فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / لغز الملك عبد الله

لغز الملك عبد الله

Jordan- King Abdullah II
العاهل الأردني الملك عبد الله الثاني خلال حفلٍ أقيم في عمّان في 25 مايو 2019، بمناسبة العيد الثالث والسبعين للاستقلال. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

هل هناك عاصفةٌ توشك على أن تهبّ داخل أروقة المملكة الأردنية الهادئة؟ ففي أوائل مايو 2019، أعاد الملك عبد الله الثاني ترتيب صفوف كبار ضباطه وسط مخاوف من عدم الاستقرار، مثال ذلك كان استبدال اللواء عدنان الجندي باللواء أحمد حسني مديراً جديداً لدائرة المخابرات العامة في البلاد.

وفي رسالةٍ إلى رئيس المخابرات الجديد، قال الملك إن مسيرة دائرة المخابرات العامة كانت “مشرقة ومشرفة،” على الرغم من أن الدائرة “لم تخلو من بعض التجاوزات لدى قلة قليلة قدمت المصالح الخاصة على الصالح العام، الأمر الذي تطلب حينها التعامل الفوري معه وتصويبه.” فقد جاءت إقالة رئيس المخابرات الأسبق في أعقاب تقارير أخيرة تتعلق بالعديد من كبار المسؤولين، الذين يُزعم أنهم كانوا يحرضون على مؤامرةٍ في المملكة. ووفقاً لصحيفة القبس الكويتية، تضمنت المؤامرة عدة شخصيات رفيعة المستوى، من بينها زوج عمة الملك، ومسؤول كبير في أجهزة الأمن، وعدد من البرلمانيين، وشخصيات من وسائل الإعلام. كان الغرض من ذلك هو إضعاف حكومة رئيس الوزراء عمر الرزاز، ونشر شائعات حول ممارسات محاباة الأقارب في تعيين الموظفين الحكوميين، وتحريض أفراد عشائر البدو العاطلين عن العمل على التظاهر أمام القصر الملكي، والذي بدوره يمكن استخدامه كدليلٍ على عدم شعبية النظام.

يحدث هذا في وقتٍ حرج للغاية بالنسبة للأردن. في الواقع، منذ عام 2018، شهدت البلاد مظاهراتٍ واحتجاجاتٍ على الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية بالغة الصعوبة، إذ يبلغ الدين العام ما نسبته 95% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السنوي للبلاد، بينما بلغت نسبة تشغيل الشباب 41%. وفي مايو 2018، خرج مئات الأردنيين إلى الشارع للتعبير عن معارضتهم لإجراءات التقشف التي يدعمها صندوق النقد الدولي، فيما وصف بأنه أكبر الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة منذ سنوات. بيد أنه هذه المرة، لم يهتف المتظاهرون ضد الحكومة فحسب بل استهدفوا أيضاً النظام الملكي. وعليه، قدم رئيس الوزراء السابق هاني الملقي استقالته، إلا أن الاحتجاجات لم تتوقف عند هذا الحد. وفي أكتوبر 2018، اجتمع مئات الأشخاص في عمّان للمطالبة بإصلاحٍ دستوري منددين بالسياسات الاقتصادية القاسية والفساد واسع الانتشار. وفي ديسمبر، طلب المتظاهرون من الحكومة إلغاء قانون ضريبة الدخل المثير للجدل وقانون الجرائم الإلكترونية الذي يقيد الحق في حرية التعبير والحق في الخصوصية.

كما بات الملك يخسر أيضاً دعماً غاية في الأهمية ضمن النسيج الرئيسي للمجتمع الأردني، بما في ذلك العشائر التي يشكل أفرادها معظم إدارات الجيش والحكومة.

فقد قال الصحفي الفلسطيني داود كتّاب لفَنَك إنه من غير المرجح أن تؤدي الاحتجاجات إلى موجةٍ ثانية من “الربيع العربي.” وأضاف إن هذا يرجع إلى أن “العواقب المترتبة على ذلك في بلدان أخرى في المنطقة، مثل مصر أو سوريا، هي رادع لمطالبات ‘تغيير النظام‘.” وتابع القول، “يريد الناس الإصلاحات، إلا أنهم سيظلون مترددين في المطالبة بالإطاحة بالنظام.”

مع تراجع شعبيته داخل البلاد، يبدو أن وضع العاهل الأردني ضعيف أيضاً على الساحة الإقليمية. قد يفسر هذا سبب نأيه بنفسه عن أحدث التقلبات المتعلقة ببعض المسائل الخاصة بالعائلة المالكة، إذ يُقال أن شقيقة الملك غير الشقيقة، الأميرة هيا بنت الحسين، قد هربت من زوجها برفقة طفليهما إلى لندن، ويبدو أنها تسعى للحصول على اللجوء في ألمانيا. زوجها هو حاكم دبي ورئيس وزراء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم. وعلى الرغم من قربهما، يبدو أن الملك عبد الله الثاني غير مستعدٍ لمعالجة هذه القضية وجهاً لوجه، خوفاً من تداعياتٍ سياسية سلبية على المملكة، بل إن مثل هذه المسألة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تفاقم التوترات القائمة بين الأردن ودول الخليج، كما قد تلقي بظلالها أيضاً على وضع 200 ألف مواطن أردني يعملون حالياً في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الأردن لم يمتثل للسعودية ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في المسائل الإقليمية. وعلى الرغم من أن كلاً من السعودية والإمارات فرضتا عقوباتٍ على قطر وقطعت علاقاتها الدبلوماسية، إلا أن العاهل الأردني حافظ، من جانبه، على علاقات المملكة مع الدوحة، على الرغم من خطر تخفيض تمثيلها الدبلوماسي. كان لذلك ثمنٌ سياسي ومالي، ذلك أن المملكة العربية السعودية لم تجدد حزمة مساعداتها للأردن في عام 2017. “لم يسبق أن تعرض الأردن لمثل هذا الضغط الهائل من المملكة العربية السعودية،” أوضحت لميس أندوني، محللة شؤون الشرق الأوسط لفَنَك، وأضافت “فيما يتعلق بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فإنهم يتدخلون لدرجة أنهم أرادوا من الأردن إغلاق مكتب الجزيرة في عمّان. حتى الآن، لم تعد القناة إلى عملها في البلاد بالكامل، إذ إنها تبث برامجها عبر الإنترنت،” في إشارةٍ إلى إغلاق الأردن لمكتب قناة الجزيرة المملوكة للدولة القطرية في عمّان في يونيو 2017.

ويبدو أن المملكة باتت عالقةً في طريقٍ مسدود، على الرغم من أنه يبدو أن أي خسارة دبلوماسية ومالية من جانب، تُعوض بمزايا من الجانب الآخر. ففي شهر أغسطس الماضي، قدمت قطر دعماً قدره 500 مليون دولار للبلاد وذكرت أنها مستعدة لاستثمار مليارات الدولارات في المملكة مع توفير المزيد من فرص العمل للمواطنين الأردنيين في قطر.

وبحسب كتّاب، “الأردن بلدٌ صغير دون أي موارد رئيسية مثل النفط. لذا، لطالما اعتمدت استراتيجية البلاد على قدرتها على الحفاظ على علاقاتٍ دبلوماسية جيدة مع جميع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في المنطقة.” وأضاف، “صحيح أن المنطقة تمر باستقطابٍ متزايد، مع توتراتٍ بين المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر، أو بين المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران. وعلى الرغم من صعوبة الأمر، إلا أن الأردن يسعى إلى العيش في سلام مع جميع الجهات الإقليمية الفاعلة.”

وأكد الصحفي أيضاً أنه على الرغم من التوترات القائمة، ما زالت المملكة العربية السعودية تدعم الأردن مالياً، فقد تم تسليط الضوء على هذا في الاتفاقية الأخيرة، الموقعة في 4 يوليو بين وزير التخطيط والتعاون الدولي الأردني ونائب رئيس مجلس إدارة الصندوق السعودي للتنمية، لضخ حوالي 50 مليون دولار في القطاع التعليمي في المملكة الهاشمية.

وأوضح كتّاب لنا في فَنَك، “في الواقع، من غير المرجح أن يقطع الأردن والمملكة العربية السعودية علاقتهما،” وتابع “تتمتع المملكتان بعلاقاتٍ تاريخية واقتصادية وثقافية قوية للغاية. ومع ذلك، ما قد يصبح أكثر تعقيداً هو علاقة الأردن بالولايات المتحدة، فالأخيرة تمارس الكثير من الضغط على الأردن للحصول على دعمه لعملية خطة السلام.”

الأردن، الذي يتلقى مساعداتٍ أمريكية، هو في الواقع واحد من 128 دولة صوتت لمقترحٍ يرفض اعتراف واشنطن بالقدس عاصمةً لإسرائيل. فقد عبر ملك الأردن مراراً وتكراراً عن مخاوفه بشأن خطة سلامٍ من شأنها أن تدفن الإجماع الدولي القائم منذ فترةٍ طويلة لصالح حل الدولتين لحل الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي. وعلى الرغم من شكوكه حول ما وصفه ترمب بأنه “صفقة القرن،” إلا أن الملك أرسل وفداً بتمثيلٍ منخفض المستوى إلى مؤتمر البحرين الذي عقد في المنامة يومي 26 و27 يونيو لعرض العنصر الاقتصادي للخطة الأمريكية.

ووفقاً للصحفي الإسرائيلي عاموس هاريل، يخشى الأردن أيضاً من أن خطة السلام قد تتضمن بنداً يمنح “السعوديين ودول الخليج موطىء قدم على جبل الهيكل، على سبيل المثال، من خلال إدارة مداخل الجبل.” وكما يعتقد، فإن الأمر الأخير سيشكل “ضربةً لمكانة الملك كوصيٍ عن الأماكن المقدسة في القدس.”

وبالنسبة لمسؤولٍ رفيع المستوى في السلطة الفلسطينية قابلته المونيتور في 2018، قال “تمهد المملكة العربية السعودية الآن الطريق لوصايتها على هذه المواقع،” إذ كان هناك محاولات لإشراك الزعماء الدينيين وقادة الرأي العام من القدس في حوارٍ مع ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان ليحظى بالدعم حول هذه الفكرة المطروحة.

تستفيد المملكة العربية السعودية من علاقتها الوثيقة مع الولايات المتحدة وكذلك من حقيقة أن دونالد ترمب يسعى للحصول على دعم من الدول العربية لخطة السلام في الشرق الأوسط، التي شجبها العديد على نطاق واسع ولم يوافق عليها الأردن. ويخشى الأردن من أن الخطة الأمريكية تهدف في النهاية إلى تحويل الدولة إلى دولةٍ فلسطينية، كما يعتري القلق الأردن أيضاً من أن تجبر ضغوطات الولايات المتحدة المملكة على تشكيل اتحادٍ كونفدرالي يضم الأردنيين والفلسطينيين، بغض النظر عن موقفه الراسخ من النزاع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني والقيود الداخلية والإقليمية التي يتعرض لها.

من غير المرجح أن يجهض الأردن، المخلص لاستراتيجيته الدبلوماسية التقليدية، صراحةً تحالفه طويل الأمد مع الولايات المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، بيد أنه يبدو أكثر ميلاً إلى العمل بشكلٍ وقائي على تطوير علاقاته مع دولٍ أخرى، مثل روسيا والصين وتركيا.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Jordan / Past to Present / King Abdullah’s Conundrum

King Abdullah’s Conundrum

Jordan- King Abdullah II
Jordan’s King Abdullah II during a ceremony held in Amman on May 25, 2019, to celebrate the country’s 73rd Independence Day. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

Is there a storm brewing in the quiet kingdom of Jordan? In early May 2019, King Abdullah II drastically rejigged his top brass among fears of instability. A case in point was the replacement of Lieutenant General Adnan al-Jundi with Major General Ahmed Husni as the new director of the country’s General Intelligence Department (GID).

In a letter to the new Chief of Intelligence, the king has declared that the GID’s career has been a “bright and honorable one”, although the Intelligence Department “was not void of some transgressions by a small minority that placed its own interests above those of the country, which called for immediate rectification”. The sacking of the former Intelligence Chief followed recent reports regarding several senior officials, who were allegedly fomenting a plot in the Kingdom. According to the Kuwaiti newspaper Al-Qabas, the plot involved several high-level figures, among which the husband of the king’s own aunt, a’ senior official of the security services, several parliamentarians, and figures of the media. The purpose was to weaken the government of Prime Minister Omar Razzaz, to spread rumours about nepotist practices in the appointment of civil servants, and to incite members of jobless Bedouin tribes to demonstrate in front of the royal palace, which in turn could be used as evidence the regime’s lack of popularity.

This is happening at a particularly critical time for Jordan. Indeed, since 2018, the country has been marked with demonstrations and protests over extremely difficult socio-economic conditions. Public debt is at 95% of the country’s annual GDP, while youth employment has reached 41%. In May 2018, hundreds of Jordanians took to the street to express their opposition to IMF-backed austerity measures, in what has been described as the largest anti-government protests in years. This time, though, protestors did not only call out the government but also targeted the monarchy. Former Prime Minister Hani Mulki presented his resignation, but the protests did not stop there. In October 2018, hundreds of people gathered in Amman to ask for constitutional reform and inveigh against harsh economic policies and wide-spread corruption. In December, demonstrators asked the government to repeal a contentious income-tax law and a cyber-crime law which restricts the right to freedom of expression and the right to privacy.

The king is losing important support within key components of the Jordanian society, including among the tribes whose members compose most of the army and government’s administrations.

The Palestinian journalist Daoud Kuttab told Fanack that protests are however unlikely to lead up to a second wave of the “Arab spring”. That is, he said, because “the consequences it had in other countries of the region, such as Egypt or Syria, are a deterrent to ‘regime change’ claims.” He added: “People want reforms, but they would be hesitant to ask for a regime overthrow.”

As his popularity at home declines, the Jordanian king’s position seems also weakened in the regional arena. This may explain why he has distanced himself from the latest twists pertaining to some of the royal family’s private matters. The king’s half-sister, Princess Haya Bint-al Hussein has reportedly fled her husband with their two children to London and is seemingly seeking asylum in Germany. Her spouse is no other than the ruler of Dubai and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum. Despite their kinship, King Abdullah II is apparently unwilling to tackle the issue head-on, fearing negative political repercussions for the kingdom. Such an affair could exacerbate the existing tensions between Jordan and the Gulf countries. It may also compromise the status of the 200.000 nationals who are currently working in the UAE.

Jordan has not conformed with Saudi Arabia and the UAE’s line on regional matters. Although the latter have imposed sanctions on Qatar and cut off diplomatic ties, the Jordanian king has, for his part, maintained the kingdom’s relations with Doha, despite the risk of downgrading its diplomatic representation. This came with a heavy political and financial price, since Saudi Arabia did not renew its aid package to Jordan in 2017. “Jordan has never been subjected to such tremendous pressure from Saudi Arabia”, the Middle Eastern affairs analyst Lamis Andoni explained to Fanack. ”With the UAE, they interfere to the point that they even wanted Jordan to close the Al Jazeera office in Amman. So now, the channel is not fully opened. It broadcasts its programmes through the internet”, she added, referring to Jordan’s closing of the Qatar state-owned Al Jazeera channel in Amman in June 2017.

The kingdom seems to be trapped in a catch-22 situation, although any diplomatic and financial loss on the one side appears to be compensated by benefits on the other. Last August, Qatar provided a support of $500 million to the country and stated that it was willing to invest billions in the kingdom while providing more work opportunities for Jordanian nationals in Qatar.

“Jordan is a small country without any major resources such as oil. So the country’s strategy has always hinged on its ability to keep good diplomatic relations with all key stakeholders in the region”, said Kuttab. “It is true that the region is going through increased polarisation, with tensions between Saudi Arabia and Qatar, or between Saudi Arabia and Iran. Although this is difficult, Jordan seeks to remain in good terms with all the regional actors,” he added.

The journalist also stressed that despite existing tensions, Saudi Arabia is still supporting Jordan financially. This was highlighted by the recent agreement, signed on the 4th of July between Jordan’s Minister of Planning and International Cooperation and the vice chairman of the board of directors of the Saudi Fund for Development, to pump around $50 million in the Hashemite Kingdom’s educational sector.

“Actually, it is very unlikely that Jordan and Saudi Arabia cut off ties”, Kuttab explained to Fanack. “The two kingdoms have very strong historical, economic and cultural relations. What may however grow more complex is the relation of Jordan with the United States. The latter is putting a lot of pressure on Jordan to get its support over the peace plan process.”

Jordan, which receives US aid, is indeed one of the 128 states which voted a motion rejecting Washington’s recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital. The king of Jordan has repeatedly expressed his concerns about a peace plan that would bury the long-standing international consensus in favour of a two-state solution to resolve the conflict between Palestinians and Israelis. Although skeptical about what has been touted by Trump as “the deal of the century”, the king has however sent a low-level delegation to the Bahrain Conference that took place in Manama on the 26th and 27th of June to present the economic component of the American plan.

According to Israeli journalist Amos Harel, Jordan also worries that the peace plan may include a provision granting “the Saudis and the Gulf states a foothold on the Temple Mount, for instance, by managing the entrances to the Mount”. The latter, he thinks, would be “a blow to the king’s status as defender of Jerusalem’s holy places”.

For a Palestinian Authority senior official interviewed by al-Monitor in 2018, “Saudi Arabia is now setting the stage for its guardianship of these sites” and there have been attempts to engage religious and public opinion leaders from Jerusalem in a discussion with Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman to win support for such an idea.

Saudi Arabia benefits from its close relationship with the United States as well as from the fact that Donald Trump seeks to garner backing from Arab states for his widely decried Middle-East peace plan, which Jordan has not endorsed. The latter fears that the US plan aims eventually at turning the country into a Palestinian state. Jordan also fears that the US plan could put a strain on the kingdom to build a confederation including the Jordanians and the Palestinians, regardless of its long-established stance on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and its internal and regional constraints.

Loyal to its traditional diplomatic strategy, Jordan is unlikely to explicitly thwart its long-standing alliance with the US, Saudi Arabia and the UAE, but seems rather inclined to work preventively on developing further its ties with other states, such as Russia, China, and Turkey.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI | ©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.