فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / جدار الفصل الإسرائيلي الجديد: عزل غزة عن الضفة الغربية نهائياً؟

جدار الفصل الإسرائيلي الجديد: عزل غزة عن الضفة الغربية نهائياً؟

Israel- Gaza fence
تظهر الصورة التي التقطت في 4 فبراير 2019 من معبر إيرز في جنوب إسرائيل أعمال البناء على السياج الحدودي الجديد مع الحدود الشمالية لقطاع غزة. Photo AFP

في فبراير 2019، انتقلت إسرائيل إلى المرحلة الأخيرة من بناء سياجٍ فولاذي مجلفن بارتفاع ستة أمتار سيحيط بالكامل بقطاع غزة. يمتد السياج لمسافة 65 كيلومتراً، من زيكيم في الشمال إلى معبر كرم أبو سالم في الجنوب، والذي سيتم تشييده فوق قاعدة خرسانية تحت الأرض فضلاً عن تزويده بأجهزة استشعار وأجهزة مراقبة متطورة.

كما سيتم وصله أيضاً بحاجز تم إنشاؤه في البحر الأبيض المتوسط بعد حرب 2014، عندما قتلت القوات الإسرائيلية أربعة مسلحين من حماس تمكنوا من العبور إلى أراضيها عن طريق البحر. تم الانتهاء من الجدار تحت الماء وحاجز الأمواج في يناير 2019.

يتم تنفيذ البناء بشكلٍ مشترك بين الجيش الإسرائيلي ومديرية وزارة الدفاع للحدود والأسيجة الأمنية. ومن المقرر الانتهاء من المشروع بالكامل بحلول نهاية العام، وفقاً للجيش الإسرائيلي، ومن المتوقع أن يكلف حوالي 830 مليون دولار.

وقال رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو إن السياج ضروري “لمنع تسلل الإرهابيين إلى أراضينا،” إذ يعدّ جزءاً من استراتيجية أمنية أوسع تهدف إلى بناء الحواجز بين إسرائيل وجميع الدول المجاورة لحماية البلاد من ما يسميه نتنياهو “الوحوش البرية.” تشمل هذه الحواجز سياجاً بطول 200 كم على الحدود مع مصر، وسياجاً بطول 70 كيلومتراً على الحدود مع سوريا في مرتفعات الجولان المتنازع عليها، وسياجاً بطول 130 كيلومتراً على الحدود مع لبنان، وسياجاً بطول 30 كيلومتراً على الحدود الأردنية، وجدار فصلٍ حول الضفة الغربية الذي سيمتد لمسافة 712 كيلومتراً بمجرد الانتهاء منه، بحسب الأمم المتحدة.

وعلى الرغم من أن السلطات الإسرائيلية قد استندت إلى أسبابٍ أمنية في بناء الجدار الأخير، إلا أنها تسعى إلى تحقيق أهدافٍ سياسية. ووفقاً لتحليلٍ أجراه المركز الفلسطيني لأبحاث السياسات والدراسات الاستراتيجية- مسارات، فإن قدرة حماس على إنشاء قوةٍ هجومية فعالة خلال حرب 2014 أثارت جدلاً داخل الدوائر الأمنية الإسرائيلية، مما دفع إلى إعادة التفكير في استراتيجيتها لتفادي الإخفاقات المشابهة في المستقبل، ولا سيما فيما يتعلق بتحييد الأنفاق الهجومية أسفل الحدود. إن الموافقة على بناء السياج في غزة جاء استجابةً لكلٍ من التهديد الأمني المتصور وشكاوى قادة المستوطنات في المناطق المتاخمة للقطاع، الذين يقولون إن الجيش الإسرائيلي فشل في حمايتهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يهدف السياج إلى فصل قطاع غزة عن الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية، مما قد يُنهي إلى حدٍ بعيد إمكانية حل الدولتين.

ووفقاً للصحفي والباحث باسم علي، قد يضر السياج بشكلٍ خطير بأي استراتيجيةٍ فلسطينية للحصول على تنازلاتٍ من إسرائيل. وبرأيه، فإن تقلص مساحة الكفاح المسلح سيحرم الفلسطينيين من أداةٍ مهمة في أي عملية تفاوض. وفي الماضي، كتب في مقالٍ تحليلي، أن الكفاح المسلح يعدّ عنصراً أساسياً في الاستراتيجية الفلسطينية للتوصل إلى اتفاقٍ ذي معنى مع إسرائيل. فعلى سبيل المثال، خلال اتفاقية أوسلو في عام 1993، وافقت إسرائيل على إنشاء سلطةٍ فلسطينية بحكمٍ ذاتي مؤقت في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة مقابل إنهاء المواجهة والصراع.

Gaza wall
المصدر: Wikipedia and ochaopt.org. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

في الواقع، اختار القادة الفلسطينيون لعقود من الزمان اتباع نهجٍ مزدوج يجمع بين كل من الدبلوماسية والعمليات شبه العسكرية.

فمن ناحية، نجحت الدبلوماسية في زيادة الدعم الدولي لطموحات دولة فلسطين، كما يتضح من قرار اليونسكو بمنح فلسطين العضوية الكاملة في عام 2011 وتصويت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة بمنح فلسطين صفة دولة مراقب غير عضو في عام 2012.

ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، على الرغم من الاشتباكات المنتظمة بين المتظاهرين الفلسطينيين والقوات الإسرائيلية على الحدود بين إسرائيل وغزة، فمن المرجح أن يؤدي السياج إلى تآكل الضغط الذي يمكن أن يمارسه الفلسطينيون بشكلٍ فعال على إسرائيل. وبحسب علي، ليس من قبيل المصادفة أن توسع المستوطنات خلال العقد الماضي مع زيادة السيطرة على الأراضي الفلسطينية يتقاطع مع “انخفاضٍ في عدد الهجمات الإرهابية، ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى وجود جدار الضفة الغربية الذي بناه في السابق رئيس الوزراء أرييل شارون عام 2002 استجابةً للضغوط الإسرائيلية العامة.”

فقد ذكر الجيش الإسرائيلي أنه بين عامي 2015 و2018، حصل انخفاضٍ تدريجي في الهجمات الإرهابية في الضفة الغربية، مما يثبت كفاءة الجدار في أعين السلطات الإسرائيلية التي ترغب الآن في الحصول على نتائج مماثلة ببناء سياج غزة. ومع ذلك، فإن غزة تحكمها حماس، وهي صاحبة المصلحة الرئيسية الوحيدة في الساحة السياسية الفلسطينية التي لا تزال تستخدم استراتيجية مواجهةٍ عسكرية ضد إسرائيل. وكمثالٍ حديث، خلال المواجهة العسكرية الأخيرة في 4-5 مايو 2019، أطلق الجناح العسكري لحماس، كتائب عز الدين القسام، صاروخاً موجه على مركبةٍ إسرائيلية في شمال غزة، مما أسفر عن مقتل إسرائيلي واحد.

على الرغم من العديد من التصريحات الرسمية وغير الرسمية لحركة حماس التي تنكر التأثير المحتمل للسياج على أنشطتها، إلا أنه من الصعب أن نرى في هذه المرحلة كيف ستستمر الحركة في مهاجمة الأهداف الإسرائيلية بمجرد اكتمال البناء. وقال مصدرٌ من كتائب القسام للمونيتور إن الجدار “لن يمنع المقاومة من إطلاق الصواريخ الموجهة على السيارات الإسرائيلية في أي مواجهةٍ جديدة.” وفي نفس المقال، قال المتحدث باسم حماس عبد اللطيف القانوع إن الجدار لن يجلب الأمان لإسرائيل “ولن يمنع المقاومة من توجيه ضرباتها.”

ولكن من المحتمل أن يؤدي السياج إلى تدهور وضع حقوق الإنسان المريع بالفعل في القطاع. فقد فرض الحصار شبه الكامل الذي تفرضه إسرائيل على غزة منذ عام 2007 قيوداً على الوصول إلى معظم الاحتياجات الأساسية، بما في ذلك الكهرباء والإمدادات الطبية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ووفقاً لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، فُتل في الفترة ما بين 30 مارس 2018 و22 مارس 2019، 195 فلسطينياً، بينهم 41 طفلاً، على أيدي القوات الإسرائيلية في مظاهرات مسيرات العودة الكبرى، بما في ذلك أثناء من قتلوا أثناء الاحتجاجات الأسبوعية والأنشطة الليلية بالقرب من السياج المحيط بالقطاع والاحتجاجات ضد الحصار البحري على الشاطىء. كما أصيب 28,939 فلسطيني آخرين، 25% منهم بالذخيرة الحية، في هذه المظاهرات.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Israel’s New Separation Barrier: Isolating Gaza from the West Bank for Good?

Israel’s New Separation Barrier: Isolating Gaza from the West Bank for Good?

Israel- Gaza fence
A picture taken on February 4, 2019, from Erez in southern Israel shows construction work on the new border fence with the northern border of the Gaza Strip. Photo AFP

In February 2019, Israel moved into the last phase of construction of a six-metre-high galvanized steel fence that will completely surround the Gaza Strip. The fence will run for 65 kilometres, from Zikim in the north to the Kerem Shalom crossing in the south, and will sit above an underground concrete section fitted with advanced sensors and monitoring devices.

It will also connect to a barrier built out into the Mediterranean Sea following the 2014 war, when Israeli forces killed four Hamas gunmen who managed to cross into its territory by sea. The underwater wall and breakwater were completed in January 2019.

The construction is being jointly carried out by the Israel military forces, Defense Ministry Borders and Security Fence Directorate. The overall project is due to be completed by the end of the year, according to the Israeli army, and is expected to cost around $830 million.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu said the fence was needed to “prevent the infiltration of terrorists into our territory”. It is part of a broader security strategy aimed at building barriers between Israel and all neighbouring states to protect the country from what Netanyahu called “wild beasts”. These barriers include a 200km fence on the border with Egypt, a 70km fence on the border with Syria in the contested Golan Heights, a 130km fence on the border with Lebanon, a 30km fence on the Jordanian border and a separation wall around the West Bank, which, according to the United Nations, will run for 712km once completed.

Although the Israeli authorities have invoked security reasons for building the latest fence, they are also pursuing political goals. According to an analysis by Masarat, the Palestinian Center for Policy Research and Strategic Studies, Hamas’ ability to create an effective offensive force during the 2014 war sparked controversy within Israeli security circles, prompting a rethink of their strategy to avoid similar failures in the future, in particular regarding the neutralization of attack tunnels under the border.

Approval for the construction of the Gaza fence is thus a response both to a perceived security threat and to complaints from the leaders of the settlements in the areas immediately adjacent to the strip, who say the Israeli army is failing to protect them. In addition, the fence aims to further separate the Gaza Strip from the West Bank and East Jerusalem, potentially ending for good the possibility of a two-state solution.

According to journalist and researcher Basem Aly, the fence may also seriously compromise any Palestinian strategy to obtain concessions from Israel. In his opinion, the shrinking space for armed struggle will deprive Palestinians of a significant tool in any negotiation process.

Gaza wall
Sources: Wikipedia and ochaopt.org. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

In the past, he wrote in an analysis piece, armed struggle has been a key element of the Palestinian strategy to reach a meaningful agreement with Israel. During the Oslo process in 1993, for instance, Israel agreed to the establishment of a Palestinian Interim Self-Government Authority in the West Bank and Gaza Strip in exchange for an end to confrontation and conflict. Indeed, Palestinian leaders opted for decades for a dual approach combining both diplomacy and paramilitary operations.

On the one hand, diplomacy has successfully increased international support for Palestine’s statehood ambitions, as highlighted by UNESCO’s decision to grant Palestine full membership in 2011 and the UN General Assembly vote to accord Palestine non-member observer status in 2012.

On the other hand, despite regular clashes between Palestinian demonstrators and Israeli forces on the Israel-Gaza border, the fence is likely to erode the pressure Palestinians can effectively exert on Israel. To Aly’s mind, it is no coincidence that the expansion of settlements over the past decade combined with increased control over the Palestinian territories have intersected with “a decline in the number of terrorist attacks, mainly due to the presence of the West Bank barrier that former Prime Minister Ariel Sharon built in 2002 in response to Israeli public pressure”.

Between 2015 and 2018, Israel military forces reported a  gradual drop in West Bank terror attacks, proving the wall’s efficiency in the eyes of Israeli authorities who now want to obtain similar results with the Gaza barrier. However, Gaza is ruled by Hamas, which is the only major stakeholder in the Palestinian political arena still using a confrontational military strategy against Israel. As a recent example, during the last military confrontation on 4-5 May 2019, Hamas’ military wing, the Izz ad-Din al-Qassam Brigades, fired a guided missile at an Israeli vehicle in northern Gaza, killing one Israeli.

Despite several official and unofficial statements from Hamas denying the potential impact of the fence on its activities, it is hard to see at this stage how the movement will be able to continue attacking Israeli targets once construction is complete. A source from the al-Qassam Brigades told al-Monitor that the barrier “will not stop the resistance from firing guided missiles at Israeli vehicles in any new confrontation”. In the same article, Hamas spokesperson Abdel Latif al-Qanou said that the wall would neither bring safety to Israel “nor prevent the resistance from dealing its blow”.

What the fence is likely to achieve is a deterioration in the already dire human rights situation. Israel’s near-total blockade of Gaza since 2007 has restricted access to most basic needs, including electricity and medical supplies. In addition, according to the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, between 30 March 2018 and 22 March 2019, 195 Palestinians, including 41 children, were killed by Israeli forces in the Great March of Return demonstrations, including during the weekly protests and night-time activities near the perimeter fence and protests against the naval blockade at the beach. A further 28,939 Palestinians were injured, 25 per cent of which by live ammunition, in these demonstrations.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.