فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / التوترات الإقليمية تتصاعد مع استهداف الجيش الإسرائيلي حلفاء إيران

التوترات الإقليمية تتصاعد مع استهداف الجيش الإسرائيلي حلفاء إيران

Hezbollah
رجل يقوم بتعديل علم حزب الله على جدار من الطوب في “حديقة إيران،” التي بنتها الحكومة الإيرانية في قرية مارون الراس اللبنانية على طول الحدود الجنوبية مع إسرائيل، في 1 بستمبر 2019. Photo: Mahmoud ZAYYAT / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT

في 25 أغسطس 2019، سقطت طائرتان إسرائيليتان مسيّرتان تحملان متفجراتٍ على مركزٍ إعلامي لحزب الله في جنوب بيروت في لبنان. اصطدمت إحدى الطائرات المسيّرة بسطح المركز وتبعتها أخرى انفجرت في الهواء، مما ألحق أضراراً بالمبنى. كان هذا أول استخدام إسرائيلي لـ”الطائرات المسيرّة الانتحارية” ضد حزب الله.

لم يكن الهجوم على حزب الله، الذي يُعتبر القوة الحليفة الرئيسية لإيران في لبنان، حادثاً منعزلاً. وكما أكد رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو في 22 أغسطس، “إيران ليست محصنة في أي مكانٍ في العالم.” فقد كثف الجيش الإسرائيلي في الأشهر الأخيرة من استهدافه لحلفاء إيران في سوريا والعراق والآن في لبنان، كما استهدف بشكلٍ فعّال قوات الحشد الشعبي في العراق، وهي منظمة مظلة برعاية الدولة تضم بالغالب ميليشياتٍ شيعية. ومع الأخذ في الاعتبار الهدوء النسبي على الحدود الإسرائيلية اللبنانية في السنوات الأخيرة، فإن استخدام الطائرات المسيّرة الانتحارية ضد حزب الله يمثل مرحلةً جديدة في لعبة القوة بين الاثنين، وعلى نطاقٍ أوسع، بين إسرائيل ومحور المقاومة، وهو تحالفٌ يضم إيران والعراق وسوريا وحزب الله وحماس في فلسطين ويهدف إلى وقف المصالح الغربية والإسرائيلية في المنطقة.

عندما بدأ مد الحرب السورية يتحول لصالح إيران وحلفائها في أواخر عام 2015، بدأ القلق يتسرب إلى أعداء إيران الإقليميين، بما في ذلك إسرائيل. فقد ساهمت مشاركة حزب الله في النزاع السوري في تعزيز قدراته العسكرية وخبراته، وكذلك تشجيع إنشاء العديد من الميليشيات الجديدة المتحالفة مع طهران وتدريبها ودعمها، من بينها قوات الدفاع الوطني السوري، التي يتم دمج شرائح منها في القوات المسلحة السورية. وغنيّ عن القول أن قوات الدفاع الوطني تقوم بأدوارٍ على غرار جماعاتٍ مثل حزب الله وقوات الحشد الشعبي. كما كان للحرب على تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في العراق نتائج مماثلة، فبعد هزيمة داعش، أصبحت قوات الحشد الشعبي القوة العسكرية الأقوى في البلاد. وبشكلٍ عام، تركت الحروب في سوريا والعراق محور المقاومة أقوى من أي وقتٍ مضى فيما يتعلق بالمؤسسات العسكرية والقدرات والالتزام العقائدي. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تتمتع هذه الميليشيات بدعمٍ إيراني. من جهتها، تُثير هذه الحقائق قلق أعداء إيران الذين يرون في هذه الميليشيات وكلاء إيرانيين.

في حين أن النفوذ الإقليمي لإيران يتزايد نتيجة سوء تقدير خصومها للأوضاع في سوريا والعراق ومؤخراً في اليمن، وقعت طهران خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة عام 2015، والمعروفة باسم الاتفاق النووي الإيراني، مع مجموعة من القوى العالمية. الإتفاق، وفقاً لأعداء إيران الإقليميين، حرر أيدي إيران فعلياً. وعلى الرغم من أن العديد من المحللين الإيرانيين يدحضون ذلك، إذ يرون أن نمو النفوذ الإقليمي الإيراني هو اتجاهٌ نشأ بسبب احتلال إسرائيل للبنان في عام 1982، مما أدى إلى تأسيس حزب الله، والاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق في عام 2003، مما دفع بحلفاء إيران إلى السلطة في بغداد، إلا أن إدارة ترمب غيرت هذا المسار بالانسحاب من الإتفاق النووي الإيراني في عام 2018 وحرضت على ممارسة سياسة “أقصى قدر من الضغط،” وذلك بهدف إعادة إيران إلى طاولة المفاوضات بشروطٍ أمريكية.

من جانبها، تعدّ سياسة إسرائيل تجاه إيران انتهازية في كثيرٍ من النواحي وتركز على نفوذ إيران الإقليمي وموقف ترمب المعادي لإيران. أولاً، تهدف إلى التقليل إلى أدنى حدٍ من رغبة حلفاء إيران في التعاون مع طهران عن طريق إلحاق أكبر قدرٍ ممكن من الألم والدمار بهم. ثانياً، تهدف إلى خلق نوع من التحالف الإقليمي الذي يمكنه تطبيع العلاقات الإسرائيلية العربية من خلال التركيز على تصور التهديد الإيراني على العرب. إن الزيارات التي قام بها المسؤولون الإسرائيليون إلى مختلف دول الخليج والمحادثات المفتوحة غير المسبوقة حول التعاون العربي الإسرائيلي هي مثالٌ على هذه السياسة. ثالثاً، ومن منطلق التركيز أيضاً على تصور التهديد ضد العرب، فإنه يهدف إلى إنشاء جبهة إقليمية ضد نفوذ إيران، وتصوير إيران على أنها تهديدٌ ليس فقط لإسرائيل بل للعرب على نطاق أوسع. وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، ينبغي اعتبار إعلان إسرائيل استعدادها الانضمام إلى تحالفٍ بحري تقوده الولايات المتحدة لتأمين مضيق هرمز الاستراتيجي في الخليج العربي جزءاً من هذا. فقد ألمح الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني إلى ذلك قائلاً إن إسرائيل لا يمكنها الدفاع عن نفسها، ناهيك عن الدفاع عن الآخرين. ورابعاً، والأهم من ذلك في الوقت الحالي، يهدف ذلك إلى إبقاء تركيز الضغط الأمريكي على إيران. وعلى هذا النحو، كلما ظهرت بوادر وساطة بين إيران والولايات المتحدة، تبدأ إسرائيل بشن هجماتها.

بشكلٍ عام، فإن الفرصة التي يراها نتنياهو في الحملة الأمريكية لممارسة أقصى قدر من الضغط والتغيرات الإقليمية الناجمة عن هزيمة أعداء إيران في سوريا والعراق، تحرك هي الأخرى تصعيد إسرائيل. وفي الوقت نفسه، يرى العديد من المحللين أن هجمات نتنياهو العسكرية ما هي إلا محاولةٌ لكسب تأييد الناخبين الإسرائيليين في انتخابات 17 سبتمبر 2019، بعد فشله في تشكيل حكومةٍ ائتلافية بعد الانتخابات في أبريل. إن حقيقة اعتراف نتنياهو بمسؤوليته عن الهجمات وقوله إن إيران لن تكون محصنة في أي مكانٍ في العالم تدعم هذه الفرضية – لم تكن الحكومات الإسرائيلية السابقة تعترف بدورها في الهجمات خارج حدودها.

من وجهة نظر إيران وحلفائها، تعد الهجمات محاولة إسرائيل لإقامة توازنٍ جديد في مسار تصادمي معهم. ومن خلال مهاجمة الحلفاء الإيرانيين في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، يحاول الجيش الإسرائيلي كسر الردع الذي فرضه محور المقاومة على مدار عقدين من الزمن. على هذا النحو، يتجه محور المقاومة نحو استراتيجية العين بالعين. إن انتقام حزب الله لسقوط الطائرات المسيرة في بيروت، والذي جاء بعد أيامٍ من إعلان زعيم حزب الله حسن نصر الله أنه لن يكون هناك خط أحمر تجاه العدوان الإسرائيلي، يشير إلى اعتراف الجماعة اللبنانية بأن إستراتيجية الردع لم تعد تجدي نفعاً. وفي خطابٍ له بعد الحادث، قال نصر الله إن أي طائرة إسرائيلية بدون طيار تدخل المجال الجوي اللبناني سيتم إسقاطها وأن حزب الله يتمتع بالقدرة على القيام بذلك.

جاء تهديده هذا بعد إسقاط إيران لطائرة تجسسٍ أمريكية بدون طيار في الخليج العربي وكذلك احتجازها لناقلة نفط بريطانية رداً على احتجاز بريطانيا ناقلة نفطٍ إيرانية في جبل طارق. كما قال المرشد الأعلى الإيراني، “انتهى عهد الكر والفر.” وبعبارةٍ أخرى، فإن أي هجوم على إيران أو حلفائها سيثير رداً بما يناسبه. ومن الأمثلة الأخرى على الاستراتيجية الجديدة التي يتم تنفيذها، إعلان زعيم الحشد الشعبي أبو مهدي المهندس بأن قوات الحشد الشعبي ستنشىء سلاح الجو الخاص بها، مما سيمنحها القدرة على الدفاع عن نفسها ضد العدوان الإسرائيلي.

بينما تتصاعد الأعمال العسكرية الإسرائيلية ضد حزب الله وحلفاء إيرانيين آخرين، تشير ردود الفعل على هذه الأعمال إلى مرحلةٍ جديدة في ألعاب القوى الإقليمية. وبما أن الردع كان جوهر بناء التحالف الإيراني فيما يتعلق بإسرائيل والولايات المتحدة على نطاق أوسع، فإن رد حزب الله وإيران النسبي على الهجمات الإسرائيلية ونشر العتاد العسكري الأمريكي في الخليج العربي يوحي بأن التناسب ينظر إليه على نحو متزايد باعتباره وسيلة للدعم والتأكد من ردعهم. وبالإضافة إلى التوترات المتصاعدة التي ينجم عنها هذا السلوك المتبادل، فإنه يزيد أيضاً من احتمال المواجهة العسكرية المستعرة. وعليه، يبقى أن نرى ما إذا كانت إسرائيل ستتجاهل تهديد حزب الله بعدم وجود خطوط حمر ومواصلة هجماتها أم لا. ومع ذلك، أوضحت إيران وحلفاؤها موقفهم: سيتم التعامل مع أي هجوم بطريقة متناسبة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / Regional Tensions Mount as Israeli Military Targets Iranian Allies

Regional Tensions Mount as Israeli Military Targets Iranian Allies

Hezbollah
A man fixes the flag of Hezbollah along a brick hedge in the “Garden of Iran” Park, which was built by the Iranian government, in the Lebanese village of Maroun al-Ras along the southern border with Israel on September 1, 2019. Photo: Mahmoud ZAYYAT / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT

On 25 August 2019, two Israeli drones carrying explosives came down on a Hezbollah media centre in southern Beirut, Lebanon. One of the drones hit the roof of the centre and was followed by another that exploded in the air, further damaging the building. It was the first Israeli use of ‘suicide drones’ against Hezbollah.

The attack on Hezbollah, considered Iran’s main proxy force in Lebanon, was not an isolated incident. As Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu asserted on 22 August, “Iran is not immune anywhere.” The Israeli military has in recent months stepped up its targeting of Iran’s allies in Syria, Iraq and now in Lebanon. it has also actively targeted Iraq’s Popular Mobilization Forces (PMF), a state-sponsored umbrella organization of mostly Shia militias. Taking into account the relative calm on the Israeli-Lebanese border in recent years, the use of suicide drones against Hezbollah marks a new phase in the power play between the two and, more broadly, between Israel and the Axis of Resistance, an alliance that includes Iran, Iraq, Syria, Hezbollah and Hamas in Palestine and aims to oppose Western and Israeli interests in the region.

When the tide of the Syrian war started turning in the favour of Iran and its allies in late 2015, Iran’s regional enemies, including Israel, began to worry. Hezbollah’s involvement in the Syrian conflict served to enhance the group’s military capabilities and experience as well as encouraging the establishment of several new militias allied with, trained and supported by Tehran. Among them is the Syrian National Defence (SND), segments of which are being integrated into the Syrian armed forces. It goes without saying that the SND is modelled on groups such as Hezbollah and the PMF. The war on Islamic State (IS) in Iraq had a similar outcome. After IS’ defeat, the PMF became the country’s strongest military force. Generally, the wars in Syria and Iraq left the Axis of Resistance stronger than ever in terms of military institutions, capabilities and ideological commitment. Moreover, these militias enjoy Iranian backing. These facts are troubling for Iran’s enemies who see the militias as Iranian proxies.

While Iran’s regional clout was increasing as a result of its rivals’ miscalculations in Syria, Iraq and, more recently, Yemen, Tehran signed the 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), better known as the Iran nuclear deal, with a group of world powers. The deal, according to Iran’s regional enemies, effectively untied Iran’s hands. Although this is refuted by many Iran analysts who see the growth of Iran’s regional influence as a trend precipitated by Israel’s occupation of Lebanon in 1982, which led to the establishment of Hezbollah, and the American occupation of Iraq in 2003, which brought Iran’s allies to power in Baghdad. The Trump administration changed this trajectory by withdrawing from the JCPOA in 2018 and instigating a campaign of ‘maximum pressure’ aimed at bringing Iran to the negotiating table on American terms.

For its part, Israel’s policy towards Iran is opportunistic in many respects and focuses both on Iran’s regional influence and Trump’s anti-Iran stance. First, it aims to minimize Iran’s allies’ appetite for cooperation with Tehran by inflicting as much pain and devastation on them as possible. Second, it aims to create a sort of regional coalition that can normalize Israeli-Arab relations by focusing the Arab threat perception on Iran. Visits by Israeli officials to various Gulf states and the unprecedently open talks on Israeli-Arab cooperation is illustrative of this policy. Third, and also focused on the Arab threat perception, it is aimed at establishing a regional front against Iran’s influence, portraying Iran as a threat not only to Israel but to the Arabs more broadly. Israel’s announcement of its readiness to join a US-led maritime coalition to secure the strategic Strait of Hormuz in the Persian Gulf should be seen as part of this. Iranian President Hassan Rouhani hinted at this, saying that Israel cannot defend itself, let alone defend others. Fourth, and most importantly for the moment, it is meant to keep American pressure focused on Iran. As such, whenever a mediation between Iran and the United States (US) seems imminent, Israel initiates attacks.

Generally, the opportunity Netanyahu sees in the US’ maximum pressure campaign and the regional changes brought about by the defeat of Iran’s enemies in Syria and Iraq are also driving Israel’s escalation. At the same time, many analysts see Netanyahu’s military attacks as an attempt to win favour with Israeli voters in the 17 September 2019 elections, following his failure to form a coalition government after the elections in April. The fact that Netanyahu accepted responsibility for the attacks and said that Iran will not be immune anywhere backs this premise – previous Israeli governments have not had a tradition of accepting their role in attacks beyond their borders.

From the perspective of Iran and its allies, the attacks are Israel’s attempt to establish a new equilibrium in its collision course with them. By attacking Iranian allies across the region, the Israeli military is trying to break the deterrence the Axis of Resistance enforced over the course of two decades. As such, the Axis of Resistance is moving towards an eye-for-an-eye strategy. Hezbollah’s retaliation for the drone drones in Beirut, which came days after Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah announced there will be no red line vis-à-vis Israeli aggression, indicates a recognition by the Lebanese group that its deterrence strategy is no longer working. In a speech after the incident, Nasrallah said that any Israeli drone entering Lebanese airspace will be downed and that Hezbollah has the capability to do so.

His threat followed Iran’s downing of an American spy drone in the Persian Gulf as well as its detention of a British oil tanker in retaliation for Britain detaining an Iranian oil tanker in Gibraltar. As Iran’s Supreme Leader put it, “The time of hit and run is over.” In other words, any attack on Iran or its allies will elicit a proportional response. Another instance of the new strategy being implemented is PMF leader Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis’ announcement that the PMF will establish its own air force, giving it the capability to defend itself against Israeli aggression.

While Israel’s military actions against Hezbollah and other Iranian allies have been mounting, the responses to these actions suggest a new phase in the regional power games. As deterrence has been the essence of Iran’s alliance-building with regards to Israel and the United States more broadly, Hezbollah and Iran’s proportional response to Israel’s attacks and the deployment of American military assets in the Persian Gulf suggests proportionality is increasingly being seen as a means to uphold and validate their deterrence. In addition to the escalating tensions this tit-for-tat behaviour brings about, it also increases the likelihood of full-blown military confrontation. Whether Israel will ignore Hezbollah’s no-red-line threat and continue its attacks remains to be seen. However, Iran and its allies have made their position clear: any attack will be dealt with in a proportional way.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT | ©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.