation was made open and official at this time in order to serve the reelection campaign of President Trump, the midwife of the agreements, and also to shore up Netanyahu’s standing in Israel despite (or to distract from) the indictments he is facing for corruption, accompanied as they are by country-wide demonstrations against his continued leadership.

For the Arab public, it was claimed by UAE that Netanyahu gave up his bid to formally annex the West Bank – a bid that Netanyahu had already found increasingly problematic to imple-ment because of domestic and international opposition. Still, the Israeli leader immediately clarified that official annexation was only being postponed; it would still occur at some point.

However, unofficial annexation had been going on for years in the form of land expropriation and settlement building. Indeed just recently the government announced authorization for the building of an additional 5000 housing units in the occupied West Bank.

With a major incentive gone, the quid pro quo of the API abandoned, the Palestinians have once again been left to fend for themselves.

For Palestinians, and perhaps others who seek genuine and durable peace, one may adopt a more positive view of the accords. Namely, one might hope that the Gulf states will use their relations with Israel, especially the expected economic relations, to press Israel to move on the Palestinian front.

This is not beyond the realm of possibility, but given the interests of the Gulf states them-selves, in what they gain both from Israel and from the United States (at least under Trump), it is hard to believe that such pressure will be forthcoming. They may not be particularly willing to sacrifice lucrative benefits in order to help the Palestinians.

One would welcome the opening of relations between Israel and various Arab states if it did indeed spell a more peaceful future for the region. That, however, is not the case. Despite hostility and boycott, these states, UAE, Bahrain, the Sudan and perhaps Oman and others to follow, were not at war with Israel nor even close to the country territorially. There are other conflicts still raging in the Middle East, and the only conflict Israel was involved in, and which periodically threatened escalation in the area, is that of the conflict with the Palestinians.

Indeed, the Palestinian issue has always been the core issue for Israel, even when the Palestinians’ cause was exploited by Arab states or outside powers. These new agreements do not bring an end to that conflict closer.

Indeed, they remove an important incentive that might have worked in that, positive, direction. Perhaps this why – to Netanyahu’s apparent surprise — Israelis have not been rejoicing or even exhibiting particular interest in them. These agreements may propel rather than pre-vent the next intifada or war. They will not bring security or stability to Israelis, or Palestinians. So why rejoice?

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Emmanuel DUNAND ©AFP | Emmanuel DUNAND ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!