فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / العلاقات الأردنية الإسرائيلية: تاريخٌ من التقلبات

العلاقات الأردنية الإسرائيلية: تاريخٌ من التقلبات

Jordan-Israel Relations
رجل يدوس على صورة للعلم الإسرائيلي أثناء مغادرته مجمع النقابات في العاصمة الأردنية عمّان، في 30 ديسمبر 2018. Photo: KHALIL MAZRAAWI / AFP

في 26 أكتوبر 1994، وقعت المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية وإسرائيل على اتفاقية السلام المعروفة باسم اتفاقية وادي عربة. وبعد 25 عاماً، لم يكن هناك أي احتفالٍ مشترك بين البلدين إحياءً للذكرى، فضلاً عن رفض الأردن تجديد مُلحقي الاتفاقية الخاصان اللتان سمحتا للمزارعين الإسرائيليين بدخول الأراضي الأردنية، مما يعكس مدى توتر العلاقات بين البلدين.

وفي نفس الوقت، بدء الأردن محاكمة أول إسرائيلي داخل المحاكم الأردنية منذ سريان اتفاقية السلام. ترتبط العلاقات الأردنية الإسرائيلية بالقضية الفلسطينية، إذ كان من أهم ملامحها ما جاء بعد الأول من ديسمبر عام 1948 حيث عقدت قيادات وزعامات فلسطينية مؤتمراً سُمي بمؤتمر أريحا، وهو حدثٌ سنوي يعقده القادة الفلسطينيون، والذي تم خلاله مبايعة الملك عبد الله الأول ملكاً على فلسطين والأردن، والذي عُرف بوحدة الضفتين وأصبح مواطنو الضفة الغربية مواطنين أردنيين واندمجوا داخل مؤسسات الدولة الأردنية.

ظلت السيادة الأردنية على الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية، إلى جانب الوصاية على المقدسات الإسلامية في فلسطين قائمة حتى حرب عام 1967 حينما هزمت إسرائيل الجيوش العربية واحتلت الضفة الغربية. ومع ذلك، ظل المواطنون الفلسطينيون حاملين للجنسية الأردنية حتى قيام السلطة الفلسطينية في الضفة الغربية وقرار فك الارتباط عام 1988 تمهيداً لقيام دولة فلسطينية. في أعقاب ذلك، تم سحب الجنسية الأردنية والالتزامات الأردنية تجاه فلسطين مع الإبقاء على الوصاية الهاشمية على شؤون المسجد الأقصى ومدينة القُدس.

كان هناك تصاعد وخفوت في العلاقات الأردنية الإسرائيلية، وبالرغم من أن اتفاقية السلام مع إسرائيل والمعروفة باتفاقية وادي عربة بين قادة البلدين كانت أولى اللقاءات العلنية، إلا أن هناك تاريخاً من العلاقات السرية بين البلدين.

تم تأكيد ذلك في 14 مارس عام 2014، عندما نشر شمعون بيريز، رئيس إسرائيل الأسبق، صوراً له على حساباته على مواقع التواصل وهو متخفيّ في أشكال مختلفة تزامناً مع ما يُعرف بعيد المساخر اليهودي، قائلاً بأنه هناك مناسبات أخرى للتخفي غير هذا العيد مُقدماً شكله وهو متنكراً في صور عدة أثناء ذهابه لمقابلة الملك الأردني الراحل حسين للإفلات من رقابة حرس الحدود، وهي اللقاءات التي قال إنها كانت في أواسط السبعينيات، إلا إنه وفق شهادات ووثائق عدة فقد كان للملك عبد الله الأول ونجله وحفيده الحالي تاريخ من اللقاءات السرية مع قيادات وزعماء داخل إسرائيل.

وفي مذكراتها، “اعترافات جولد مائير،” كشفت رئيسة وزراء إسرائيل السابقة عن عدة لقاءات جمعتها بالملك عبد الله الأول، ملك الأردن، قبل إعلان قيام دولة إسرائيل عام 1948. آنذاك، كانت تشغل رئاسة الدائرة السياسية في الوكالة اليهودية، وكانت لقاءاتهما تتم بغرض التوصل إلى تفاهمٍ بينهما.

وقد كشف الباحث الإسرائيلي يسرائيل بار في كتابه “أمن إسرائيل أمس، اليوم وغد،” أن من بين تلك التفاهمات ما تم قبيل حرب عام 1948 بين جيوش الدول العربية في مواجهة العصابات الصهيونية بعد إعلان دولة إسرائيل على أرض فلسطين. وأضاف أنهما اتفقا على ألا يُشارك الجيش الأردني بشكل جدي في الحرب مقابل احتفاظ الملك بالضفة الغربية.

لقاءاتٌ أخرى جمعت الملك حسين بن عبد الله بالقيادات الإسرائيلية، منها اللقاء الأهم الذي عُقد داخل مبنى الموساد الإسرائيلي يوم 25 سبتمبر عام 1973، قبل الحرب التي شنتها كل من مصر وسوريا على إسرائيل.

فقد حذّر الملك حسين جولد مائير خلاله من نية مصر وسوريا شن حربٍ على اسرائيل، وأنه قد بادر بهذه المعلومات خوفاً من نتائج سلبية عليه قائلاً “إذا خسر السادات [الرئيس المصري السابق أنور السادات] القاهرة يمكنه أن ينسحب إلى أسوان، إذا خسر الأسد [الرئيس السوري السابق حافظ الأسد] دمشق يمكنه الانسحاب إلى حلب، أما أنا اذا خسرت عمّان فإلى أين أذهب؟ إلى الصحراء؟”، وهي التحذيرات التي لم تأخذها مائير بجدية.

ورغم ما يظهر من هذا التقارب التاريخي، لطالما اتسمت العلاقات بين البلدين بعدم الاستقرار بسبب السياسات الإسرائيلية الاستيطانية من أجل انهاء حل الدولتين المفترض أن يضع حداً للصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني نهائياً. ومع تصاعد المواجهات بين الفلسطينيين والاسرائيليين عادة ما تتوتر العلاقات بين الأردن وإسرائيل، وهو ما زاد مؤخراً وأصبحت العلاقات في واحدة من أسوأ مراحلها في عام 2019.

تزامن هذا مع قرار الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، الحليف الأول لإسرائيل، بالإعتراف بالقدس عاصمةً لإسرائيل ونقل الإدارة الأمريكية سفارتها لدى تل أبيب إلى القدس الشريف، ثم الاعتراف بسيادة إسرائيل على الجولان السوري المُحتل وإعلان إضفاء الشرعية على المستوطنات الإسرائيلية في الضفة الغربية.

تبع ذلك العديد من الإجراءات الأخرى التي اتخذتها واشنطن، والتي اعتبرت تقويضاً للقيادة الفلسطينية، كان أبرزها إسقاط حق العودة عن اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشتات، والذي يضم الأردن منهم قرابة 2,2 مليون شخص، ومحاولة توطينهم في الشتات بوقف تمويل الولايات المتحدة لوكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين “الأونروا.” كانت تلك ضربةً مالية قاضية للوكالة ذلك أن الولايات المتحدة كانت أكبر المساهمين فيها بما يبلغ 350 مليون دولار سنوياً. كما ضغطت الإدارة الأمريكية على دولٍ أخرى لوقف تمويلها هي أيضاً للأونروا، بالإضافة إلى الدعوة إلى مشاركة دول أخرى لسيادة الأردن على المقدسات داخل القدس. وعليه، تطوعت المملكة العربية السعودية للقيام بهذا الدور، مما فجر الأوضاع أكثر.

أحداث أخرى كانت تُشير إلى تصاعد التوتر بين البلدين منها بدأ محكمة أمن الدولة الأردنية لشخص يحمل الجنسية الإسرائيلية يُدعى “كونستانتين كوتوف” بتهمتي “دخول أراضي المملكة بشكل غير مشروع، وحيازة مادة مخدرة بقصد التعاطي،” وتُعد هذه المرة الأولى منذ اتفاقية وادي عربة التي تُحاكم فيها عمّان إسرائيليين، بعد أن اعتاد الأردن على ترحيل الإسرائيليين إلى حكومتهم سراً أو علانيا تفادياً لوقوع توتر بين البلدين.

تبع ذلك خلافٌ دبلوماسي آخر عندما قامت إسرائيل مؤخراً باعتقال مواطنين أردنيين هما عبد الرحمن مرعي وهبة اللبدي، في أغسطس وسبتمبر 2019، بسبب نشاطٍ إرهابي مشتبه به.

أما على المستوى الشعبي، فلطالما اعتبر الأردنيون إسرائيل عدواً رسمياً لبلادهم، إلا أن هناك سخطاً شعبياً متزايداً منذ حادث إطلاق النار داخل السفارة الإسرائيلية في العاصمة عمّان في يوليو عام 2017، حيث قام حارس أمن السفارة بقتل مواطنين أردنيين إثر مشكلةٍ حصلت داخل مجمع السفارة. وعليه، سمحت الحكومة الأردنية للقاتل بمغادرة الأراضي الأردنية مما زاد من غضب الشارع الأردني.

وفي ديسمبر 2019، نشرت صحيفة هآرتس العبرية مقالاً للرأي يدعي إن اليمين الإسرائيلي يُعد خطة لاسقاط وإزاحة الملك الأردني عبد الله الثاني من عرش المملكة. تستند هذه الإدعاءات إلى مجموعة من المقالات لكتاب من اليمين الإسرائيلي وموالين للحكومة والتي نُشرت في الأسابيع الماضية.

وبحسب المقال، تتضمن الخطة ضم غور الأردن بالضفة الغربية إلى إسرائيل وهو ما سيؤدي إلى ضم الضفة الغربية وإلغاء اتفاق السلام مع الأردن، والذي بدوره سيؤدي إلى اسقاط العائلة الهاشمية وعلى رأسها الملك عبد الله الذي يصفه اليمين الإسرائيلي وكأنه “عبد يحاول التحرر من العبودية، وبأنه عربي وقح تجرأ على رفع رأسه.”

وأوضح المقال أن اليمين الإسرائيلي يطمح إلى ربيعٍ أردني ومظاهرات احتجاجية يمكن من خلالها تنفيذ انقلاب على الملك، وحينها سيكون بإمكان إسرائيل استكمال ضم الضفة الغربية وإقامة الكونفدرالية بين السلطة الفلسطينية والأردن. يأتي هذا كله بسبب انزعاج اليمين من وصاية الأردن على المسجد الأقصى ورغبة اليمين في تغيير الوضع القائم فيه وصولاً إلى هدمه وإقامة الهيكل مكانه.

كما أشار المقال أيضاً إلى أن خلاصة الخطة هي ضم أراضي الضفة الغربية دون ضم ملايين الفلسطينيين الذين سينتقلون إلى أردن جديد دون العائلة الهاشمية. لطالما كان ما يُسمى بنقل الفلسطينيين إلى الأردن رغبةً قديمة للأحزاب الإسرائيلية اليمينية المتطرفة.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن الأردن يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
اعترف مجلس عصبة الأمم بأن شرق الأردن دولة تحت إشراف بريطاني في الع...
عام 1979، وقّع الرئيس المصري أنور السادات معاهدة سلام ثنائية مع إسر...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: KHALIL MAZRAAWI ©AFP | KHALIL MAZRAAWI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Jordan / Past to Present / Jordan-Israel Relations: A History of Ups and Downs

Jordan-Israel Relations: A History of Ups and Downs

Jordan-Israel Relations
A man leaving a trade union complex in the Jordanian capital Amman steps on the image of an Israeli flag on December 30, 2018. Photo: KHALIL MAZRAAWI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ KHALIL MAZRAAWI

On 26 October 1994, Jordan and Israel signed a peace agreement known as the Wadi Araba Treaty. Twenty-five years later, no joint ceremony marking the anniversary of the agreement and the termination of two annexes of the treaty that allowed Israeli farmers to access land inside Jordan were an indication of how strained relations between the two countries have become.

In parallel, Jordan initiated the prosecution of the first Israeli national since the peace agreement took effect.
Jordan-Israel relations have always been closely linked to the Palestinian cause. One of the most important features of these relations followed the 1 December 1948 Jericho Conference, an annual event held by Palestinian leaders. During the conference, a pledge of allegiance was given to King Abdullah I as king of Palestine and Jordan, known as the unification of the two banks. Citizens of the West Bank became Jordanian citizens and were incorporated in Jordanian institutions.

Jordanian sovereignty over the West Bank and East Jerusalem, as well as Jordan’s custodianship over Muslim holy sites in Jerusalem, remained in place until the war of 1967, when Israel defeated the Arab Legion and occupied the West Bank. However, Palestinians continued to hold Jordanian citizenship until the Palestinian Authority was established in the West Bank and the disengagement decision was made in 1988 in preparation for the founding of a Palestinian state. After that, Jordanian citizenship and Jordanian commitments towards Palestine were withdrawn, although Jordan’s custodianship of al-Aqsa Mosque and other holy sites remained in place.

Jordan-Israel relations have gone through many ups and downs. Although the Wadi Araba Treaty was the first public meeting between the countries’ heads of state, there had been a history of secret meetings between the two.

This was confirmed in March 2014 when Shimon Peres, Israel’s former president, posted photos of himself on social media wearing various disguises to mark the Purim holiday. He said there were other occasions when he wore a disguise, such as when he went to meetings with the late King Hussein of Jordan in order to escape the notice of border guards. He said that these meetings were held in the mid-1970s. However, according to several testimonies and documents, King Abdullah I, his son and grandson also met secretly with Israeli leaders inside Israel.

In her memoir titled Confessions of Golda Meir, the former Israeli prime minister disclosed several meetings she had with King Abdullah I before the establishment of Israel in 1948. At that time, Meir was the head of the Political Department of the Jewish Agency, and her meetings with the Jordanian leadership were aimed at reaching a mutual understanding.

Israeli researcher Yisrael Barr revealed in his book Security of Israel Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow that such an understanding was reached before the war of 1948 that broke out between the Arab Legion and Zionist gangs after the establishment of Israel. He added that the two sides agreed the Jordanian army would not participate seriously in the war in exchange for Jordan maintaining custody of the West Bank.

Other meetings were held between King Hussein and the Israeli leadership, including the most important one held inside the Mossad intelligence agency building on 25 September 1973 before the outbreak of the war waged by Egypt and Syria against Israel.

King Hussein warned Meir of Egypt and Syria’s plan to attack Israel, and he justified disclosing the information by saying, “If [former Egyptian President Anwar] Sadat loses Cairo, he would withdraw to Aswan, if [former Syrian President Hafiz] Assad loses Damascus, he would withdraw to Aleppo, but if I lose Amman, where would I go? To the desert?” However, Meir did not take his warning seriously.

Despite this historic rapprochement, relations between the two countries have always been unstable due to Israel’s settlement policies that have sought to end a two-state solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict once and for all. Relations typically become strained during periods of escalating confrontations between the Palestinians and Israelis. Such tensions have intensified in recent years, with Jordan-Israel relations reaching a record low in 2019.

This coincided with the decision by the United States (US), Israel’s principle foreign ally, to recognize Jerusalem as Israel’s capital, the transfer of the US embassy to Jerusalem from Tel Aviv, recognition of Israel’s sovereignty over the contested Golan Heights and declaration that Israeli settlements in the West Bank do not violate international law.

This was followed by several other measures by Washington seen as undermining the Palestinian leadership, notably cancelling the right of return of Palestinian refugees, 2.2. million of whom live in Jordan, and trying to settle them in the diaspora by cutting US funding to UNRWA, the United Nations agency for Palestinian refugees. This was a major financial blow to the agency since the US had been its largest donor, giving $350 million annually. The US also put pressure on other countries to stop their funding for UNRWA and called on other countries to share Jordan’s custodianship over Jerusalem’s holy sites. Saudi Arabia volunteered for the role, further igniting the issue.

Another incident that soured relations was Jordan’s prosecution of Konstantin Kotov, an Israeli national, on charges of ‘illegal entry into the kingdom and possession of a narcotic substance with intent to use it’. This is the first time since the Wadi Araba Treaty was signed that Jordan has prosecuted an Israeli. Previously, Jordan deported Israelis, openly or in secret, to avoid tensions with its neighbour.

Another diplomatic spat ensued after Israel arrested two Jordanians, Abdel Rahman MirI and Hiba al Labadi, in August and September 2019, for suspected terrorist activity.

At the popular level, Jordanians have always considered Israel as a state enemy. However, there has been growing discontent since a shooting incident inside the Israeli embassy in the Jordanian capital Amman in July 2017, when an Israeli security guard killed two Jordanians, allegedly following a quarrel. The Jordanian government allowed the security guard to leave Jordan, eliciting further public anger.

In December 2019, the Israeli newspaper Haaretz published an opinion piece claiming the Israeli right is preparing to remove King Abdullah II. The claims are based on a series of articles by Israeli right-wing writers and government supporters published in previous weeks.

According to the piece, the plan includes the annexation of the Jordan Valley, which will lead to the annexation of the West Bank and the end of the peace agreement with Jordan. This, in turn, will lead to the downfall of Jordan’s royal family led by King Abdullah II, who is described as ‘a slave trying to break free from slavery, and a rude Arab who dared to raise his head’.

The article went on to say that the Israeli right is hoping for an Arab Spring in Jordan and demonstrations through which a coup can be carried out, allowing Israel to complete the annexation of the West Bank and establish a confederation between the Palestinian Authority and Jordan. This allegedly comes down to Israel’s frustration with Jordan’s custodianship of al-Aqsa Mosque and desire to change the status quo, demolish the mosque and build a Jewish temple in its place.

The article noted that the bottom line of the project would be to annex the West Bank without the inclusion of millions of Palestinians, who would move to a new Jordan without the royal family in power. This co-called transfer of Palestinians to Jordan has been a long-time wish of extreme right-wing Israeli parties.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ KHALIL MAZRAAWI | ©AFP ⁃ KHALIL MAZRAAWI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.