فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين تتوصل لاتفاقٍ مع الحكومة لإنهاء الإضراب

نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين تتوصل لاتفاقٍ مع الحكومة لإنهاء الإضراب

Jordanian teachers
معلمون أردنيون يرددون شعارات أثناء احتجاج في عمان في 5 سبتمبر 2019. Photo: Khalil MAZRAAWI / AFP

في خضم الحماس الثوري الذي يجتاح العالم العربي، لم يتصدر الأردن عناوين الأخبار إلى حدٍ كبير، على الرغم من أن البلاد تمر بأطول إضرابٍ للقطاع العام في تاريخها الحديث، مما أدى إلى تعطيل الدراسة لأكثر من مليون ونصف طالب.

ففي 8 سبتمبر 2019، أضرب معظم المعلمين البالغ عددهم 87 ألف معلم في قطاع التعليم الحكومي، حيث تركزت مطالبهم حول انخفاض رواتبهم، إذ يكسب المعلمون في المتوسط 630 دولاراً شهرياً، وهو أعلى بقليل من خط الفقر الذي وضعته الحكومة في عام 2010 والمحدد بـ515 دولار لأسرة مكونة من خمسة أفراد.

فقد أعلنت نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين عن الإضراب بعد أن استخدمت السلطات الغاز المسيل للدموع لتفريق الآلاف من المعلمين الذين تجمعوا بالقرب من مقر الحكومة في 5 سبتمبر للاحتجاج على ظروف عملهم.

وبعد شهر، أي في 6 أكتوبر، توصلت الحكومة في نهاية المطاف إلى إتفاقٍ مع النقابة لإنهاء الإضراب. في السابق، كانت السلطات قد اتخذت خطوات قانونية ضد النقابة ذلك إن الأخيرة رفضت أول مقترحٍ لرفع رواتب المعلمين، الذي وصفته بـ”فتات الخبز.” ومع ذلك، كانت الحكومة تخشى من أن التوترات الاجتماعية المتزايدة ستعمق الأزمة السياسية.

لطالما كان ينظر إلى المملكة باعتبارها واحة استقرارٍ نسبي في منطقة مضطربة، بيد أنها شهدت تغيير سبع حكوماتٍ في السنوات الخمس الماضية. فعلى سبيل المثال، في الشهر الجاي فحسب، أي في 7 نوفمبر، أدى 11 وزيراً جديداً اليمين الدستورية، وهو التعديل الوزاري الرابع منذ عامين. تهدف هذه التغييرات إلى مواجهة الإحباط المتزايد من ارتفاع تكاليف المعيشة ونقص فرص العمل.

ووفقاً للمسؤولين، أمر الملك عبد الله الثاني الحكومة بالتوصل إلى اتفاقٍ فيما اعتبر بمثابة اختبارٍ لجهود رئيس الوزراء عمر الرزاز لتنفيذ إصلاحات صندوق النقد الدولي، التي تهدف إلى تقليص الدين العام للبلاد البالغ 40 مليار دولار.

وفي أعقاب الإتفاق، دعا ناصر النواصرة، نائب نقيب المعلمين، أعضاء النقابة البالغ عددهم 100 ألف معلم إلى استئناف التدريس في حوالي 4000 مدرسة حكومية تأثرت بالإضراب.

وبحسب صحيفة جوردان تايمز، تلقت نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين رسالة من الحكومة في 5 أكتوبر، الذي يُصادف اليوم العالمي للمعلمين. بالإضافة إلى الإشادة بعمل المعلمين، حيث أعرب رئيس الوزراء عن “أسف الحكومة لأي حدث انتقص من كرامة المعلمين، وتلتزم باستكمال التحقيق والأخذ بنتائجه وننتظر نتائج تقرير التحقق من المركز الوطني لحقوق الإنسان لاتخاذ الإجراءات المناسبة،” في إشارة إلى استخدام العنف خلال الاحتجاج في 5 سبتمبر.

من جهتها، تنفي مديرية الأمن العام مزاعم العنف، رغم أنها أكدت احتجاز 50 معلماً خلال المظاهرة.

ينبع تأخر الحكومة في التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ مع النقابة من قلقها بشأن سلسلة من ردود الفعل التي قد تمتد إلى موظفي القطاع العام الآخرين والتي من شأنها أن تعوق تنفيذ الإصلاحات الاقتصادية.

يقترح الإتفاق مع نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين، الذي أسماه النواصرة بـ”الإتفاق التاريخي،” رفع الأجور بنسبة 35-75% بحسب رتبة المعلم. وعليه، احتفل عشرات النشطاء من نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين بفوزهم أمام مقرهم في العاصمة عمّان.

على الرغم من حل الإضراب، إلا أنه كشف عن غضبٍ ضارب الجذور داخل المجتمع الأردني يتجاوز قطاع التعليم، إذ أنه حتى في المناطق الريفية بالمملكة أو المدن الأصغر، حيث يدعم السكان الملكية بشكلٍ تقليدي، احتج الناس على فشل الحكومات المتعاقبة في الوفاء بوعود النمو الاقتصادي وتحسين ظروف المعيشة. فقد ردد الإضراب مطالب مظاهرات 2018 واسعة النطاق ضد تدابير التقشف التي فرضها صندوق النقد الدولي والضرائب المرتفعة والفساد المستشري.

ووفقاً لقناة الجزيرة، ينظر الاقتصاديون والخبراء إلى الإضراب باعتباره دلالة على خيبة الأمل من عدم المساواة في القطاع العام المتضخم الناتج عن رغبة الحكومات المتعاقبة في تهدئة مخاوف السكان وضمان الاستقرار من خلال التعيينات الوظيفية الحكومية. وبحسب صندوق النقد الدولي، فإن الرواتب والمعاشات التقاعدية تستنزف اليوم جزءاً كبيراً من ميزانية البلاد، وبالتالي أصبح الأردن واحداً من أعلى دول العالم من حيث الإنفاق الحكومي مقارنةً باقتصاده.

وعلى الرغم من ارتفاع مستوى التعليم، يتمتع الأردن أيضاً بأحد أعلى معدلات بطالة الشباب في العالم، البالغة حوالي 40%. ووفقاً لوزير الدولة والمتحدث الرسمي باسم الحكومة جمانة غنيمات، يعدّ هذا “التحدي الأكبر الذي يواجه الأردن اليوم، وأصبح حجم القضية أكبر.”

على صعيدٍ متصل، يوضح مقال في صحيفة الجارديان أن للأردن أوجه تشابهٍ واختلافاتٍ مع جيرانه من الدول الغنية بالنفط. فمن ناحية، تفتقر البلاد إلى احتياطياتها من النفط وتعتمد بشكل رئيسي على الاستثمارات الدولية، التي انخفضت بشكل كبير في السنوات الماضية بسبب النزاعات في سوريا والعراق وكذلك وصول أكثر من مليون لاجىء إلى الأردن، مما يفرض ضغوطًا إضافية على الموارد والخدمات العامة.

ومن ناحية أخرى، تقبع المملكة رهينة لنفس النوع من العقد الاجتماعي كحال جيرانها المنتجين للنفط. فقد اعتمد الأردن منذ عقود على اتفاق ضمني مع السكان فيما وصف بأنه “صفقة استبدادية.” فأولئك الموجودون في السلطة يوفرون وظائف للسكان مقابل شكاوى أقل حول طرق ممارسة السلطة. ومع ذلك، يشهد هذا العقد الاجتماعي انقساماً في ظل الزيادة السكانية للشباب، مما أدى إلى زيادة في الطلب على الوظائف والخدمات في سياق الأزمة الاقتصادية.

في مقابلة مع صحيفة الجارديان، قال باتريك دارو، أحد كبار المتخصصين في الدول العربية في منظمة العمل الدولية، “القضية اليوم هي قضية إعادة تعريف للعقد الاجتماعي، وإعادة تحديد دور الدولة كضامن للعدالة الاجتماعية.”

كما تجدر الإشارة أيضاً إلى أنه في أعقاب الاتفاق بين نقابة المعلمين الأردنيين والحكومة، نظم 7000 موظف في الأونروا، وكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث اللاجئين الفلسطينيين، في الأردن إضراباً ليومٍ واحد في 3 نوفمبر للاحتجاج على انخفاض رواتبهم. تم التوصل إلى اتفاق في اليوم التالي بين وكالة الغوث واتحاد العاملين المحليين/ لجان الخدمات والعمال والمعلمين في وكالة الغوث -الأنوروا/الأردن، بما في ذلك أن تعكس الرواتب الزيادات الأخيرة لمعلمي المدارس الحكومية في الأردن. كما يتطلب الاتفاق من وكالة الغوث إجراء مسح فوري لتقييم كيف ستؤثر الزيادة الأخيرة في الأجور في الأردن على رواتب موظفي الأونروا.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن الأردن يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
اعترف مجلس عصبة الأمم بأن شرق الأردن دولة تحت إشراف بريطاني في الع...
وبينما لا يزال الأردن واحة هدوءٍ نسبي في المنطقة، إلا أن استقراره ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Khalil MAZRAAWI ©AFP | Khalil MAZRAAWI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Jordan / Past to Present / Jordan’s Teachers’ Union Reaches Deal with Government to End Strike

Jordan’s Teachers’ Union Reaches Deal with Government to End Strike

Jordanian teachers
Jordanian teachers chant slogans during a protest in Amman on September 5, 2019. Photo: Khalil MAZRAAWI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

Amid the revolutionary fervour sweeping the Arab world, Jordan has gone largely unnoticed. This is despite the country going through the longest public sector strike in its recent history, disrupting schooling for more than 1.5 million students.

On 8 September 2019, most of the 87,000 teachers from the public education sector went on strike, their demands centring around their low salaries. Teachers earn on average $630 a month, slightly above the  poverty line established by the government in 2010 of $515 for a family of five.

The Jordan Teachers’ Syndicate (JTS) announced the strike after the authorities used tear gas to disperse thousands of teachers who had gathered near the government headquarters on 5 September to protest against their working conditions.

A month later, on 6 October, the government eventually reached a pay deal with the union to end the strike. Previously, the authorities had taken legal steps against the JTS as the latter refused the first pay raise proposal, calling it ‘bread crumbs’. However, the government feared that increased social tensions would deepen the political crisis.

The kingdom has long been perceived as an island of relative stability in a volatile region, but it has seen seven governments come and go in the past five years. Just this month, on 7 November, 11 new ministers were sworn in, marking the fourth cabinet reshuffle in two years. The changes are aimed at countering growing frustration over the high cost of living and lack of job opportunities.

According to officials, King Abdullah ordered the government to reach a deal in what has been perceived as a test for Prime Minister Omar al-Razzaz’s efforts to implement the International Monetary Fund (IMF) reforms aimed at bringing down the country’s $40 billion public debt.

Following the agreement, Nasser al-Nawasrah, deputy head of the JTS, called on his organization’s 100,000 members to resume teaching in around 4,000 state schools that had been affected by the strike.

According to the  Jordan Times, the JTS received a letter from the government on 5 October, World Teachers’ Day. In addition to praising the work of teachers, the prime minister expressed the cabinet’s ‘regret for any act that might have affected the teachers’ dignity, pledging to take action once the results of the investigation and the National Centre for Human Rights report are out’, a reference to the use of violence during the protest on 5 September.

The Public Security Department denies the allegations of violence, although it confirmed the detention of 50 teachers during the demonstration.

The government’s delay in reaching a deal stemmed from its concern about a chain reaction spreading to other public sector employees that would torpedo the implementation of economic reforms.

In what al-Nawasrah called a “historical agreement”, the new deal with the syndicate proposes a wage hike of 35-75 per cent depending on a teacher’s rank. Dozens of activists from the JTS celebrated their victory in front of their headquarters in the capital Amman.

Although the strike appears to be resolved, it revealed deep-rooted anger within Jordanian society that goes far beyond the education sector. Even in the kingdom’s rural areas or smaller cities, where the population is traditionally supportive of the monarchy, people protested against the successive governments’ failure to deliver on promises of economic growth and better living conditions. The strike echoed 2018’s widespread demonstrations against IMF austerity measures, high taxes and endemic corruption.

According to al-Jazeera, economists and experts perceived the strike as a sign of disenchantment with inequalities in an inflated public sector resulting from successive governments’ desire to assuage the population’s concerns and ensure stability through state job appointments. According to the IMF, salaries and pensions now absorb much of Jordan’s budget, resulting in the country having one of the world’s highest state expenditures relative to its economy.

Despite a high level of education, Jordan also has one of the highest youth unemployment rates in the world, at around 40 per cent.  According to the state minister and government spokesperson Joumana Ghunaimat, “It is the biggest challenge facing Jordan today, and the size of the issue has gotten bigger.”

An article in The Guardian newspaper outlines that Jordan shares differences and similarities with its oil-rich neighbours. On the one hand, it lacks their reserves and mainly relies on international investments, which have drastically decreased in the past years given the conflicts in Syria and Iraq as well as the arrival in Jordan of more than 1 million refugees, putting additional strain on public resources and services.

On the other hand, the kingdom is hostage to the same type of social contract as its oil-producing neighbours. Jordan has relied for decades on a tacit agreement with the population in what has been described as an ‘authoritarian bargain’. Those in power provide jobs to the population in exchange for fewer claims around their ways of exerting power. However, this social contract is splintering with the surge in the youth demographic, leading to an increase in the demand for jobs and services in a context of economic crisis.

In an interview with The Guardian, Patrick Daru, a senior specialist in Arab states at the International Labour Organization, stated, “It is now a question of redefining the social contract, redefining the role of the state as a guarantor of social justice.”

It should also be noted that in the wake of the agreement between the JTS and the government, 7,000 employees of UNWRA, the United Nations agency for Palestinian refugees, in Jordan held a one-day strike on 3 November to protest against their low pay. An agreement was reached the following day between the agency and the UNRWA Jordan Field Staff Union, including that salaries reflect recent increases for public school teachers in Jordan. The agreement also requires the agency to conduct an immediate survey to evaluate how the recent wage increase in Jordan will affect salaries in UNRWA.


Further Reading

The modern state of Jordan derives its name from the River Jordan (Nahr al-Urdunn). In Arabic, urdunn means 'descender'....
In 1922, the League of Nations recognized the British dominance on the East of Jordan. In 1946, the United Nations recog...
So while Jordan remains an island of relative calm in the region, its fragile stability could be shattered by a number o...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI | ©AFP ⁃ Khalil MAZRAAWI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.