فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأكراد / خمسة وثلاثون عاماً ولا حل سياسي للصراع الكردي التركي

خمسة وثلاثون عاماً ولا حل سياسي للصراع الكردي التركي

Kurds- Syrian kurds
أكراد سوريون يتظاهرون رافعين غصون الزيتون والأعلام التي تحمل صورة زعيم حزب العمال الكردستاني، عبد الله أوجلان، في بلدة معبدة في الجزء الشمالي الشرقي من محافظة الحسكة في 24 فبراير 2018، مستنكرين العملية العسكرية التركية ضد قوات حماية الشعب الكردية في جيب عفرين الشمالي الغربي الكردي. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Delil souleiman

اجتاح الغضب تركيا في أواخر يوليو 2018 عندما قُتلت امرأة وابنها البالغ من العمر 11 شهراً، حسبما ورد، بقنبلةٍ زرعت على جانب الطريق، بعد مغادرتها قاعدةً عسكرية في مقاطعة هكاري الجنوبية الشرقية. وكانت المرأة قد قامت بزيارةٍ مفاجئة لزوجها الذي كان يعمل ضابطاً في القاعدة.

وعليه، ألقي باللوم على حزب العمال الكردستاني. وبعد يومين، أصدر حزب العمال الكردستاني بياناً زعم فيه أنه لا يستهدف المدنيين أبداً، وأن موت الأم والطفل كان “بالخطأً.” غير أن الغضب التركي لم يكن موجهاً فقط إلى حزب العمال الكردستاني، كما عبر وزير الداخلية سليمان سويلو بوضوحٍ في جنازة الضحيتين. فقد ألقى باللوم بشكلٍ أكبر على أوروبا والولايات المتحدة لكونهما “مؤيدي الإرهاب،” على حد تعبيره.

من وجهة نظر الأتراك، من المنطقي تأطير عملية القتل المزعوم للمدنيين من ناحيةٍ جيوسياسية. فالحكومة لا تُميّز بين حزب العمال الكردستاني، الذي يعمل داخل الحدود التركية وله قواعد رئيسية في جبال العراق المجاورة، ووحدات حماية الشعب، الجماعة المسلحة الكردية التابعة له والتي تسيطر على مساحاتٍ شاسعة من شمال سوريا وتدافع عنها ضد، تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” على سبيل المثال. كما أن وحدات حماية الشعب هي أيضاً مكوّن رئيسي لقوات سوريا الديمقراطية، الشريك الأكثر أهمية للولايات المتحدة في معركتها المستمرة ضد بقايا داعش في سوريا، إذ تقوم الولايات المتحدة بتزويد وتجهيز وتسليح حزب العمال الكردستاني بالأسلحة، فضلاً عن مساعدة قوات سوريا الديمقراطية (بالضربات جوية)، وبالتالي، وفقاً لتركيا، فهي تدعم بشكلٍ مباشر حزب العمال الكردستاني.

فبعيونٍ تركية، حزب العمال الكردستاني وقوات حماية الشعب ليسا فقط ذات الشيء، بل أيضاً لا يمكن تمييز حزب العمال الكردستاني والحركة السياسية الكردية غير المسلحة عن بعضهما البعض. وهذا ما يفسر ضغينة تركيا ضد أوروبا. ولعقود، تمكنت الحركة السياسية الكردية من تنظيم نفسها في أوروبا. وعلى الرغم من العقبات التي وضعتها العديد من الحكومات الأوروبية في الطريق، إلا أن الجماعات الكردية القانونية قد ازدادت في السنوات الأخيرة – فعلى سبيل المثال فرض حظر على أعلام حزب العمال الكردستاني في ألمانيا، فضلاً عن المداهمات المتكررة على الأنشطة السياسية في هولندا وألمانيا، من بين أماكن أخرى، والغرامة التي تُفرض على الفضائيات الكردية التي تبث من أوروبا وتملك تراخيص أوروبية – إلا أنها جميعاً ليست كافية لتركيا. فتركيا تطالب بقمعٍ كامل للحركة، الأمر الذي لا تستطيع أوروبا تقديمه.

بعبارةٍ أخرى، تشعر الدولة التركية بدعمٍ غير كافٍ من حلفائها في حلف الناتو في حربها ضد الإرهاب. ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى فيما يتعلق بحزب العمال الكردستاني، فهي الحرب. فلربما يتشارك بأيديولوجيته وزعيمه (عبد الله أوجلان) مع وحدات حماية الشعب في سوريا، إلا أن طبيعة معركتهم مختلفة. وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، لا يمتلك حزب العمال الكردستاني سيطرةً على أي منطقةٍ في تركيا ويشن حرب عصاباتٍ ضد الجيش التركي، الذي يعتبره قوةً محتلة للأراضي الكردية. ولإنهاء إراقة الدماء، التي خسر فيها عددٌ لا يحصى من المقاتلين والمدنيين من كلا الجانبين أرواحهم، فلا بد من التوصل إلى صفقةٍ سياسية. وحالياً، لا يوجد أحدٌ في تركيا مستعدٌ حتى للنظر في صفقةٍ سياسية مع حزب العمال الكردستاني: فهم إرهابيون وينبغي تدميرهم.

واليوم، مع اقتراب الصراع من عامه الخامس والثلاثين- فقد انفجرت أول قنبلةٍ لحزب العمال الكردستاني عام 1984- ينطبق على الصراع جميع المعايير التي يُطلق عليها “نزاع مسلح غير دولي” بموجب القانون الدولي. إلا أن تركيا ترفض بشدة هذا التصنيف. فلن يجبر هذا تركيا فحسب على الالتزام بقواعد الحرب التي تطبق على مثل هذه النزاعات، بل لن يُنصف أيضاً حزب العمال الكردستاني كمنظمةٍ إرهابية، وهي الأداة التي طالما استغلتها تركيا لصالحها في المفاوضات مع حلفائها.

وعليه، يبدو الجمود الناتج غير قابلٍ للحل، بيد أنه قبل خمس سنواتٍ فقط، بعد تصاعد أعمال العنف في عامي 2011 و2012، وافق الطرفان على وقف إطلاق النار وبدءا حواراً لنقل الصراع إلى الساحة السياسية. وفي حين قال حزب العمال الكردستاني مراراً وتكراراً إنه مستعدٌ للحوار، حتى أن أوجلان أعلن أن الكفاح المسلح قد انتهى في عام 2013، إلا أن الحكومة التركية القومية المحافظة مستمرةٌ في الإصرار على أنه لا توجد قضيةٌ كردية، وإنما هذا مجرد إرهابٍ ينبغي القضاء عليه تماماً.

فالجمهور التركي غير مطلعٍ إلى حدٍ كبير على الوضع الحالي للصراع. فبالكاد يوجد أي وسيلة إعلامٍ مستقلة، والجهات التي تنشر دون إشرافٍ حكومي لديها عددٌ محدودٌ من القراء. ونتيجةً لذلك، تصيغ الحكومة الرواية.

فعندما يقتل حزب العمال الكردستاني المدنيين، يكون الغضب الشعبي، بشكلٍ مفهوم، شديد القسوة. وعلى الرغم من أن مقتل المرأة وابنها الصغير في هكاري ربما كان مجرد “خطأ،” إلا أن حزب العمال الكردستاني يستهدف المدنيين أحياناً. ومنذ انتهاء وقف إطلاق النار في صيف عام 2015، كان المسؤولون الحكوميون وأحد المدرسين من بين الذين تم اغتيالهم. فقد أعلن حزب العمال الكردستاني مسؤوليته عن الوفيات لكنه قال إن الضحايا كانوا إما جواسيس يعملون لصالح الدولة أو يساعدون الدولة بشكلٍ مباشر في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان ضد السكان الأكراد، بمن فيهم النشطاء. وحقيقة أن أولئك الذين قتلوا لم يكونوا يرتدون الزي العسكري، بحسب حزب العمال الكردستاني، لا يجعلهم بالضرورة مدنيين أبرياء.

وفي الوقت نفسه، أثيرت شكوكٌ حول طبيعة الانفجار في هكاري. وقال القرويون الذين هرعوا إلى الموقع لوكالة أنباء مزوبوتاميا الكردية إن الوفيات نجمت على الأرجح عن إرتفاع حرارة خزان الوقود في السيارة. وبما أن الحادث لن يتم التحقيق فيه بشكلٍ كامل ونزيه، ستبقى الحقائق غير معروفة.

وقبل انتخابات يونيو 2017، غطت وسائل الإعلام، على نطاقٍ واسع، عمليات الجيش عبر الحدود في شمال العراق، حيث قامت تركيا بتوسيع وجودها العسكري هناك بموافقةٍ صامتة من مسعود بارزاني، الزعيم الأكثر أهمية والرئيس السابق لإقليم كردستان العراق. وتهدف تركيا إلى القضاء على حزب العمال الكردستاني من جبال قنديل، حيث كانت الجماعة تختبىء بعد أن أجبرت على مغادرة سوريا في أواخر التسعينيات. بل حتى أن الجيش التركي تمكن بسط سيطرته على بعض القرى. ومع ذلك، لن تصل قط أنباء قصف المناطق المدنية إلى الإعلام التركي لتحقيق هذه النتيجة.

وعلى الرغم من خطاب الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان حول تطهير جبال الإرهابيين، إلا أنه لم يتم تحقيق الهدف. فمنذ فوزه في الانتخابات، يبدو أنه حدّ من نطاق العمليات. ومع ذلك، لم تهدر أي أعمدةٍ في الصحف على هذا الموضوع في الأشهر الماضية.

وهكذا، بعد مرور 35 عاماً تقريباً على بداية النزاع، ظلت مناطق جنوب شرق تركيا وشمال العراق، التي غالباً ما يطلق عليها الأكراد شمالي وجنوب كردستان، مناطق حرب. وسيستمر هدر دماء الجنود والمقاتلين والمدنيين.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Delil souleiman

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / The Kurds / Thirty-five Years On, No Political Solution for Kurdish-Turkish Conflict

Thirty-five Years On, No Political Solution for Kurdish-Turkish Conflict

Kurds- Syrian kurds
Syrian Kurds demonstrate with olive branches and flags bearing the portrait of Kurdistan Worker’s Party (PKK) leader Abdullah Ocalan in the town of Al-Muabbadah in the northeastern part of Hassakah province on February 24, 2018, denouncing the Turkish military operation against the Kurdish YPG forces in the northwestern Kurdish enclave of Afrin. Photo AFP

Rage engulfed Turkey in late July 2018 when a woman and her 11-month-old son were killed, reportedly by a roadside bomb, after leaving an army base in the south-eastern province of Hakkari. The woman had paid a surprise visit to her husband, who worked as an officer at the base.

The deaths were blamed on the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK). Two days later, the PKK issued a statement claiming that it never targets civilians, and the death of the mother and child was a ‘mistake’. Turkish rage, however, was not solely directed at the PKK, as Interior Minister Suleyman Soylu clearly expressed at the funeral of the two victims. He placed the larger blame on Europe and the United States (US) for being “supporters of terrorism”, as he put it.

From a Turkish perspective, it is logical to define the alleged murder of two civilians in geopolitical terms. The government makes no distinction between the PKK, which operates within Turkish borders and has its main bases in the mountains of neighbouring Iraq, and the People’s Protection Units (YPG), the affiliated Kurdish armed group that controls large swathes of northern Syria and defends it against, for example, Islamic State (IS). The YPG is also the main component of the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF), the most important partner of the US in its ongoing battle against the remains of IS in Syria. The US arms, equips, trains and assists (with air strikes) the SDF, and thus, according to Turkey, directly supports the PKK.

Not only are the PKK and YPG one and the same in Turkish eyes, the PKK and the non-armed Kurdish political movement cannot be distinguished from each other either. This explains Turkey’s grudge against Europe. For decades, the Kurdish political movement has been able to organize itself in Europe. Although the obstacles that several European governments have put in the way of legal Kurdish groups have increased in recent years – for example a ban on PKK flags in Germany, repeated raids on political activities in, among others, the Netherlands and Germany, and the fining of Kurdish satellite TV that broadcasts from Europe and with European licenses – these are not enough for Turkey. Turkey demands a full crackdown on the movement, which Europe can not provide.

The Turkish state, in other words, feels insufficiently supported by its NATO allies in its fight against terrorism. For the PKK, on the other hand, it is war. It may share an ideology and a leader (Abdullah Ocalan) with the YPG in Syria, but the nature of their fight is different. Meanwhile, the PKK in Turkey holds no territory and wages a guerrilla war against the Turkish army, which it considers an occupying force on Kurdish lands. To end the bloodshed, in which countless fighters and civilians on both sides have lost their lives, a political deal will have to be made. Currently, no one in Turkey is even willing to consider a political deal with the PKK: they are terrorists and have to be destroyed.

Now approaching its 35th year – the first PKK bomb went off in August 1984 – the conflict meets all the criteria to be designated a ‘non-international armed conflict’ under international law. Turkey vehemently rejects this designation. Not only would it compel Turkey to adhere to the rules of war that apply to such conflicts, but the PKK would no longer be recognized as a terrorist organization, a lever that Turkey has long used to its benefit in negotiations with its allies.

The resulting stalemate seems unbreakable. Yet it was only five years ago, following a spike in violence in 2011 and 2012, that both sides agreed to a ceasefire and started a dialogue to pull the conflict into the political arena. While the PKK has repeatedly said it is willing to talk, and Ocalan even declared the armed struggle to be over in 2013, Turkey’s conservative-nationalist government continues to maintain that there is no Kurdish issue, only terrorism that has to be wiped out.

The Turkish public is largely ill-informed about the current state of the conflict. There are hardly any independent media left, and the ones that do publish without government supervision have a limited readership. As a result, the government defines the narrative.

When the PKK kills civilians, public outrage is understandably fierce. Although the murder of the woman and her young son in Hakkari may have been a ‘mistake’, the PKK does sometimes target civilians. Since the ceasefire ended in the summer of 2015, government officials and a teacher have been among those assassinated. The PKK claimed responsibility for the deaths but stated that its victims were either spying for the state or directly assisting the state in human rights violations against the Kurdish population, including activists. The fact that those killed did not wear a uniform, the PKK argued, does not necessarily make them innocent civilians.

Meanwhile, doubt has been raised about the nature of the explosion in Hakkari. Villagers who rushed to the scene told the Kurdish Mezopotamya news agency that the deaths were likely caused by an overheated gas tank in the car. As the incident will not be thoroughly and impartially investigated, the facts will remain unknown.

Before the June 2017 elections, the media widely covered the army operations across the border in northern Iraq. Turkey has been expanding its military presence there with the quiet approval of Masoud Barzani, the most important leader in and former president of the Kurdistan Region in Iraq. Turkey aims to eradicate the PKK from the Qandil Mountains, where the group has been hiding out after it was forced to leave Syria in the late 1990s. The Turkish army even managed to bring some villages under its control. However, the bombing of civilian areas to achieve this result never made it to the Turkish media.

Despite Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s rhetoric about clearing the mountains of terrorists, the objective has not been reached. Since winning re-election, he seems to have scaled down the scope of the operations. No column inches have been wasted on the subject in the intervening months.

Thus, almost 35 years after the start of the conflict, south-east Turkey and northern Iraq, often respectively called north and south Kurdistan by Kurds, remain war zones. And the blood of soldiers, guerrillas and civilians will continue to flow.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.