فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / الحكم والسياسة / هل ستحل التعيينات الجديدة المشاكل الأمنية في الأردن؟

هل ستحل التعيينات الجديدة المشاكل الأمنية في الأردن؟

الأمنية في الأردن قلعة الكرك
دورية لقوات الأمن الأردنية امام قلعة الكرك حيث قتل عشرة أشخاص في 18 ديسمبر 2016 في وسط مدينة الكرك، الأردن. 19 ديسمبر 2016. Photo Ben Curtis

في 18 ديسمبر 2016، أطلق مسلحون النار في مدينة الكرك الجنوبية، التي تبعد عن العاصمة عمّان 120 كيلومتراً. ووفقاً لما أعلنه مسؤولون أردنيون، قُتل في العملية ما لا يقل عن 10 أشخاص، بما في ذلك أفراد من مرتبات الأمن العام وسائحة كندية وجميع المسلحين، وعددهم 4، إضافة إلى إصابة 34 آخرين.

فقد كانت أحداث الكرك آخر حادثةٍ في سلسلةٍ من الحوادث التي هزّت الأردن خلال العام الماضي. وعلى الرغم من أنه لم يتضح على الفور الجهة وراء عملية إطلاق النار، كشفت هذه العمليات أن المملكة لا تواجه الأخطار الإرهابية الخارجية فقط، وإنما هناك تواجد فعلي للخلايا النائمة في المملكة التي تستطيع الضرب في اي مكانٍ وزمان.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الاردن عضوٌ بارزٌ في التحالف الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة ضد تنظيم الدولة الاسلامية “داعش” في العراق وسوريا المجاورتين. كما كُلف الجيش الأردني بحماية المملكة من الهجمات عبر الحدود ومحاولات التسلل.

ولكن على الرغم من إتساع نطاق الحملة على المتعاطفين مع “داعش” في الداخل، إلا أنّ المملكة تكافح من أجل التصدي لهم. ففي 21 يونيو 2016، قُتل ستة جنود أردنيين وأصيب 14 آخرون في انفجار سيارةٍ مفخخة في مخيم الركبان، بالقرب من الحدود مع سوريا.

كما أسفر إطلاقٌ آخر للنار قبل ذلك بعشرة أيام، في أكبر مخيمات اللاجئين في البلاد، عن مقتل خمسة أشخاص. وأصرت السلطات أنّ الهجوم نفذه ذئبٌ منفرد، إلا أنّ هناك أدلة، أن داعش، لعدم قدرتهم على شنّ هجماتٍ مخططٍ لها مركزياً، تعتمد على الأفراد وتدريبهم لتنفيذ هجماتٍ بالنيابة عنها.

وبالنظر إلى الصعوبة الإضافية المتمثلة في تحديد الذئاب المنفردة، التي لا تعتمد على هيكلية معقدة وتمويل، فإن مواجهة الإرهاب يتطلب من الدولة اليقظة الدائمة، وتكثيف الجهود المبذولة وتطوير النهج المتبع لمكافحة التطرف العنيف والإرهاب.

وعليه، طرأت تغييراتٌ في المراكز القيادية للأجهزة الامنية والعسكرية وهو ما ظهر لاحقاً عند تعيين محمود فريحات قائداً للجيش الأردني خلفاً لمشعل الزبن في أكتوبر 2016. وما كان لافتاً وقد يكون سابقة، خروج قائد الجيش، فريحات، في مقابلة على قناة BBC في 30 ديسمبر، حيث تحدث بإسهاب عن استراتيجيات المملكة في محاربة الارهاب والتحديات المستقبلية، وبخاصة داعش. ومع ذلك، تنبأ بأن عام 2017 سيشهد زوال الجماعة المتطرفة، التي قال أنها فقدت 25% من مقاتليها ومساحات شاسعة من أراضيها.

ولاحقاً في يناير 2017، وبقرار من مجلس الوزراء وبمباركة القصر، تم تعيين اللواء أحمد سرحان الفقيه مديراً للأمن العام خلفاً لعاطف السعودي. والملفت للانتباه أن الرسالتين الصادرتين من الملك عبدالله الثاني إليهما اشتركتا بالتشديد على ضمان أعلى مستويات التنسيق والتعاون بين جميع الأجهزة الأمنية  وتحسين الوضع الاقتصادي لمنتسبي الاجهزة المعنية. مما قد يعني أن من أسباب الفشل في استباق منع الاحداث، عدم وجود تنسيقٍ عالٍ بين الأجهزة الأمنية مما أثر على محاربة الارهاب، وكما أن تحسين المستوى المعيشي قد يدل على الإحساس بالأهمية القصوى لدور القوات المسلحة والأجهزة الأمنية في الاستراتيجية المستقبلية.

كما إمتد التعديل الوزاري إلى الحكومة، ليشمل خمس وزراء جدد. فقد جاء التغيير الأبرز بتعيين الضابط السابق في الأمن العام، غالب الزعبي، وزيراً للداخلية، خلفاً لسلامة حماد على خلفية اتهاماتٍ له من مجلس النواب بتقصيره فيما يتعلق بأحداث الكرك.

ورغم كل التعديلات في المراكز الامنية التي حدثت والمتوقع حدوثها، إلا أن العمليات الإرهابية أظهرت جلياً أن التحديات التي تواجهها المملكة ليست أمنيةً صرفة، بل مركبة تجمع العامل الاقتصادي والاجتماعي في الثنايا، وقد يكون لها تبعاتٌ سياسية، على المملكة العمل على تفاديها.

فالمملكة تتعرض لأزمة اقتصادية خانقة، مع عدم رغبة الحكومات المتعاقبة تنفيذ إصلاحاتٍ غاية في الأهمية إلا أنها لا تحظى بشعبية. فالحكومة تُشّغل 42% من القوى العاملة في البلاد، وهو رقمٌ لا يترك مجالاً كافياً للنمو الاقتصادي والابتكار. ووفقاً لإحصاءات البنك الدولي الأخيرة، تبلغ نسبة البطالة بين الشباب 28,8% في بلدٍ يبلغ متوسط العمر فيه 22 عاماً. وعلاوة على ذلك، وصل الدين العام أكثر من 90% من الناتج الإجمالي القومي.

إضافةً إلى ذلك، يستضيف الأردن حوالي 630 ألف لاجئ سوري مسجل منذ عام 2011، وذلك وفقاً للأمم المتحدة، إلا أن السلطات الأردنية تقول أنّ العدد يقارب مليون لاجىء متواجدين على أراضي المملكة، حيث أن تكلفة اللجوء السوري تستهلك ربع الميزانية العامة للدولة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ben Curtis ©Hollandse Hoogte | Ben Curtis ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Jordan / Governance & Politics / Will New Appointments Solve Jordan’s Security Woes?

Will New Appointments Solve Jordan’s Security Woes?

security forces jordan Karak
Jordanian security forces patrol in front of Karak Castle, where 10 people were killed on 18 December 2016, in the central town of Karak, Jordan, 19 December 2016. Photo Ben Curtis

On 18 December 2016, armed men opened fire in al-Karak, a city 120km south of the Jordanian capital Amman. Up to ten people were killed, including security officers, a Canadian tourist and four of the attackers, and 34 others were wounded, according to Jordanian officials.

This was the latest in a series of incidents that have shaken Jordan over the past year. Although it was not immediately clear who was behind the shootings, they exposed Jordan’s vulnerability to internal terrorist threats as well as the possibility of sleeper cells that can become active without warning.

Jordan is a leading member of the United States-led coalition fighting the Islamic State (ISIS) in neighbouring Iraq and Syria. The Jordanian army has been tasked with protecting the kingdom from cross-border attacks and infiltration attempts.

Yet despite widening a crackdown on ISIS sympathizers at home, it has struggled to cope. On 21 June 2016, six Jordanian soldiers were killed and 14 were wounded after a car bomb exploded in al-Rukban, near the country’s border with Syria.

Another shooting ten days earlier, in Jordan’s largest refugee camp, killed five people. Authorities insisted that it was a lone-wolf attack, but there is evidence that, increasingly unable to mount centrally planned attacks, ISIS is relying on and coaching individuals to carry out attacks on its behalf.

Given the added difficulty of identifying lone wolves, who do not rely on an extensive network or financing structure, confronting terrorism will require Jordan to remain vigilant at all times, intensify its existing efforts and develop new approaches to counter violent extremism.

Following the attack, a number of senior security and military officials were replaced. Mahmoud Freihat took over from Mishal al-Zabin as chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff in October 2016. In a rare and unexpected interview with BBC Arabic on 30 December, Freihat spoke in some detail about the kingdom’s counterterrorism strategy and the threats facing the country, particularly ISIS. However, he predicted that 2017 would see the end of the extremist group, which he said had lost around 25 per cent of its fighters and large areas of territory.

In January 2017, Major General Ahmad Sarhan al-Faqih was appointed as director of the Public Security Department, replacing Atef Saudi. King Abdullah II, who approved the appointments by Royal Decree, sent letters to the two new officials. The letters suggest that one of the reasons why the recent attacks were not preempted was the lack of high-level coordination between the security services. He also highlighted the need to improve the living standards of security and military personnel, indicating that both groups will play important roles in any future strategies.

The reshuffle also extended to the government, with five new ministers brought in. The most notable change was the appointment of former police chief Ghaleb Zubi as interior minister. He replaces Salamah Hammad, who was dismissed after the parliament accused him of failing to perform his duty with regards to al-Karak.

Despite these replacements, the threats facing Jordan are not only security-related; rather, they have been fuelled by a combination of economic and social factors that may have political repercussions if left unaddressed.

Jordan is facing crippling economic problems, with successive leaders unwilling to carry out crucial but unpopular reforms. The government employs some 42 per cent of the country’s workforce, a figure that leaves little room for economic growth and innovation. According to recent World Bank statistics, youth unemployment stands at 28.8 per cent in a country where the median age is 22 years old. In addition, public debt has climbed to 90 per cent of gross domestic product.

Moreover, Jordan has absorbed around 630,000 Syrian refugees since 2011, according to the United Nations. Jordanian authorities put that number closer to 1 million, and say the costs associated with hosting these refugees is consuming a quarter of the country’s general budget.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ben Curtis ©Hollandse Hoogte | Ben Curtis ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update