فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حرب حزيران/يونيو 1967 / الحصار

الحصار

المصدر: Eosnap
المصدر: Eosnap

لم يؤد الحصار في مضيق تيران إلى أي شيء، باستثناء بعض المحاولات غير المجدية من قبل الحكومة الإسرائيلية لجر الولايات المتحدة والأسطول السادس إلى معسكرها. وعندما فشلت هذه الجهود، فكرت القدس بإرسال سفينة إسرائيلية لكسر الحصار وتوفير ذريعة لبدأ الحرب على مرأى من الجميع. ذكر الرئيس جونسون ذلك باختصار، وقال لرئيس الوزراء إشكول بأن الولايات المتحدة ستقف تماماً مع مصر إذا قامت إسرائيل بإثارة المصريين بخدعة من هذا القبيل، وستندلع الحرب كنتيجة لذلك. وكما علق أحد المسالمين في مجلس الوزراء الإسرائيلي: “كان المضيق مغلقاً حتى عام 1956، فهل هدد ذلك أمن إسرائيل؟ أبداً.”

أخيراَ، فإن ما يسمى بإعادة انتشار القوات المصرية، الذي جرى في منتصف أيار/مايو، لم يكن بالغاً أو كبيراً على الإطلاق. وإنما بالأكثر كتغيير روتيني لأسباب الرؤية. ولكنه تُرجم بشكل خاطئ من الجانب الإسرائيلي – لأي سبب كان – كتهديد كبير والذي قوّض تماماً الافتراض بأن على إسرائيل أن تتعامل مع عدو واحد فقط في المرة الواحدة.

الدليل الأقوى على مدى خطأ هذا الافتراض، وعلى مدى عدم جاهزية القوات البرية للجيران الثلاثة، وخصوصاً مصر، للهجوم على إسرائيل، كان حرب حزيران/يونيو نفسها. ففي نهاية اليوم الثاني، 6 حزيران/يونيو، تم اجتياح الجيش المصري في قطاع غزة بشكل كامل ونزع سلاحه، وكانت ثلاث مجموعات من الدبابات الإسرائيلية تتجه بسرعة ودون مقاومة باتجاه الجنوب عبر سيناء، وبالكاد كان هناك أية مقاومة منظمة محتملة. كانت القوات البرية السورية مصابة بالشلل تقريباً منذ البداية، وبحاجة إلى أيام لاستعادة تماسكها بعض الشيء، بينما ثبت سريعاً أن الجيش الأردني، الأكثر فعالية بين الجيوش الثلاثة والذي كان يقاتل بضراوة حول القدس، ليس نداً للقوات الإسرائيلية.

تم اتخاذ القرار الرسمي لبدء حرب حزيران/يونيو صباح يوم الأحد الواقع في 4 حزيران/يونيو من قبل الحكومة الإسرائيلية. وكان رئيس الموساد الإسرائيلي، مائير عاميت، قد عاد الليلة السابقة من واشنطن حيث التقى مع نظرائه في وكالة الاستخابرات المركزية الأمريكية، والذين أبلغوه ما يمكن لإسرائيل أن تتوقعه من الولايات المتحدة. وقد ختم تقريره إلى القادة العسكريين والسياسيين الإسرائيليين مساء 3 حزيران/يونيو قرار إشكول ببدء الحرب وعدم تأجيل ذلك أكثر.

كان أحد استنتاجات عاميت الرئيسية أن الولايات المتحدة لن تتصرف لوحدها في مسألة الحصار المفروض على مضيق تيران، وأنها كانت لا تزال تحاول جمع دول أخرى لحل هذه المسألة. ولتأكيد هذا الموقف، أرسل الرئيس جونسون رسالة إلى إشكول في نفس الأسبوع بأنه يحتاج إلى المزيد من الوقت لنجاح هذا الجهد، ولكن هذا الطلب في ذلك الوقت لم يعد وثيق الصلة بالأمر، ولهذا تم تجاهله.

كان الأكثر أهمية هو الانطباع الذي نقله عاميت لمجلس الوزراء الإسرائيلي والجنرالات عن الرأي غير الرسمي في واشنطن بشأن شن إسرائيل الحرب بمفردها. بدا وكأن رؤساء وكالة المخابرات المركزية ومستشارين كبار للرئيس جونسون، باستثناء وزير الخارجية راسك، كانوا قد تقبلوا بشكل أو بآخر فكرة أن تحارب إسرائيل جيرانها العرب وتستخدم قوتها العسكرية الساحقة لقهرهم.

كان التوجه الرئيسي لنصيحتهم ما معناه: “لا تطلقوا الطلقة الأولى” و “دعوا إسرائيل تظهر بمظهر الدفاع عن النفس”. كان وزير دفاع الولايات المتحدة روبرت ماكنمارا مهتماً بشكل رئيسي بمسألة الفترة الزمنية التي ستستغرقها إسرائيل لإنهاء الحرب القادمة. وكان جواب عاميت: “أسبوع واحد”.  وجد إشكول نفسه مطمئناً مما اختبره عاميت خلال زيارته القصيرة إلى الولايات المتحدة، وشعر في واشنطن بأن الإشارة قد لا تكون خضراء، وإنما صفراء على الأقل. وبالتالي لم يكن اجتماع مجلس الوزراء صباح يوم الأحد 4 حزيران/يونيو أكثر من إجراء شكلي. وقد أعطي إشكول ودايان السلطة لاختيار اللحظة المحددة التي يجب أن تبدأ فيها الحرب. ولكي يظهروا على الأقل بأنهم ناقشوا مسألة جوهرية، تم إبلاغ الصحافة بأن مجلس الوزراء صادق على اتفاقية ثقافية مع بلجيكا.

بعد ذلك بقليل من يوم الأحد نفسه، قرر إشكول ودايان بدء الحرب في صباح اليوم التالي. وبالتوافق مع النقاشات السابقة والاستشارات الخارجية، أمر دايان في تلك الليلة المراقب الإسرائيلي بالتأكيد على وجود “ضباب حرب” حتى مساء اليوم التالي. وقال للمراقب الإسرائيلي: “يجب أن نكون الضحية في الـ 24 ساعة الأولى”. وبالتوافق مع ذلك بشكل كامل، بث راديو كول يسراييل  في 5 حزيران/يونيو الساعة 8.10 صباحاً بأن المصريين شنوا هجوماً على إسرائيل، كتمهيد لحملة معلومات مضللة تماماً، والتي سيتم تعديلها لاحقاً.

كانت حرب حزيران/يونيو عام 1967 نصراً مذهلاً لإسرائيل، نتج عنها الاستيلاء على جميع الأراضي المراد وغير المراد احتلالها (بشكل مباشر): سيناء وغزة والقدس الشرقية والضفة الغربية ومرتفعات الجولان. احتلت إسرائيل هذه الأجزاء من مصر (على الرغم من أن سيناء عادت تحت السلطة المصرية بشكل كامل مرة أخرى في نيسان/أبريل عام 1982، بعد معاهدة السلام المصرية الإسرائيلية التي تم التوقيع عليها عام 1979)، وسوريا (حيث ضمت إسرائيل مرتفعات الجولان عام 1981)، والأردن (التي تخلت عن جميع مطالباتها بالضفة الغربية في تموز عام 1988)، والفلسطينيين. ضمت إسرائيل القدس الشرقية عام 1980 وأكدت على حقها بإقامة العديد من المستوطنات اليهودية في الضفة الغربية.

يمكن اعتبار هذه الحرب، خلافاً لأسطورة أنه لم يكن هناك مفر منها، مثالاً عن توجيه ضربة وقائية. لم تكن القوات العسكرية العربية، التي اعتبرتها إسرائيل معادية لها إلى حد بعيد في 5 حزيران/يونيو عام 1967، تشكّل في تلك اللحظة التهديد الكبير المباشر المنسوب إليها من قبل النخبة السياسية والعسكرية الإسرائيلية. كانت حرب حزيران/يونيو ولا تزال حدثاً بالغ الأهمية في تاريخ العلاقات بين إسرائيل وجيرانها العرب. وكما اعترف لاحقاً أحد القادة السياسيين الذين تورطوا بها في ذلك الوقت، مناحيم بيغن: كانت حرب اختيار.

إقرأ المزيد

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، ...
ملف فنك الشامل عن إسرائيل يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها و...
© Copyright Notice Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright p...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / The June War of 1967 / Blockade

Blockade

Source: Eosnap
Source: Eosnap

The blockade in the Straits of Tiran led to nothing, apart from some ineffectual attempts by the Israeli government to draw the United States and the Sixth Fleet into its camp. When this effort did not succeed, Jerusalem considered sending an Israeli ship to lift the blockade and provide a reason to start a war. President Johnson however told Prime Minister Eshkol that the United States would side squarely with Egypt if Israel provoked the Egyptians and war broke out as a consequence. As one dovish Israeli cabinet minister commented: ‘The Straits were closed until 1956. Did it threaten Israel’s security? It did not.’

Finally, the so-called redeployment of Egyptian troops, carried out in mid-May, was not drastic or dramatic at all. It was more of a routine change for optical reasons. However, on the Israeli side this was – for whatever reason – erroneously translated into a major threat that fatally undermined the assumption that the country would only have to deal with one enemy at a time.

The most telling proof of how wrong this assumption was and how unprepared the ground forces of its three Arab neighbours, especially Egypt’s, were for an attack on Israel, has been the June War itself. At the end of the second day, on June 6, the Egyptian army in the Gaza Strip was completely overrun and disarmed, three groups of Israeli tank forces were speeding unopposed southward through Sinai, and any organized military resistance to speak of was hard to find. The Syrian ground forces in the north were almost paralysed from the beginning and needed days needed to recover, while the Jordanian army, the most active of the three armies and fighting fiercely around Jerusalem, soon proved to be no match for the Israeli forces.

The formal decision to start the June War was taken on the morning of Sunday June 4 by the Israeli cabinet. The night before, Meir Amit, the head of the Israeli intelligence agency Mossad, had returned from Washington, where he had met with his CIA counterparts, whom he had sounded out about what Israel could expect from the United States. His report to the Israeli political and military leaders on the evening of June 3 sealed the resolve of Eshkol to go to war and no longer postpone matters.

One of Amit’s major conclusions was that the United States would not act alone in the question of the blockade of the Straits of Tiran and was still trying to muster other nations to resolve the issue. To underline this position, President Johnson sent a message to Eshkol that same weekend that he wanted more time for this effort to succeed, a request that at that moment was no longer relevant for the Israeli government and therefore ignored. More important was the impression Amit conveyed to the Israeli cabinet and to the generals about the informal opinion in Washington on Israel unleashing a war on its own. It seemed that the heads of the CIA and important advisors to Johnson, except Secretary of State Dean Rusk, had more or less accepted the idea that Israel was going to take on its Arab neighbours and use its overwhelming military strength to subdue them.

The main thrust of their advice was something like: ‘Do not fire the first shot’, and ‘Let Israel appear to defend itself’. American Minister of Defence Robert McNamara for one was mainly interested in the question of how long it the war would take Israel. Amit’s answer was: ‘One week’.

Eshkol found himself reassured by what Amit had experienced during his short visit to the United States and felt that Washington may not have given the green light, but at least the orange sign. The cabinet meeting on the morning of Sunday June 4 was not much more than a formality. Eshkol and Dayan were given the authority to decide the precise moment the war should start, and in order at least to appear to have discussed something of substance the press was told that the cabinet had approved a cultural agreement with Belgium.

A little later that same Sunday, Eshkol and Dayan decided to start the war next morning. That night, in line with earlier discussions and external advice, Dayan ordered the Israeli censor to maintain a ‘fog of war’ until the evening of the next day. He told the censor: ‘For the first 24 hours we have to be the victims.’ Fully in line with this, Kol Israel Radio broadcast on June 5 at 8.10 a.m. that the Egyptians were attacking Israel, thus setting the tone for a completely misleading information campaign that has yet to be equalled.

The June War of 1967 turned out to be a stunning victory for Israel, resulting in the conquest of all the territories intended and not (directly) intended to be taken: Sinai, Gaza, East Jerusalem, the West Bank and the Golan Heights. Israel occupied parts of Egypt (although Sinai came under full Egyptian authority again in April 1982, after the Israeli-Egyptian peace treaty, signed in 1979), Syria (the Golan Heights were annexed by Israel in 1981), Jordan (which renounced all claims to the West Bank in July 1988) and the Palestinian territories. Israel annexed East Jerusalem in 1980 and laid claims to numerous Jewish settlements in the West Bank.

This war, contrary to the myth of having been unavoidable, can be seen as an example of a pre-emptive strike. The Arab military forces, which Israel considered to be lethally hostile on 5 June 1967, did not at that moment pose the immediate deadly threat imputed to them by the Israeli political and military elite. The June War has been and still is a momentous event in the history of the relations between Israel and its Arab neighbours. And as one of the political leaders involved at the time, Menachem Begin, later admitted: it was a war of choice.

Further Reading

Israel witnessed the war against Lebanon and three other wars against Gaza. Furthermore, the United States announced its...
Fanack’s Israel country file provides a comprehensive overview about Israel, its history, politics, culture, economy a...
Immediately after Hamas' seizure of power, Israel imposed a blockade of the Gaza Strip. No border crossings were allowed...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update