فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأكراد / مسعود البارزاني: إيكاروس الكردي

مسعود البارزاني: إيكاروس الكردي

Specials- Masoud Barzani
مسعود البارزاني. Photo AFP ©AFP

تنحي مسعود البارزاني من منصبه كرئيسٍ لحكومة إقليم كردستان في 29 أكتوبر 2017، حيث أنهى فترة حكمه التي استمرت 12 عاماً في السلطة، بعد حملةٍ كارثية لاستقلال الأكراد. فقد جسد الزعيم الكردي، الأكثر شهرةً خارج السجن، النضال الكردي لإقامة دولةٍ خاصةٍ بهم، والأعمال غير المشروعة وعدم الكفاءة التي فرضت الحكم الذاتي الكردي في العراق.

لطالما كان مقدراً للبارزاني قيادة كردستان، قادماً من عشيرة البارزاني ذات الثقل والتي تولت السلطة في أوائل القرن التاسع عشر. ومنذ قرون، قادت العشائر المجتمع الكردستاني من خلال النظام الاقطاعي، وبصفته نجل الزعيم الكردي الأسطوري الملا مصطفى البارزاني، كانت الطريق ممهدة أمام مسعود لقيادة الإقليم يوماً ما.

لم تقتصر قيادة كردستان بالضرورة بالجزء من الإقليم المحصور في شمال العراق. وتعدّ أصوله علامة واضحة على ذلك، فقد ولد في مهاباد التي تتبع حالياً لجمهورية إيران. وكان والده مصطفى البارزاني قائد القوات العسكرية في جمهورية مهاباد الكردية التي لم تدم طويلاً، إذ كانت دُويلة قصيرة مدعومة سوفيتيياً كجمهورية كردية. ولد مسعود هناك في 16 أغسطس عام 1946، والذي يُصادف أيضاً ذات اليوم الذي تأسس فيه الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني بقيادة عشيرة البارزاني. ولا يكشف التاريخ ما إذا رتب مصطفى لتزامن التواريخ أم أنّ الأمر مجرد مصادفة.

كان مصطفى زعيم ومحارب ألهم الأكراد في جميع أنحاء كردستان، واضطر إلى مغادرة مهاباد بعد انهيار الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني في أقل من سنة بعد تأسيسه. وجد له ملاذاً آمناً في الاتحاد السوفياتي بالرغم من عدم اصطحابه لزوجته وأطفاله الذين عادوا أدراجهم إلى العراق. تمكن مصطفى البارزاني من العودة إلى العراق بعد إثني عشر عاماً أي في عام 1958، بعد الإطاحة بالنظام الملكي العراقي وإعلان الجمهورية. ومع ذلك، استمر قمع الأكراد وبدأ مصطفى انتفاضةً ضد النظام في بغداد في عام 1961.

استمرت هذه الانتفاضة حتى عام 1975 عندما هزم الجيش العراقي مصطفى. كان مسعود آنذاك شاباً مقاتلاً في قوات البيشمركة الكردية التي انضم إلى صفوفها في سن السادسة عشرة، واضعاً حداً لمسيرته التعليمية. وفيما بعد، استقال مصطفى من رئاسة الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني ليحل مسعود محله بعمر الـ33. توفي مصطفى البارزاني في المنفي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عام 1979.

شكلت هزيمة مصطفى نقطة تحوّل للأكراد. ولربما لا يُعتبر جميع الأكراد من أنصار الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني، إلا أنّ نهج المقاومة الذي اتبعه مصطفى طوال حياته والكفاح المسلح ضد العديد من الأنظمة القمعية يعدّ مصدر إلهامٍ كبير بالنسبة لهم. وبالمثل، كانت هزيمته بمثابة صدمة كبيرة، حيث خلقت فراغاً في قيادة الأكراد. لم يكن مسعود آنذاك معداً بعد ليصبح زعيماً، وبدأ الأكراد، وبخاصة في تركيا التشكيك في استراتيجيات عشيرة البارزاني والنظام الاقطاعي الذي انبثقت منه.

الفصائل المنافسة

Kurds- Jalal Talabani
جلال طالباني (يسار) ومسعود البارزاني بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية, صلاح الدين, 22 مايو/أيار 1992. Photo AP

برز منافسٌ آخر لعشيرة البارزاني داخل العراق، عشيرة طالباني، بقيادة جلال طالباني. وسرعان ما نمى حزب طالباني، الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني، ضارباً جذوره في الأرض، ليبدأ فصلاً جديداً من فصول التنافس بين الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني الذي سرعان ما تحول إلى صراعٍ عنيف تخلله مؤامرات وجرائم قتلٍ متبادلة بين الطرفين.

وفي نهاية المطاف، ساعدت التطورات الداخلية في العراق على رأب الصدع بين الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني، وبالأخص، حرب الخليج الأولى (1991)، التي منحت الأكراد ما سعوا خلفه لعقود، وما حارب من أجله مصطفى البارزاني باستمرار: الحكم الذاتي الفعلي. ففي عام 1992، أجريت الانتخابات الرئاسية، إذ كانت نتائج السباق الرئاسي بين جلال طالباني ومسعود البارزاني متقاربة للغاية بحيث قرر الزعيمان تشكيل مجلسٍ رئاسي مشترك. بيد أن هذه الصداقة السياسية لم تدم طويلاً، واندلعت الحرب في عام 1994 بين الطرفين المتناحرين واستمرت حتى 1998.

فقد كان البارزاني بطل أحد أكثر اللحظات المُشينة في الحرب عندما دعا قوات صدام حسين لإخراج الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني من إربيل، عاصمة كردستان العراق. أشعل هذا التوترات بين الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والولايات المتحدة، التي أقامت منطقة حظرٍ جوي فوق المنطقة.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، تم تقسيم كردستان العراق بين منطقة يسيطرعليها الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني في الجنوب، في جميع أنحاء السليمانية، في حين يُسيطر الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني على المنطقة الشمالية حول إربيل. كما يمتلك كل من الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني والحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني قواتٍ مقاتلة خاصة به، البيشمركة، على الرغم من أن المعركة الأخيرة ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” قد أقنعت وزارة الدفاع محاولة توحيد كلا القوتين من البيشمركة تحت قيادةٍ واحدة.

وبعد الغزو الأمريكي للعراق عام 2003، منح الدستور العراقي الجديد لعام 2005 منطقة كردستان الحكم الذاتي رسمياً. عُقدت الانتخابات الرئاسية مجدداً، وهذه المرة، فاز مسعود البارزاني وهو بعمر الـ59. جاء انتخابه كجزءٍ من الاتفاق بين الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني (الذي عيّن رئيسه جلال طالباني رئيساً للعراق عام 2005) والحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني، حيث قرر الأخير الانضمام إلى القوات مرة أخرى عام 2002. وفي عام 2009، انتخب البارزاني لولايةٍ ثانية مدتها أربع سنوات، حيث حصد ما نسبته 70% من الأصوات.

تحت ولاية مسعود البارزاني بات إقليم كردستان مستقر سياسياً، سيما بالمقارنة مع الوضع المضطرب والعنيف في أرجاء العراق. فضلاً عن ذلك، ازدهر إقليم كردستان اقتصادياً، ويعود الفضل في ذلك إلى مسعود البارزاني الذي وجد حليفاً له في جارة العراق الشمالية، تركيا، حيث أصبح مسعود البارزاني صديقاً مقرّباً للرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان.

يعتبر التحالف الاستراتيجي بين تركيا وإقليم كردستان ذو أهمية سياسية واقتصادية على حد سواء بالنسبة لمسعود البارزاني. فمنذ الثمانينيات، هُز عرش مسعود من قِبل عبد الله أوجلان، زعيم حزب العمال الكردستاني التركي. تعتبر هذه المنافسة أيديولوجية أيضاً، إذ أنّ حزب العمال الكردستاني له جذور ماركسية ولا يحارب فقط نظام الدولة التركية وإنما الهياكل الإقطاعية في المجتمع الكردي، ومنها قيادة عشيرة البارزاني كمثالٍ بارز. ومع ذلك، ومع تنحي البارزاني، فمن غير الواضح بعد ما إذا كانت رئاسته ستنتهي بالفعل هذا العام.

وفي عام 2013، مدد الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني وحزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي فترة ولايته لمدة عامين ومرةً أخرى في عام 2015، متجاوزاً الدستور العراقي. وقد شكل تهديد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” سبباً لعدم الإخلال بالوضع السياسي الواقع. بيد أن النقاد يُشيرون إلى أن هذا مجرد مثالٍ آخر على انعدام الديمقراطية في ظل تحالف الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني – وحزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي والسلالات الحاكمة الأسرية التي تحكم المنطقة.

وفي حين استحوذت المعركة ضد تنظيم الدولة “داعش” على الاهتمام الدولي، نال البارزاني والبيشمركة الاستحسان من الغرب، بالرغم من تنامي التوترات داخل حكومة إقليم كردستان. وعندما تدخلت قوات البيشمركة للدفاع عن إربيل من تنظيم الدولة في عام 2014، بعد فرار القوات العراقية، وضعوا حدوداً لدولةٍ كردية جديدة، لتمتد الأراضي الكردية إلى مناطق مثل كركوك الغنية بالنفط التي لطالما كانت أعين الأكراد تتجه إليها. وبعيداً عن بغداد، تمكن القادة الأكراد من التمتع بحكمٍ ذاتي حقيقي، بل قاموا بتصدير نفطهم الخاص والتفاوض على المساعدات العسكرية من الخارج. وأثناء أوج الحكم الكردي الذاتي، تم الإحتفال ببارزاني على مستوى العالم، بالرغم من أن سوء إدارته في دياره باتت أكثر وضوحاً.

طموحٌ قاتل

في عام 2016، أعلن البارزاني أنه سيتنحى بمجرد حصول الأكراد على دولةٍ خاصةٍ بهم. وبعد النجاح الباهر الذي حققه في أعقاب هزيمة تنظيم الدولة “داعش” في المدن العراقية، اتخذ أولى الخطوات في عام 2017. فقد دعا إلى إجراء الاستفتاء الذي كان يأمل بأن يمهد الطريق أمام إقامة دولةٍ مستقلة، حيث عمد إلى تعزيز الخطاب المؤيد للأكراد في الداخل، مما أثار غضب جيرانه القلقين بالإضافة إلى حلفائه منذ فترةٍ طويلة. ومع مواصلته التصويت ونيله فوزاً ساحقاً في استطلاعات الرأي، سرعان ما جاء القصاص. فقد أدى طموحه بالنيابة عن الشعب الكردي في نهاية المطاف إلى سقوطه، حيث بات المشروع الكردي في أسوأ حالته منذ سنوات.

وفي خطاب استقالته، وجه انتقاداتٍ لكلٍ من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وخصومه الأكراد الذين ألقى باللائمة عليهم لخسارتهم مدينة كركوك الاستراتيجية لصالح العراق في أكتوبر 2017. ومع ذلك، سيُلقي التاريخ بالمسؤولية، بكل تأكيد، لمثل هذه الاضطرابات التي ألمت بالحظوظ الكردية على البارزاني نفسه.

ففي مغامرةٍ تراجعت بشكلٍ كبير، أعاد التصويت على استقلال كردستان، على الرغم من شعبيته الكبيرة في المناطق التي يُسيطر عليها حزب البارزاني- الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني ومعظم الأراضي العرقية الكردية، حكومة إقليم كردستان إلى عام 2011. ومع تقليص أراضيهم ومكانتهم الدولية بشكلٍ صريح، يواجه الأكراد اليوم معركةً عسيرة في سعيهم لإقامة دولتهم. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، لا يزال مؤيدوا الرجل الذي يبلغ من العمر 71 عاماً يميلون إلى التحدي. فأثناء مناقشة البرلمان قراره بالتنحي، اقتحم مسلحون موالون للبارزاني المبنى عنوةً للاحتجاج على قراره.

واليوم، يبدو أن الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وتركيا تسعيان نحو تنصيب ابن أخيه، نيجيرفان بارزاني، لتولي المسؤولية خلفاً له. ففي نهاية المطاف، لربما لم تنجح مغامرة البارزاني من أجل الاستقلال، ولكن مع قرار بقاء القيادة الكردية في أيدي أسرته، سيكون اسم البارزاني في قلب السياسة الكردية لسنواتٍ قادمة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / The Kurds / Masoud Barzani: The Kurdish Icarus

Masoud Barzani: The Kurdish Icarus

Specials- Masoud Barzani
Masoud Barzani. Photo AFP

Masoud Barzani stepped down as president of the Kurdish Regional Government (KRG) on 29 October 2017, ending his 12-year hold on power after a disastrous push for Kurdish independence. The most famous living Kurdish leader outside of jail, he has come to embody the Kurdish struggle for their own state and the malfeasance and incompetence that has dogged Kurdish self-rule in Iraq.

Barzani was always destined to lead Kurdistan. A member of the influential Barzani clan, which rose to power in the 1800s in Kurdish society’s feudal system, and the son of the legendary Kurdish leader Mullah Mustafa Barzani, the groundwork was laid for Masoud himself to lead one day.

Yet leading Kurdistan was not necessarily limited to the Kurdistan Region that lies in northern Iraq. His origins are a clear sign of that: he was born in Mahabad, in present-day  Iran, where his father headed the military forces of the short-lived Kurdish Republic of Mahabad, a satellite state of the Soviet Union. Barzani was born there on 16 August 1946, which is also the day the KDP, the Barzani’s party, was founded. It is unclear whether Mustafa arranged to have the dates coincide.

Mustafa inspired Kurds throughout Kurdistan. He was forced to leave Mahabad after the KDP collapsed less than a year after its foundation. He found refuge in the Soviet Union, although without his wife and children, who returned to Iraq. It would be 12 years before he was able to follow them in 1958, after the  Iraqi monarchy was overthrown and replaced by a republic. The suppression of the Kurds continued, however, and Mustafa began an uprising against the regime in Baghdad in 1961.

This uprising lasted until 1975, when Mustafa was defeated by the Iraqi army. At the time, young Masoud was a fighter in the Kurdish Peshmerga forces, which he joined at age 16, putting an end to his education. Mustafa resigned as head of the KDP, to be replaced by Masoud at age 33. Mustafa died in exile in the United States (US) in 1979.

Mustafa’s defeat was a turning point for the Kurds. Although they may not all have been KDP supporters, Mustafa’s life-long resistance and armed struggle against several oppressive regimes had been a great inspiration to them. His defeat was likewise a great shock; it created a void in the Kurdish leadership. Masoud was not yet an established leader, and Kurds, especially in Turkey, began to question the strategies of the Barzani clan and the feudal system from which the clan had emerged.

Rival Factions

Kurds- Jalal Talabani
Jalal Talabani (left) and Massoud Barzani clasp hands in a sign of unity in the wake of the presidential elections, Salahudin, 22 May 1992. Photo AP

The leadership of the Barzani clan was also challenged inside Iraq by another clan, the Talabanis, which was led by Jalal Talabani. His party, the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK), gained support, and the rivalry between the KDP and the PUK soon turned violent, with conspiracies and reciprocal murders.

Internal developments in Iraq eventually helped to heal the rift, notably the First Gulf War (1991), which brought the Kurds what they had wanted for decades and what Mustafa Barzani had fought for so relentlessly: de facto  autonomy. Presidential elections were held in 1992. The results of the race between Jalal Talabani and Masoud Barzani were so close that the two leaders decided to form a joint presidential council. The political friendship did not last long, however, and war broke out in 1994 between the rivals and lasted until 1998.

Barzani instigated one of the war’s more infamous moments when he invited Saddam Hussein’s troops to drive the PUK from Erbil, the capital of Iraqi Kurdistan. This caused tensions between the KDP and the US, which had established a no-fly zone over the region.

Ever since, Iraqi Kurdistan has been divided between a PUK-controlled area in the south, around Sulaymaniyah, and a KDP-controlled northern region around Erbil. Both the PUK and the KDP have their own armed forces, the Peshmerga, although the recent fight against Islamic State (IS) has convinced the Defence Ministry to try to unite the two Peshmerga forces under one command.

After the American invasion of Iraq in 2003, the new Iraqi constitution of 2005 officially made Iraqi Kurdistan autonomous. Presidential elections were held again and this time Barzani won, at the age of 59. His election was a sort of deal between the PUK (whose leader Talabani was appointed president of Iraq in 2005) and the KDP, which had decided to join forces again in 2002. Barzani was elected to a second term of four years in 2009, with 70 per cent of the vote.

Under Barzani’s leadership, Kurdistan has been politically stable, especially when compared to the troubled and violent situation in the rest of Iraq. The region has also prospered economically, not least because Barzani found an ally in Iraq’s northern neighbour, Turkey. Barzani has become personal friends with the Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan.

The strategic alliance between Turkey and Kurdistan has been politically and economically important for Barzani. Since the 1980s, his position has been challenged by Abdullah Öcalan, leader of the Turkish Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK). The rivalry is also ideological: the PKK has Marxist roots and fights not only the Turkish state system but also the feudal structures in Kurdish society, of which Barzani’s position is an outstanding example. Yet while Barzani has stepped down, it is unclear whether his presidency will actually end this year.

In 2013, the PUK and KDP extended his term for two years and again in 2015, bypassing Iraq’s constitution. The threat posed by ISIS was given as a reason not to upset the political status quo. However, critics say this is just another example of the lack of democracy under the PUK-KDP alliance and the family dynasties that rule the region.

While the battle against ISIS captivated international attention, Barzani and his Peshmerga won plaudits from the West, even as tensions brewed in the KRG. When Peshmerga troops stepped in to defend Erbil from ISIS in 2014, after Iraqi troops fled, they laid the borders for a new Kurdish state, extending the Kurdish territory into areas like oil-rich Kirkuk that they had long coveted. Free from Baghdad, the Kurdish leaders were able to introduce real self-rule, even exporting their own oil and negotiating military aid from abroad. Through this zenith of Kurdish autonomy, Barzani was feted globally, even as his mismanagement at home became more evident.

Fatal Ambition

In 2016, Barzani announced that once the Kurds had their own state he would step down. Riding high after the defeat of IS in Iraq’s cities, he made his move in 2017. Calling a referendum that he hoped would pave the way for an independent state, he ramped up pro-Kurdish rhetoric at home, incurring the wrath of nervous neighbours as well as long-term allies. While he went ahead with the vote and won a landslide victory at the polls, retribution soon followed. His ambition on behalf of the Kurdish people has ultimately led to his downfall, with the Kurdish project in its worst position for years.

In his resignation speech, he made parting criticisms of both the US and his Kurdish opponents whom he blamed for the loss of the strategic city of Kirkuk to Iraq in October 2017. However, history will surely lay the responsibility for this upheaval of Kurdish fortunes at Barzani’s feet.

In a gamble that backfired dramatically, the vote for Kurdish independence, although wildly popular in areas run by Barzani’s KDP and most ethnically Kurdish territories, has put the KRG back to 2011. With their territory and international standing unequivocally shrunk, the Kurds now face an uphill battle in their quest for their own state.

Despite this, supporters of the 71-year-old remain defiant. As parliament debated his decision to stand down, armed Barzani loyalists forced their way into the building to protest against his treatment.

Now, the US and Turkey seem to be pushing for Barzani’s nephew Nechirvan Barzani, to take over. Barzani’s gamble for independence may have been unsuccessful, but with the Kurdish leadership set to stay in the family, the Barzani name will be centre stage in Kurdish politics for years to come.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.