فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / الاقتصاد / عبء اللاجئين

عبء اللاجئين

مخيم الزعتري / Photo HH
مخيم الزعتري / Photo HH

حسب رئاسة الوزراء الأردنية, يعيش أكثر من 1.3 مليون لاجئ سوري في الأردن فيما سجلت وكالة الأمم المتحدة للاجئين , في يونيو ٢٠١٤ , ان ما يزيد على  590,000 لاجئا يعيشون الان في الاردن. هذا ويعيش 104,869 كلاجئين في المخيمات و 494,050  يعيشون في المناطق الحضرية (UNHCR مايو 2014). ويعد  مخيم الزعتري في محافظة المفرق القريبة من الحدود السورية الاكبر حيث يقطنه حوالي 85,000 لاجئ في يونيو 2014.   وبالتالي  باتت مهمة البلد ,الفقير اصلا في موارده, أصعب في تامين أحتياجات مواطنية وسكانه الجدد حتى بتوفير أبسط الاحتياجات الحياتية لهم.

وقدرت دراسة رسمية للأمم المتحدة تكلفة استضافة اللاجئين السوريين في الأردن عام 2013  وعام 2014 بـ5.3 مليار دولار، مشيرة الى أن الحكومة والأمم المتحدة قدرت تكلفة استضافة اللاجئين للعام الحالي فقط بـ2.1 مليار، وقد استلم الأردن منها 777 مليون دولار، أي ما يُعادل 39 % من التكلفة الكلية للعام 2013.

الطاقة

الطاقة من أكثر المعضلات التي يواجهها الأردن منذ العام 2009  وقد تفاقمت المشكلة بشكل كبير في مؤخرا مع موجات اللاجيئن السوريين الذين انتشروا في كافة المدن والقرى الأردنية حتى زادت أعدادهم عن السكان الأصليين في بعضها،  ناهيك عن مخيمات اللاجئين التي أنشأت على أطراف عدد من المدن حتى اصبحوا يشكاون ما نستبه نحو 10% من سكان المملكة.

وبلغت كلفة الطاقة المستوردة العام الماضي نحو 4.08 مليار دينار بما يعادل 17% من الناتج المحلي الاجمالي وفقا لوزارة الطاقة والثروة المعدنية الأردنية في وقت تقدر فيه الوزارة ارتفاع الطلب على الطاقة الاولية بنسبة 5.5% حتى العام 2020 اي ما يقارب على 12.5 مليون طن  وبزيادة نسبتها 50% عن العام لماضي.

أما الطلب على الكهرباء فيتوقع ان يرتفع بنسبة 6.4% حتى العام 2020  وبزيادة نسبتها 75% عن العام الماضي.

فالأردن يستورد أكثر من 97% من احتياجته من الطاقة من الأسواق العالمية وبالسعر العالمي ،عدا عن خصم محدود يحصل عليه من العراق لقاء 10% فقط من احتياجاته اليومية من النفط الخام المستورد عبر الصهاريج التي توصله إلى المصفاة الوحيدة في الأردن في محافظة الزرقاء لتقوم بخلطه بأنواع نفط أخرى قبل ادخاله إلى مرحلة التكرير.

الحاجة إلى الوقود زادت بعد انقطاع الغاز المصري عقب ثورة يناير ما دفع محطات التوليد إلى العودة لاستخدام الوقود الثقيل والديزل في توليد الكهرباء التي ارتفعت الحاجة اليها نتيجة الزيادة السكانية الكبيرة التي فرضها اللجوء السوري إلى الأردن والتي رفعت الاعباء الكهربائية في الأردن إلى مستويات قياسية وصلت مستوى 2800 ميغاواط فيما كان الحمل الطبيعي لايتجاوز 2500 ميغاواط قبل الطفرة السكانية الكبيرة في البلاد.

وقد أدت هذه الطفرة إلى تغيرات ديموغرافية كبيرة في الأردن جراء تزايد أعداد اللاجئين السوريين الموجودين على أراضي الأردن  والذي أدى للضغط على البنى التحتية واستنزاف الموارد المحلية في ظل الظروف المالية الصعبة التي تعاني منها المملكة.

حلاقة في مخيم الزعتري / Photo HH
حلاقة في مخيم الزعتري / Photo HH

البطالة

تأثير زيادة السكان, خصوصا من فئة الشباب, فضلاً عن زيادة عدد اللاجئين, انعكس ايضا على سوق العمل، إذ ارتفعت نسبة البطالة بين الأردنيين نتيجة توجه أصحاب العمل لتشغيل السورين لقاء أجور زهيدة، وحرفية أعلى أحيانا مقارنة بالأردنيين.

وانتشرت ظاهرة تشغيل السوريين في المطاعم والمحلات التجارية والحرف اليدوية ما أدى إلى حرمان عدد كبير من المواطنين من العمل في هذه القطاعات، خصوصا في مناطق تركز السوريين الذين وصفتهم الامم المتحدة في دراسة أصدرتها نهاية العام الماضي بأنهم أ”كثر جرأة وفطنة” وأنهم سيندمجون في مسار الاقتصاد الأردني بسبب ظروفهم المعيشية الصعبة.

ويقدر معدل النشاط الاقتصادي للعمالة السورية بنحو 48.5% من إجمالي العمالة في المحافظات الأردنية التي تستضيف معظم اللاجئين السوريين، مقابل 36.5% للعمالة الأردنية، بحسب تقرير صادر عن “منظمة العمل الدولية”  الذي صدر مؤخرا.

آخر تقديرات لدائرة الإحصاءات العامة الأردنية الرسمية لمعدلات البطالة أظهرت ان نسبتها  بلغت 11.8% في الربع الأول من العام الحالي وبنمو سجل  0.8 نقطة مئوية مقارنة بالربع الأخير من 2013.

التعليم

التعليم كذلك من بين القطاعات التي تاثرت وبشكل مباشر من تدفق اللاجئين السورين إلى المدن والقرى الأردنية. فقد بلغ عدد الطلبة السوريين حتى نهاية عام 2013 قرابة 111.589 ألف طالب وطالبة، مقابل 44.022 ألفاً في العام  2012 و 373.7 ألفاً في العام 2011.  وبحسب احصاءات  وزارة التربية والتعليم الأردنية 1.7  مليون طالب وطالبة في الأردن موزعين على 6355 مدرسة.

وتتحمل الحكومة مبلغ 450 مليون دينار سنويا للانفاق على تعليم الطلبة السوريين بحدها الأدنى، وفق ما صرح به الوزير محمد ذنيبات لوسائل الاعلام المحلية، مبينا في الوقت ذاته أن ما يحصل عليه الأردن من مساعدات دولية للسوريين، لا يتجاوز 30 % مما تتكبده الحكومة في هذا المجال.

زيادة أعداد طلاب المدارس رفعت حاجة الأردن إلى 100 مدرسة جديدة لاستيعاب الطلبة السوريين بقدرة استعابية تصل الى 1000 طالب للمدرسة الواحدة فيما يوجد في الأردن حاليا نحو 78 مدرسة مخصصة للطلبة السوريين. جدير بالذكر  غياب اي حصر رسمي لإعداد الطلبة الذين لايستطيعون الذهاب للمدارس.

لاجئون سوريون يعيشون في غرفة تخزين, الزرقاء / Photo HH
لاجئون سوريون يعيشون في غرفة تخزين, الزرقاء / Photo HH

الصحة

أما القطاع الصحي في الأردن فقد ناله هو الآخر نصيبه من الضغط الكبير على خدماته إذ ان الخدمات الصحية تقدم لجميع اللاجئين السوريين الذين يدخلون اراضي المملكة  مجانا من خلال  المستشفيات والمراكز الصحية المنتشرة في جميع مناطق المملكة.

كما تنشر وزارة الصحة كوادرها في المخيمات ومناطق تركز اللاجئين لمراقبه الوضع الصحي والقيام بكافة الاجراءات اللازمة للوقاية من كافة الامراض السارية التي تظهر بين اللاجئين السوريين.

آخر تصريحات لمديرية الأمراض السارية لدى وزارة الصحة كشفت عن ظهور 24 مرضا وشملت اكتشاف اصابة 1784 بمرض اسهال مدمن و642 حالة بمرض التهاب الكبد الوبائي “أ” و529 حالة جرب و491 حالة جدري ماء و86 حالة حصبة و102 حالة سل و80 حالة مرض اللشمانيا الجلدية و77 حالة عقر و26 حالة سحايا غير وبائي و23 حالة تيفوئيد وبارا تيفوئيد و19 حالة التهاب الكبد الوبائي “ب” .

كما تم اكتشاف 13 حالة نكاف و13 حالة تسمم غذائي و8 حالات تدرن غير رئوي و7 حالات انفلونزا   H1N1  وحالتي تيفوس وحالتي شلل رخو حاد وحالتي حمى مالطية وحالة سعال ديكي وحالة مرض الحصبة الالمانية وحالة قرع وحالة سيلان بحسب مسؤولي وزارة الصحة في الأردن.

ولم تقف الأمور عند هذ الحد فقد ادت أعداد السوريين المتزايدة في كل يوم إلى ارتفاع كبير في أسعار السكن والمواد الغذائية وصل إلى 27 %، خصوصا في محافظة المفرق التي تضم مخيم الزعتري للأجئين السوريين التي وصل فيها اعداد اللاجئين الى 33 % من مجموع سكان المحافظة ، أما في عمان واربد، فقد وصلت نسبة اللاجئين الى  25 و 23 % على التوالي من مجموع سكان المحافظتين.

وتأتي هذه المعضلة في وقت لاتتجاوز فيه المساعدات الغذائية  المقدمة من المنظمات الدولية تغطي ما نسبته 40-50% من الاحتياجات الغذائية للاجئين السوريين.

منظمة الاغذية والزراعة (ألفاو) أكدت في خطة أصدرتها حديثا أن نحو 57 ألف شخص من المعدمين والمهمشين والمزارعين من أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة يعيشون في سبع محافظات في الأردن، كما أدى انخفاض حصة مياه الري، بعد توقف إمدادات مياه الري من سوريا، وزيادة تكاليف المدخلات الزراعية إلى خفض إجمالي المساحة المزروعة بالخضراوات من 49 ألف هكتار في العام 2010 إلى 36 ألفاً في العام 2012

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Jordan / Economy / The Burden of Refugees

The Burden of Refugees

Zaatari Refugee Camp / Photo HH
Zaatari Refugee Camp / Photo HH

The Jordanian prime minister’s office estimates that more than 1.3 million Syrian refugees now live in Jordan. However, UNHCR presents a different figure: more than 590,000 have registered with the refugee organisation, as of June 2014. Of this number, 104,869 live in camps and 494,050 live outside camps in urban areas (UNHCR, May 2014). The largest camp is the Zaatari Refugee Camp (around 85,000 refugees as of June 2014), in Mafraq Governorate, near the Syrian border. Meeting the basic living needs of Jordan’s citizens and the new population has become increasingly difficult for a country already poor in resources.

An official UN study estimates the cost of hosting Syrian refugees in Jordan in 2013 and 2014 at 5.3 billion USD, noting that the government and the UN had estimated that the cost of hosting refugees in 2014 would amount to only 2.1 billion USD, of which Jordan has only received 777 million USD, that is, about 39 percent of the total cost in 2013.

Energy

The greatest difficulty Jordan has faced since 2009 is with the supply of energy, and the situation has worsened in the last two years, with the constant influx of Syrian refugees who have spread throughout Jordan, to the point that their numbers exceeded the numbers of native citizens in some places, not to mention the refugee camps that have been established on the outskirts of some cities. Syrian refugees now constitute nearly ten percent of the population of Jordan.

According to the Jordanian Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources, the cost of imported energy amounted to approximately 4.08 billion JOD (about 17 percent of GDP), at a time when the ministry estimates that the demand for oil and gas is going to increase by 5.5 percent by 2020, that is, about 12.5 million metric tons in oil equivalent, an increase of 50 percent over last year.

Demand for electricity is expected to increase by 6.4 percent by 2020, to 28 gigawatts, an increase of 75 percent from last year.

Jordan imports more than 97 percent of its energy from international markets at international prices, with the exception of a limited discount it receives from Iraq for a mere ten percent of its daily needs of crude oil imported using containers that deliver the oil to the only refinery in Jordan, in Zarqa Governorate, where it is mixed with other types of oil before being refined.

The need for fuel increased after Egyptian gas was cut off, following the revolution of 25 January 2011; this prompted power plants to return to the use of heavy fuel and diesel to generate electricity, which was becoming increasingly necessary as a result of the high population growth caused by the Syrians seeking asylum in Jordan. This raised the electric loads in Jordan to record levels that reached 2800 megawatts, compared with the normal load, which did not exceed 2500 MW before the country’s population boom.

This population boom due to the increasing numbers of Syrian refugees has led to large demographic changes in Jordan, which have put great pressure on the infrastructure and exhausted local resources, in the difficult financial circumstances faced by the kingdom.

Barber shop in Za'atari refugee camp / Photo HH
Barber shop in Za’atari refugee camp / Photo HH

Unemployment

The effect of the population growth, especially among the young, caused by the increased refugee flow has also affected the labor market. The rate of unemployment increased among Jordanians, as employers preferred to hire Syrians who worked for low wages and in some cases, produced better craftsmanship than the Jordanians.

This effect has spread to restaurants, shops, and crafts, depriving many citizens of employment in these sectors, especially in areas where Syrians are concentrated. The UN has described the refugees in a report issued at the end of 2013 as “more daring and shrewd. They will integrate themselves in the Jordanian economy due to their difficult living conditions.”

The International Labour Organization (ILO) has recently estimated that Syrians constitute 48.5 percent of the total work force in the Jordanian governorates that are hosting most of the Syrian refugees, while Jordanians make up only 36.5 percent.

Recent estimates of unemployment by the Jordanian Department of Statistics reveal an increase of 11.8 percent in the first quarter of the current year (a growth rate of 0.8 percent) over the fourth quarter of 2013.

Education

Education has also been affected directly by the flow of Syrian refugees into Jordanian cities and villages. According to the Jordanian Ministry of Education, the number of Syrian students reached 111,589 by the end of 2013, compared with 44,022 in 2012 and 7,337 in 2011, whereas Jordanian students numbered 1.7 million, in 6,355 schools.

According to Minister Mohammad Thneibat, the government spends a minimum of 450 million JOD annually on the education of Syrian students, and the international aid received by Jordan for the Syrians does not exceed 30 percent of the amount spent by the government.

The increase in the number of students has led to the need in Jordan for 100 new schools, with 1000 students per school; however, there are currently only about 78 schools dedicated to Syrian students. So far, there is no official figure for the number of Syrian students who are unable to attend school.

Syrian refugees living in a former shop storeroom, Zarqa / Photo HH
Syrian refugees living in a former shop storeroom, Zarqa / Photo HH

Health

Jordanian health services have also been under a great deal of pressure, as those services are provided, in hospitals and health centers across the kingdom, to all Syrian refugees who enter its territories.

The Ministry of Health has deployed its personnel in camps and other areas where Syrians are concentrated, so that it may deal on a first hand basis with the diseases appearing among the refugees, by taking all the necessary measures for the prevention of communicable diseases.

Recent statements by the Jordanian Directorate of Infectious Disease Control of the Ministry of Health have revealed the emergence of 24 diseases in 2013, including 1748 cases of chronic diarrhea, 642 of hepatitis A , 529 of scabies, 491 of chicken pox, 86 of measles, 102 of tuberculosis, 80 of cutaneous leishmaniasis, 77 of female sterility, 26 of nonepidemic meningitis, 23 of typhoid and paratyphoid, and 19 of hepatitis B.

Furthermore, according to Ministry of Health officials in Jordan, there have been 13 cases of mumps, 13 of food poisoning, 8 of nonpulmonary tuberculosis, 7 of H1N1 flu, two of typhus, two of acute flaccid paralysis, two of brucellosis (Maltese fever), one of whooping cough, one of rubella (German measles), one of alopecia (hair loss) and one case of gonorrhoea.

The increasing number of Syrians has also lead to a 27 percent rise in the cost of housing and food, especially in Mafraq Governorate, where the Zaatari Syrian Refugee Camp is located and refugees make up 33 percent of the population. In the governorates of Amman and Irbid, refugees make up 25 and 23 percent, respectively, of the total population.

This problem arises at a time when the food aid provided by international organizations covers only 40-50 percent of the food needs of the Syrian refugees.

The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) has recently reported that about 57,000 destitute and marginalized people and poor farmers live in seven Jordanian governorates. Furthermore, the reduced supply of irrigation water—since the supply from Syria was cut off—and the increased costs of agricultural inputs have led to a decrease in the total cultivated area from 49,000 hectares in 2010 to 36,000 in 2012.

image_pdfimage_print