فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / أزمة الكويت

أزمة الكويت

في آب/أغسطس 1990، أثار غزو صدام حسين للكويت الأزمة الرئيسية الأخيرة في عهد الملك حسين. فخلال ثمانينيات القرن العشرين، طوّر الأردن علاقات تجارية وسياسية حميمة مع العراق. دفع الغزو إلى عقوبات تجارية للأمم المتحدة على بغداد، كما دفع الولايات المتحدة وحلفاءها الخليجيين إلى إقامة تحالف عسكري لتحرير الكويت. وكان الأردن على علاقة جيدة مع الجانبين، مع أن العقوبات هددت اقتصاد البلاد. لكن الأردنيين، ولا سيما الأغلبية الفلسطينية، دعموا العراق بقوة. حاول الملك حسين أن يسلك طريقاً وسطاً بأن يقدم نفسه كوسيط. ومع أن الملك حسين لم يعترف بضم الكويت المزعوم إلى العراق، إلا أنه امتنع عن إدانة بغداد بالاسم أو الانضمام إلى الحلف المضاد للعراق، ولم يتقيد بتنفيذ العقوبات المفروضة على العراق. وكان هذا غير مقبول بالنسبة لواشنطن والكويت.

رداً على موقف عمان الملموس المؤيد للعراق، تم طرد ما يصل إلى 400,000 أردني من أصل فلسطيني كانوا يعملون في الكويت بعد الصراع، وبالتالي إيقاف تدفق التحويلات المالية الحيوية. أغلقت عقوبات الأمم المتحدة السوق النفطية العراقية الحيوية، واضطر الأردن إلى شراء النفط من أماكن أخرى وفق شروط مالية أصعب. وتوقفت مساعدات الولايات المتحدة ودول الخليج. قدّر بنك الأردن المركزي تكلفة أزمة الكويت على المملكة عام 1990 فقط بمقدار 1,5 مليار دولار، أي ما يعادل 35% من الناتج الإجمالي المحلي عام 1989. واعتباراً من 1992، أنأى الأردن بنفسه عن العراق، ولم ترد عمان اعتبارها في عين الولايات المتحدة إلا بعد توقيعها معاهدة السلام مع إسرائيل عام 1994. ولم يتحقق التقارب مع دول الخليج حتى أواخر تسعينات القرن العشرين.

الملك حسين والرئيس العراقي صدام حسين
الملك حسين والرئيس العراقي صدام حسين
Photo HH / مخيم رويشد قرب الحدود العراقية، لللاجئين الفلسطينيين من دول الخليج والعراق
مخيم رويشد قرب الحدود العراقية، لللاجئين الفلسطينيين من دول الخليج والعراق / Photo HH

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Jordan / Past to Present / Kuwait Crisis

Kuwait Crisis

Saddam Hussein’s invasion of Kuwait in August 1990 sparked the final major crisis of King Hussein’s reign. During the 1980s Jordan had developed intimate commercial and political ties with Iraq. The invasion prompted UN trade sanctions on Baghdad, and Washington and its Gulf allies set about creating a military coalition to liberate Kuwait. Jordan was close to both sides, though the sanctions threatened its economy. Jordanians, however, particularly the Palestinian majority, strongly backed Iraq. King Hussein tried to steer a middle course, offering himself as a mediator. Although not recognizing Iraq’s purported annexation of Kuwait, he declined to condemn Baghdad by name or join the anti-Iraq coalition, and he dragged his feet on the implementation of sanctions against Iraq. For Washington and Kuwait, this was unacceptable.

In retaliation for Amman’s perceived pro-Iraqi stance, up to 400,000 Jordanians of Palestinian origin who had lived and worked in Kuwait were expelled after the conflict, thereby eliminating a crucial flow of remittances. The UN sanctions closed the vital Iraqi petroleum market and forced Jordan to buy oil elsewhere, on harsher financial terms. Aid from the US and the Gulf declined. Jordan’s Central Bank estimated that, in 1990 alone, the Kuwait crisis cost the kingdom USD 1.5 billion, equivalent to 35 percent of its 1989 GDP. Starting in 1992, Jordan distanced itself from Iraq, but only with its peace treaty with Israel in 1994 did Amman manage to rehabilitate itself in US eyes; a rapprochement with the Gulf States was not achieved until the late 1990s.

King Hussein and Iraqi President Saddam Hussein
King Hussein and Iraqi President Saddam Hussein
Ruweished Camp, near the Iraqi border, erected for Palestinian refugees from the Gulf countries and Iraq / Photo HH
Ruweished Camp, near the Iraqi border, erected for Palestinian refugees from the Gulf countries and Iraq / Photo HH

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.