فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / الاقتصاد في الأردن / هل تحمل الحكومة الأردنية الجديدة في جعبتها الإصلاح الاقتصادي المنشود؟

هل تحمل الحكومة الأردنية الجديدة في جعبتها الإصلاح الاقتصادي المنشود؟

King Abdullah II
العاهل الأردني الملك عبد الله الثاني، مرتدياً قناعاً للوجه، يلوح قبل لقائه بالرئيس الفرنسي في قصر الإليزيه في باريس في 8 سبتمبر 2020. Photo: Ludovic Marin / AFP

صوفيا أكرم

أدى رئيس الوزراء الأردني الجديد بشر الخصاونة اليمين الدستورية أمام الملك عبد الله الثاني، إلى جانب وزراء آخرين في الحكومة، في 12 أكتوبر 2020. يأتي تعيين الوريث الهاشمي للدكتور الخصاونة محاولةً لتهدئة الإستياء الشعبي في ظل الظروف الاقتصادية الصعبة والقوانين الصارمة التي فُرضت وسط تفاقم الأزمة الصحية وتغير المشهد الجيوسياسي. وبالنظر إلى المستقبل المضطرب الذي يلوح في الأفق، قد يُطلب من الحكومة ردود فعلٍ اقتصادية حيوية ومناوراتٍ مزدوجة بالغة الدقة أياً كان من يشغل المنصب.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الخصاونة، وهو دبلوماسي مخضرم تلقى تعليمه في بريطانيا ويبلغ من العمر 51 عاماً والذي أصبح رئيس الوزراء الـ13 الذي تصدر الإرادة الملكية بتعينه خلال حكم الملك عبد الله الثاني المستمر منذ 21 عاماً، يحل محل رئيس الوزراء الأردني المنتهية ولايته عمر الرزاز الذي استقال وسط استياءٍ شعبي أثناء توليه رئاسة الوزراء.

ففي سبتمبر الماضي، حل العاهل الأردني البرلمان بعد قبول استقالة الرزاز وذلك قبل الانتخابات البرلمانية المقرر إجراؤها في نوفمبر القادم.

وفي خضم العلل التي يعانيها الاقتصاد الأردني، طلب الملك عبد الله الثاني تطبيق قانون الدفاع الوطني، في ظل جائحة كورونا التي تجتاح العالم، والذي يعهد إلى رئيس الوزراء باتخاذ جميع التدابير اللازمة لضمان السلامة العامة وحماية المملكة، في مارس الماضي، وتفعيل حالة الطوارىء في البلاد للمساعدة في كبح جماح إنتشار الفايروس.

وعليه، تم تنفيذ حظرٍ شامل صارم شهد منع الحركة بين المحافظات، والحجر الإلزامي، فضلاً عن إغلاق الشركات والمطاعم والمدارس والجامعات ومنع أداء الصلوات بجميع أشكالها في أرجاء البلاد.

ووفقاً للمجلس الأطلسي، منحت الاستجابة السريعة والإندفاعية لحكومة الرزاز والنجاح النسبي في احتواء الفايروس في مراحله الأولى ثقة الجمهور بحكومته آنذاك.

ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من تأكيدات الرزاز بتطبيق قانون الدفاع “في أضيق الحدود” الممكنة، تم في 25 يوليو اعتقال 13 عضواً من أعضاء مجلس نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين، وإغلاق جميع فروعها من قبل الشرطة لمدة عامين، فضلاً عن اعتقال العشرات من المعلمين. وبعد بضعة أيام، صدر قرارٌ بمنع النشر في جميع المنافذ الإعلامية ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي فيما يخص قضية النقابة.

وبالرغم من ذلك، ذكر مسؤولون مزاعم غامضة تتعلق بتجاوزاتٍ مالية وثلاث قضايا عالقة في المحاكم دفعتهم إلى إغلاق النقابة ومقراتها، بيد أنها جميعاً أثبتت عدم وجود أساسٍ قانوني.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أيضاً أن رئيس الوزراء الأسبق عمر الرزاز نفسه عُيّن في عام 2018 لتهدئة الاحتجاجات التي اندلعت رداً على إجراءات التقشف الحكومية التي فرضها صندوق النقد الدولي لإصلاح إدارة التزامات الدين العام للبلاد.

covid 19 jordan
عامل يرش معقماً في مدينة البتراء الأثرية جنوب العاصمة عمّان في 17 مارس 2020 لمنع إنتشار فايروس كورونا المستجد (كوفيد-19). Photo: Khalil MAZRAAWI / AFP

وإلى جانب الإشراف على الانتخابات القادمة، يتمثل دور الخصاونة بتفعيل الإصلاحات التي شجعها صندوق النقد الدولي بعد أن قدم 1,3 مليار دولار أمريكي في إطار تسهيل الصندوق الممدد للمملكة الهاشمية لزيادة “النمو الشامل” الذي يضمن خلق فرص عمل للنساء و الشباب، والحد من الفقر والذي شمل أيضاً دعم إجراءات أزمة كورونا.

يتضمن ذلك أيضاً إجراء تغييرات هيكلية، مثل خفض تكاليف الكهرباء المرتفعة للشركات وتخفيضات مؤقتة في الضمان الاجتماعي. كما تمت برمجة إصلاحاتٍ أخرى لتعزيز بيئة الأعمال، والقدرة التنافسية وجاذبية الاستثمار الأجنبي وتعزيز الإطار التنظيمي للقطاعات المالية والمصرفية.

ويشمل أيضاً خفض العجز العام والحد من القوى الدافعة الرئيسية التي أثارت احتجاجات أولية والاستياء من الاقتصاد.

فالاقتصاد الأردني يواجه أسوأ انكماشٍ له منذ عقود، ومن المتوقع أن ينكمش بنسبة 6% هذا العام، حيث كانت نسبة الدين إلى الناتج المحلي الإجمالي تقترب من 100% قبل جائحة كورونا. علاوةً على ذلك، انخفض نصيب الفرد بنسبة 2,4% بين عامي 2009 و2017، وارتفعت بطالة الشباب بنسبة 6% على مدى السنوات الخمس حتى عام 2019.

من جهةٍ أخرى، ازدهرت السياحة في البلاد على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية محققةً 5,8 مليار دولار من الإيرادات في عام 2019 من إجمالي الناتج المحلي المسجل البالغ 43 مليار دولار في نفس العام، بيد أن جائحة كورونا أعاقت الإنتعاش الوشيك لهذا القطاع.

وبسبب افتقارها إلى الموارد الطبيعية، تعتمد البلاد على المساعدات الخارجية، التي تتدفق بشكلٍ كبير من دول الخليج وتحويلات المغتربين الأردنيين التي تشكل 10% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للأردن. لكن مع انخفاض أسعار النفط، انخفض تدفق هذا الدخل أيضاً.

ومع ذلك، قد يكون احتمال فرض حظرٍ شاملٍ آخر بمثابة الضربة المدمرة في ظل إنتشارٍ غير مسبوق لفايروس كورونا في الأشهر الأخيرة. فقد شهد شهر أكتوبر أعلى ارتفاعٍ يومي بأعداد الإصابات المؤكدة في البلاد، ليصل إجمالي الحالات الإيجابية بالفايروس إلى حوالي 60 ألف إصابة و668 وفاة، حيث قد يؤدي استمرار إرتفاع الإصابات إلى إضعاف الخدمات الصحية.

فقد قال أستاذ العلوم السياسية جمال شلبي، إن كتاب التكليف السامي للعاهل الأردني حمل توجيهاتٍ اقتصادية واضحة ومحددة في “وقت حرج وحساس للمملكة بالنظر إلى تطلعاتها للإصلاح الاقتصادي في خضم الجائحة.”

وبحسب ألكسندر ويرمان، محلل المخاطر السياسية والأمنية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، “أقال الملك رؤساء الوزراء استجابةً للاحتجاجات الشعبية ست مرات من عام 2011 إلى يومنا هذا، ولكن يُنظر إلى هذا الإجراء بشكل متزايد باعتباره تضحيةً غير ناجعة.”

ومن المرجح أيضاً أن يواجه مستقبل البلاد المزيد من التحديات، كون الأردن محاطاً بالاضطرابات السياسية والحرب وانعدام الأمن في لبنان وسوريا والعراق، مما سيضيف إلى فاتورة المساعدات للأردن لاستقبال المزيد من اللاجئين في بلدٍ يستضيف بالفعل مئات الآلاف من اللاجئين من جنسياتٍ مختلفة.

علاوةً على ذلك، تجنب الأردن الانتقاد الصريح للولايات المتحدة، حتى في الوقت الذي تواصل فيه دعمها المستمر لإسرائيل بتقوض عملية السلام التي تقوم عليها المنطقة، كي لا تعكر صفو حزمة المساعدات الأمريكية التي تبلغ قيمتها مليار دولار، والتي تعدّ مصيرية في الوضع الراهن غير المستقر للبلاد.

تعتمد المناورة في المستقبل على اتخاذ خيارات سياسية اقتصادية ذكية، إذ يتطلب هذا، من الناحية النظرية، وفقاً للأكاديمي وكاتب العمود في صحيفة جوردان تايمز عامر السبايلة، استراتيجية ثلاثية المحاور تتضمن اندفاعاً سريعاً إلى جانب تحالفات بين الأعمال التجارية المحلية والحكومة على المدى القصير والمتوسط. يجب أن تركز اللعبة طويلة الأجل على “الزراعة والصناعات المحلية والتعليم وخلق أفضل الظروف للجغرافيا الأردنية لربط المنطقة بمشاريع ضخمة بدءاً من النقل وصولاً إلى الطاقة،” على حد تعبيره.

بيد أن أي خطوةٍ إلى الأمام ستشمل بالتأكيد قطع شبكات الأمان الاجتماعي، والتي تبدو متعارضة مع الأهداف المذكورة للنمو الشامل.

يُبرهن كل ما سبق ذكره تفاقم التحديات لبلدٍ يحاول تلبية الإصلاحات المطلوبة، وتحسين الاقتصاد لمواطنيه الضعفاء مع تحقيق التوازن بين أهدافه الجيوسياسية وسط جائحةٍ عالمية.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ludovic Marin ©AFP | Ludovic Marin ©AFP | Khalil MAZRAAWI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Jordan / Economy of Jordan / Will Jordan’s new government bring economic reform?

Will Jordan’s new government bring economic reform?

King Abdullah II
Jordanian King Abdullah II, wearing a face mask, waves prior to his meeting with the French president at the Elysee Palace in Paris on September 8, 2020. Photo: Ludovic Marin / AFP

By: Sophia Akram

Jordan’s new Prime Minister Bisher Al Khasawneh was sworn into office before King Abdullah II, along with other government ministers, on 12 October 2020. The Hashemite heir’s appointment is an attempt to quell public disquiet over increasing economic hardship and draconian rule amid a worsening health crisis and shifting geopolitical landscape. Seeing it through its potentially turbulent future could require a dynamic economic response and sensitive bilateral maneuvering regardless of who is in post.

Khasawneh, a 51-year-old British-educated veteran diplomat who will be the13th prime minister appointed under King Abdullah II’s 21-year reign, is replacing the outgoing-Jordanian Premier Omar Al Razzaz, who resigned amid public dissatisfaction during his leadership.

In September 2020, King Abdullah II dissolved Parliament after accepting Razzaz’s resignation, ahead of parliamentary elections due to take place in November.

Amid Jordan’s economic ills, king Abdullah II called to enact the National Defense Law, due to the global coronavirus pandemic, which entrust the Prime Minister with the capacity to take all necessary measures to ensure public safety and to defend the Kingdom, on March, activating the state of emergency to help stem the spread of the coronavirus pandemic.

Strict lockdown measures, such as prohibited movement between governorates, mandatory curfews, businesses, restaurants, schools and universities closures were implemented, and public worship were banned across the country.

According to the Atlantic Council, the swift and aggressive response of Razzaz’s government and relative success at containing the virus in the early stages lent it public trust for the time being.

However, despite assurances from Al-Razzaz to implement the law in “the narrowest extent” possible, on 25 July, 13 of Jordan Teachers’ Syndicate board members were arrested, all its branches were shut down by the police for two years, and dozens of teachers were detained. In few days, a gag order was issued on all reporting and social media content relating to the situation.

Officials made some vague claims of financial abuse and three pending cases in relation to the closure but it appeared to have no legal basis.

Razzaz was himself appointed in 2018 to calm protests that emerged in response to the government’s austerity measures prompted by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), which sought reforms for a better management to the country’s public borrowing commitments.

covid 19 jordan
A labourer sprays disinfectant in Jordan’s archaeological city of Petra south of the capital Amman on March 17, 2020, to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Photo: Khalil MAZRAAWI / AFP

As well as overseeing incoming elections, Khasawneh’s role will be to enact the reforms encouraged by the IMF after it extended US$1.3 billion under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) for the Hashemite kingdom to increase “inclusive growth” that involved creating jobs for women and young people, reducing poverty and that included support for COVID-19 crisis.

These involve making structural changes, such as reducing high electricity costs for businesses and temporary social security reductions. Other reforms have been programmed to boost its business environment, competitiveness and attractiveness to foreign investment and strengthen the regulatory framework around the financial and banking sectors.

It also includes a reduction of its public deficit and the main driving forces prompting initial protests and discontent over the economy.

Jordan’s economy is facing its worst decline in decades, expected to contract 6 percent this year, as the debt-GDP ratio was almost 100 percent before the pandemic. Per capita has declined by 2.4 percent between 2009 and 2017 and youth unemployment risen by 6 percent over the five years until 2019.

On the other hand, its tourism industry has thrived over the last few decades and generated $5.8 billion in revenue in 2019 out of its $43 billion recorded GDP the same year, but COVID-19 has placed a hamper on its imminent revival.

Due to its lack of natural resources, the country has been dependent on foreign aid, which flows in heavily from the Gulf and Jordanian migrants’ remittances that make up 10 percent of Jordan’s GDP. As oil prices have declined, however, so has this stream of income.

The prospect of another full lockdown could be another devastating blow as Jordan has experienced a particularly bad resurgence of the virus in recent months. October 2020 has seen the highest daily spikes of confirmed cases of the virus in the country, with total number of positive COVID-19 cases in the country is almost at 60,000 with 668 deaths recorded, and the continued surge could potentially debilitate the health services.

The monarch’s Letter of Designation to the new prime minister came with clear and specific economic directives at a “crucial and sensitive time for the Kingdom given its economic reform aspirations in the midst of a pandemic”, said political science professor Jamal Shalabi.

“The king dismissed prime ministers in response to popular protests six times from 2011 to present day, but this action is increasingly viewed as ineffective scapegoating”, says Alexander Werman, a political and security risk analyst on the Middle East and North Africa region.

The country’s future is also likely to encounter more challenges, being surrounded by political upheaval, war and insecurity in Lebanon, Syria and Iraq, which will add to Jordan’s aid bill taking in more refugees as the country already hosts hundreds of thousands of refugees from different nationalities.

Jordan has also avoided outright criticism of the US, even while it pursues its unrelenting support for Israel as it undermines the peace process underpinning the region, so as not to rock the boat on its billion-dollar aid package, which in the country’s current precarious state could be crucial.

Maneuvering the course ahead is dependent on making smart economic policy choices. This, in theory, according to academic and Jordanian Times columnist Amer Al Sabaileh, requires a three-pronged strategy that involves quick stimulus along with alliances between local businesses and the government in the short and medium-term. The long game should be focused on “agriculture, local industries, education and creating the best conditions for the Jordanian geography to connect the region in mega projects from transportation to energy”, he says.

However, any move forward will most certainly involve cutting social safety nets, which appears at odds with the mentioned objectives of inclusive growth.

All the above proves an increasing challenge for a country trying to meet mandated reforms, improve the economy for its vulnerable citizens while balancing its geopolitical objectives amid a global pandemic.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ludovic Marin ©AFP | Ludovic Marin ©AFP | Khalil MAZRAAWI ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!