فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / وُجوه / أميرٌ يزخر بالإمكانيات: شعبية ولي العهد الأردني في تزايدٍ واضح

أميرٌ يزخر بالإمكانيات: شعبية ولي العهد الأردني في تزايدٍ واضح

تم اختيار الأمير الحسين بن عبد الله ولياً للعهد في الأردن عندما كان يبلغ الخامسة عشرة فحسب. واليوم، وبعمر الـ24، أمضى ابن الملك عبد الله الثاني والملكة رانيا، السنوات التي تلت ذلك في إكمال تعليمه ووضع بصمته الرصينة في العالم، على نحوٍ متزايد.

فقد جذب انتباه محبي الأسر الملكية في يونيو 2018، عندما دعا الأمير البريطاني وليام لمشاهدة إحدى مباريات كأس العالم أثناء جولته في الشرق الأوسط. يمتلك الأمير الشاب، الذي يوصف بـ”أشهر العزاب في العالم” من قِبل الصحف البريطانية، أكثر من مجرد مظهره ليستعد لدوره كملكٍ مستقبلي.

سُميّ الأمير الذي ولد في العاصمة الأردنية عمان في 28 يونيو 1994، على اسم جده، الملك حسين بن طلال، الذي حكم منذ عام 1952 وحتى وفاته في عام 1999. أطلق الشعب الأردني على الملك حسين لقب “الملك الإنسان،” وذلك لجهوده في تحسين حياة الأردنيين. ويعتبر الأمير حسين أحد أعضاء الأسرة الهاشمية، التي حكمت الأردن منذ عام 1921 والتي يعود نسبها، كما يُقال، إلى ابنة النبي محمد، فاطمة. وهو الأخ الأكبر للأميرة إيمان (21 عاماً) والأميرة سلمى (17 عاماً) والأمير هاشم (13 عاماً).

في مايو 2016، تخرج الأمير حسين من جامعة جورج تاون المرموقة في واشنطن العاصمة، في تخصص التاريخ الدولي. وبعد ذلك تخرج من الأكاديمية العسكرية الملكية ساندهيرست في المملكة المتحدة.

لم يأتِ تعينه ولياً للعهد من قبيل الصدفة. فلم يكن متوقعاً لوالده عبد الله أن يخلف العرش بالرغم من كونه الإبن الأكبر للملك حسين، ذلك أن الملك كان قد قلّد شقيقه الأصغر، الأمير الحسن، لقب ولي العهد في عام 1965. إلا أنه وقبل وفاته بوقتٍ قصير، غيّر الملك ترتيب الخلافة، وسمى ابنه عبد الله ولياً للعهد.

من جهته، عيّن الملك عبد الله الثاني، بدايةً، أخوه غير الشقيق، الأمير حمزة، ولياً للعهد، إلا أنه جرده من لقبه في عام 2004 لعدم خبرته وصغر سنه. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الدستور الأردني ينص على أنّ الإبن الأكبر للملك يكون ولياً للعهد، بشكلٍ تلقائي، ما لم يصدر مرسومٌ بخلاف ذلك. أصبح الأمير حسين ولياً للعهد، بشكلٍ رسمي، في 2 يوليو 2009، عندما صدر مرسومٌ ملكي بتسميته ولياً للعهد.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، رافق الأمير والده في مهام رسمية وعسكرية واتخذ على عاتقه العديد من الواجبات الرسمية، بما في ذلك منصب الوصي على العرش خلال غياب الملك عن البلاد.

كما أنه مسؤولٌ عن مؤسسة ولي العهد، التي تشرف على جامعةٍ تقنية وعددٍ من المبادرات العلمية والإنسانية. فعلى سبيل المثال، أنشئت مبادرة “حقق،” وهي برنامج قيادة وطني يتكون من أربع خطوات لطلاب الصف التاسع والعاشر، لتشجيع العمل التطوعي بين الشباب.

بينما تهدف مبادرة “مسار” إلى إلهام ودعم شغف الشباب بالابتكار في مجال تكنولوجيا الفضاء، الأمر الذي أدى، حتى الآن، إلى تصميم القمر الصناعي الأردني الأول (JA1-SAT). وفي الوقت نفسه، تهدف مبادرة “سمع بلا حدود” إلى دعم إعادة تأهيل الأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف السمع وفقدان السمع في الأردن.

عند إفتتاح مؤسسة ولي العهد في ديسمبر 2015، كتب الأمير حسين رسالةً قال فيها، “إن الشباب الأردني هم ثروتنا… فالشباب هم روّاد المستقبل وفرسانه،” مشدداً على أهمية الشباب ومساعدتهم لتحقيق المزيد.

من الناحية العسكرية، تدرب مع القوات الخاصة الأردنية ضمن كتيبة مكافحة الإرهاب الخاصة 71 عام 2013، ويحمل رتبة ملازم في القوات المسلحة الأردنية. ومن الناحية السياسية، اتخذ موقفاً واضحاً خلال زيارة جرحى غزة الذين كانوا يتلقون العلاج في مدينة الحسين الطبية في عمّان.

ولكن لربما تعتبر أكثر إنجازاته جدارةً حتى الآن، وفي سن العشرين، كونه أصغر شخصٍ يرأس مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة خلال جلسةٍ في ديسمبر 2015. واستجابةً لدعوة الأمير بإشراك الشباب في بناء السلام ومكافحة التطرف العنيف، تبنى المجلس إعلان عمّان حول الشباب والسلام والأمن المقترح من الأردن.

تم تبني الإعلان في الأردن قبل أربعة أشهر مع مدخلاتٍ من أكثر من عشرة آلاف من بناة السلام الشباب في المنتدى العالمي الأول للشباب والسلام والأمن، مما يبرز الحاجة إلى الاستفادة من الدعم المؤسسي للمبادرات والبرامج التي يقودها الشباب.

وبعد تنبي القرار، كتب الأمير على صفحته على انستقرام: “أبارك لشابات وشباب العالم الذين ساهموا بصياغة إعلان عمان حول الشباب والذي نتج عنه اليوم وبجهد أردني أول قرار في تاريخ مجلس الأمن حول الشباب والسلام والأمن. يهدف هذا القرار التاريخي إلى تأسيس مرحلة جديدة يتم فيها إدماج الشباب كشريك أساسي في صنع السلام المستدام ومكافحة التطرّف ورفع نسبة تمثيلهم في عملية صنع القرار.”

أتبع ذلك في مايو 2017 بإلقاء الخطاب الترحيبي خلال جلسة المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي، الذي عقد في الجانب الأردني من البحر الميت، وفي سبتمبر 2017، مثّل الأردن في الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة.

وفي المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي، وأمام أكثر من 1100 من السياسيين وقادة الأعمال من أكثر من 50 دولة، دعا مجدداً إلى تمكين الشباب، إذ قال “ما يريده الشباب العربي هو ذاته ما يريده أقرانهم في كل مكان: يريدون فرصاً عادلة؛ يريدون فرصة ليكون صوتهم مسموعاً؛ وفرصة لإحداث التغيير. وما يميز شبابنا العربي أنهم تواقون ومتعطشون لهذه الفرص لدرجة لم أشهد لها مثيلاً. قد يعود ذلك إلى التحديات الصعبة التي نواجهها، والتي تدفعنا للتشبث أكثر بالأمل.”

رسالةٌ من المرجح أن يتردد صداها في جميع أرجاء المنطقة، حيث تتراوح أعمار أكثر من 28% من السكان بين 15 و29 عاماً، وتتجاوز تقديرات نسب البطالة بين الشباب الـ20%.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Jewel SAMAD

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Jordan / Faces / Prince with Potential: Jordan’s Heir Apparent Raising His Profile

Prince with Potential: Jordan’s Heir Apparent Raising His Profile

Prince Hussein bin Abdullah was named as first in line to the Jordanian throne aged just 15. Now 24, the son of King Abdullah II and Queen Rania has spent the intervening years completing his education and putting his increasingly firm stamp on the world.

He attracted the attention of royal fans in June 2018, when he invited Britain’s Prince William to watch a World Cup match during his Middle East tour. Dubbed ‘the world’s hottest bachelor’ by the British tabloids, the prince has more than his looks to help him prepare for his role as king.

Born in the Jordanian capital Amman on 28 June 1994, the prince is named after his grandfather, King Hussein bin Talal, who reigned from 1952 until his death in 1999. King Hussein was known to his people as ‘al-Malik al-Insan’ or ‘the Humane King’, for his efforts to improve the lives of Jordanians. Prince Hussein is a member of the Hashemite family, which has ruled Jordan since 1921 and claims descent from Prophet Muhammad through his daughter Fatima. He is the older brother of Princess Iman (21), Princess Salma (17) and Prince Hashem (13).

In May 2016, Prince Hussein graduated from the prestigious Georgetown University in Washington, DC, where he majored in international history. A year later he graduated from the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst in the United Kingdom.

His designation as crown prince was not a given. His father Abdullah was not expected to succeed to the throne despite being the eldest son, as the king transferred the title to his younger brother Prince Hassan in 1965. Shortly before his death, however, the king changed the order of succession, naming Abdullah as his heir.

Abdullah, in turn, first appointed his younger half-brother Prince Hamzah as his heir, but stripped him of this title in 2004 because he was seen as too young and inexperienced. Jordan’s constitution states that the monarch’s eldest son is automatically first in the line of succession to the Jordanian throne unless decreed otherwise.

Prince Hussein officially became heir apparent on 2 July 2009, when a royal decree naming him as crown prince was issued.

Since then, the prince has accompanied his father on official and military missions and taken on several official duties, including serving as regent during the king’s absence from the country.

Jordan- Prince Hussein bin Abdullah
Photo AFP

He is in charge of the Crown Prince Foundation (CPF), which oversees a technical university and a number of scientific and humanitarian initiatives. For example, Haqiq is a four-step national leadership program for ninth and tenth graders, established to encourage youth volunteerism. The Masar initiative aims to inspire and support young people’s passion for innovation in space technology, which so far has resulted in the design of JY1-SAT, Jordan’s first satellite. Hearing Without Borders, meanwhile, aims to support the rehabilitation of Jordan’s hearing impaired and those suffering from hearing loss.

Upon the CPF’s launch in December 2015, Prince Hussein wrote a message saying, ‘Jordan’s youth are our source of health. […] Our youth are the leaders and champions of the future,’ underlining his focus on young people and helping them to achieve more.

Militarily, he trained with the Jordanian special forces elite 71st Counter Terrorism Battalion in 2013, and holds the rank of lieutenan in the Jordanian armed forces. Politically, he took a stand by visiting wounded people from Gaza being treated at the King Hussein Medical Center in Amman.

But perhaps his most notable achievement to date is becoming, at the age of 20, the youngest person to chair a United Nations Security Council during a session in December 2015. In response to the prince’s call to engage young people in peace building and countering violent extremism, the council adopted the Jordan-proposed Amman Youth Declaration.

The declaration was adopted in Jordan four months earlier with inputs from over 10,000 young peace builders at the first-ever Global Forum on Youth, Peace, and Security, outlining the need to leverage institutional support for youth-driven initiatives and programs.

After adoption of the resolution, the prince wrote on his Instagram account, ‘I would like to congratulate the world’s youth that contributed to drafting the “Amman Youth Declaration” which resulted today in the adoption of an historic and unprecedented resolution by the Security Council on Youth, Peace and Security. The…resolution marks a new era for engaging youth as partners in peace building and in countering violent extremism, as well as empowering them to be actively involved in the decision-making process.’

He followed this up in May 2017 by giving the welcoming speech during a session of the World Economic Forum, which was held on the Jordanian side of the Dead Sea, and in September 2017, when he represented Jordan at the UN General Assembly.

At the World Economic Forum, in front of over 1,100 politicians and business leaders from more than 50 countries, he again called for the empowerment of young people. “What Arab youth want is what youth everywhere want: A fair chance, a chance to be heard, a chance to make a difference. What is unique to Arab youth, though, is a yearning and thirst that I have not seen anywhere else. Perhaps that’s because our dire circumstances make us cling more tightly to hope.”

It is a message that will likely resonate across the region, where more than 28 per cent of the population is aged between 15 and 29, and youth unemployment is estimated to stand at over 20 percent.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.