فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / أزمة السويس (1956)

أزمة السويس (1956)


في أيار/مايو 1956، اعترف الزعيم المصري الراحل جمال عبد الناصر بجمهورية الصين الشعبية، مما أثار غضب الولايات المتحدة. وكرد على ذلك، قررت واشنطن في 19 تموز/يوليو سحب مساعداتها المالية لتنفيذ مشروع كبير للري في مصر، وهو السد العالي في أسوان. وبعد أسبوع واحد، في 26 تموز/يوليو، أعلن عبد الناصر تأميم شركة قناة السويس، التي كان يملكها أساساً مستثمرون بريطانيون وفرنسيون. وخوفاً من أن يهدد ذلك حرية المرور في قناة السويس، أبرمت الحكومتان البريطانية والفرنسية اتفاقاً سرياً مع إسرائيل، عُرف باسم بروتوكول سيفر، لمهاجمة مصر واحتلال منطقة القناة.

تقرر أن تهاجم إسرائيل قطاع غزة للقضاء على الفدائيين واستدراج الجيش المصري إلى الانتقام. ثم يقوم الجيش الإسرائيلي بغزو سيناء بسرعة، معطياً الفرصة للحكومتين البريطانية والفرنسية للتدخل بمهمة “فرض السلام”. وفي هذه العملية، تتمكن القوات البريطانية والفرنسية من إعادة فرض سيطرتها على القناة.

في 29 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، هبطت قوات المظليين الإسرائيلية شرق السويس عند المدخل الجنوبي من القناة. وفي اليوم التالي، بعد أن نجح المزيد من المظليين في تأمين معابر مهمة في “المنطقة الخلفية” للجيش المصري في سيناء، عبر الجيش الإسرائيلي إلى الجزء الشمالي من الصحراء. واستطاع سلاح الجو الإسرائيلي من اختبار كفاءة المقاتلات الفرنسية من طراز Mystère التي حصل عليها مؤخراً ضد المقاتلات الحديثة من طراز ميغ – 15 في المعارك الجوية فوق سماء سيناء. وما لبثت المقاتلات الفرنسية أن أثبتت تفوقها الجوي. في 5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، بدأت القوات البريطانية والفرنسية المنقولة جواً تدخّلها بالهبوط بالقرب من بورسعيد. وفي اليوم نفسه، استقرت القوات الإسرائيلية بالقرب من منطقة القناة، وجنوب شبه جزيرة سيناء، وتمكنت من احتلال شرم الشيخ ورفع الحصار المفروض على خليج العقبة.

أدى الرفض الأمريكي دعم الحملة العسكرية البريطانية والفرنسية والإسرائيلية إلى هزيمة دبلوماسية مهينة للبلدان المشاركة. وأجبِرت القوات الإسرائيلية تحت ضغط من الأمم المتحدة والولايات المتحدة على الانسحاب من سيناء وقطاع غزة. وضعت قوات طوارئ دولية، قوة حفظ السلام الأولى في تاريخ الأمم المتحدة، بين الطرفين المتحاربين. وغادرت القوات الإسرائيلية شبه جزيرة سيناء وقطاع غزة في آذار عام 1957. وغادرت قوات الطوارئ الدولية سيناء في أيار/مايو – حزيران/يونيو عام 1967 بناء على طلب من مصر، قبل وقت قصير من اندلاع حرب حزيران/يونيو (انظر أيضاً أزمة السويس عام 1956 في الحروب العربية الإسرائيلية).

قوات فرنسية تنزل على ساحل سيناء عام 1956 / Photo HH
قوات فرنسية تنزل على ساحل سيناء عام 1956 / Photo HH
عربات مدرعة في شوارع بورسعيد / Photo HH
عربات مدرعة في شوارع بورسعيد / Photo HH

فلسطين مصر العدوان الثلاثي
العدوان الثلاثى على مصر 1956

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / The Suez Crisis (1956)

The Suez Crisis (1956)

In May 1956, Nasser recognized the People’s Republic of China, angering the United States in the process. As a counteract, on 19 July 1956 Washington decided to withdraw its financial aid for the realization of a large irrigation project in Egypt, the High Dam at Aswan. One week later, on July 26, Nasser announced the nationalization of the Suez Canal Company, owned mainly by British and French investors. The British and French governments, fearing that the freedom of passage through the canal would be endangered, concluded a secret agreement with Israel, known as the Protocol of Sèvres, to attack Egypt and occupy the Canal Zone.

It was decided that Israel would attack the Gaza Strip to neutralize fedayeen and lure the Egyptian army into retaliating. Then, the Israeli army would quickly invade the Sinai, offering an opportunity for the British and French governments to intervene with a ‘peace enforcing’ mission. In the process, the British and French forces would reclaim authority over the Canal.

On October 29, Israeli paratroopers dropped east of Suez at the southern entrance of the waterway. The next day, the Israeli army crossed into the northern part of the desert. The Israeli Air Force could pit the recently acquired French Mystère-fighters against the new MiG-15 in air battles over the Sinai. Israeli air superiority was soon established. On November 5, British and French forces started their intervention with airborne landings near Port Said. On the same day Israeli forces stopped near the Canal Zone and, in the south of the peninsula, occupied Sharm el-Sheikh and lifted the blockade of the Gulf of Aqaba.

The American refusal to support the British-French-Israeli military expedition led to a diplomatic defeat for the countries involved. Israeli troops were forced under pressure from the United Nations and the United States to withdraw from the Sinai and the Gaza Strip. A United Nations Emergency Force (UNEF), the first peacekeeping force in the history of the UN, was placed between the warring sides. The Israeli forces left the Sinai Peninsula and the Gaza Strip in March 1957. UNEF left the Sinai in May/June 1967 at the request of Egypt, shortly before the outbreak of the June War. (See also The Suez Operation of 1956 in  Arab-Israeli Wars)

French troops landing on the Sinai coast, 1956 / Photo HH
French troops landing on the Sinai coast, 1956 / Photo HH
Armoured vehicle in the streets of Port Said, 1956 / Photo HH
Armoured vehicle in the streets of Port Said, 1956 / Photo HH

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.