فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأكراد / تجارة عائلية: نيجيرفان بارزاني يتولى رئاسة كردستان العراق خلفاً لعمه

تجارة عائلية: نيجيرفان بارزاني يتولى رئاسة كردستان العراق خلفاً لعمه

Specials- Nechirvan Barzani
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ SAFIN HAMED

في 10 يونيو 2019، أدى نيجيرفان بارزاني اليمين الدستورية كرئيسٍ لكردستان العراق، سائراً على خطى عمه مسعود بارزاني، الذي شغل المنصب بين عامي 2005 و2017.

حضر برهم صالح، الرئيس العراقي والمنافس الرئيسي لعائلة بارزاني، مراسم التنصيب. فهو، أي صالح، في نهاية المطاف عضوٌ في الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني، إذ يتمثل التفاهم بين الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني والحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني الذي يتبع له بارزاني في أن الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني يمكنه اقتراح مرشحٍ لرئاسة العراق بينما يستطيع الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني تقديم مرشحٍ لكردستان العراق.

لكن في العام الماضي، رفض الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني تأييد شغل صالح لهذا المنصب ورشح مرشحه الخاص، مما تسبب في توترٍ بين الحزبين. إن حقيقة فوز صالح تسبب في إطلاق النكات التي حملت في طياتها دلالاتٍ خطيرة: هل سيسمح له حتى بالهبوط بطائرته الرئاسية في العاصمة الإقليمية أربيل، حيث يحكم الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني؟ لم يحاول صالح ذلك وربما لم يكن بحاجةً لذلك. ولكن الآن بعد تولي نيجيرفان بارزاني السُلطة، يبدو أنه أصبح مرحباً به.

ومع ذلك، قد يمنح هذا السرد نيجيرفان الكثير من الفضل، فعلى الرغم من كونه الرئيس الجديد، إلا أنه ليس المسؤول، بل إن عمه من يتولى زمام الأمور، كما اعترف نيجيرفان بنفسه في مقابلةٍ مع المونيتور. وعندما سئل عما إذا كان من الآمن القول إن مسعود هو الرئيس الحقيقي، قال: “بالطبع! إنه الشخص الوحيد الذي لا يمكن تنحيته من المشهد!”.

إن العلاقات الأسرية الأهم اعتباراً هنا. ولد نيجيرفان في عام 1966 في بارزان، بلدة جبلية بين أربيل والحدود التركية. والده هو إدريس البارزاني، شقيق مسعود الأكبر. كان نيجيرفان يبلغ من العمر ثماني سنوات عندما اضطرت عائلة بارزاني في عام 1975 إلى العيش في المنفى في إيران. عندما توفي جده الملا مصطفى البارزاني، أحد مؤسسي الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني، في عام 1979، عاد جزءٌ من العائلة إلى العراق. واصل نيجيرفان تعليمه في إيران حيث درس العلوم السياسية، إلا أنه لم يتخرج: توفي والده في سنته الثالثة بشكلٍ غير متوقع بسبب نوبةٍ قلبية. بالنسبة لنيجيرفان، كانت هذه هي اللحظة المناسبة للعودة إلى كردستان العراق وتكريس نفسه للسياسة الكردية.

بحلول ذلك الوقت، كان مسعود قد تولى قيادة الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني من والده. لعب إدريس دوراً مهماً أيضاً، حيث غالباً ما كان يتولى أمور الاتصالات الدولية للحزب فضلاً عن اصطحابه ابنه معه في الرحلات الخارجية لإعداده لمشواره السياسي. منذ وفاة إدريس، أصبح مسعود رئيساً لعائلة البارزاني وبالتالي الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني.

“موت والده فتح المجال أمام نيجيرفان للانخراط في السياسة الكردية، فقد أصبح عضواً في المكتب السياسي للحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني عندما كان عمره 23 عاماً فقط،” بحسب ما قاله كمال شوماني، زميل غير مقيم في معهد التحرير لسياسة الشرق الأوسط في هامبورغ بألمانيا. وأضاف شوماني، الناقد لسياسات آل بارزاني في المحاباة، “هذا أمرٌ مستحيل إن لم يكن المرء من عائلة بارزاني.”

بعد عشر سنوات، أي في عام 1999، أصبح نيجيرفان رئيس وزراء كردستان العراق. آنذاك، لم يكن قد تم إنشاء المنطقة رسمياً بعد وكانت في الواقع مقسمةً إلى منطقةٍ شمالية يسيطر عليها الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني ومنطقةٍ جنوبية يسيطر عليها الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني. لم يتفق الطرفان على تقاسم السلطة إلا بعد إقامة السلام في أوائل العقد الأول من القرن العشرين، حيث أصبح الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني جزءاً من الحكومة في أربيل. بعد وضع الدستور الكردي، أصبح نيجيرفان رئيس وزراء أول كردستان عراق “موحد.” وبعد انتخابات 2009، ذهب منصبه إلى صالح، ثم عاد إليه بعد عام 2012. بقي رئيساً للوزراء حتى انتخابه رئيساً في 28 مايو 2019، متغلباً على أربعة مرشحين آخرين، جميعهم لم يحصلوا حتى على صوتٍ واحد.

فقد التقت الصحافية أمبرين زمان بارزاني للمرة الأولى في عام 1992، عندما كان يحرس نقطة تفتيش كعضوٍ في البيشمركة، حيث وصفته بـ”الذكي للغاية،” مضيفةً أنه “يحب المزاح ويسهل التقرب إليه. هو وزوجته محبوبان للغاية لأنهما ودودين.”

كما وصفته بأنه عملي للغاية ويُشجع على توافق الآراء، وتابعت القول “بالطبع يمكنك انتقاده في كل شيء ينتقده المرء في مجمل سلوك السياسة في كردستان العراق، مثل: المحسوبية والنخبوية وانعدام الشفافية. ولا يزال يتعين بذل جهودٍ جدية لاستأصال الفساد المؤسسي. لكن الدبلوماسيين الغربيين وصفوا نيجيرفان دوماً بأنه قادر على حل المشكلات. فهو مستمعٌ جيد ويحاول إصلاح الأمور. أعرف حقيقة أنه قام بتمويل عمليات إنقاذ العديد من الفتيات اليزيديات بينما كانت [الدولة الإسلامية] لا تزال تحظى بوجودٍ قوي. إنه مفكر إيجابي.”

كما يوصف أحياناً بأنه أكثر ليونة من البارزاني الآخر الذي يتمتع حالياً بسلطةٍ كبيرة: مسرور، أحد أبناء مسعود، الذي كان مسؤولاً عن أجهزة الاستخبارات ويتولى دور رئيس الوزراء.

يجد شوماني هذا الوصف ساذجاً، إذ يقول “الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني هو حزب سياسي يميني محافظ وأبوي للغاية، وجميع القرارات تتخذها عائلة البارزاني. لذلك، وصف نيجيرفان بارزاني بأنه سياسي مسالم بالمقارنة مع مسرور أمرٌ ساذج للغاية. كان نيجيرفان بارزاني أكثر دبلوماسية، حيث أن منصبه كرئيس للوزراء يتطلب منه ذلك، لكن بخلاف ذلك يشارك مسرور ومسعود وجهات النظر العالمية.”

كرئيسٍ للوزراء، لم يكن لدى نيجيرفان “رؤية أخرى سوى تعزيز القوة، وبناء إمبراطوريته الاقتصادية وإقامة شبه ملكية مثل دول الخليج،” كما قال تشوماني. وأضاف “لم يكن لديه رؤية ديمقراطية واضحة للعالم، أو حتى فلسفة فيما يتعلق بالحكم، بخلاف نظرته للعالم القبلي.”

قام مكتب العلاقات الخارجية التابع للحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني بالتغريد في 28 مايو بأن البرلمان قد انتخب نيجيرفان في “عمليةٍ رائعة لنقل السلطة سلمياً،” إلا أنه لم يذكر أن 81 من أصل 111 عضواً فقط كانوا حاضرين للتصويت بسبب مقاطعة الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني وحزب الجيل الجديد الأصغر حجماً. عملياً، لا يوجد أي نقلٍ للسلطة، فقط إعادة توزيع للمناصب بين أسرة البارزاني. ومع وجود نيجيرفان كرئيسٍ للإقليم ومسرور كرئيسٍ للوزراء، تظل عائلة البارزاني مسؤولةً بحزم عن الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والحكومة الإقليمية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ SAFIN HAMED

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / The Kurds / Family Business: Nechirvan Barzani Takes Over Presidency of Kurdistan Region of Iraq from Uncle

Family Business: Nechirvan Barzani Takes Over Presidency of Kurdistan Region of Iraq from Uncle

Specials- Nechirvan Barzani
Photo AFP

On 10 June 2019, Nechirvan Barzani was sworn in as president of Kurdistan Region. He follows in the footsteps of his uncle Masoud Barzani, who held the post between 2005 and 2017.

The inauguration ceremony was attended by Barham Salih, Iraq’s president and the Barzani family’s main rival. He is, after all, a member of the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK). The understanding between the PUK and the Barzani’s Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) is that the PUK can propose a candidate for Iraq’s presidency while the KDP can put forward a candidate for Kurdistan.

Last year, however, the KDP refused to endorse Salih for the job and nominated its own candidate, causing tension between the parties. The fact that Salih won the bid caused jokes with a serious undertone: would he even be allowed to land his presidential plane in the regional capital Erbil, where the KDP rules? Salih did not try and maybe he did not need to. But now that Nechirvan Barzani is in charge, he is apparently welcome.

Yet this version of the narrative may give Nechirvan too much credit. Although he is the new president, he is not the one in charge. It is his uncle who still pulls the strings, as Nechirvan himself admitted in an interview with al-Monitor. Asked whether it is safe to say that Masoud is the real boss, he said, “Of course! He is the one person who cannot be removed from the scene!”

Family relations are the most important consideration here. Nechirvan was born in 1966 in Barzan, a town in the mountains between Erbil and the Turkish border. His father is Idris Barzani, Masoud’s older brother. Nechirvan was eight years old when, in 1975, the Barzani family was forced into exile in Iran. When his grandfather Mullah Mustafa Barzani, one of the founders of the KDP, died in 1979, part of the family returned to Iraq. Nechirvan continued his education in Iran where he studied political science. He did not graduate: in his third year, his father died unexpectedly of a heart attack. For Nechirvan, this was the moment to return to Kurdistan and dedicate himself to Kurdish politics.

Masoud had by then taken over the leadership of the KDP from his father. Idris played an important role as well, often handling the party’s international contacts and taking his son with him on foreign trips to prepare him for his political career. Since Idris’ death, Masoud has been the head of the Barzani family and by extension the KDP.

“His father’s death opened a space for Nechirvan to get involved in Kurdish politics. He became a member of the KDP Political Bureau when he was only 23 years old,” said Kamal Chomani, a non-resident fellow at the Tahrir Institute for Middle East Policy in Hamburg, Germany. A critic of the Barzanis’ nepotism, Chomani added, “This would be impossible if one were not from the Barzani family.”

Ten years later, in 1999, Nechirvan became the prime minister of Kurdistan. The region had not been officially established yet and had in fact become split into a northern area controlled by the KDP and a southern area controlled by the PUK. It was only after peace was instituted in the early 2000s that the parties agreed to share power and the PUK became part of the government in Erbil. After the establishment of the Kurdish constitution, Nechirvan became the prime minister of the first ‘united’ Kurdistan. After the 2009 elections, his post went to Salih, only to return to him after 2012. He remained prime minister until his election as president on 28 May 2019, beating out four other candidates, all of whom received zero votes.

Journalist Amberin Zaman first met Barzani in 1992, when he was manning a checkpoint as a peshmerga. She described him as ‘extremely witty’, adding, ‘He loves to joke and is very approachable. He and his wife are well loved for being just that, approachable.’

She further characterized him as extremely pragmatic and a consensus builder. ‘Of course you could critique him for everything one criticizes the overall conduct of politics in Kurdistan for: nepotism, elitism and a lack of transparency. And a serious effort at rooting out institutionalized corruption has yet to be displayed. But Western diplomats have always described Nechirvan as a problem solver. He listens and tries to fix things. I know for a fact that he financed the rescue of numerous Yazidi girls while [Islamic State] was still fairly strong. He is a positive thinker.’

He is sometimes also described as softer than the other Barzani who currently holds considerable power: Masrour, one of Masoud’s sons, who has been in charge of the intelligence services and will take over the role of prime minister.

Chomani finds this description naive. “The KDP is a very centralist right-wing, conservative, patriarchal political party, and all the decisions are made by the Barzani family. Therefore, calling Nechirvan Barzani a dovish politician in comparison to Masrour is very naive. Nechirvan Barzani has been more diplomatic, as his position as the prime minister required him to be, but otherwise he shares the same world view as Masrour and Masoud.”

As prime minister, Nechirvan had “no vision other than further consolidating power, building his economic empire and establishing a semi-monarchy like the Gulf countries”, Chomani said. “He did not have a clear democratic world view, or even a governance philosophy, other than his tribal world view.”

The KDP’s Foreign Relations Office tweeted on 28 May that parliament had elected Nechirvan in ‘a remarkable process of a peaceful transfer of power’. It did not mention that only 81 of 111 lawmakers were present for the vote because of a boycott by the PUK and the smaller New Generation party. In practice, there is no transfer of power, just a reassignment of positions among the Barzanis. With Nechirvan as president and Masrour as prime minister, the Barzani family remains firmly in charge of the KDP and the regional government.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.