فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / بالرغم من لائحة الاتهام، رئيس الوزراء الاسرائيلي يتمسك بالحياة السياسية

بالرغم من لائحة الاتهام، رئيس الوزراء الاسرائيلي يتمسك بالحياة السياسية

Benjamin Netanyahu
رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو يتحدث خلال جلسة لكتلة اليمين في الكنيست (البرلمان الاسرائيلي) بالقدس، في 20 نوفمبر 2019. Photo: GALI TIBBON / AFP ©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON

تركت انتخاباتٌ غير حاسمة في غضون خمسة أشهر إسرائيل في وضعٍ مربك وغير مسبوق، كما إن قرار المدعي العام أفيخاي ماندلبليت في 21 نوفمبر 2019 بتوجيه الاتهام إلى رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو بتهمة الرشوة والاحتيال وخيانة الأمانة، زاد الأمور إرباكاً. ومع عدم وجود أي موضوعٍ آخر تقريباً قيد المناقشة في البلاد، يمكن تقسيم الوضع إلى ثلاثة جوانب رئيسية: قانونية وسياسية وأخلاقية.

فيما يتعلق بالجانب القانوني، كان السؤال الرئيسي المطروح هو ما إذا كان يجب على نتنياهو بالفعل أن يستقيل الآن بعد توجيه الاتهام إليه. قد يبدو القانون واضحاً: يجب أن يستقيل الوزير الذي توجه إليه اتهامات، بيد أنه لا يوجد نصٌ مماثل ينطبق على رئيس الوزراء، والسبب، وفقاً لمعظم التفسيرات، هو سبب عملي: في حال استقال رئيس الوزراء، فسيؤدي ذلك إلى إسقاط الحكومة وبالتالي يُصبح إنشاء ائتلافٍ جديد وإجراء انتخاباتٍ جديدة أمراً حتمياً. لذلك، يتمتع رئيس الوزراء الحالي بحصانةٍ تلقائية.

تتمثل المشكلة في هذه الحالة في أن نتنياهو ليس رئيس وزراء منتخب ستؤدي استقالته إلى إسقاط الحكومة. في الواقع، بعد إجراء عمليتين انتخابيتين في مارس وسبتمبر، لم يتمكن نتنياهو من تشكيل حكومة ائتلافية ويعمل حالياً ضمن حكومة انتقالية. على الأقل، هذا أحد التفسيرات. كما من المتوقع أن يتم تقديم التماس إلى المحكمة العليا للتدخل وتحديد التفسير الصحيح. في غضون ذلك، التزم ماندلبليت بأبسط تفسيرٍ للقانون، حيث قرر أن نتنياهو سيظل في منصبه.

وفي انتظار صدور حكم من المحكمة العليا، يمكن أن تأتِ حصانة رئيس الوزراء من مصدرٍ آخر، إذ يمكن لأعضاء الكنيست، البرلمان الإسرائيلي، بمن فيهم رئيس الوزراء، أن يطلبوا من الكنيست منح الحصانة. تم ذلك عدة مراتٍ في الماضي، منح خلالها الكنيست أو رفض الحصانة. المشكلة هي أن هيئة الكنيست التي تبدأ مثل هذا الإجراء هي لجنة مجلس النواب، ونظراً لعدم وجود حكومة ائتلافية، لا يمكن تشكيل لجان في الكنيست، بما في ذلك لجنة مجلس النواب. وعلى الأرجح سيستغرق الأمر أشهراً قبل أن يتمكنوا من ذلك.

يبدو أن الجانب السياسي للوضع أكثر بساطة. فقد فشل الحزب الرئيسي الآخر، حزب أزرق- أبيض، في تشكيل أي حكومة. ففي كلا الانتخابات، سعى حزب أزرق- أبيض نحو تشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية – مع حزب الليكود بزعامة نتنياهو – ولكن ليس في حال توجيه اتهامٍ لزعيم حزب الليكود.

كانت هناك شروطٌ أخرى للتحالف، مرتبطة بتناوب رئاسة الوزراء ومن سيخدم أولاً، بالإضافة إلى اقتراح الرئيس بتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية، وبأن يتنحى نتنياهو مؤقتاً في حال توجيه الإتهام إليه. وعليه، رفض بيني غانتس، زعيم أزرق- أبيض، هذا الاقتراح. ومع ذلك، إذا ما تولى شخص آخر غير نتنياهو زعامة الليكود، فمن الناحية النظرية، سيكون طريق إنشاء حكومة وحدة وطنية مؤلفة من أكبر حزبين واضحاً (ومن المفترض أيضاً أن تضم أفيغدور ليبرمان، الملقب بـ”صانع الملوك” من حزب إسرائيل بيتنا، الذي كان يحجب دعمه لأي من الطرفين من أجل تعزيز فكرة الوحدة الوطنية، وتعزيز موقفه).

وبالتالي، على المستوى السياسي هناك قضيتان: تتمثل الأولى فيما إذا كان حزب الليكود سيجري تصويتاً داخلياً لتنصيب زعيمٍ جديد. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الوزير السابق جدعون ساعر قد دعا إلى مثل هذا التصويت، ومع ذلك، لم يخطو أي من المتنافسين الآخرين هذه الخطوة، وحتى الآن، لا يزال الحزب يدعم نتنياهو بقوة. أما القضية الثانية تتمثل في الرأي الذي طرحه ساعر بأنه لا بد من تنصيب زعيمٍ جديدٍ لحزب الليكود ليفوز بالانتخابات، وبالتالي، عندما أعلن قراره بالترشح، جادل ساعر بأن نتنياهو فشل مرتين هذا العام في تشكيل حكومة، والآن وقد تم توجيه الاتهام إليه، باتت فرصه في تشكيل حكومة أقل بكثير. بمعنى آخر، إذا أراد الليكود البقاء في السلطة وربما الاحتفاظ بمقاعده في الكنيست، فلا بد من رحيل نتنياهو.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، لم يتطرق الكثيرون من الجناح اليميني للطيف السياسي إلى الجانب الأخلاقي للقضية، ومع ذلك، صرح حزب أزرق-أبيض وأحزاب اليسار بأنه من الناحية الأخلاقية، يتوجب على رئيس الوزراء المتهم بالرشوة والاحتيال وخيانة الأمانة الاستقالة من منصبه، بيد أن المسار الذي اختاره نتنياهو والمتحدثون باسمه ومؤيدوه هو اتهام متهميه بتلفيق القضية (“اتهامات مفبركة تقصده شخصياً”).

وفي ظهورٍ درامي بعد ساعة من إعلان لائحة الاتهام، دعا نتنياهو إلى التحقيق مع المحققين – من مكتب المدعي العام وصولاً إلى الشرطة. وعلى الرغم من الضغط عليه من قبل الصحفيين وغيرهم، كان ساعر الشخصية القيادية الوحيدة من اليمين الذي تطرق إلى الجانب الأخلاقي، حيث أشار في تعليقاته الأولى إلى أن تحدي نتنياهو للديمقراطية وسيادة القانون كان خطيراً وخاطئاً.

وعلى أمل أن يتمكنوا من تنظيم مسيرةٍ حاشدة دعماً لنتنياهو في تل أبيب، انتقدت شخصياتٌ بارزة من الليكود ساعر لتخليه عن زعيمهم. بل إن أحد الصحفيين شبّه هذا السلوك بمتلازمة ستوكهولم، حيث يرغب بعض الموالين للحزب، على الأغلب، في القول إن الأمر سيتم البت فيه في المحكمة وأن المتهم بريء حتى تثبت إدانته.

وحتى الآن، لا أحد يعلم ما ستؤول إليه الأمور. فالجانب السياسي الذي ينطوي على التصويت لاستبدال نتنياهو كزعيمٍ لحزب الليكود مما سيمهد الطريق لحكومة وحدةٍ وطنية أمرٌ وارد، وإن كان غير مرجح. ولا يزال أمام الكنيست ثلاثة أسابيع تقريباً لإيجاد المقاعد الـ61 اللازمة لتشكيل ائتلافٍ حاكم، وبالتالي، هناك متسعٌ من الوقت لاستبدال نتنياهو في حزبه أو تكليف عضوٍ آخر في الكنيست لتشكيل حكومة.

ومع ذلك، لا توجد أي دلائل على إجراء تصويتٍ في الليكود أو أن مثل هذا التصويت سيؤدي إلى شخص آخر غير نتنياهو. وحتى إذا تم إعادة انتخاب نتنياهو كزعيمٍ لليكود، لا يزال هناك سؤال قانوني (وأخلاقي) حول قيام شخصٍ وجهت له اتهاماتٌ بتشكيل الحكومة. ولربما يتعين على المحكمة العليا أن تقرر ذلك أيضاً. ومع ذلك، قد لا يصل الأمر إلى هذا الحد، لأنه دون حزب أزرق- أبيض أو إسرائيل بيتنا، لا يمكن لنتنياهو تشكيل حكومة، وحتى الآن رفض الحزبين تشكيل حكومةٍ برفقة نتنياهو.

من المرجح أن الانتخابات الثالثة في مارس 2020 لن تغير الكثير، بحسب ما يقوله ساعر. كما من المتوقع حدوث مناورات سياسية، وحتى قانونية، واسعة النطاق خلال الأسابيع القليلة المقبلة. في الواقع، فإن عملية منح أو رفض الحصانة في الكنيست، وأحكام المحكمة العليا وما شابه ذلك، قد تستغرق أشهراً عديدة قبل إمكانية وصول نتنياهو إلى المحكمة، بل إن المحاكمة نفسها قد تستغرق شهوراً، أو حتى سنوات. وبالتالي، لربما سيبقى نتنياهو رئيساً للوزراء لبعض الوقت.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Despite Indictment, Israeli PM Hanging on to Political Career

Despite Indictment, Israeli PM Hanging on to Political Career

Benjamin Netanyahu
Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu gestures as he speaks during a meeting of the right-wing bloc at the Knesset (Israeli parliament) in Jerusalem on November 20, 2019. Photo: GALI TIBBON / AFP ©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON

Two inconclusive elections within five months have left Israel in an unprecedented and confusing position. Attorney General Avichai Mandelblit’s decision on 21 November 2019 to indict Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu on charges of bribery, fraud and breach of trust have further confused matters. With almost no other topic under discussion in the country, the situation can be divided into three key aspects: legal, political and moral.

Regarding the legal aspect, the major question has been whether Netanyahu should or indeed must resign now that he has been indicted. The law may seem clear: a minister who has been indicted must resign. However, there is no such stipulation for a prime minister. The reason, according to most interpretations, is a practical one: if a prime minister were to resign, this would bring down the government and make a new coalition or elections necessary. Therefore, a sitting prime minister has automatic immunity.

The issue in this case is that Netanyahu is not an elected prime minister whose resignation would bring down the government. In fact, after two elections in March and September, he has been unable to form a coalition government and is currently serving in a caretaker role. At least, that is one interpretation. It is expected that the Supreme Court will be petitioned to intervene and determine the valid interpretation. In the meantime, Mandelblit has adhered to the simplest interpretation of the law, determining that Netanyahu may remain in office.

Pending a Supreme Court ruling, immunity for the prime minister could, nonetheless, come from another source. Members of the Knesset, the Israeli parliament, including the prime minister, can ask the Knesset to grant immunity. This has been done several times in the past, with the Knesset granting, or denying, immunity. The problem is that the Knesset body that initiates such a procedure is the House Committee. Since there is no coalition government, the Knesset committees, including the House Committee, cannot be formed. It will likely be months before they can be.

The political aspect of the situation appears to be simpler. The other main party, Blue and White, has also failed to cobble together a government. In both elections, Blue and White pushed for a national unity government – with Netanyahu’s Likud party – but not if Likud’s leader were indicted.

There were other conditions for the coalition too, linked to a rotating prime ministership and who would serve first, as well as the president’s proposal that a unity government be formed, and that Netanyahu declare temporary indisposition if indicted. Benny Gantz, Blue and White’s leader, rejected this proposal. However, if someone other than Netanyahu were to become the leader of Likud, theoretically the way would be clear for a unity government composed of the two largest parties (and presumably also the so-called ‘kingmaker’ Avigdor Lieberman of the Yisrael Beiteinu party, who has been withholding his support for either party in order to promote the unity idea, and, conceivably, his own position).

Thus, on the political level there are two issues. The first is whether Likud will hold an internal vote for a new leader. Former minister Gideon Saar has called for such a vote. No other contenders have come forward and, so far, the party has remained staunchly behind Netanyahu. The second issue is Saar’s contention that for Likud to win an election, it must have a new leader. Announcing his decision to run, Saar argued that Netanyahu has failed twice this year to form a government. Now that he has been indicted, there is even less of a chance he could form a government. In other words, if Likudniks want to stay in power and perhaps even keep their Knesset seats, Netanyahu has to go.

Few in the right wing of the political spectrum have engaged on the morality aspect. Blue and White and the left-wing parties have stated that, morally, a prime minister indicted for bribery, fraud and breach of trust should resign. Yet the path chosen by Netanyahu, his spokespeople and supporters has been to accuse his accusers of fabricating a case (“sewing a suit specifically for him”).

In a dramatic appearance an hour after his indictment was announced, Netanyahu called for an investigation of the investigators – from the Prosecutor’s Office down to the police. Although pressed by journalists and others, the only leading right-wing figure to address morality is Saar, referring in his opening comments to the fact that Netanyahu’s challenge to democracy and the rule of law was dangerous and wrong.

Organizing what they hope will be a massive rally of support for Netanyahu in Tel Aviv, leading Likud figures criticized Saar for abandoning their leader. One journalist even characterized this behaviour as akin to Stockholm syndrome, with some party loyalists willing, at most, to say the matter will be decided in court and that a person is innocent until proven guilty.

How all this will turn out is anyone’s guess. The political aspect, that is a vote to replace Netanyahu as Likud’s leader that would pave the way for a unity government, is a possibility, if an unlikely one. The Knesset still has almost three weeks to find the 61 seats needed to form a governing coalition, so there is time for Netanyahu to be replaced in his own party or another Knesset member to be designated to form a government.

That said, there are no signs there will be a vote in Likud or that such a vote would bring in someone other than Netanyahu. And even if Netanyahu were re-elected as head of Likud, there might still be a legal (and moral) question about an indicted person forming a government. That too might have to be decided by the Supreme Court. It may not get that far, however, because without Blue and White or Yisrael Beiteinu, Netanyahu cannot form a government, and so far both parties have said they will not agree to govern with Netanyahu.

Presumably, a third election in March 2020 would not change much, as Saar has argued. A good deal of political, and even legal, manoeuvring over the next few weeks is to be expected. Indeed, the process of granting or denying immunity in the Knesset, Supreme Court rulings and the like could make it many months before the cases against Netanyahu can even come to trial. The trials themselves could also take months, even years. As such, Netanyahu may be around as prime minister for some time to come.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON | ©AFP ⁃ GALI TIBBON

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.