فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / السكان في إسرائيل / اسرائيل ومواطنيها الفلسطينيين

اسرائيل ومواطنيها الفلسطينيين

israel-population-arab-israeli-members-in-the-knesset-fanack-hh1024px
أعضاء الكنيست الفلسطينين الإسرائليين إلى جانب الأعضاء الإسرائليين خلال مراسم أداء اليمين للحكومة الإسرائلية الـ34. Photo AP

أثير السؤال في أواخر نوفمبر2016 عندما نشره المعلق الصحفي البارز في صحيفة هآرتس، جدعون ليفي، بسخريته المعهودة. ففي مقالٍ حول تشويه صورة المواطنين العرب في اسرائيل، كتب ليفي: “من الممتع أن تكون عربياً في اسرائيل، لأنك لا تستطيع حتى تحديد هويتك كما تريد. فأنت “عربي اسرائيلي،” ولا جدال في هذا. فلسطيني؟ هذا فقط إن كنت تعيش في الأراضي المحتلة. حتى وإن كان أحد أقربائك من الدرجة الأولى، فهو ليس مثلك.”

بهذه العبارات، يعكس ليفي سؤالاً طال طرحه. ماذا نُسمي العرب الذين يعيشون في اسرائيل؟ هل نسميهم “عرب اسرائيل” أم “فلسطينيون؟”
ولا يبدو هذا السؤال بالبراءة التي يبدو عليها عند النظر إليه للوهلة الأولى. فالمصطلح المُختار يعكس بشكلٍ عام موقف المرء من الصراع الفلسطيني الاسرائيلي. وكلا الجانبين يتهم مستخدمي المصطلح الآخر بـ”اتباع أجندةٍ ما.”

تُفضل الحكومة الاسرائيلية، على سبيل المثال، مصطلح “عرب اسرائيل.” وليست الدولة من تُفضل ذلك فحسب، إذ يُعيق هذا، بفعالية، استخدام كلمة “فلسطيني” لوصف أولئك الذين يعيشون داخل حدود اسرائيل.

هناك سببٌ أيديولوجي لهذا التفضيل، إذ يمكن لاستخدام مصطلح “فلسطينيين،” وفقاً للحكومة الاسرائيلية، أن يقوّض سيادتها. ففي نهاية المطاف، هل يمكن أن يكون هؤلاء العرب مواطنين مخلصين لإسرائيل عندما يوحي اسمهم الحقيقي بانتمائهم لدولةٍ أخرى؟ وعلاوة على ذلك: من أين تبدأ هذه الدولة الأخرى، والأهم من ذلك، أين تنتهي؟ هل تنطوي على الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة فحسب- أم أن هناك بعض الشرعية في الإدعاء أنّ دولة اسرائيل تنتمي أيضاً للفلسطينيين؟

فعلى الصعيد الدولي، تعتبر حدود دولة اسرائيل داخل الخط الأخضر، وهو الخط الفاصل المنصوص عليه في اتفاقيات الهدنة عام 1949، كياناً مقبولاً. تماماً كشرعية مفهوم فلسطين، التي تتألف من الضفة الغربية المحتلة من قِبل اسرائيل وغزة، ومن يُطلق على سكانها- على الصعيد الدولي على الأقل- بالفلسطينيين. ففي عام 1948، أقيمت اسرائيل بالترحيل القسري الجماعي للفلسطينيين من بيوتهم وقراهم فيما يُعرف بالنكبة. فهؤلاء الفلسطينيون وذريتهم يمتلكون الحق في العودة، وهو أمرٌ معترفٌ به بموجب قرار الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة رقم 194. وبالرغم من ذلك، لا تسمح لهم اسرائيل بالعودة.

من جهةٍ أخرى، تنفي مجموعة صغيرة نسبياً، معظمهم من اليساريين من اسرائيل أو في الخارج، وجود اسرائيل تماماً وتستخدم في بعض الأحيان اسم “اسرائيل،” ما بين أقواس الاقتباس. باعتقادهم، ينبغي تسميه جميع الأراضي، من نهر الأردن إلى البحر المتوسط، بفلسطين. فالمقصود من مصطلح “عرب اسرائيل” مواجهة هذا النوع من المطالبات، وبالتالي يعكس هذا أهدافاً غاية في الأهمية للسياسة الاسرائيلية.

ويشدد الأشخاص الذين يستخدمون مصطلح “فلسطينيين” للمواطنين العرب الذين يعيشون داخل اسرائيل على أن الفلسطينيين شعبٌ واحد، سواء كانوا يعيشون داخل اسرائيل أو فلسطين، وسواء كانوا ممن نُفيوا في لبنان أو الأردن أو سوريا، أو سواء كانوا يعيشون في مجتمعات الشتات في المكسيك أو تشيلي، جميعهم يشكلون شعباً واحداً: الفلسطينيون. معظم هؤلاء الذين يستخدمون هذا المصطلح لا ينكرون وجود اسرائيل، إلا أن المصطلح باعتقادهم أكثر دقة. وكما كتب ليفي: “لمَ يكون رجلٌ “عربي اسرائيلي” بينما ابن عمه “فلسطيني،” لمجرد أنهم يعيشون على بُعد بضع كيلومترات فقط، على جانبٍ مختلفٍ من الخط الأخضر؟ وللتمييز بين هاتين المجموعتين، يتم استخدام المصطلح البديل “فلسطينيو اسرائيل“- مقابل استخدام مصطلح “فلسطينيو الضفة الغربية،” أيضاً.

ولربما تعتبر أفضل وسيلةٍ لتسوية هذا الخلاف بطرح السؤال على الأشخاص موضع الخلاف أنفسهم: ماذا تفضلون أن تتم تسميتكم؟

وعلى الرغم من المزاعم الاسرائيلية بخلاف ذلك، إلا أن غالبية استطلاعات الرأي تُظهر أنّ المواطنين العرب في اسرائيل يُفضلون مصطلح “فلسطينيين.” فقد أشار على سبيل المثال، الكاتب والباحث البريطاني اليهودي دوف واكسمان، في مقالٍ نُشر عام 2012 في The Middle East Journal أن “تعريف الأقلية العربية كفلسطينيين أصبحت الآن ممارسةً شائعة في المطبوعات الأكاديمية،” لأن “معظم المواطنين الإسرائيليين من أصل عربي باتوا يعتبرون أنفسهم، بشكلٍ متزايد، فلسطينيين، كما أن معظم المنظمات غير الحكومية العربية والأحزاب السياسية في إسرائيل تستخدم تسمية “فلسطينيين” لوصف هوية الأقلية العربية.”

كما أن للمصطلح المُفضل ما بين المجموعة نفسها بُعدٌ تاريخيٌّ أيضاً، وذلك وفقاً لريبيكا تورستريك، وهي أستاذ مشارك في علم الإنسان في جامعة انديانا ساوث بند، في كتابها الصادر عام 2000 بعنوان The Limits of Coexistence. Identity Politics in Israel. . فبعد عام 1948، عندما أنشئت دولة اسرائيل، كانت “بعيدةً عن مركز السُلطة،” تقول تورستريك، “لأن الدولة الاسرائيلية كانت دولةً يهودية، والهوية الوطنية الاسرائيلية دمجت الرموز والمرجعيات اليهودية.” وفي الثقافة الرسمية والشعبية، “تلاشى وصفهم كفلسطينيين وأعيد تكوينهم كعرب اسرائليين أو كمواطنين عرب في اسرائيل.”

فالتعبير عن هوية المرء الفلسطينية، سواء برفع العلم أو ترديد الأغاني الوطنية أو إلقاء الشعر الوطني، كان سلوكاً غير قانوني في اسرائيل إلى أن تم توقيع اتفاقات أوسلو عام 1993. ومع ذلك، لم يتغير الكثير منذ ذلك الوقت، آخذين بعين الاعتبار التصريحات الأخيرة لوزير الدفاع، أفيغدور ليبرمان، من الحزب القومي، اسرائيل بيتنا، الذي قارن الشاعر الوطني الفلسطيني محمود درويش بأدولف هتلر. فقد ولد درويش في قرية البروه، وهي قرية تقع حالياً في شمال إسرائيل، في الأراضي التي لطالما عُرفت بفلسطين.

ووفقاً لريبيكا تورستريك، ازداد التعريف الذاتي للأفراد كفلسطينيين منذ عام 1967 وبات اليوم “الوصف المُفضل.” وتحت تأثير الانتفاضة الأولى (1987-1993) فحسب، كتبت “شعر العديد من الفلسطينيين الاسرائليين بالأمان بما فيه الكفاية للبدء بالإشارة إلى أنفسهم علناً بهذه الطريقة.” كما توصل رجل الأعمال الفلسطيني الامريكي سام بحور إلى نفس النتيجة في مقالٍ له نُشر في سبتمبر 2016 في صحيفة هآرتس، والذي عنونه بجدارة “لا تسمونا “عرب إسرائيل”: الفلسطينيون في إسرائيل يتكلمون صراحةً.”

ويُطلق بشير بشير، وهو منظّر سياسي في الجامعة المفتوحة في اسرائيل، على موضوع هذا المقال الـ”السؤال الاسرائيلي.” فيقول بشير: “تاريخ العرب الذين يعيشون في اسرائيل واضحٌ جداً. فهم الفلسطينيون الذي بقوا في أرضهم بعد النكبة، وبالتالي لا يمكن تسميتهم سوى بالفلسطينيين.” ويُضيف “تمتلك اسرائيل تاريخاً طويلاً في محاولات إملاء المفردات. فمصطلح “عرب اسرائيل” يشكل انكاراً للهوية الفلسطينية. ومن الواضح جداً أن المجتمع العربي في اسرائيل جزءٌ من الشعب الفلسطيني. هذا أمرٌ قومي.” ويقول بشير أيضا أن مصطلح “فلسطينيين” هو بالفعل الأكثر شيوعاً في الجامعات في جميع أنحاء اسرائيل.

بينما يقول الصحفي المولود في الناصرة، مروان عثامنة، أنه يُفضل تسميته بـ”الفلسطيني الاسرائيلي،” كاختصارٍ لـ”مواطن فلسطيني في اسرائيل.” وفي حين يعكس هذا الحل حقيقة أنه يحمل جواز سفرٍ اسرائيلي، إلا أنه أيضاً يعترف بجذوره الفلسطينية، وكما يقول عثمانة “البلد الذي عاشت فيه أسرتي قبل عام 1948 كان يُسمى فلسطين.” ولتعزيز إجابته، يستشهد عثامنة بالأبيات الثمانية الأخيرة من قصيدة محمود درويش بعنوان “على هذه الأرض ما يستحق الحياة.”

عَلَى هَذِهِ الأرْضِ مَا يَسْتَحِقُّ الحَيَاةْ: عَلَى هَذِهِ الأرضِ سَيَّدَةُ
الأُرْضِ، أُمُّ البِدَايَاتِ أُمَّ النِّهَايَاتِ. كَانَتْ تُسَمَّى فِلِسْطِين. صَارَتْ تُسَمَّى
فلسْطِين. سَيِّدَتي: أَستحِقُّ، لأنَّكِ سيِّدَتِي، أَسْتَحِقُّ الحَيَاةْ.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JIM HOLLANDER ©Hollandse Hoogte | JIM HOLLANDER ©Hollandse Hoogte

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Israel / Population of Israel / Israel and its Palestinian Citizens

Israel and its Palestinian Citizens

israel-population-arab-israeli-members-in-the-knesset-fanack-hh1024px
Palestinian israeli members together with the I sraeli members in the Knesset during the swearing-in ceremony for Israel’s 34th government. Photo AP ©Hollandse Hoogte

The question was raised in late November 2016, by the eminent Haaretz columnist Gideon Levy, cynical as ever. In an article about the demonisation of the Arab citizens of Israel, Levy wrote: ‘It’s fun to be an Arab in Israel, because you can’t even define your identity as you would wish. You’re an “Israeli Arab,” and there’s no argument about it. Palestinian? That’s only if you live in the occupied territories. Even if he’s your first cousin, he’s not the same.’

In these sentences, Levy reflects on a long-standing question. How to call the Arab people living in Israel? Should we call them ‘Israeli Arabs’ or ‘Palestinians’?
This question is not as innocent as it seems at first glance. The term of choice generally reflects one’s position in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. And both sides accuse the users of the other term of ‘having an agenda’.

The Israeli government, for example, prefers the term ‘Israeli Arabs’. And not only does the state of Israel prefer it: it actively discourages the use of the word ‘Palestinians’ to describe those who live within the borders of Israel.

There’s an ideological reason for this preference. The use of the term ‘Palestinians’ could, according to Israel’s government, undermine its sovereignty. After all, could these Arabs be loyal Israeli citizens when their very name suggest they belong to another nation? Moreover: where does that other nation begin and, more importantly, where does it end? Does it only contain the West Bank and the Gaza Strip – or is there some legitimacy to the claim that the nation of Israel also belongs to the Palestinians?

Internationally, the country of Israel within the Green Line, a line of demarcation set out in the 1949 Armistice Agreements, is an accepted entity. Just as legitimate is the concept of Palestine, which consists of the Israeli occupied West Bank and Gaza, and whose inhabitants are – at least internationally – called Palestinians. In 1948, Israel was created by a mass expulsion of Palestinians from their homes and villages, known as al-Nakba. These Palestinians and their offspring possess a right of return, which is recognized by the United Nations General Assembly’s Resolution 194. Israel, however, won’t let them come back.

A relatively small group of people, predominantly leftists from Israel or abroad, denies Israel’s existence altogether and sometimes uses the name ‘Israel’, in between quotation marks. In their eyes, all the land – from the Jordan river to the Mediterranean Sea – should be called Palestine. The term ‘Israeli Arabs’ is meant to counter this kind of claims, and therefore reflects important Israeli policy goals.

People who use the term ‘Palestinians’ for Arab citizens who live inside Israel stress that the Palestinians as such are one people. Whether they live in Israel or Palestine, whether they were expulsed to Lebanon, Jordan or Syria, or whether they live in the large diaspora communities of Mexico and Chile, together they form one people: the Palestinians. Most people who use this term don’t deny Israel’s existence, but they think the term is more accurate. As Levy wrote: why would one man be an ‘Israeli Arab’ and his cousin be a ‘Palestinian’, just because they live a couple of kilometers apart, only on different sides of the Green Line? To distinguish these two groups, the alternative term ‘Israeli Palestinians’ – as opposed to ‘West Bank Palestinians’ – is being used as well.

Probably the best way to settle the discussion would be to ask the much debated people themselves: how would you like to be called?

Despite Israeli claims to the contrary, most surveys show that the Arab citizens of Israel prefer the term ‘Palestinian’. The British-Jewish writer and researcher Dov Waxman, for example, noted in a 2012 article for The Middle East Journal that ‘identifying the Arab minority as Palestinian has now become common practice in academic literature’, because ‘most Israeli citizens of Arab origin increasingly identify themselves as Palestinian, and most Arab NGOs and political parties in Israel use the label “Palestinian” to describe the identity of the Arab minority’.

The preferred term among the group itself has a historical dimension as well, observes Rebecca Torstrick, an associate professor of anthropology at Indiana University South Bend, in her 2000 book The Limits of Coexistence. Identity Politics in Israel. After 1948, when the state of Israel was established, they were ‘distanced from the center of power’, Torstrick writes, ‘because the Israeli state was a Jewish state and Israeli national identity incorporated Jewish symbols and referents’. In official and popular culture, they ‘ceased being Palestinians and were re-created as Israeli Arabs or Arab citizens of Israel’.

Expressing one’s Palestinian identity, by displaying the flag, singing nationalist songs or reciting nationalist poetry, was illegal in Israel until the Oslo Accords of 1993. And not so much has changed, considering a recent remark by the Defense Minister, Avigdor Lieberman, from the nationalist party Yisrael Beitenu, who compared the Palestinian national poet Mahmoud Darwish to Adolf Hitler. Darwish was born in the village of Al-Birwa, in the north of present-day Israel, a territory that used to be Palestine.

According to Rebecca Torstrick, self-identification as Palestinians has increased since 1967 and is now ‘their preferred descriptor’. Only under the influence of the First Intifada (1987-1993), she writes, ‘many Israeli Palestinians felt secure enough to begin to refer to themselves publicly this way’. The Palestinian-American businessman Sam Bahour reached the same conclusion in a September 2016 article in Haaretz, aptly titled ‘Don’t Call Us “Israeli Arabs”: Palestinians in Israel Speak Out’.

Bashir Bashir, a political theorist at the Open University of Israel, calls the topic of this article ‘an Israeli question’. The history of the Arabs living in Israel is very clear, says Bashir: these are Palestinians who remained in their homeland after the al-Nakba, and therefore these can only be called Palestinians. ‘Israel has a long history of trying to dictate the vocabulary. The term ‘Israeli Arabs’ constitutes a denial of Palestinian identity. It’s very obvious that the Arab community in Israel is part of the Palestinian people. It’s a national thing,’ he says. At universities across Israel, Bashir argues, the term ‘Palestinians’ is already the most common.

The Nazareth-born journalist Marwan Athamneh says he prefers to be called ‘Palestinian Israeli’, as a short-cut for ‘Palestinian citizen of Israel’. While this solution reflects the fact that he holds an Israeli passport, it also acknowledges his Palestinian roots, Athamneh says: ‘The country where my family lived before 1948 used to be called Palestine.’ To invigorate his answer, Athamneh cites the last eight lines of the famous Darwish poem titled ‘We have on this earth what makes life worth living‘:

we have on this earth what makes life worth living
on this earth, the lady of earth
the mother of all beginnings
the mother of all endings
she was called Palestine
she came to be called Palestine
o lady, because you are my lady
I am worthy of life

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.