فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / ظهور الصهيونية / الإدارة العربية

الإدارة العربية

الأمير فيضل والوفد العربي في المؤتمر الفلسطيني الأول في القدس عام 1919
الأمير فيضل والوفد العربي في المؤتمر الفلسطيني الأول في القدس عام 1919

بعد نهاية الحرب العالمية الأولى، وفي بداية عام 1919، اجتمعت الجمعيات المسيحية والإسلامية الفلسطينية في القدس. وطالب هذا “المؤتمر العربي الفلسطيني الأول” باستقلال فلسطين في “ميثاق وطني”، ورفض وعد بلفور و الانتداب البريطاني على فلسطين. وسعت الأغلبية إلى دمج فلسطين في دولة سورية مستقلة. ونتيجة لذلك، نددت الوفود أيضاً بالمطالب الفرنسية بالانتداب على سوريا. وأشار المؤتمر إلى مبادئ رئيس الأمم المتحدة السابق وودرو ويلسون في حق الشعوب الخاضعة بتقرير مصيرها.

في آذار/مارس من السنة التالية، حضرت وفود من فلسطين المؤتمر السوري في دمشق، حيث تم إعلان الاستقلال وانتخاب الأمير فيصل بن حسين بن علي، شريف مكة، ملكاً للأمة السورية الفلسطينية المتحدة. ولكن وبعد شهر، قسم الحلفاء الأراضي السابقة للإمبراطورية العثمانية المهزومة في مؤتمر السلام في سان ريمو (إيطاليا). ووقعت سوريا و لبنان تحت الانتداب الفرنسي، وفلسطين تحت الانتداب البريطاني. وبحلول تموز/يوليو، أجبرت فرنسا فيصل على التخلي عن مطالباته بعرش سوريا وفلسطين المتحدة. ودعا الفلسطينيون العرب عام 1920 بـ “عام النكبة”.

انعقد المؤتمر العربي الفلسطيني مرة أخرى في حيفا في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1920. هذه المرة انتخبت الوفود لجنة تنفيذية، اللجنة التنفيذية العربية، برئاسة موسى كاظم الحسيني، من عائلة قيادية في القدس (انظر أيضاً تصعيد العنف والثورة العربية في فلسطين). أقال البريطانيون الحسيني من منصبه كمحافظ مدينة القدس بعد أن اندلعت أعمال شغب معادية للصهيونية في الحي اليهودي في القدس القديمة في نيسان/أبريل من ذلك العام، حيث قتل خمسة يهود وأربعة عرب وجرح العشرات. وأعلن مؤتمر حيفا فلسطين دولة مستقلة ورفض أية حقوق لليهود في فلسطين. دخل ما يزيد عن 18,000 مهاجر يهودي إلى فلسطين بين عامي 1919 و 1921، في حين واصل الصندوق القومي اليهودي، الذي تأسس عام 1901، شراءه للأراضي.

عقد المؤتمر التالي في أيار/مايو عام 1921، بعد وقت قصير من أعمال الشغب العنيفة في حيفا، حيث سقط عشرات القتلى من الطرفين. وقررت اللجنة التنفيذية العربية إرسال وفد إلى لندن برئاسة الحسيني، للمطالبة بتغيير السياسة البريطانية التي كان يظن أنها مؤيدة للصهيونية. وبقي الوفد في لندن في تموز/يوليو عام 1922 وكان له بعض التأثير. حاولت الحكومة البريطانية في كتاب تشرشل الأبيض في حزيران/يونيو عام 1922 توضيح معنى وعد بلفور لعام 1917.

ينص الكتاب الأبيض: “تم وضع بيانات غير مصرح بها في حيز التنفيذ الغرض منها هو إحداث فلسطين يهودية بشكل كامل. وقد تم استخدام جمل، مثل أن تصبح ’فلسطين يهودية كما إنكلترا انكليزية‘. وتعتبر حكومة جلالته مثل هذا التوقع غير عملي ولا يهدف إلى مثل ذلك. فقد كانت تلفت الانتباه إلى حقيقة أن شروط الوعد المشار إليه لا تعتزم تحويل كامل فلسطين إلى وطن قومي لليهود، وإنما ينبغي تأسيس مثل هذا الوطن ’في فلسطين‘”. وأردف التصريح بأن الهجرة اليهودية في فلسطين ’لا يمكن أن تكون كبيرة بقدر أن تتجاوز القدرة الاقتصادية للبلاد في ذلك الوقت لاستيعاب الوافدين الجدد‘.

تم حل اللجنة التنفيذية العربية عام 1934. وفي الوقت ذاته، تم تشكيل الأحزاب السياسية الفلسطينية. وبعد ذلك بعامين، تم تشكيل هيئة تنسيق جديدة: اللجنة العربية العليا.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Rise of Zionism / The Arab Executive

The Arab Executive

Emir Faysal / Photo HH
Emir Faysal / Photo HH

After the end of World War I, Palestinian Muslim and Christian associations met in Jerusalem at the beginning of 1919. This ‘First Arab Palestinian Congress’ demanded independence for Palestine in a ‘national charter’, and rejected the Balfour Declaration as well as British rule over Palestine. A majority sought the incorporation of Palestine into an independent Syrian state. As a consequence, the delegates also denounced French claims to a mandate over Syria. The congress referred to the former American president Woodrow Wilson’s principles of the right of self-determination of subject peoples.

The following year, delegates from Palestine attended a Syrian congress in Damascus in March, where independence was proclaimed and Emir Faysal, son of Husayn ibn Ali, the Sharif of Mecca, was elected king of a united Syrian-Palestine nation. However, a month later at the Peace Conference of San Remo in Italy, the Allies divided the former territories of the defeated Ottoman Empire. Syria and Lebanon were mandated to France, Palestine to Great Britain. By July, the French had forced Faysal to give up his claims to the throne of a united Syria and Palestine.

The Arab Palestinian Congress met again in Haifa in December 1920. This time the delegates elected an executive committee, the Arab Executive, led by Musa Kazim al-Husayni, a member of a leading Jerusalem family (see also Escalation and revolt in Occupied Palestinian Territories). Al-Husayni had been removed by the British as mayor of the city after anti-Zionist riots had broken out in the Jewish Quarter of Old Jerusalem in April of that year, in which five Jews and four Palestinians had been killed and scores had been wounded. The congress of Haifa declared Palestine an autonomous state and rejected any rights of the Jews in Palestine. Between 1919 and 1921 more than 18,000 Jewish immigrants entered Palestine, while the Jewish National Fund, established in 1901, continued its land purchases.

The next congress took place in May 1921, shortly after fierce riots in Jaffa, with tens of deaths on both sides. The Arab Executive decided to send a delegation to London led by al-Husayni, to change British policy, which was deemed pro-Zionist. The delegation remained in London during July 1922 and had some impact. In the Churchill White Paper of June 1922 the British government tried to clarify the meaning of the Balfour Declaration of 1917.

‘Unauthorized statements,’ the White Paper said, ‘have been made to the effect that the purpose in view is to create a wholly Jewish Palestine. Phrases have been used such as that Palestine is to become “as Jewish as England is English.” His Majesty’s Government regard any such expectation as impracticable and have no such aim in view. They would draw attention to the fact that the terms of the Declaration referred to do not contemplate that Palestine as a whole should be converted into a Jewish National Home, but that such a Home should be founded “in Palestine”.’ The document continued by stating that the Jewish immigration in Palestine ‘cannot be so great in volume as to exceed whatever may be the economic capacity of the country at the time to absorb new arrivals’.

The Arab Executive was dissolved in 1934. In the meantime, Palestinian political parties had been formed. Two years later, a new coordinating body saw the light: the Arab Higher Committee.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.