فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / ظهور الصهيونية / الثورة العربية

الثورة العربية

في نيسان/أبريل عام 1936، نظم أتباع الشيخ عز الدين القسام، والذي عاش في حيفا وكان يعمل فيها وقتل قبلها بعام على يد القوات البريطانية بالقرب من جنين، إضراباً عاماً في يافا ونابلس. كان القسام زعيم منظمة الكف الأسود، وهي مجموعة مقاومة فلسطينية اعتبرتها القوات البريطانية منظمة إرهابية. تبنت الأحزاب السياسية الفلسطينية، والتي تشكلت من جميع الأطراف في السنوات الماضية، الدعوة للإضراب. وكان من بينها حزب الاستقلال، والكتلة الوطنية، وحزب الدفاع الوطني بزعامة عائلة النشاشيبي ذات النفوذ في القدس، والحزب العربي الفلسطيني بزعامة عائلة الحسيني المنافسة، والحزب الشيوعي الفلسطيني. وشكلوا لجنة وطنية عليا لتنسيق الإضراب وأعمال الاحتجاج الأخرى، مثل عدم دفع الضرائب وإغلاق الحكومات البلدية. طالبت اللجنة العربية العليا، برئاسة الحاج أمين الحسيني الذي عينه البريطانيون مفتياً للقدس، بوقف الهجرة اليهودية وفرض حظر على بيع الأراضي لليهود والاستقلال الوطني لفلسطين. وفي الوقت نفسه، هاجم الثوار العرب المسلحون القرى والمستوطنات اليهودية والأحياء اليهودية في المدن ذات الاختلاط السكاني.

عززت بريطانيا وجودها المسلح بـ 20,000 جندي، وسمحت للمنظمة العسكرية اليهودية، الهاغانا، بالتسلح رسمياً. رغم وجود القوات البريطانية المسلحة المتزايد، استمرت أعمال العنف من الطرفين.

أرسلت لندن لجنة ملكية بقيادة السير روبرت بيل Sir Robert Peel. وفي استنتاجاتها التي نشرت في تموز/يوليو عام 1937، أوصت اللجنة بوجوب إنهاء الانتداب البريطاني لفلسطين وتقسيم فلسطين إلى دولة يهودية ودولة عربية. أما بالنسبة للأماكن المقدسة، فيجب ترسيم مقاطعة تمتد من شمال القدس إلى جنوب بيت لحم، تصل إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط عن طريق معبر للفلسطينيين، بما في لك بلدتي اللد والرملة، وينتهي عند حيفا.

ينبغي التفاوض على المعاهدات تحت إشراف بريطاني مع حكومة شرق الأردن وممثلين عن عرب فلسطين من جهة والمنظمة الصهيونية من جهة أخرى. ويجب أن تتضمن هذه المعاهدات تأسيس دولتين مستقلتين ذات سيادة، الأولى دولة عربية تتكون من شرق الأردن المتحد مع قسم من فلسطين، والأخرى الدولة اليهودية. وتتضمن حدود الدولة اليهودية مساحة حوالي 5,000 كم2 (15% من مساحة فلسطين، وإنما أكبر بكثير من الأراضي التي كان يمتلكها اليهود في ذلك الوقت). وينبغي أن تشمل الدولة العربية بقية فلسطين باستثناء المقاطعة المذكورة سابقاً حول القدس، وينبغي أن يكون هناك نقل لملكية الأراضي، وربما تبادل سكان بين الدولتين لتجنب استمرار الصراع بين العرب واليهود.

على عكس الصهاينة التصحيحيين، قبل التيار الصهيوني السائد المقترحات على مضض ( وكانت المرة الأولى التي ذكرت فيها الدولة اليهودية في وثيقة بريطانية رسمية)، ولكن الفلسطينيين رفضوا تقرير لجنة بيل على الفور، واشتعلت الثورة العربية. وفي أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1937، أعلن البريطانيون الأحكام العرفية. وتم حل اللجنة العربية العليا، وسجن العديد من الزعماء الفلسطينيين، وفر مفتي القدس أولاً إلى لبنان، ومن ثم إلى العراق ( وانتهى به الأمر في برلين، حيث حاول عبثاً تحريض العرب لجعل القضية مشتركة مع ألمانيا النازية). كانت الخسائر في الجانب الفلسطيني الناتجة عن التمرد كبيرة. وفق بعض التقديرات، عندما تلاشت الثورة في نهاية عام 1939، قتل أكثر من 5,000 فلسطيني وجرح 15,000 وسجن ما لا يقل عن 5,600.

إقرأ المزيد

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، ...
ملف فنك الشامل عن إسرائيل يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
ومع معدل النمو السنوي الحالي البالغ نحو 2%، من المتوقع أن يواصل سكا...

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Rise of Zionism / The Arab Revolt

The Arab Revolt

In April 1936, followers of Sheikh Izz al-Din al-Qassam, who lived and worked in Haifa and had been killed a year earlier by British troops near Jenin, organized a general strike in Jaffa and Nablus. Al-Qassam had been the leader of the Black Hand (al-Kaff al-Aswad), a Palestinian resistance group that the British considered a terrorist organization. The call for a strike was adopted by Palestinian political parties, which had been formed from all sides in recent years. Amongst them were the Independence Party (Hizb al-Istiqlal), the National Bloc (al-Kutla al-Wataniya), the National Defence Party of the influential Nashashibi family from Jerusalem, the Palestine Arab Party of its rival the Husayni family, and the Palestine Communist Party. They formed an Arab Higher Committee to coordinate the strike and other actions of protest, such as the non-payment of taxes and the closing down of municipal governments. The Arab Higher Committee, presided over by Hajj Amin al-Husayni, the British appointed mufti of Jerusalem, demanded an end to Jewish immigration, a ban on the sale of land to Jews, and national independence for Palestine. At the same time, armed Palestinian rebels attacked Jewish villages and settlements and Jewish neighbourhoods in the cities with mixed populations.

The British fortified their armed presence with 20,000 troops and officially allowed the Jewish military organization Haganah to arm. Notwithstanding the presence of the enlarged British armed forces, violence on both sides continued. London sent a royal commission under Sir Robert Peel. In its conclusions, published in July 1937, the commission recommended that the British Mandate for Palestine should be ended, and Palestine should be partitioned in a Jewish and an Arab state. As for the Holy Places, an enclave should be demarcated extending from north of Jerusalem to south of Bethlehem, and access to the Mediterranean for the Palestinians should be provided by a corridor, including the towns of Lydda (Lod) and Ramla, terminating at Jaffa.

Treaties should be negotiated under British supervision with the government of Transjordan and representatives of the Palestinians on the one hand and with the Zionist Organization on the other. These treaties should contain the proviso that two sovereign independent states were to be established: an Arab State, consisting of Transjordan united with part of Palestine, and a Jewish State. The boundaries of the Jewish State would include an area of about 5,000 square kilometres (15 percent of the total area of Palestine, but much larger than the land the Jews were holding at the time). The Arab State would include the rest of Palestine, excluding the above mentioned enclave around Jerusalem, and there would be a transfer of land and possibly an exchange of population between the two states to avoid the continuation of conflict between the Palestinians and Jews.

Mainstream Zionists – unlike their revisionist opponents – reluctantly accepted the proposals (it was the first time that a Jewish state had been brought up in an official British document). The Palestinians, however, directly rejected the report of the Peel Commission and the Palestinian revolt flared up. In September 1937, the British declared martial law. The Arab Higher Committee was dissolved, many Palestinian leaders were imprisoned, the mufti of Jerusalem fled first to Lebanon, then to Iraq (he ended up in Berlin, where he tried to incite the Arabs to make common cause with Nazi Germany, but to no avail). The losses on the Palestinian side as a result of the insurrection were great. According to some estimates, when the revolt had faded out at the end of 1939, more than 5,000 Palestinians had been killed, 15,000 wounded and at least 5,600 imprisoned.

Further Reading

Israel witnessed the war against Lebanon and three other wars against Gaza. Furthermore, the United States announced its...
Fanack’s Israel country file provides a comprehensive overview about Israel, its history, politics, culture, economy a...
With the current annual growth rate of about 2 per cent, Israel’s population is expected to continue to grow at a rela...

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!