فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إسرائيل / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / اسرائيل تستشيط غضباً بعد آخر قرارٍ لليونسكو حول القدس

اسرائيل تستشيط غضباً بعد آخر قرارٍ لليونسكو حول القدس

قرارٍ لليونسكو حول القدسقبة الصخرة وحائط البراق إسرائيل
مشهد عام لقبة الصخرة وحائط البراق في القدس الشرقية. Photo: Carsten Rehder/dpa

 

خمس علامات تعجبٍ في تغريدةٍ واحدة ليس أمراً اعتيادياً في مستوى الغضب الذي أبداه المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية الاسرائيلية. ولكن، بعد أن اعتمدت اليونسكو، الهيئة الثقافية في الأمم المتحدة، في 26 أكتوبر 2016، قراراً مثيراً للجدل بشأن الحفاظ على التراث الديني في القدس، والذي، وفقاً لاسرائيل، ينفي الصلة العميقة بين الشعب اليهودي وأقدس الأماكن في المدينة، غرّد الناطق ايمانويل نحشون أن التصويت كان “محض هراء، ويمكن إلقاؤه مباشرةً في سلة القمامة من قِبل سفيرنا!! عاشت القدس يهودية!!!”

قرارٍ لليونسكو حول القدس حائط البراق إسرائيل
حائط البراق في القدس. Photo Scott Dorney

ولم يكن هو الاسرائيلي اليهودي الوحيد المستاء، فقد استدعى رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتياهو، سفير إسرائيل لدى اليونسكو احتجاجاً على هذا القرار. كما اتهم زعيم معارضة يسار الوسط، اسحق هرتسوغ من الاتحاد الصهيوني، تصويت اليونسكو لصالح قرار يتجاهل الصلة اليهودية بجبل الهيكل باعتباره “فرية دم“- وهو إدعاء خطير جداً من معاداة السامية. حتى أن مدير عام سلطة الآثار الإسرائيلية، يسرائيل حسون، شبّه اليونسكو بتنظيم “داعش.”
يؤكد كل هذا الغضب على أهمية الموقع- الذي يبجله اليهود باعتباره جبل الهيكل والمسلمين باعتباره الحرم الشريف- الذي يؤمن اليهود بأنه في قديم الزمان احتضن معبدين يهوديين، دُمر الثاني منهما من قِبل الرومان سنة 70 ميلادية. وعلى مدى الألفي سنة الماضية، تباكى اليهود على فقدان معابدهم عند الحائط الغربي. ومنذ أوائل العصور الوسطى، هيمن معلمين إسلاميين، وهما قبة الصخرة والمسجد الأقصى، على مشهد جبل الهيكل. يقع الموقع في القدس الشرقية، التي تعدّ قلب الصراع الفلسطيني الاسرائيلي. وتعتبر اسرائيل، التي احتلت القدس الشرقية عام 1967، كامل القدس عاصمةً لها، في حين يعتبر الفلسطينيون القدس الشرقية العاصمة المستقبلية للدولة المستقلة.

لذلك، ما مدى “هراء” وعلاقة معاداة السامية بقرار اليونسكو؟

وفقاً لـعوفر زالزبورغ، وهو اسرائيلي يهودي ومحلل في مجموعة الأزمات الدولية غير الحكومية، فإن القرار يتعلق بـ”ما إذا كان يتم إدارة الموقع وفقاً لمعايير اليونسكو، ولا دخل له بالإرتباط الديني للموقع باليهودية أو أي دينٍ آخر.” ومع ذلك، يواصل تصريحاته قائلاً أن نص القرار يُشير إلى الموقع باسمه العربي فحسب، الحرم الشريف، وهذا هو الأمر الذي آلم اليهود أكثر من أي شيء.

حدد زالزبورغ عدة أسبابٍ قد تكون دفعت الأمم المتحدة لاتخاذ مثل هذا القرار. فأولاً، تمتع الفلسطينيون بدعمٍ فعليّ تلقائي من البلدان المسلمة، والعربية، ودول عدم الانحياز، وبالتالي شكلوا أغلبيةً في الأمم المتحدة. وثانياً، كانت الدول الأوروبية حذرةً في تجنب الاعتراف بصلة اليهود بالموقع طالما لا زال الصراع مستمراً، خوفاً من أنّ مثل هذا الاعتراف سيُسهم في تآكل ما يُسمى باتفاق الوضع الراهن، والذي ينصّ على أنّ المسلمين فقط يحق لهم التعبّد في المكان، بينما يتمتع غير المسلمين بحرية الوصول للموقع.

وبما أن اسرائيل توحدت ضد اليونسكو بطريقةٍ جعلتها تتحفظ مسبقاً ضد عدوها اللدود إيران، أو منظمة حقوق الإنسان، بتسيلم، فمن الصعب أن ترفع صوتها ضد إجماعٍ للآراء. ومع ذلك، يجرؤ زالزبورغ على القول أن الرواية الاسرائيلية للأحداث “تبالغ” في خطورة هذه القضية. ويُضيف “لم تتخذ اليونسكو قراراً صريحاً تنص من خلاله أن الموقع ليس مقدساً لدى اليهود.” ومع ذلك، يعتقد أن الاستخدام الحصري للاسم العربي ينفي بشكلٍ غير مباشر الصلة اليهودية بالموقع. ويقول عن ذلك، “هناك بعض المزايا لإدعاء الحكومة الاسرائيلية بجدلية هذه القضية.”

حتى أن حزب ميرتس، الحزب الصهيوني الأكثر يسارية في الكنيست- البرلمان الاسرائيلي- احتج على قرار اليونسكو. فقد كتبت زعيمة الحزب، زهافا غالئون، على صفحتها على الفيسبوك أن اليونسكو “لا يمكنها محو سنواتٍ من التاريخ اليهودي.” وهذا يُشير، وفقاً لزالزبورغ، أنه في ظل المناخ الحالي في اسرائيل، فمن المستحيل فعلياً أن يُصرح القادة اليساريون بأنّ اليونسكو تنفي الصلة بشكلٍ غير مباشرٍ فحسب، لأنّ ذلك سيُنظر إليه باعتباره انحيازاً لمؤسسة دولية معادية.

قرارٍ لليونسكو حول القدس المسجد الأقصى
صلاة المسلمين أمام المسجد الأقصى في القدس الشرقية. Photo activestills/Flickr

ومن جانبهم، يخشى الفلسطينيون أن اسرائيل تريد تغيير الوضع الراهن الهش في الموقع المتنازع عليه. في واقع الأمر، دعا عددٌ من أعضاء الحكومة الاسرائيلية لهذا بالضبط. حتى أن وزير الزراعة، أوري أرئيل، من حزب البيت اليهودي القومي المتشدد، قد دعا لبناء معبدٍ ثالث، يتم بموجبه هدم قبة الصخرة والمسجد الأقصى. وفي هذا السياق، قال زالزبورغ أن مخاوف الفلسطينيين ليست عاريةً عن الصحة. ويُضيف “ومع ذلك، بصورةٍ أكثر تحديداً، فمن الواضح أن نتنياهو لن يُنهي حظر الصلاة على غير المسلمين في المستقبل القريب. فنتنياهو يعلم تماماً أن هذا سيؤدي إلى تصدّع خطيرٍ في العلاقات مع حلفاء اسرائيل من العرب، وسيشعل فتيل موجة عنفٍ ضخمة في القدس والضفة الغربية. وهو لا يُريد حصول أيٍ من هذا.” وعلى هذا الصعيد، اختتم زالزبورغ قوله بأن الخوف الفلسطيني “مبالغٌ به.”

ولم يجرؤ سوى بعض الاسرائليين فحسب ممن يُنظر إليهم باعتبارهم من اليسار المتطرف أمثال الصحفي في هآرتس، بي مايكل، على معارضة هذه الضجة التي شملت البلاد بأسرها. فقد ذكر بي مايكل، في مقالٍ افتتاحي باسمٍ مستعار- مايكل برايزون– أن “انتحاب اسرائيل على قرار اليونسكو تغطرسٌ ونفاقٌ، سيما عندما يصدر عن دولةٍ تفعل كل ما في وسعها كي تخفي وتقزم كل ما كان هنا قبل مجيئنا، وبعد ذهابنا، وعند عودتنا.”
ويُشير مايكل إلى عدة معالم اسرائيلية بُنيت فوق أنقاض مقابر عربية، مثل حديقة الاستقلال في القدس، وحديقة الاستقلال في تل أبيب، ومتحف التسامح في القدس، ومركز بيرس للسلام في يافا. واختتم مايكل افتتاحيته قائلاً، هكذا تتم الأمور “أماكننا المقدسة، مقدسة إلى الأبد. أماكنهم المقدسة مثل تراب الأرض- عقارات متوفرة للحديقة، سقالات لتبنى عليها قصور السلام والتسامح.”

كما يمكن العثور على المزيد من الانتقادات لإسرائيل في قرار اليونسكو نفسه. فبصرف النظر عن اللغة المستخدمة، وقضية الروابط الدينية للموقع، فإن اليونسكو أيضاً “تستنكر قرار إسرائيل الخاص بالموافقة على خطة لإقامة خطي “تلفريك” في القدس الشرقية (…) وكذلك بناء مركز للزوار يسمى “مركز كديم” بالقرب من الحائط الجنوبي للمسجد الأقصى.”

ويبدو من الواضح تماماً أن الحكومة الاسرائيلية، إلى جانب منظمة “إلعاد” غير الحكومية اليمينية الاسرائيلية، تبذل كل ما في وسعها لـ”تهويد” مُحيط الأماكن المقدسة المحتلة المتنازع عليها. وهذا هو الشيء الوحيد الذي حققه العويل الاسرائيلي حول “الرابط المفقود”: فلا أحد يتطرق إلى هذه القضايا الأساسية.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Carsten Rehder ©Hollandse Hoogte | Carsten Rehder ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Flickr | ©Hollandse Hoogte

Fanack Home / Israel / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Israel Outraged by Latest UNESCO Resolution on Jerusalem

Israel Outraged by Latest UNESCO Resolution on Jerusalem

UNESCO Resolution on Jerusalem Israel Dome of the Rock and the Western Wall
View of the Dome of the Rock and the Western Wall in Eastern Jerusalem. Photo: Carsten Rehder/dpa

Five exclamation marks in one tweet is not a normal level of outrage displayed by a spokesperson of the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Yet after UNESCO, the United Nation’s cultural body, on 26 October 2016 adopted a contentious resolution on the conservation of Jerusalem’s religious heritage, which, according to Israel, denies Judaism’s deep ties to one of the city’s holiest sites, spokesperson Emmanuel Nahshon tweeted that the vote was ‘a piece of rubbish, rightly dumped in the garbage can by our Ambassador!! Long live Jewish Jerusalem!!!’

He was not the only Jewish Israeli who was unhappy. Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu recalled Israel’s UNESCO ambassador in protest at the decision. The centre-left opposition leader Isaac Herzog of the Zionist Union accused UNESCO of promulgating blood libels – a very serious allegation of anti-Semitism. Yisrael Hasson, director of the Israel Antiquities Authority, even compared UNESCO to the Islamic State.

UNESCO Resolution on Jerusalem Israel the Western Wall
The Western Wall in Eastern  Jerusalem. Photo Scott Dorney

All this anger underlines the importance of the site – revered by Jews as Temple Mount and by Muslims as Haram al-Sharif – where Jews believe two Jewish temples once stood, the second of which was destroyed by the Romans in 70 AD. For the last two thousand years, Jews have mourned the loss of their temples at the Western Wall. Since the early Middle Ages, two Muslim shrines – the Dome of the Rock and al-Aqsa Mosque – have dominated Temple Mount. The site is located in East Jerusalem, which is at the heart of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Israel, which captured East Jerusalem in 1967, considers all of Jerusalem as its capital, while the Palestinians regard East Jerusalem as the future capital of an independent state.

So exactly how ‘rubbish’ and anti-Semitic is the UNESCO resolution?
According to Ofer Zalzberg, a Jewish Israeli and an analyst at the NGO International Crisis Group, the resolution is “about whether the site is managed according to UNESCO standards, not about the religious link of the site with Judaism or any other faith.” However, he continues, the text of the resolution refers to the site only by its Arab name , Haram al-Sharif, and that is what hurts the Jews the most.

Zalzberg identified a couple of reasons why the UN may have done this. Firstly, he said, the Palestinians have enjoyed virtually automatic support from Muslim, Arab and non-aligned countries, and thus have in effect a majority in the UN. Secondly, European states have been careful to avoid recognition of the Jewish link to the site as long as the conflict is ongoing, fearing that such recognition will contribute to the erosion of the so-called status quo agreement, according to which only Muslims can worship at the site while non-Muslims are to enjoy free access.

Since Israel has united against UNESCO in a way that was previously reserved for its arch-enemy Iran or the human rights organization B’Tselem, it is hard to speak up against the consensus. Yet Zalzberg dares to say that the Israeli version of events “overstates” the severity of the issue. “UNESCO did not take an explicit decision according to which the site is not holy to Jews,” he said. However, he thinks that the exclusive use of the Arab name indirectly negates the Jewish link to the site. “There is some merit to the Israeli government’s claim that this is problematic.”

Even Meretz, the most left-wing Zionist party in the Knesset, Israel’s parliament, has protested the UNESCO resolution. Its leader, Zehava Gal-On, wrote on her Facebook page that UNESCO ‘cannot erase years of Jewish history’. This suggests, according to Zalzberg, that in the current climate in Israel, it is virtually impossible for left-wing leaders to say publicly that UNESCO negates the link only indirectly, because this would be seen as siding with a hostile international institution.

UNESCO Resolution on Jerusalem Israel Dome of the Rock
Muslims pray in front of the Al-Aqsa Mosque, in Eatern Jerusalem. Photo activestills/Flickr

For their part, the Palestinians fear that Israel wants to change the fragile status quo at the contested site. Indeed, several members of the Israeli government have called for exactly this. Minister of Agriculture Uri Ariel, of the ultra-nationalistic party The Jewish Home, even called for a third temple to be built, for which the Dome of the Rock and al-Aqsa would have to be demolished. In that sense, said Zalzberg, the Palestinians’ suspicion is not unfounded. “However, more concretely, Netanyahu clearly will not end the non-Muslim prayer ban in the foreseeable future. Netanyahu knows this will lead to a major rupture in relations with Israel’s Arab allies and will ignite major violence in Jerusalem and the West Bank. He does not want either.” On this front, Zalzberg concluded, the Palestinian fear is “exaggerated”.

Only some Israelis who are perceived as far-left, such as Haaretz journalist B. Michael, have dared to contradict the nationwide commotion. In an op-ed, B. Michael – the pen name of Michael Brizonstated that ‘Israel’s whining over UNESCO is arrogant and hypocritical, coming from a state that does everything in its power to conceal or minimize everything that existed here before we came, and after we left, until we returned’.

Michael points to several Israeli landmarks that were built on top of Arab cemeteries: the Independence Park in Jerusalem; the Independence Park in Tel Aviv; the Museum of Tolerance in Jerusalem; and the Peres Center for Peace in Jaffa. This is how it works, Michael concluded. “Our holy sites are holy forever. Their holy sites are like the dust of the earth – a lot on which to create a park, scaffolding on which to build temples to ‘peace and tolerance’.”

More criticisms of Israel can be found in the UNESCO resolution itself. Apart from the language used, and the issue of religious links to the site, UNESCO also ‘deplores the Israeli decision to approve a plan to build a two-line cable car system in East Jerusalem (…) as well as the construction of the so-called ‘Kedem Center’, a visitor centre near the southern wall of the mosque’.

It seems abundantly clear that the Israeli government, together with the right-wing Israeli NGO Elad, is doing everything in its power to ‘Judaize’ the – occupied – surroundings of the disputed holy sites. And this is one thing the Israeli lamentations about the ‘missing link’ have achieved: no one is talking about these underlying issues.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.