فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الطريق إلى التقسيم / القرار رقم 181

القرار رقم 181

الخارطة الرسمية للأمم المتحدة بشأن خطة التقسيم لعام 1947
الخارطة الرسمية للأمم المتحدة بشأن خطة التقسيم لعام 1947

في 29 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1947، وافقت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة على خطة تقسيم فلسطين، والتي أوصت بها لجنة الأمم المتحدة الخاصة بشأن فلسطين (UNSCOP) قبل ثلاثة أشهر. نصت الخطة على دولة يهودية تشغل 56,47% من الأراضي (باستثناء القدس) يسكنها 480,000 من اليهود و 325,000 من الفلسطينيين، ودولة عربية تشغل 42,53% من الأراضي باستثناء القدس، يسكنها 807,000 من الفلسطينيين و 10,000 من اليهود. كما نصت الخطة على وصاية دولية للقدس كجزء مستقل.

علقت صحيفة نيويورك تايمز في 30 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1947: “أتى هذا القرار بشكل أساسي نتيجة لحقيقة أن وفدي الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد السوفييتي، واللذين كانا على خلاف حول كل قضية هامة قبل الاجتماع، وقفا جنباً إلى جنب حول التقسيم”. وقد حث كل من أندريه غروميكو، ممثل الاتحاد السوفييتي، وهيرشل جونسون، السفير الأمريكي لدى الأمم المتحدة، الجمعية على “عدم الموافقة على مزيد من التأخير وإنما التصويت على التقسيم حالاً”. أعطى المؤرخ الأمريكي برنارد لويس، أستاذ دراسات الشرق الأدنى في جامعة برينستون، في كتابه عام 1995 بعنوان “الشرق الأوسط”، التفسير التالي لدعم الاتحاد السوفييتي: “كان ستالين في تلك الأيام لا يزال يعتبر بريطانيا، وليس الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، عدوه العالمي الرئيسي. وقد رأى في دولة إسرائيل الجديدة أفضل فرصة لتقويض الموقف البريطاني في الشرق الأوسط. وفي سعيه لتحقيق هذا الهدف، سمح لتشيكوسلوفاكيا، ومن ثم لدولة تابعة للاتحاد السوفييتي، بتقديم الأسلحة التي مكنت إسرائيل من النجاة في حربها الأولى. (…) وكان العنصر الهام في السياسة السوفييتية من منتصف الخمسينات، وبأكثر قوة في الستينات والسبعينات، هو دعم القضية العربية ضد إسرائيل: دبلوماسياً، في الأمم المتحدة والمحافل الدولية الأخرى؛ وعسكرياً، وذلك بتوفير الأسلحة المتطورة والدعم التقني واللوجستي للجيوش العربية. وهذا ما قاد الولايات المتحدة بدورها إلى الدخول في علاقة جديدة وإستراتيجية أكثر حميمية مع إسرائيل، والتي أصبحت المصدر الرئيسي للدعم الدبلوماسي والإستراتيجي، كما المالي لاحقاً. جعلت هذه التطورات الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي قضية رئيسية في الحرب الباردة”.

هناك استنتاج مختلف نوعاً ما يقول بأن الحرب الباردة لعبت دوراً هاماً في الشرق الأوسط، وذلك في كتاب “تاريخ الشعوب العربية” لألبرت الحوراني (1991)، مؤرخ أكسفورد: ” اعتقدت الولايات المتحدة، الآن وفي فترة الحرب الباردة والتوسع الاقتصادي، أنه يمكن حماية مصالحها في الشرق الأوسط فقط من خلال علاقات وثيقة مع الحكومات المحلية المستعدة لربط سياستها مع سياسة التحالف الغربي. لكن يقول العديد من السياسيين (العرب) والمجموعات السياسية إن الضمان الوحيد للاستقلال في عالم ما بعد الاستعمار قد يكمن في التزام الحياد بين المعسكرين المسلحين (الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد السوفييتي). وبما أن المعسكر الغربي مرتبط بذكريات الحكم الإمبريالي (بريطانيا وفرنسا)، ومع مشاكل فلسطين والجزائر التي كانت لا تزال متقرحة، ونظراً إلى أن الضغط الرئيسي لإبرام اتفاقيات دفاعية جاء من هذا الجانب، حملت الرغبة بالحيادية معها نزعة الميل أكثر باتجاه المعسكر الآخر (السوفييت). بالنسبة لحكومة الولايات المتحدة في عصر الحرب الباردة، كان رفض الانضمام إلى التحالف الدفاعي الغربي في الشرق الأوسط  نافذ المفعول للانضمام إلى الكتلة الشرقية”.

قبلت الجمعية العامة القرار 181 بتصويت 33 دولة عضو (59%) لصالحه (أستراليا وبلجيكا وبوليفيا والبرازيل وبيلاروسيا الاشتراكية السوفييتية وكندا وكوستاريكا وتشيكوسلوفاكيا والدانمرك وجمهورية الدومينيك والإكوادور وغواتيمالا وفرنسا وأيسلندا ولوكسمبورغ وهولندا ونيوزيلندا ونيكاراغوا والنرويج وبنما وباراغواي وبيرو وبولندا والسويد وجنوب أفريقيا وجمهورية أوكرانيا الاشتراكية السوفييتية والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والاتحاد السوفييتي وأوروغواي وفنزويلا وهايتي وليبيريا والفيليبين) و 13 عضواً (23 بالمئة) ضده (أفغانستان، كوبا، مصر، اليونان، الهند، إيران، العراق، لبنان، السعودية، باكستان، تركيا، اليمن) و 10 أعضاء امتنعوا عن التصويت (الأرجنتين، تشيلي، جمهورية الصين، كولومبيا، السلفادور، إثيوبيا، هندوراس، المكسيك، المملكة المتحدة، يوغوسلافيا) ، وتغيبت إحدى الدول الأعضاء عن الدورة، وهي سيام (والتي عرفت لاحقاً بتايلاند).

دعا القرار لجنة الأمم المتحدة بشأن فلسطين لاختيار ومراقبة الحكومات المؤقتة لكلا الدولتين الجديدتين حتى 1 نيسان/أبريل عام 1948. وسينتهي الانتداب البريطاني في 1 آب/أغسطس عام 1948 على أقصى تقدير. وأعلنت لندن بعد ذلك بفترة وجيزة بأن الانتداب سينتهي في 15 أيار/مايو عام 1948.

إقرأ المزيد

وشهدت البلاد بعد ذلك شن الحرب على لبنان وثلاثة حروب أخرى على غزة، ...
حالياً تلبي إسرائيل معايير الدولة الحديثة من نواحٍ كثيرة. وقد ترا...
ستسلط الأشهر المقبلة المزيد من الأضواء على هموم الحكومة الإسرائي...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Fanack

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Israel / Past to Present / The Way to Partition / UNGA Resolution 181

UNGA Resolution 181

Official UN map of the Partition Plan of 1947
Official UN map of the Partition Plan of 1947

On 29 November 1947, the United Nations General Assembly approved a Partition Plan for Palestine, three months earlier recommended by the United Nations Special Committee on Palestine (UNSCOP). The plan provided for a Jewish State on 56.47 percent of the territory (excluding Jerusalem) with circa 650,000 Jewish and 325,000 Arab inhabitants, and an Arab State on 42.53 percent of the territory (excluding Jerusalem) with 807,000 Arab and 10,000 Jewish inhabitants. The Partition Plan also provided for an international trusteeship for Jerusalem as a Corpus Separatum.

The New York Times of 30 November 1947 commented: ‘The decision was primarily a result of the fact that the delegations of the United States and the Soviet Union, which are at loggerheads on every other important issue before the Assembly, stood together on partition.’ Andrei Gromyko, representing the USSR, and Herschel Johnson, the American ambassador at the United Nations, both urged the Assembly ‘not to agree to further delay but to vote for partition at once’. The American historian Bernard Lewis, professor of Near East Studies at Princeton University, gave this explanation for the Soviet support in his book The Middle East, published in 1995: ‘Stalin in those days still regarded Great Britain, not the USA, as his principal world adversary, and saw in the new state of Israel the best chance of undermining the British position in the Middle East. In pursuit of this objective, he allowed Czechoslovakia, then a Soviet satellite state, to provide the weapons that enabled Israel to survive its first war. (…) An important element in Soviet policy from the mid-fifties, and more strongly in the sixties and seventies, was their support for the Arab case against Israel – diplomatically, at the United Nations and other international fora, militarily, by the provision of sophisticated weaponry and technical and logistical support for the Arab armies. This in turn lead the United States to enter into a new and closer strategic relationship with Israel, of which it became the principal source of diplomatic, strategic, and in time also financial, support. These developments made the Arab-Israel conflict a major issue of the Cold War.’

One finds a somewhat different conclusion that the Cold War played an important role the Middle East in A History of the Arab Peoples by Albert Hourani (1991), scholar at Oxford: ‘The United States, which now, in the period of the Cold War and economic expansion, believed that its interests in the Middle East could be protected only through close relations with local governments prepared to link their policy with that of the Western alliance. Many [Arab] politicians and political groups argued, however, that the only guarantee of independence in the post-colonial world would lie in maintaining neutrality between the two armed camps [Soviet Union and United States]. Since the Western camp was linked with memories of imperial rule [Great Britain and France], and with the problems of Palestine and Algeria which still festered, and since it was from this side that the main pressure to make defense agreements came, the desire for neutrality carried with it a tendency to incline more in the direction of the other camp [the Soviets] (…) For the United States government in the era of the Cold War, refusal to join a Western defense alliance in the Middle East was in effect to join the Eastern bloc.’

The General Assembly accepted Resolution 181 with 33 Member States (59 percent) in favour (Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Belorussian SSR, Canada, Costa Rica, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, Iceland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Sweden, South Africa, Ukrainian SSR, United States of America, Soviet Union, Uruguay, Venezuela, Haiti, Liberia and Philippines), 13 Member States (23 percent) against (Afghanistan, Cuba, Egypt, Greece, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and Yemen), and 10 abstentions (Argentina, Chile, Republic of China, Colombia, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Honduras, Mexico, Great Britain and Yugoslavia). One Member State, Siam (Thailand), was absent from the session.

The resolution called for a UN Palestine Commission to select and oversee provisional governments for both new states by 1 April 1948. The British Mandate was to end by 1 August 1948 at the latest. Shortly afterwards, London announced that the mandate would be terminated on 15 May 1948.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Fanack

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.