تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

في الأردن، خطة لقاح كورونا تشمل المواطنين واللاجئين

لقاح الأردن
لاجئة سورية مقيمة في الأردن ترتدي كمامة أثناء تلقيها جرعة لقاح ضد فيروس كورونا المستجد (كوفيد- 19) في أحد المراكز الطبية الحكومية في محافظة المفرق شمال الأردن في 18 يناير 2021. Photo: Khalil MAZRAAWI / AFP

فلورينس ماسينا

يستضيف الأردن حالياً 750 ألف لاجئ مُسجل، منهم حوالي 658 ألف من السوريين، على الرغم من أن العدد الحقيقي للسوريين الموجودين داخل الأراضي الأردنية يقارب الـ1,3 مليون، بالإضافة إلى أكثر من مليوني لاجئ فلسطيني مسجل، وجميع هؤلاء مشمولين بالخطة الوطنية للقاح كوفيد- 19 التي بدأت في 14 يناير2021.

ومن خلال شمول جميع سكان الأردن، وليس فقط مواطنيه، برز الأردن في منتصف شهر يناير 2021 كواحدٍ من أوائل الدول في العالم التي بدأت بإعطاء لقاح فيروس كورونا المستجد (كوفيد-19) للاجئين وفقاً للمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، إذ قال المفوض السامي للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين فيليبو غراندي، إن “الأردن أظهر مرة أخرى قيادةً نموذجية وتضامناً في استضافة اللاجئين. فقد أدرجت البلاد اللاجئين في كل جانب من جوانب استجابة الصحة العامة للوباء، بما في ذلك حملة التطعيم الوطنية، ما يثبت كيف ينبغي القيام بذلك إذا أردنا الحفاظ على سلامة الجميع […] أناشد جميع البلدان أن تحذو حذوه عبر تضمين اللاجئين في حملات التطعيم الخاصة بهم على قدم المساواة مع المواطنين وبما يتماشى مع مبادئ التخصيص في ائتلاف كوفاكس.”

فقد دأبت المفوضية على الدعوة إلى الإدماج العادل للاجئين والنازحين داخلياً وعديمي الجنسية من خلال آلية كوفاكس، وهو مخطط عالمي تدعمه منظمة الصحة العالمية لتوفير اللقاحات للبلدان الفقيرة. كما وقع لبنان على اتفاقية كوفاكس لعدم قدرة البلاد شراء جرعاتٍ كافية لشعبه، ولكن هناك، كانت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تعجّ برسائل منذ منتصف يناير2021 تدعوا اللبنانيين إلى “أن يكونوا أول” من يحصل على اللقاح بلغة عنصرية موجهة ضد الفلسطينيين اللبنانيين والسوريين واللاجئين السوريين وغيرهم من الأجانب من الفئات الضعيفة.

بيد أن هذا ليس الحال في الأردن، على الأقل فيما يتعلق بالفلسطينيين المشمولين بخطة التطعيم بحسب تمارا الرفاعي، المتحدثة باسم الأونروا [وكالة الأمم المتحدة للاجئين الفلسطينيين]: “في الأردن، لم أر أي ردود فعل [سلبية] تجاه إدراج لاجئي فلسطين في الخطط الوطنية. لطالما كان موقفنا في الأونروا أن الفيروس لا يتوقف عند مدخل مخيمات اللاجئين، لذا فإن أي محاولة لتقييد الإجراءات [للمواطنين] وأي إقصاء لن يؤدي إلا إلى الإضرار بالبلد! لحسن الحظ، أعلن الأردن التزامه بإدراج اللاجئين في خطط التطعيم الخاصة به.”

من الجدير بالذكر أنه منذ بداية أزمة اللاجئين السوريين، استضاف الأردن، إلى جانب تركيا ولبنان، أكثر من نصيبه العادل من اللاجئين، وكان السوريون يمثلون أكثر من 10% من سكان الأردن، مما فرض ضغوطاً هائلة على موارد البلاد المنهكة. ساعدت الدولة في توفير تصاريح العمل والرعاية الصحية المدعومة من خلال تسجيل رسمي عبر وزارة الداخلية الأردنية من عام 2016 حتى عام 2019. ومنذ بداية الوباء وإصابة أول اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء بفيروس كورونا، تمكنت وزارة الصحة الأردنية والسلطات المحلية والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين ومنظمات أخرى من تقديم رعاية مجانية لمن يعانون من أعراض خفيفة أو متوسطة، في حين تمكّن آخرون من الدخول إلى المستشفيات الحكومية.

واعتباراً من 24 يناير 2021، أخبرت المفوضية فَنَك بأنها على علم بتطعيم 152 لاجئاً، بما في ذلك 147 من مخيم الزعتري و3 من مخيم الأزرق و2 من مخيمات إربد، من خلال المراكز الصحية المحلية في محافظتهم، إذ يمكنهم التسجيل للحصول على اللقاح على الموقع الخاص بالتطعيم vaccine.jo، وانتظار الحصول على موعد. قد يستغرق ذلك بعض الوقت، حيث إن الحكومة الأردنية لديها حوالي 3 ملايين جرعة حتى الآن، مما قد يعني تغطية ما نسبته 25% من السكان في الأشهر المقبلة. كما طلب الأردن والأمم المتحدة تمويلاً إضافياً للوصول إلى أهدافهما، حيث ورد أن وكالة الأمم المتحدة طالبت بمبلغ 370 مليون دولار إضافي.

تمنح الدولة الأولوية، كما هو الحال في كل مكان تقريباً في أوروبا، للمسنين والأشخاص الذين يعانون من أمراض مزمنة للحصول على التطعيم أولاً، بدلاً من تضمين شرط الجنسية مسبقاً. وفي هذا الصدد، قالت موريل تشوب، ممثلة المنظمة النرويجية للاجئين في الأردن، لفَنَك: “نثني بشدة على التزام الحكومة الأردنية بإدراج اللاجئين في برنامج التطعيم الوطني الخاص بها، وبتقديم اللقاحات بناءً على العمر والحالة الطبية بغض النظر عن الجنسية،” وتابعت القول، “في هذا الصدد، كما هو الحال في مجالاتٍ أخرى، يقدم الأردن نموذجاً للدول الأخرى في المنطقة في إيوائه للاجئين، ونحث الدول الأخرى على أن تحذو حذوه في ضمان إدراج اللاجئين في خطط التطعيم الوطنية.”

وبحسب ما قاله اللاجىء السوري منهل هلال البالغ من العمر 71 عاماً لوكالة الأنباء الفرنسية إن عائلته في سوريا صُدمت عندما علمت أنه سيحصل على اللقاح: “لم يصدقوني، ظنوا أنني أمزح […] أقسمت لهم أن هذا صحيح وأخبروني أنني محظوظ حقاً.” من الجدير بالذكر أن حملة التطعيم ضد فيروس كورونا لم تبدأ بعد في سوريا.

لا يعتبر علاج اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء مثالياً في الأردن، ولكن يمكنهم على الأقل الحصول على العلاج واللقاح في خضم جائحةٍ عالمية، ولربما يمكن أن يكون هذا بمثابة مثالٍ يمكن للدول الأخرى أن تحذو حذوه بمجرد تلقي جرعاتهم الأولى من اللقاح.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa
All

In Jordan, Both Citizens and Refugees are Included in the Covid-19 Vaccine Plan

Jordan vaccination
A mask-clad Jordan-based Syrian refugee receives a vaccination dose against COVID-19 coronavirus disease at a governmental medical center in Mafraq in northern Jordan on January 18, 2021. Photo: Khalil MAZRAAWI / AFP

By: Florence Massena

Jordan is a country hosting currently 750.000 registered refugees, of whom around 658,000 are Syrian, although the real total of Syrians is estimated at around 1.3 million, and more than 2 million registered Palestinian refugees. Those people are all included in the national Covid-19 vaccination plan that started on January 14, 2021.

By including the whole population of Jordan, and not just its national residents, Jordan appeared mid-January as one of the world’s first countries to start COVID-19 vaccinations for refugees according to the UNHCR, the UN refugee agency. UN High Commissioner for Refugees Filippo Grandi had declared when the vaccination campaign started that: “Once again Jordan has shown exemplary leadership and solidarity in hosting refugees. The country has included refugees in every aspect of the public health response to the pandemic, including the national vaccination campaign, proving how it should be done if we are to keep everyone safe […] I appeal to all countries to follow suit and include refugees in their vaccination drives on par with nationals and in line with COVAX allocation principles.”

UNHCR has been advocating for the equitable inclusion of refugees, internally displaced and stateless populations through the COVAX Facility, a global scheme backed by the World Health Organization to provide vaccines to poorer countries. Neighbouring country Lebanon also signed up the COVAX Facility because it cannot afford to buy enough doses for its people. But there, social media was trending from mid-January, with a call for Lebanese to “be first” to receive the vaccine with racist language being used to express this sentiment, directed against Lebanese and Syrian Palestinians, Syrian refugees and other foreigners in vulnerable positions.

This is not the case in Jordan, at least about the Palestinians included in the vaccination plan according to Tamara Al-Rifai, UNRWA [UN agency for Palestinian refugees] spokesperson: “In Jordan, I have not seen any [negative] reactions expressed towards the inclusion of Palestine refugees in national plans. Our position at UNRWA has always been that a virus does not stop at the entrance of refugee camps, so any attempt at limiting measures [to citizens] and any exclusion will only harm the country! Thankfully Jordan declared its commitment to including refugees in its vaccination plans.”

Since the beginning of the Syrian refugee crisis, Jordan, along with Turkey and Lebanon, have hosted more than its fair share of refugees, the Syrians accounted for more than 10% of Jordan’s population, placing immense pressure on the country’s over-stretched resources. The country did help provide work permits and subsidized health care through an official registration from 2016 til 2019 to the Ministry of Interior, within the limit of their official registration towards the UNHCR. Since the beginning of the pandemic and the first refugees and asylum seekers being infected by Covid-19, the Jordanian Health Ministry, local authorities, the UNHCR and other organizations have been able to provide free care to those with mild or moderate symptoms, while the others could access public hospitals.

As of the 24th of January 2021, the UNHCR told Fanack being aware of 152 refugees being vaccinated, including 147 from Zaatari, 3 from Azraq and 2 from Irbid camps, though their local health center in their respective governorate. They are able to register on this vaccine.jo website, waiting to receive an appointment. That could take time, as the Jordanian government has about 3 million doses so far, which could lead to cover 25% of the population in the coming months. Jordan and the UN have asked for additional aid funding to reach their targets, with the UN agency reportedly calling for a further $370 million.

The country prioritizes, like almost everywhere in Europe, older people and people with co-morbidity to get vaccinated first, instead of including a nationality pre-requisite. “We strongly applaud the Jordanian Government’s commitment to include refugees in its national vaccination program, and to roll out vaccines based on age and medical vulnerability regardless of nationality”, Muriel Tschopp, country director for the Norwegian Refugee Council told Fanack. “On this, as in other areas, Jordan is setting an example to other countries in the region in its accommodation of refugees, and we urge other countries to follow suit in ensuring refugees are included in national vaccination roll out plans.”

71-year old Syrian refugee Manhal Hilal told AFP his family back in Syria was stunned when they learned that he was going to get vaccinated: “They didn’t believe me, they thought I was joking […] I swore to them it was true and they told me I really was lucky”. Vaccination against Covid-19 hasn’t started yet in Syria.

Treatment of refugees and asylum seekers isn’t perfect in Jordan, but they can at least have access to treatment and vaccination in the midst of a global pandemic. Maybe that could give an example for other countries to follow once they receive their first doses of the vaccine.

In this article: Jordan | History - Human Rights - Refugees | Current