الصفحة الرئيسية / الأردن / الاقتصاد / احتجاجاتٌ تعم شوارع الأردن حول مشروع قانون الإصلاح الضريبي

احتجاجاتٌ تعم شوارع الأردن حول مشروع قانون الإصلاح الضريبي

Jordan- Protests in Jordan
أحد المحتجين يهتف بوجه قوات مكافحة الشغب الأردنية وقوات الأمن أثناء مظاهرة خارج مكتب رئيس الوزراء في العاصمة عمان في وقتٍ متأخر من ليلة 3 يونيو 2018. Photo AFP

اندلعت أكبر احتجاجاتٍ منذ سنواتٍ في الأردن حول مشروع قانون ضريبة الدخل، مما دفع بالآلاف للخروج إلى الشوارع في العاصمة عمان وأماكن أخرى.

وبموجب مشروع القانون، الذي أقره مجلس الوزراء الأردني في 22 مايو 2018، سيتم فرض ضريبة على المواطنين الأفراد ممن يبلغ دخلهم السنوي 8 آلاف دينار أردني، عوضاً عن فرضها في السابق على من يبلغ دخلهم 12 ألف دينار أردني سنوياً (أي خفضت من حوالي 17 ألف دولار إلى 11 ألف دولار)، ومن 24 ألف دينار إلى 16 ألف دينار على الأسر (أي من حوالي 34 ألف دولار إلى 23 ألف دولار).

كما سيلغي القانون المقترح بعض الإعفاءات الأخرى المتاحة للنفقات، بما في ذلك العلاج الطبي والتعليم والإيجار، بالإضافة إلى زيادة معدل الضريبة لجميع فئات الدخل والشركات.

فقد أدت الزيادات المقترحة، إلى جانب خططٍ برفع أسعار المحروقات والكهرباء بنسبة 5,5% و19% على التوالي، إلى إغضاب قطاعاتٍ كبيرة من السكان.

وكانت الإجراءات المثيرة للجدل جزءاً من حزمة الإصلاحات الاقتصادية المدعومة من صندوق النقد الدولي للحد من العجز. فقد وافق صندوق النقد الدولي على قرضٍ قيمته 723 مليون دولار للأردن في عام 2016، وفي المقابل، طلب البنك اتخاذ تدابير مالية مختلفة، بما في ذلك فرض قانون جديد لضريبة الدخل.

كما نصح صندوق النقد الدولي “السلطات الأردنية بإلغاء الإعفاءات الضريبية والإعانات الضخمة بشكلٍ تدريجي، بما في ذلك الإعانات الخاصة بالوقود والغاز.”

وقال المسؤولون إن الزيادة المقترحة في الضرائب ستزيد الإيرادات بنحو 300 مليون دينار أردني في السنة (423 مليون دولار). ومع ذلك، تزعم نقابات العمال ومجموعات الشباب وغيرهم أن المكاسب التي ستحققها الحكومة ستأتِ على حساب بعض أكثر أعضاء المجتمع احتياجاً، الذين يكافحون بالفعل مع ارتفاع تكاليف المعيشة وارتفاع مستويات البطالة.

فقد دعت النقابات إلى إضرابٍ عام في 30 مايو، حيث شاركت 33 نقابة تمثل قطاعاً عريضاً من الصناعات. أعقب الإضراب أيام من الاحتجاجات الجماهيرية في المدن في جميع أنحاء البلاد، وبحسب وكالة الأنباء الأردنية (بترا) التي تديرها الدولة، قام المتظاهرون بإغلاق الطرق وإحراق الإطارات وحاويات القمامة.

كما أطلقت الشرطة الغاز المسيل للدموع لمنع المتظاهرين من الوصول إلى مبنى رئاسة الوزراء في عمان، واندلعت اشتباكات طفيفة بين المتظاهرين والشرطة في بعض المناطق. وطالب المتظاهرون باستقالة رئيس الوزراء هاني الملقي، إلا أنهم أيضاً “يلقون باللوم على عاتق الملك،” كما تقول لميس أندوني، الصحفية الفلسطينية- الأردنية، التي حضرت الاحتجاحات.

وكما قالت أندوني “تسببوا بنفور العديد من حلفاء الملك [بقانون الضريبة المقترح]، العديد من الحلفاء بما في ذلك الموالون المخلصون.” وأضافت “لقد استفادوا من تراكم الإحباط والشعور بالخيانة لدى العديد من الأردنيين، لا سيما خارج عمّان وفي المناطق الأكثر فقراً في عمّان… بأن الدولة قد تخلت عنهم تماماً.” ومع ذلك، قالت أندوني أنه من غير المرجح في هذه المرحلة أن تلغي الحكومة قانون الضريبة.

ومع ذلك، يبدو أن الملك عبد الله مستعدٌ لإقالة الملقي في محالةٍ لاسترضاء المتظاهرين، بحسب رويترز، وذلك نقلاً عن مصادر سياسية لم تسمها. وقالت أندوني أنها غير متأكدة ما إذا كان هذا كافياً لقمع غضب المحتجين.

كما يبدو أن الملك قدم تنازلاتٍ للمتظاهرين في الأول من يونيو بعد أن أمر الحكومة بتجميد الزيادات المقترحة في أسعار الكهرباء والوقود. وبحسب وكالة الأنباء الأردنية (بترا)، دعا الملك أيضاً “الحكومة ومجلس الأمة إلى أن يقودا حواراً وطنياً شاملاً وعقلانياً للوصول إلى صيغة توافقية حول مشروع قانون الضريبة، بحيث لا يرهق الناس ويحارب التهرب ويحسّن كفاءة التحصيل،” مضيفاً ” أنه ليس من العدل أن يتحمل المواطن وحده تداعيات الإصلاحات المالية.”

وبشكلٍ منفصل، التقى الملقي بممثلي مجلس النقباء وتم التوافق خلال الاجتماع على تشكيل لجنة “من الوزراء المعنيين والنقابات المعنية… لدراسة نظام الخدمة المدنية والتعديلات التي طرات عليه، وإزالة اي اثر سلبي على من طالهم النظام بشيء من الغبن.”

ومن المقرر أن تنهي اللجنة عملها لتًقدم تقريرها قبل عطلة عيد الفطر في 15 يونيو. وقال رئيس مجلس النواب عاطف الطراونة للصحفيين ان غالبية النواب يريدون أيضاً من الحكومة سحب مشروع قانون الضريبة. وواصلت النقابات وغيرهم من المعارضين لمشروع القانون الدعوة إلى الاحتجاجات وإضرابٍ عام آخر.

وتعدّ هذه الإحتجاجات آخر الدلائل على أن المشاكل الاقتصادية في الأردن بدأت تُلقي بظلالها. وعلى الرغم من أن المملكة حافظة في غالبية المناطق على استقرارٍ سياسي، إلا أنها شهدت تراجعاً في القطاع السياحي في السنوات الأخيرة نتيجة الحرب في سوريا المجاورة، فضلاَ عن القضايا الداخلية، بما في ذلك التجنيد من قِبل الجماعات المتطرفة. ففي ديسمبر 2016، تحصنّ مسلحون في قلعة الكرك التاريخية، حيث قُتل عشرة أشخاص، من بينهم سائحة كندية، في تبادلٍ لإطلاق النار بينهم وبين قوات الأمن.

كما يستضيف الأردن أيضاً أكثر من 740 ألف لاجىء، معظمهم سوريون، مما يجعله البلد صاحب ثاني أعلى نسبة من اللاجئين مقارنة بسكانه في العالم، مما يضيف مزيداً من الضغوط على الاقتصاد والبنية التحتية. وعلى الرغم من أن الجهات المانحة الدولية قد ساهمت بكميات كبيرة من المساعدات، إلا أنها لم تكن كافية. واعتباراً من مايو 2018، أفادت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، أنها لم تتلق سوى 216 مليون دولار من المليار دولار المطلوبة لتقديم المساعدات للاجئين السوريين والمجتمعات المضيفة سريعة التأثر في الأردن لعام 2018.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد ارتفعت نسب البطالة لتصل إلى 18,5% مع نهاية عام 2017. كما نمت نسبة إجمالي الدين العام إلى الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بشكلٍ كبير خلال العقد الماضي، ليصل الآن إلى أكثر من 95%.

قانون الضرائب المقترح هو الاختبار الأخير الذي تواجهه الحكومة التي تجد نفسها في كثير من الأحيان عالقةً بين مصالح الداعمين الخارجيين ومطالب سكانها. وإلى جانب الغضب الذي يحيط بالتدابير الاقتصادية، كانت علاقة المملكة بإسرائيل هدفاً لغضبٍ شعبي كبير، وبخاصة أن غالبية سكان الأردن من أصلٍ فلسطيني.

فقد اشتعل الغضب في يوليو 2017 بعد أن أقدم حارس أمنٍ في السفارة الإسرائيلية على إطلاق النار على رجلين أردنيين مما تسبب في مقتلهما. وونتيجةً لذلك، تم إغلاق السفارة لعدة أشهر وأعيد أفتتاحها في يناير 2018.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Jordan / Economy / In Jordan, Protestors Take to Streets Over Tax Reform Bill

In Jordan, Protestors Take to Streets Over Tax Reform Bill

Jordan- Protests in Jordan
A protester gestures toward Jordanian riot police and security forces during a demonstration outside the prime minister’s office in the capital Amman late on June 3, 2018. Photo AFP

The largest protests in years have erupted in Jordan over a draft income tax law, bringing thousands to the streets in the capital Amman and elsewhere.

The bill, approved by the Jordanian cabinet on 22 May 2018, would lower the income level at which citizens are exempt from taxes from 12,000 to 8,000 Jordanian dinars (JD) (from about $17,000 to $11,000) a year for individuals, and from 24,000 to 16,000 JD (from about $34,000 to $23,000) for families.

The proposed law would also eliminate some other exemptions available for expenses, including medical treatment, education and rent, as well as increasing the tax rate for all income brackets and corporations.

The proposed increases, along with plans to raise fuel and electricity prices by up to 5.5 per cent and 19 per cent respectively, angered large segments of the population.

The controversial measures were part of a package of economic reforms backed by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to reduce deficits. The IMF approved  a $723 million loan to Jordan in 2016, and in exchange has pushed for various financial measures, including a new income tax law.

The IMF has also advised ‘the Jordanian authorities to gradually remove large tax exemptions and subsidies, including those on fuels and gas’.

The proposed tax hikes would increase revenues by about 300 million JD a year ($423 million), officials project. Yet trade unions, youth groups and others claim that the gains to the government would come at the cost of some of the neediest members of society, who are already struggling with the rising cost of living ang high unemployment levels.

Unions called a general strike on 30 May 2018, with 33 associations representing a broad cross section of industries participating. The strike was followed by days of mass protests in cities across the country. According to the state-run Petra News Agency, protesters blocked roads, and burned tires and garbage cans.

Police fired tear gas to prevent protesters getting near to the cabinet office in Amman, and scuffles broke out between protesters and police in some areas.

Protesters called for the resignation of Prime Minister Hani Mulki, but they are also “placing the blame at the king’s door”, said Lamis Andoni, a Palestinian-Jordanian journalist who attended the protests.

“They’ve alienated many allies of the king [with the proposed tax law], many allies including staunch loyalists,” Andoni said. “And they tapped into accumulating frustrations and feelings of betrayal and feelings among many, many Jordanians, outside Amman especially, and inside Amman in poorer areas…that the state has totally abandoned them.” However, Andoni said that at this point it seems unlikely the government will scrap the tax plan.

King Abdullah, however, does appear poised to remove Mulki in an attempt to appease protesters, Reuters reported, citing unnamed political sources. Andoni said she was unsure if that would be enough to quell the protesters’ anger.

The king also appeared to make a concession to protesters on 1 June by ordering the government to freeze the proposed electricity and fuel price increases.

According to Petra News, he also called on the “government and the National Assembly to lead a comprehensive and rational national dialogue to reach consensus on the draft tax law so as not to burden people, fight evasion and improve the efficiency of collection”, adding that it is “not fair that citizens alone bear the consequences of financial reforms”.

Separately, Mulki met with trade union representatives and agreed to form a committee “of concerned ministers and trade unions…to study the civil service system and the amendments thereto, and to remove any negative impact”. The committee is due to complete its work and submit its report before the Eid al-Fitr holiday around 15 June.

Speaker of the House of Representatives Atef Tarawneh told reporters that a majority of the deputies also want the government to withdraw the tax bill. Unions and other opponents of the bill continued to call for protests and another general strike.

The protests are the latest sign that Jordan’s economic woes are taking their toll. Although the kingdom has, for the most part, remained politically stable, it has seen its tourist industry slump in recent years as a result of the war in neighbouring Syria as well as internal issues, including recruitment by extremist groups. In December 2016, militants overran a Crusader castle in the city of Karak, and ten people – including a Canadian tourist – were killed in the resulting gun battle with security forces.

Jordan is also hosting more than 740,000 refugees – most of them Syrian – making it the country with the second highest share of refugees compared to its population in the world, and adding further strain to the economy and infrastructure. Although international donors have put in substantial amounts of aid, it has not been enough. As of May 2018, UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, reported that it had received only $216 million of the $1 billion needed to provide aid to Syrian refugees and vulnerable host communities in Jordan for 2018.

Unemployment has been on the rise, reaching 18.5 per cent at the end of 2017. The ratio of government debt to gross domestic product has also grown exponentially over the past decade and now stands at more than 95 per cent.

The proposed tax law is the latest test for a government that is frequently caught between the interests of its external backers and the demands of its population. Besides the anger around the economic measures, the kingdom’s relationship with Israel has been the target of much popular outrage, particularly given that a majority of Jordan’s population is of Palestinian descent.

The anger boiled over in July 2017 after a security guard from the Israeli embassy shot and killed two Jordanians. The embassy was closed for several months as a result, reopening in January 2018.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.