فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الأردن: اضراب المعلمين يدخل أسبوعه الرابع مع تعثر المفاوضات

الأردن: اضراب المعلمين يدخل أسبوعه الرابع مع تعثر المفاوضات

Jordan- Teachers strike jordan
مدرسون أردنيون يشتبكون مع قوات الأمن خلال مظاهرات الاحتجاج في عمان. Photo: Khalil MAZRAAWI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

منذ 8 سبتمبر 2019، دخل معظم المعلمين البالغ عددهم 87 ألف معلم في قطاع التعليم الحكومي في الأردن في اضرابٍ من أجل أن يحظوا بظروف معيشية أفضل واحترامٍ أكبر من الحكومة. تتمحور مطالبهم حول رواتبهم، القريبة من خط الفقر.

يعدّ الاضراب، الذي دخل اليوم أسبوعه الرابع، واحداً من الأطول في تاريخ المنطقة والذي يؤثر على حوالي 4 آلاف مدرسة حكومية تخدم أكثر من 1,4 ملايين طالب.

جاء الإضراب في أعقاب احتجاجٍ نظمته نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين في 5 سبتمبر للمطالبة بعلاوة قدرها 50%، وهو ما يزعم أنه تم الإتفاق عليه مع الحكومة في عام 2014، بيد أن الأخيرة فشلت في تنفيذه.

قوبل الاحتجاج برد فعلٍ قاسٍ من قبل الشرطة، وبحسب التقارير، تم استخدام الغاز المسيل للدموع للسيطرة على المتظاهرين، حيث انتشرت لقطات وصور تظهر عنف الشرطة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كما تم اعتقال ما مجموعه 50 معلماً، ولكن تم إطلاق سراحهم فيما بعد.

فقد كتبت إحدى المستخدمات على تويتر، “ما حدث في [العاصمة] عمّان اليوم يمكن أن يكون أحد أسوأ الأزمات التي شهدتها البلاد في التاريخ الحديث.” في حين قال منشور آخر، “الدولة البوليسية الأردنية تنتهك اليوم حق الناس في الاحتجاج بأمان، وتهدد بالقبض عليهم، [وتهاجمهم] بالغاز المسيل للدموع (سلاح كيماوي) وشلت حركة المرور في وسط المدينة بأكمله.”

نفت الشرطة هذه المزاعم، ووفقاً لوكالة الأنباء الأردنية، أنكرت مديرية الأمن العام الأنباء التي تفيد بوقوع انتهاكاتٍ ضد المحتجين. وبدلاً من ذلك، أكدت أن قوات الأمن أبدت “أقصى درجات ضبط النفس” تجاه المعلمين وألقت باللوم على الأخير لسخريتهم منهم و”شق طريقهم” بالقوة عبر حواجز الطرق.

مطالب المعلمين

في بيان نُشر على صفحتها الرسمية على موقع فيسبوك في بداية الاحتجاجات، أعلنت نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين أن الإضراب “المفتوح” سيستمر إلى أن تمنح الحكومة زيادة الرواتب المطلوبة.

وتدعي النقابة أن هذه الزيادة وعِد بها المعلمون قبل خمس سنوات وتأخرت كثيراً. فقبل بداية العام الدراسي 2014/2015، كانت نقابة المعلمين تخطط لإضرابٍ للمطالبة بهذه الزيادة على الراتب الأساسي. ومع ذلك، تم تعليق الإضراب بعد تأييد الحكومة الواضح لمطالبهم.

وبحسب الناطق الإعلامي باسم النقابة، نور الدين نديم، “بعد خمس سنوات، نكثت كل من الحكومة والبرلمان بوعدهما وخذلت المعلمين الذين يعلمون البلاد بأكملها.”

كما يجادل المعلمون أيضاً أنهم من أقل موظفي الخدمة المدنية أجراً. ووفقاً لصحيفة ذا ناشونال، يحظى عمّال النظافة في شوارع عمّان برواتب أعلى من المعلمين عند التعيين.

في الوقت الحالي، رفضت الحكومة تلبية مطالب المعلمين، معتبرة أن علاوة الـ50% ستكلف البلاد حوالي 158 مليون دولار.

فقد أعلنت الناطقة باسم الحكومة جمانة غنيمات في 17 سبتمبر أن الحل بالنسبة لنقابة المعلمين الأردنيين هو بـ”الجلوس مع الوفد الوزاري دون أي شروط مسبقة والدفع من أجل عودة الطلاب إلى مقاعدهم.”

وبدلاً من العلاوة الشاملة، اقترحت الحكومة في البداية ربط الرواتب بمؤشرات أداء المعلمين، إلا أن النقابة انتقدت ذلك بشدة بالقول أن المقترح يضع معايير مرتفعة دون أي وسائل ملموسة لتحقيقها.

وبالإضافة إلى زيادة الرواتب، يُطالب المعلمون باعتذارٍ رسمي عن الأذى الجسدي الذي سببته الشرطة خلال الاحتجاجات، فضلاً عن رغبتهم إجراء حوارٍ جاد ومثمر مع الحكومة.

هناك سببان رئيسيان قد يُفسران عدم رغبة الحكومة في تلبية مطالب المضربين، فأولاً، عانت البلاد، التي تعتمد بالفعل اعتماداً كبيراً على المساعدات الخارجية، من تباطؤ عجلة الاقتصاد وتشهد تدابير تقشفية قاسية يدعمها صندوق النقد الدولي والتي تمتد إلى الميزانية الوطنية. وثانياً، تخشى الحكومة من الآثار المحتملة على قطاعات الخدمات العامة الأخرى.

كما يواجه المعلمون المضربون أيضاً تراجعاً في الدعم الشعبي، وكمثالٍ على ذلك، مثُل أحد أعضاء نقابة المعلمين أمام محكمة غرب عمّان في 19 سبتمبر للدفاع عنها في الشكوى التي قدمها أولياء أمور بعض الطلبة القلقين من العواقب المترتبة على تعليم أطفالهم.

فالدعم الشعبي مستمرٌ في التراجع مع تعثر المفاوضات مع الحكومة، ومع عدم وجود أي أملٍ يلوح بالأفق لعودة الـ1,4 مليون طالب إلى مقاعد الدراسة لبدء العام الدراسي الجديد.

وبالنسبة لتقى نصيرات، نائب مدير برامج الشرق الأوسط في المجلس الأطلنطي، فإن عناد المعلمين أمرٌ مفهوم عندما يأخذ المرء بعين الاعتبار معدلات الفقر في البلاد، بالرغم من أن المطالبة بعلاوة بنسبة 50% قد تبدو للبعض بعيدة كل البعد عن الواقعية في ظل السياق الاقتصادي الحالي.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن رواتب معلمي القطاع الحكومي تتراوح ما بين 550 دولاراً و700 دولار شهرياً، وهو أعلى بقليل من خط الفقر الذي وضعته الحكومة في عام 2010 والبالغ 515 دولاراً شهرياً للعائلة المكونة من خمسة أفراد. فالسلطات نفسها تشكك اليوم في هذه العتبة، بالنظر إلى التغيرات الاقتصادية التي لوحظت في السنوات الماضية.

وبحسب مسحٍ أخير أجرته شبكة الباروميتر العربي، يعتبر 71% من السكان أن الاقتصاد هو التحدي الأكبر الذي يواجه الأردن، ويعتقد حوالي 90% من المجيبين أن الفساد منتشر في مؤسسات الدولة.

وبالرغم من تصاعد حركة الاحتجاجات في الأردن في العام الماضي حول قضايا الفساد وقانون ضريبة الدخل الذي انتقد على نطاقٍ واسع، إلا أن أياً منها لم تهدد الملكية على نحو خطير. مع ذلك، دفع هذا الاستياء نحو إجراء العديد من التعديلات الحكومية في محاولةٍ لتهدئة الغضب الشعبي.

وفي محاولةٍ لإنهاء الإضراب الحالي، اقترحت الحكومة في 28 سبتمبر زيادة الرواتب بنسبٍ تتراوح بين 6 و18%، إلا أن النقابة رفضت الاقتراح. وفي بيانٍ لها، أعلن نائب رئيس النقابة ناصر النواصرة أن هذا حلٌ من جهة واحدة، إذ قال “هذا ما يسمى بالاستبداد. نحن نتبرع بهذا الفتات للحكومة الأردنية.”

وعليه، أصدرت المحكمة الإدارية في الأردن في اليوم التالي قراراً بوقف الإضراب بعد أن رفضت النقابة العرض الجديد.

ووفقاً لبعض المحللين، يعد الصراع الاجتماعي المستمر رمزاً لتنامي عدم المساواة على مدار الثلاثين عاماً الماضية.

وفي مقالٍ للرأي نشرته صحيفة جوردن تايمز، كتب الدكتور فارس بريزات، مدير مركز نماء للدراسات، “منذ أوائل تسعينيات القرن الماضي، كان العقد الاجتماعي التقليدي يتغير وتزايدت عدم المساواة على الرغم من نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للبلاد إلى أعلى المستويات منذ نشأة المملكة. يُمثل إضراب المعلمين اليوم عدم المساواة بطريقة عملية.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Jordan / Past to Present / In Jordan, Teachers’ Strike Enters Fourth Week as Negotiations Stall

In Jordan, Teachers’ Strike Enters Fourth Week as Negotiations Stall

Jordan- Teachers strike jordan
Jordanian teachers clash with security forces during a protest in Amman on September 5, 2019. Photo: Khalil MAZRAAWI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

Since 8 September 2019, most of the 87,000 teachers from Jordan’s public education sector have been striking for better living conditions and greater respect from the government. Their demands centre around their salaries, which are close to the poverty line.

The strike, now in its fourth week, is one of the longest in the region’s history and is affecting around 4,000 public schools serving more than 1.4 million students.

It followed a protest organized by the Jordan Teachers’ Syndicate (JTS) on 5 September demanding a 50 per cent pay increase, which the government allegedly agreed in 2014 but has failed to implement.

The protest was met with a harsh police response. According to reports, tear gas was used to control the protesters. Footage and images showing police violence flooded social media. A total of 50 teachers were detained but later released.

On Twitter, one user wrote, ‘What happened in [the capital] Amman today could be one of the worst crisis the country has seen in recent history’. Another posted, ‘The police state of Jordan today is violating people’s right to protest safely, threatening to arrest them, [attacking] them with tear gas (a chemical weapon) and paralyzing the whole city centre.’

The police denied the allegations. According to the Jordan News Agency, the Public Security Directorate contradicted reports that violations had been committed against protesters. Instead, it asserted that the security forces showed ‘utmost restraint’ towards teachers and blamed the latter for taunting them and forcing ‘their way through’ roadblocks.

Teachers’ demands

In a statement published on its official Facebook page at the beginning of the protests, the JTS announced that the ‘open-ended’ strike would continue until the government grants the requested wage increase.

The JTS claims that this increase was promised to teachers five years ago and is long overdue. Before the start of the 2014/2015 school year, the JTS had planned a strike to demand an increase in the basic salary. The strike was suspended, however, after the government’s apparent endorsement of their demands.

According to JTS spokesperson Noureddine Nadim, “Five years later, both the government and the parliament reneged on their promises and failed the teachers who are educating the entire country.”

The teachers also argue that they are the lowest paid civil servants. According to The National newspaper, street cleaners in Amman receive a higher wage than entry-level teachers.

For now, the government has refused to meet the teachers’ demands, maintaining that a 50 per cent raise would cost the country around $158 million.

Government spokesperson Jumana Ghneimat declared on 17 September that the solution is for the JTS “to sit with the ministerial delegation without any pre-conditions and to push for the return of the students to their seats”.

Instead of a blanket raise, the government initially suggested that salaries should be determined based on teacher’s performance. The JTS strongly criticized the suggestion, saying it sets high standards with no concrete means to achieve them.

In addition to a pay raise, the teachers are asking for a formal apology for the physical harm caused by the police during the protests. They also want a meaningful dialogue with the government.

Two main reasons may explain the government’s unwillingness to give in to the strikers’ demands. First, the country, which already depends heavily on foreign aid, has suffered an economic downturn and is undergoing harsh IMF-backed austerity measures that are stretching the national budget. Second, it fears the potential effects on other public service sectors.

The strikers also face waning public support. As a case in point, members of the JTS appeared in a West Amman court on 19 September to defend a complaint against the strike filed by parents worried about the consequences on their children’s education.

Public backing continues to decline as negotiations with the government stall, with no end in sight for the 1.4 million students who have yet to start their school year.

For Tuqa Nusairat, deputy director of the Middle East Programs at the Atlantic Council, the teachers’ intransigence is understandable when one considers the poverty rates in the country, although asking for a 50 per cent pay increase may appear to some as unrealistic in the current economic context.

Public sector teachers receive between $550 and $700 a month, which is slightly above the poverty line established by the government in 2010 of $515 per month for a family of five. The authorities themselves are now questioning this threshold, given the economic changes observed in the intervening years.

According to a recent survey by the Arab Barometer, 71 per cent of the population considers the economy to be Jordan’s top challenge, and nearly 90 per cent of the respondents believe corruption is rampant in state institutions.

While protests in Jordan have been mounting in the last year around the issue of corruption and a widely decried income tax, none of them seriously threatened the monarchy. Discontent has nevertheless precipitated several government reshuffles in a bid to appease public uproar.

In an attempt to bring the current strike to an end, the government proposed on 28 September a salary increase of between 6-18 per cent. The JTS dismissed the proposal. In a statement, the syndicate’s deputy head Nasser al-Nawasrah declared that the solution was one-sided. “This is an authoritarian method. We donate these breadcrumbs to the government,” he said.

Jordan’s Administrative Court issued a ruling the next day asking for the strike to be halted after the syndicate refused the new offer.

According to some analysts, the ongoing social conflict is emblematic of increasing inequalities over the last 30 years.

In an op-ed for The Jordan Times, Fares Braizat, chairman of NAMA Strategic Intelligence Solutions, wrote, ‘Since the early 1990s, the conventional social contract has been changing and inequalities have been increasing despite the growth of the nation’s GDP to the highest levels since the inception of the kingdom. The inequalities are practically symbolized by the teachers’ strike today.’

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI | ©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.