فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الحركات الإسلامية في الأردن، بين التطرف والاعتدال

الحركات الإسلامية في الأردن، بين التطرف والاعتدال

الإخوان المسلمون ينظمون مسيرة تأييدا للقضية الفلسطينية في مخيم البقعة خمسة عشر كيلومترا شمال العاصمة عمان في 16 أيار مايو , 2014. Photo Anadolu Agency
الإخوان المسلمون ينظمون مسيرة تأييدا للقضية الفلسطينية في مخيم البقعة خمسة عشر كيلومترا شمال العاصمة عمان في 16 أيار مايو , 2014. Photo Anadolu Agency

تعدّ جماعة الإخوان المسلمين من أهم الحركات الإسلامية في الأردن، حيث تم افتتاح مقرها في عام 1954 بمباركة الملك حسين، وبعد صدور قانون الأحزاب في عام 1992 قامت الحركة بتأسيس حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي. وقع أول إنشقاق مع ظهور حزب التحرير الإسلامي، الذي أسسه تقي الدين النبهاني منتصف الخمسينات.

وفي عام 1989، تم إنتخاب إثنين وعشرين عضواً من أعضاء الإخوان المسلمين كأعضاء في البرلمان. كما شاركت بخمسة وزراء ضمن التشكيلة الوزارية لحكومة عام 1991. ومع ذلك،  امتنعت الجماعة عن المشاركة في الانتخابات النيابية لعام 1997 احتجاجاً على توقيع الحكومة الاردنية معاهدة السلام مع اسرائيل عام 1994.

كما يبرز تالياً على القائمة تيار “السلفية الجهادية” والذي نشأ في أوائل التسعينيات ويؤمن بالمواجهة المسلحة.  ومن أبرز قادته أبو محمد المقدسي وأبو قتادة الفلسطيني وأبو مصعب الزرقاوي، الذي قاد معركة شرسة في العراق كزعيم لتنظيم القاعدة بداية 2003. أصبح الزرقاوي ناشطاً بعد انتمائه إلى مجموعة إسلامية متطرفة سميت بيعة الإمام. تبنى الزرقاوي الهجوم على مقر الأمم المتحدة في بغداد عام 2003 والهجمات على ثلاث فنادق في العاصمة الأردنية عمّان، عام 2005 والتي أدت إلى سقوط 57 قتيل وما يزيد عن 115 جريح. قُتل الزرقاوي في غارة أمريكية عام 2006.

هذا وامتازت العلاقة بين الحركات الإسلامية في الأردن، ممثلة بجماعة الأخوان المسلمين من ناحية والنظام السياسي الأردني من ناحيةٍ أخرى، بالتناغم النسبي بسبب  مقتضيات الحرب الباردة آنذاك وحاجة كلا الطرفين لمواجهة المد الشيوعي والبعثي والناصري، فضلاً عن بروز المقاومة الفلسطينية كحركة مستقلة.

لكن ما لبثت أن تشنجت هذه العلاقة بدخول الحركات الإسلامية على خط الكفاح المسلح وظهور حركة حماس عام 1987، مما أثر بشكلٍ كبير على الخطاب الإسلامي ليتوافق مع الحركات السلفية والجهادية، تحت تأثير الأجيال الشابة من الحركة التي لم تختبر مزايا مرحلة التعايش والانسجام.

يمتاز معظم الأردنيين بالإعتدال في السياسة والدين والثقافة، إذ حال هذا دون ظهور بيئة تشجع التطرف أو حتى تسمح بانتشار الإيديولوجية المتطرفة سواء في السياسة أو المواقف الفكرية والوطنية.

أما حجم تأييد الشارع الأردني للحركات الإسلامية فقد شهد تراجعاً، إذ أظهرت نتائج استطلاع للرأي أجراه معهد أمريكي متخصص عام 2013 أنّ حوالي 62 % من الأردنيين أعربوا عن قلقهم المتزايد إزاء تنامي التطرف الإسلامي في بلادهم. في حين تراجع التأييد للهجمات الإنتحارية إلى 15% مقارنةً مع 57% قبل هجمات 2005.

ويرى العديد من الباحثين المتخصصين في الشأن الأردني إلى أنّ الحركات الإسلامية، خاصة تلك التي تميل إلى التطرف، تشّكل تهديداً لمستقبل المؤسسة السياسية في الأردن. ولمواجهة هذا التطور، يجب على الحكومة تقديم المزيد من الدعم للجيش والقوى الأمنية وإجراء المزيد من الإصلاحات الديمقراطية، بالإضافة إلى توفير المزيد من فرص التنمية الاقتصادية وخلق فرص للإستثمار، ومحاربة الفساد. كما يعدّ الحرمان الإجتماعي والإقتصادي ومشاعر الذل بيئة ملائمة لإزدهار التطرف.

اكتسب الدور السياسي للحركات الإسلامية ممثلة في جماعة الإخوان المسلمين زخماً في الأردن إبان انطلاق الربيع العربي عام 2011، وجنى ثمار النجاح الذي تم تحقيقه في البلدان المجاورة وبخاصة في مصر. كما قامت الحركات بتنظيم مسيرات تطالب بإصلاحات سياسية واقتصادية،  وتحرير المسجد الأقصى والأراضي المقدسة والإنسحاب من معاهدة السلام التي وقعها النظام الأردني عام 1994 مع إسرائيل. ومع ذلك، تراجع هذا الدور مرةً أخرى، بعد الإنقلاب العسكري ضد حكم جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر.

ويواجه الأردن مجموعة من التحديات، أهمها الآثار غير المباشرة للحرب الأهلية الدائرة على الأراضي السورية والتي تُثقل كاهل الأردن مالياً مع تدفق مئات الآلاف من اللاجئين السوريين.

يشّكل وجود الميليشيات المسلحة في سوريا مثل جبهة النصرة والدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام (داعش، والتي تُسمى الآن دولة الخلافة الإسلامية) تهديداً واضحاً للأردن خاصة مع طول الشريط الحدودي مع سوريا والعراق التي تقع اجزاء كبيرة منه تحت سيطرة هذه الجماعات الإسلامية (في الواقع، يعدّ تنظيم داعش استمرارية للزرقاوي، الزعيم السابق للقاعدة في العراق).

إن الانتصارات الأخيرة التي حققها تنظيم داعش قد يشجعه على نقل نشاطه إلى مناطق أخرى كالأردن وغزه وسيناء ولبنان، حيث أطلق التنظيم في أكثر من مناسبة تهديدات صريحة باستهداف الأردن كوجهة جديدة لضمها إلى باقي مناطق دولتة المزعومة.

بعد أن بايعت الدولة الإسلامية خليفةً جديد في يونيو 2014، نظمت مجموعات من السلفيين مسيرات في مدينة مَعان جنوب الأردن تأييداً للدولة الإسلامية الجديدة، وطالب المتظاهرون بإلغاء الحدود التي تم وضعها إبان الحرب العالمية الأولى.

ممَّا حدا بالسلطات الأردنية شنَّ حملة اعتقالات وتشديد الرقابة على بعض العناصر التي يشتبه بارتباطها بداعش، إلى جانب حشد قوات عسكرية إضافية لتعزيز الحدود مع العراق بما في ذلك تسيير طلعات جوية في تهديد واضح لداعش برد قاسي في حال عبورها الحدود نحو الاراضي الأردنية.

كما أعلنت الحكومة أنها ترصد عن كثب أياً من مواطنيها المؤيدين للدولة الإسلامية الجديدة، مشيرة إلى أن كافة التعليقات والتصريحات التي تخرج عن أردنيين على شبكة الإنترنت أو أي وسيلة نشر أخرى، سيتم التعامل معها على وجه السرعة معتبرة إياها تدخل في باب “النشاط الإرهابي”.

وتواصل السلطات الأردنية تذكير مواطنيها بأن الأردن لا يزال بعيداً عن جميع هذه الاشتباكات والمواجهات والتهديدات. كما تم دعم مثل هذه التصريحات من قِبل العديد من الساسة في الولايات المتحدة، الذين تعهدوا بدورهم تقديم الدعم والحماية للأردن في حال زحف داعش نحو أراضيها.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Jordan / Past to Present / Islamist Movements in Jordan: Between Extremism and Moderation

Islamist Movements in Jordan: Between Extremism and Moderation

The Jordanian Muslim Brotherhood holds a rally in support of the Palestinian issue at the Baqaa camp for Palestinian refugees, 15 kilometers north of Amman in Jordan on May 16, 2014 / Photo Anadolu Agency
The Jordanian Muslim Brotherhood holds a rally in support of the Palestinian issue at the Baqaa camp for Palestinian refugees, 15 kilometers north of Amman in Jordan on May 16, 2014 / Photo Anadolu Agency

One of the most important Islamic movements in Jordan is the Muslim Brotherhood, which opened its offices in 1954, with the blessings of King Hussein. In 1992, after the issuance of the law of parties, the Muslim Brotherhood established a party called the Islamic Labour Front. The first split occurred with the emergence of the Islamic Liberation Party, which was established by Taqiuddin al-Nabhani in the mid 1950s.

In 1989, 22 members of the Muslim Brotherhood movement were elected as members of parliament. They also had five cabinet members in the 1991 government. They refrained, however, from participating in the elections of 1997 in order to protest the government’s signing a peace treaty with Israel in 1994.

The next most important Islamic movement is the “jihadist Salafi” tendency, which was established in the early 1990s and believes in armed confrontation. Among its best-known leaders are Abu Muhammad al-Maqdisi, the Palestinian Abu Qatada, and Abu Musab al-Zarqawi , who led a brutal fight in Iraq as leader of al-Qaeda-in-Iraq, beginning in 2003. Al-Zarqawi became an activist as a member of an extremist group called Bayaat al-Imam. He claimed responsibility for the attack on the UN building in Baghdad in 2003 and the attack on three hotels in the Jordanian capital in 2005, which killed 57 people and injured more than 115. Al-Zarqawi was killed in an air raid by US forces in 2006.

Relations between the Islamic movements in Jordan, represented by the Muslim Brotherhood, on the one hand and the Jordanian political system on the other hand were relatively harmonious because of the challenges of the Cold War and the need for both sides to confront the expansion of communism, the Baathist movement, and the Nasserist movement, as well as the rise of the Palestinian resistance as an independent movement.

But relations cooled on account of the involvement of the Islamic movements in armed struggle and the emergence in 1987 of Hamas, which had a great effect on the Islamic rhetoric to comply with the salafi and jihadist movements and was influenced by a younger generation that had not experienced the benefits of coexistence and harmony.

Most Jordanians are moderate in their politics, religion, and culture. This has discouraged extremism and prevented the spread of extreme ideology through politics or any intellectual  and national positions.

Support for extremist Islamic movements among the general public in Jordan has declined, according to an American public-opinion poll conducted in 2013, which showed that 62% of Jordanians were increasingly concerned about the rise of Islamic extremism in their country. Support for suicide attacks declined to 15%, compared with 57% before the attacks of 2005.

Several researchers specializing in Jordanian affairs believe that Islamic movements, especially those with extremist tendencies, pose a threat to the future of the political establishment in Jordan. To combat such a development, the government should provide more support to the military and security forces and enact additional democratic policies, as well as providing more economic development, creating opportunities for investments, and fighting corruption. Social and economic deprivation and feelings of humiliation create an environment in which extremism thrives.

The political role of Islamic movements represented by the Muslim Brotherhood gained momentum in Jordan after the beginning of the Arab Spring in 2011, reaping the benefits of the success achieved in nearby countries, especially Egypt. They organized protests and marches calling for political and economical improvements, for the liberation of al-Aqsa Mosque and the Holy land, and for disengagement from the treaty signed by the Jordanian regime with Israel in 1994. However, this role has declined again, after the military coup against the regime of the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt.

Jordan faces several challenges, most importantly the indirect effect of the civil war in Syria, which burdens Jordan financially with the presence of hundreds of thousands of Syrian refugees.

The existence of armed militias in Syria, such as the Nusra Front and  the Islamic State in Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS, now called the Islamic State), presents a real threat to Jordan because of Jordan’s long borders with Syria and Iraq, large parts of which have been under the control of these Islamic groups. (ISIS is, in fact, the continuation of Zarqawi’s al-Qaeda-in-Iraq.)

The recent victories by ISIS/IS in Iraq and Syria may encourage it to spread its activities to other areas, such as Jordan, Gaza, Sinai, and Lebanon. The group has made several threats to target Jordan as a new front in the war to expand its territories.

After IS announced its new caliphate in June of 2014, groups of Salafists organized protests in the city of Maan in southern Jordan in support of the newly formed Islamic State. The demonstrators demanded the elimination of the borders that were established after World War I.

Jordanian authorities began a campaign of arrests, kept a watchful eye on anyone suspected of ties with IS, and mobilized additional military forces to guard its borders with Iraq, including deploying its air force in a clear threat to IS that Jordan would retaliate in the event that IS crossed into Jordan.

The government also announced that is it keeping close track of any of its citizens who support the new Islamic State and declared that any information or opinions shared on the Internet or published by any other means would be dealt with swiftly, because such activities are considered terrorist enterprises.

The Jordanian authorities continue to remind citizens that Jordan is far from all these clashes, confrontations, and threats. Such declarations were supported by many US politicians, who pledged support and protection to Jordan against any incursion by ISIS.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.