فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأردن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الربيع العربي

الربيع العربي

Arab spring in Jordan
الربيع العربي في الأردن. Photo: Flickr / Charles Roffey

لم يكن الأردن في مأمن من موجة الاضطرابات المؤيدة للديمقراطية التي اجتاحت العالم العربي ابتداءً من مطلع العام 2011. ونشط في حركة الاحتجاج بشكل خاص، والتي بدأت في منتصف كانون الثاني/يناير عام 2011، جبهة العمل الإسلامي (الجناح السياسي للإخوان المسلمين الأردنيين) والاتحادات العمالية واليساريون والقوميون. وكان أسلوب المحتجين التجمع يوم الجمعة بعد الصلاة في المساجد. وفي الغالب، تمت مواجهة المتظاهرين باحتجاجات مضادة من قبل مؤيدي النظام. كانت عمان مركز النشاط الرئيسي، كما اندلعت الاحتجاجات في مناطق أخرى من المملكة. وكانت مطالب المتظاهرين مزيجاً من الإصلاحات السياسية وإجراءات للحدّ من البطالة ووقف الارتفاع السريع في تكاليف المعيشة والتصدي للفساد.

كان الطلب المبكر إقالة حكومة سمير الرفاعي الذي تم تعيينه رئيساً للوزراء في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 2009. استجاب الملك في 1 شباط/فبراير بإقالة الرفاعي وتعيين معروف البخيت مكانه، وهو ضابط متقاعد في الجيش كان قد شغل منصب رئيس الوزراء في 2005-2007. ومع أن البخيت كُلّف بتنفيذ إصلاحات سياسية واجتماعية، إلا أن تعيينه فشل في قمع الاضطرابات. وانطلقت إحدى أكبر المظاهرات، حوالي عشرة آلاف متظاهر، في عمان في 25 شباط/فبراير. وفي الشهر التالي، أقام 500 متظاهر مخيماً دائماً في ساحة جمال عبد الناصر، المحور الرئيسي لحركة المرور في عمان. وفي 25 آذار/مارس كانت الساحة مسرحاً لاشتباكات عنيفة بين المتظاهرين ومؤيدي الحكومة، حيث لقي شخص واحد حتفه وأصيب نحو مئة شخص بجروح. كما وقعت مصادمات عنيفة أخرى في 15 تموز/يوليو، عندما تدخلت الشرطة بهراوات لوقف الاشتباكات بين المؤيدين والمناهضين للحكومة في وسط عمان. وأصيب ما لا يقل عن 17 شخصاً بجروح، ثمانية منهم من الصحفيين، مما عزز المزاعم بأن الشرطة تعمدت استهداف الصحفيين. وبعد يوم، تم إعلان القبض على أربعة من ضباط الشرطة.

في نيسان/أبريل عام 2011، عيّن الملك لجنة من كبار رجال الدولة، اللجنة الملكية لمراجعة الدستور، لتحضير برنامج إصلاح. وفي 14 آب/أغسطس، قدّمت اللجنة قائمة من 42 اقتراحاً من شأنها تعزيز سلطة مجلس الأمة بشكل طفيف، والتقليل من نفوذ الملك، وتعزيز الحريات المدنية. رحّب الملك بالمقترحات. ومع ذلك أصرّ النقاد على أن الإصلاحات لم تذهب بعيداً بما فيه الكفاية، وخصوصاً أنها لم تفعل شيئاً لإضعاف مؤسسة الأمن القوية في المملكة.

في حين قوبلت الإصلاحات التي تمت الموافقة عليها في تموز/ يوليو 2012 (قانون الانتخابات الجديد) وأيلول/سبتمبر 2012 جزئياً بمطالب المحتجين، إلا أن الاحتجاجات استمرت في جميع أنحاء البلاد. وبينما قام النظام يتأطير إصلاحاته في عملية نحو نظام أكثر ديمقراطية، إلا أن الإصلاحات لم تذهب بعيداً بما فيه الكفاية في نظر المعارضة.

حدث تغير كبير في الأجواء العامة في الأردن بعد أن أعلن رئيس الوزراء الجديد عبد الله النسور عن رفع الدعم عن سلع أساسية مثل الوقود والغاز، مما أدى إلى ارتفاع الأسعار التي من شأنها أن تؤثر على الفقراء بشكل خاص.

Photo HH / The New York Times / اشتباك الشرطة الأردنية مع متظاهرين خلال مظاهرة بعد صلاة الجمعة ضد تباطؤ عملية الإصلاح السياسي في عهد الملك عبد الله الثاني
اشتباك الشرطة الأردنية مع متظاهرين خلال مظاهرة بعد صلاة الجمعة ضد تباطؤ عملية الإصلاح السياسي في عهد الملك عبد الله الثاني Photo HH/The New York Times

مباشرة بعد هذا الإعلان، اندلعت احتجاجات واسعة في جميع أنحاء الأردن، أهمها مظاهرات حاشدة في عمان. وللمرة الأولى، انتقد المحتجون الملك بشكل علني ودعا البعض إلى الإطاحة به. قوبلت الاحتجاجات بالعنف من قبل شرطة مكافحة الشغب، بينما سدّ المتظاهرون الطرق وأشعلوا النار في المباني الحكومية. ألقي القبض على المئات وأحيل 107 شخصاً على الأقل إلى محاكم أمن الدولة، بينهم 9 أطفال، بتهم تشمل “تقويض نظام الحكم” و “المشاركة في تجمعات غير قانونية”، وفق هيومن رايتس ووتش. وبعد بضعة أيام، هدأت الاحتجاجات، دون أن تؤدي إلى أي تغيير. ورفض رئيس الوزراء نوري النسور إلغاء رفع الدعم؛ لم يكن لديه الخيار للقيام بذلك مقابل قرض قيمته 2,1 مليار دولار، الأمر الذي يتطلب تدابير تقشفية وتخفيض الدعم. ونتيجة لذلك، فإن النظام أقل قدرة بشكل متزايد على الاستمرار بشراء دعم الموالين له، أي أردنيي الضفة الشرقية.

اعتبرت نتائج انتخابات 23 كانون الثاني/يناير 2013، التي قاطعها الإخوان المسلمون وجناحها السياسي جبهة العمل الإسلامي، فوزاً للنظام. فبالإضافة إلى الإقبال الواسع نسبياً (56,5%)، فاز المرشحون الموالون للحكومة مرة أخرى بأغلبية المقاعد. ولكن مع قانون انتخابات مستمر في تخييب آمال المعارضة، لم يتم تعزيز دور الأحزاب السياسية ومرشحي المعارضة. وهذا يناقض هدف الملك المعلن المتمثل في الانتقال نحو حكومة برلمانية.

وسط احتجاجات مستمرة للمطالبة بإصلاحات ذات معنى أكثر، فضّل النظام الأردني الاستمرارية والقمع على الإصلاحات التي طالبت بها المعارضة. وفي ذات الوقت، يتعرض الملك عبد الله، حليف الولايات المتحدة الرئيسي في المنطقة، إلى ضغوط من الولايات المتحدة للحفاظ على الوضع الراهن؛ إذ تعتبر حكومة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الأردن منطقة آمنة داخل منطقة اضطرابات. ومن شأن أي زيادة لدور المعارضة الأردنية (حيث الإسلاميون هم الأكثر تنظيماً) أن يعرض معاهدة السلام بين الأردن وإسرائيل والتعاون التاريخي مع الجيش الأمريكي للخطر. في نيسان/أبريل 2013، أرسلت حكومة الولايات المتحدة 200 من المخططين العسكريين إلى الأردن لمنع امتداد العنف إلى الأردن. رفضت المعارضة الأردنية تواجد قوات أمريكية وانتقدت موقف الحكومة الأردنية تجاه الولايات المتحدة. وتخشى المعارضة أن تستخدم الأردن كمنصة لتدخل الولايات المتحدة ضد سوريا. وأخيراً، يسلط العبء الثقيل من العدد المتزايد للاجئين السوريين في الأردن الضوء على الاعتماد المالي على المساعدات الخارجية: تعهّد الرئيس الأمريكي باراك أوباما بمبلغ إضافي قدره 200 مليون دولار على شكل مساعدات للحكومة الأردنية. واعتباراً من أيار/مايو 2013، كانت UNHCR قد سجلت 399,765 لاجئ سوري في الأردن.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن الأردن يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
اعترف مجلس عصبة الأمم بأن شرق الأردن دولة تحت إشراف بريطاني في الع...
الأردن من بلدان الشريحة العليا من فئة الدخل المتوسط، إذ تشتمل صنا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Charles Roffey ©Flickr | ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Jordan / Past to Present / The Arab Spring

The Arab Spring

Arab spring in Jordan
Arab spring in Jordan. Photo: Flickr / Charles Roffey

Jordan has not been immune from the wave of pro-democracy agitation that swept the Arab world beginning in early 2011. Particularly active in the protest movement, which started in mid-January 2011, have been the Islamic Action Front (IAF, the political wing of the Jordanian Muslim Brotherhood), the trade unions, and leftist and Arab nationalist groups. The pattern has been for protesters to gather on Fridays, after attending mosques. Often, the demonstrators have been confronted by counter-protests by regime supporters. Amman has been the major focus, but protests have also been staged elsewhere in the kingdom. The demonstrators’ demands have been a combination of political reforms and measures to reduce unemployment, stem rapid rises in living costs, and tackle corruption.

An early demand was the sacking of the government of Samir Rifai, who had been appointed premier in December 2009. The King responded on 1 February 2011 by dismissing Rifai and appointing in his place Marouf al-Bakhit, a retired army officer who had served as Prime Minister in 2005-2007. Although al-Bakhit was charged with carrying out political and social reforms, his appointment failed to quell the unrest. One of the largest demonstrations, involving up to ten thousand people, was mounted in Amman on 25 February 2011. The following month five hundred protesters set up a permanent camp in Gamal Abdel Nasser Circle, a major traffic hub in Amman. On 25 March the roundabout was the scene of violent clashes between protesters and government supporters, in which one person died and about a hundred were injured. Another particularly violent clash occurred on 15 July, when baton-wielding police intervened to stop clashes between pro- and anti-government demonstrators in central Amman. At least seventeen people were injured, nine of them journalists, prompting allegations that the police had deliberately targeted reporters. A day later, it was announced that four police officers had been arrested.

Police and protesters clash at a demonstration targeting the slow pace of political reforms under King Abdullah II / Photo HH/ The New York Times
Police and protesters clash at a demonstration targeting the slow pace of political reforms under King Abdullah II / Photo HH/ The New York Times

In April 2011 the King appointed a panel of elder statesmen, the Royal Committee on Constitutional Review, to prepare a reform program. On 14 August they submitted a list of 42 proposals that would marginally strengthen Parliament, restrain the monarch’s influence, and enhance civil liberties. The proposals were welcomed by the King. Critics, however, insisted that the reforms did not go far enough, especially because they did nothing to weaken the kingdom’s powerful security establishment.

While the reforms that were approved in July 2012 (the new electoral law) and September 2012 partially met the demands of protesters, protests continued throughout the country. While the regime framed its reforms in a process towards a more democratic system, reforms did not go far enough in the eyes of the opposition.

A significant change of mood in Jordan occurred after the new Prime Minister Abdullah al-Nsour announced the removal of subsidies on commodities like fuel and gas, resulting in prices hikes that would affect the already impoverished part of the population. Immediately after the announcement, vast protests throughout Jordan erupted, chief among which mass rallies held in Amman. For the first time, protesters openly criticized the King and some called for his overthrow. Protests were met by violence used by riot police, while protesters blocked roads and set fire to government buildings. Hundreds were arrested and at least 107, including 9 children, were referred to state security courts on charges including ‘subverting the system of government’ and ‘participation in unlawful gatherings’, according to Human Rights Watch. After a few days, protests subsided, without leading to any change. Prime Minister al-Nsour has refused to cancel the removal of subsidies; he had no option to do so, in the face of a USD 2.1 billion loan, which requires austerity measures and subsidy cuts. As a result, the regime is increasingly less able to maintain its system of buying support of loyalists, i.e. East Bankers.

The outcome of the elections of 23 January 2013, boycotted by the Muslim Brotherhood and its political wing Islamic Action Front (IAF), was framed as a victory for the regime. In addition to a relatively high turnout (56.5 percent), pro-government candidates again won the majority of seats. However, with an electoral law that continued to disappoint the opposition, the role of political parties and opposition candidates was not strengthened. This is in contrast to the King’s stated aim of moving towards a parliamentary government.

Amid continuing protests for more meaningful reforms, the Jordanian regime has favoured continuity and repression over reforms demanded by the opposition. At the same time, King Abdullah, a major US ally in the region, is under pressure from the United States to preserve the status quo; the US government regards Jordan a safe zone within a region of unrest. Any increased role for the Jordanian opposition (of which the Islamists are most organized) would jeopardize Jordan’s peace treaty with Israel and its historic cooperation with the US military. April 2013, the US government sent 200 army planners to Jordan to prevent a spillover of violence into Jordan. The opposition in Jordan has rejected the presence of US troops and criticized the position of the Jordanian government towards the United States. They fear that Jordan might be used as platform for a US intervention against Syria. Finally, the heavy burden of the growing number of Syrian refugees in Jordan highlights the financial dependence on foreign aid: US President Barack Obama pledged an additional 200 million USD in aid to the Jordanian government. As of May 2013, UNHCR had registered 399,765 Syrian refugees in Jordan.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Jordan country file provides a comprehensive overview about Jordan, its history, politics, culture, economy a...
In 1922, the League of Nations recognized the British dominance on the East of Jordan. In 1946, the United Nations recog...
Jordan is an upper-middle-income country. Its major industries include mining, textiles and clothing production, and tou...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Charles Roffey ©Flickr | ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update