فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأكراد / تركيا: حزب العمال الكردستاني مثخنٌ بالجراح إلا أنه يتعهد بتصعيد هجماته في الربيع

تركيا: حزب العمال الكردستاني مثخنٌ بالجراح إلا أنه يتعهد بتصعيد هجماته في الربيع

Specials- Kurds turkey
أكراد يحضرون مراسم تشييع مقاتلي وحدات حماية الشعب في مدينة سروج، في محافظة شانلي أورفة، في 14 أكتوبر 2014. بحسب المسؤولين، قصفت طائرات تركية قصفت أهدافًا لحزب العمال الكردستاني جنوب شرق تركيا. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ARIS MESSINIS

وفقاً للبيانات الصادرة عن الحكومة التركية في أوائل عام 2019، تم “تحييد” أكثر من 10 آلاف من مقاتلي حزب العمال الكردستاني منذ نهاية وقف إطلاق النار المزعوم بين الجانبين في صيف عام 2015، ولم يتبقى سوى 700 مقاتل فحسب في جبال شمال العراق. بيد أن من الصعب الوثوق بهذا الرقم: إذا ما كان دقيقاً، فمن المؤكد أن تركيا محت حزب العمال الكردستاني من الوجود الآن. ومرةً أخرى، لم تكن هناك العديد من الهجمات لحزب العمال الكردستاني مؤخراً في جنوب شرق تركيا، حيث يعيش غالبية الأكراد، ويبدو أن قدرة الحركة المسلحة، قد وهنت، على الأقل، فيما يتعلق بقدرتها على شن الهجمات. سنوضح في فَنَك هذه الحقائق.

تم ذكر الـ10 آلاف مقاتل المتوفين من مقاتلي حزب العمال الكردستاني في قاعدة بيانات الوفيات الناجمة عن النزاع الذي تحتفظ به مجموعة الأزمات الدولية. تحتفظ المجموعة بإحصاءٍ منذ عام 2011، بناءً على مصادر مفتوحة. ومع ذلك، تشير مجموعة الأزمات الدولية إلى أن العدد الأكثر واقعية هو 2,453 مقاتل الذين تم “تحييدهم” منذ صيف عام 2015، مما يعني إما أنهم استسلموا أو قُتلوا أو جُرحوا. وفي الفترة نفسها، توفي ما لا يقل عن 1140 من أفراد قوات الأمن (الجنود وضباط الشرطة وحراس القرى). تحتاج هذه الأرقام إلى بعض الفوارق الدقيقة: في أواخر عام 2015 وأوائل عام 2016، كانت الحرب تشن بشكلٍ أساسي في المدن والبلدات الواقعة في جنوب شرق تركيا، مما أدى إلى خسائر كبيرة في الأرواح. ومنذ انتهاء هذه الحروب في المناطق الحضرية، انخفض عدد الإصابات.

إن عدد الإصابات على كلا الجانبين أقل دائماً خلال فصل الشتاء لأن الطقس يزيد من صعوبة الوصول إلى الأراضي الكردية الجبلية. يستخدم حزب العمال الكردستاني هذه الأشهر بشكل أساسي للتدريب، ففي أعالي الجبال، يقضي مقاتلو حرب العصابات ثلاثة أو أربعة أشهر في كهوفٍ مجهزة لإقاماتٍ أطول، وهي مغطاة بطبقة سميكة من الثلج.

يبقى أن نرى ما إذا كان الربيع سيُمثل زيادةً أخرى في الإصابات، وإن كان الأمر كذلك، أين ستسقط هذه الخسائر. فقد زاد الجيش التركي تدريجياً من تواجده في شمال العراق، على الأراضي التي تسيطر عليها قوات البيشمركة التابعة للحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني، الحزب السياسي الذي تقوده عشيرة البارزاني. يحاول الجيش التركي، من أكثر من 20 قاعدة، نشر قواته في الميدان والتي ستعمل أخيراً على الدفع بحزب العمال الكردستاني خارج الجبال، وهي نتيجة لم تتمكن الغارات الجوية وحدها من تحقيقها. إن خطاب أنقرة شديد الشراسة، لكن الواقع هو أن حزب العمال الكردستاني نصب قواعده هناك بعد فترةٍ وجيزة من الانقلاب العسكري في تركيا عام 1980، ولم تقترب حتى الآن أي محاولة للقضاء على حزب العمال الكردستاني من النجاح.

إذا ما كان عدد هجمات حزب العمال الكردستاني منخفضاً في الأشهر المقبلة، فقد يعني ذلك أن المنظمة وضعت في موقعٍ دفاعي وتركز على الدفاع عن الجبال بدلاً من شن هجماتٍ في المناطق الكردية في تركيا.

وعندما سئل عن الـ700 مقاتل المتبقين، قال إردال، المتحدث باسم قوات الدفاع الشعبي، الجناح العسكري لحزب العمال الكردستاني، لفَنَك: “بسبب قوانين الأمن والخصوصية، لن يكون من السليم الكشف عن العدد الحالي للمقاتلين. لكن يمكنني القول أن لدينا ما يكفي من القوة لمحاربة الدولة التركية الاستعمارية وجميع القوى التي تقف وراءها.”

وأضاف أن الجيش التركي يشن حرباً بالاعتماد على البراعة الفنية، محاولاً إبادة حرب العصابات باستخدام الطائرات بدون طيار والطائرات الحربية. وقال إن حزب العمال الكردستاني تمكن من شن هجماتٍ في تركيا على أي حال، حيث نفذ “556 عملية ضد الجيش التركي في عام 2018، مما أسفر عن مقتل 2,103 جندياً. في الوضع الحالي، الجنود عالقون في مواقع القوات في العديد من المناطق ويتحركون فقط حول هذه المواقع.”

ووفقاً لتعداد مجموعة الأزمات الدولية، في عام 2018، قتل 124 من أفراد قوات الأمن. الفرق مذهل، وعلى الأرجح سيظل العدد الحقيقي غير واضح. يدعي حزب العمال الكردستاني أن تركيا لا تعلن عن جميع خسائرها وتدفع المال للعائلات لإسكاتها. فصحيحٌ أن أفراد القوات الخاصة يوافقون على بندٍ في عقودهم مفاده أن وفاتهم المحتملة قد لا يتم نشرها إلى العلن. ومع ذلك، يبدو من غير الواقعي أن تكون الدولة قادرة على تغطية مئات الوفيات كل عام.

مع ذلك، تشكل الطائرات بدون طيار مشكلةً بالنسبة لحزب العمال الكردستاني، إذ يمكنها الهجوم بمجرد اكتشاف معسكر أو مجموعة من المقاتلين. وقبل استخدام الطائرات بدون طيار، كان يمتلك المقاتلون فرصةً للإختباء ذلك أن طائرة من طراز إف 16 على سبيل المثال كانت تستغرق بعض الوقت قبل أن تتمكن من الوصول إلى الجبال من القاعدة الجوية في ديار بكر. من ناحيةٍ أخرى، في نوفمبر 2018، نفذ حزب العمال الكردستاني أول غارةٍ جوية بطائرة بدون طيار. ووفقاً لحزب العمال الكردستاني، أسفر الهجوم على موقعٍ للجيش في شمدينلي، في محافظة هكاري، عن مقتل سبعة جنود. بمعنى آخر، الجيش التركي ليس الوحيد القادر على تحديث أسلحته. إذا ما تمكن حزب العمال الكردستاني من الحصول على المزيد من الطائرات بدون طيار والأسلحة، فلربما يشكل ذلك مشكلةً لأنقرة.

ومع ذلك، تظل الحقيقة البالغة من العمر 35 عاماً تقريباً هي أن حزب العمال الكردستاني لا يستطيع منافسة أسلحة الجيش وحلفائه في الناتو، بينما لا يستطيع الجيش هزيمة حزب العمال الكردستاني عندما يتعلق الأمر بتقنيات حرب العصابات. طوال هذه الفترة، لم تفِ أنقرة أبداً بالوعود التي لا تعد ولا تحصى بقرب نهاية حزب العمال الكردستاني. في النهاية، ينبغي حل النزاع على طاولة المفاوضات. فقد صرّح حزب العمال الكردستاني مراراً وتكراراً استعداده للتفاوض، كما يدعي أن الحركة الكردية تفعل كل ما في وسعها لكسر عزلة زعيم المنظمة المسجون عبد الله أوجلان، الذي ينبغي أن يشارك في المحادثات، إلا أن الدولة لا تبدي أي اهتمام.

ألقت الحروب الحضرية، المذكورة أعلاه، الضوء بشكلٍ مثيرٍ للاهتمام على العلاقة بين حزب العمال الكردستاني والشعب الكردي. فقد تمت تسوية العديد من الأحياء بالأرض من قبل الجيش التركي، واتهمت العديد من منظمات حقوق الإنسان والمنظمات الدولية، بما في ذلك الأمم المتحدة، تركيا باستخدام العنف المفرط ضد مقاتلي المدينة المنتمين لحزب العمال الكردستاني. على الأقل، يشكك بعض الأكراد الذين يدعمون حزب العمال الكردستاني في استراتيجيات المنظمة في هذا الصراع على وجه التحديد أيضاً. ألم يتوقعوا، بناءً على خبرتهم السابقة، أن الدولة سترد بالقوة المفرطة؟ ومع ذلك، هذا لا يعني أن دعم حزب العمال الكردستاني بين الأكراد يضعُف. فالرابطة، التي أقيمت عند تأسيس المنظمة في السبعينيات، قويةٌ للغاية.

ولكن ماذا عن جهود الجيش للدخول إلى الجبال في شمال العراق والتي يسيطر عليها حزب العمال الكردستاني، بالاقتران مع زيادة استخدام الطائرات بدون طيار؟ وماذا عن العمليات المشتركة مع إيران ضد حزب العمال الكردستاني في العراق، والتي تحدث عنها مؤخراً وزير الداخلية التركي سليمان سويلو؟ الأمر الأخير غير صحيح، وفقاً لإيران، إذ ليس من مصلحة إيران قتال حزب العمال الكردستاني داخل العراق على أي حال.

ومع ذلك، حزب العمال الكردستاني منشغلٌ بالكامل بالدفاع عن الجبال. فقد قال إردال، بعد أن أعطى إحداثيات الجيش التركي، “لم يتقدموا [الجيش] في جبل قنديل [سلسلة الجبال المتاخمة للحدود التركية- الإيرانية] على الإطلاق. بل إن الجيش لم يتمكن من التقدم متراً واحداً منذ ربيع عام 2018. تعرضوا لهزائم كبيرة، وتم نشر لقطاتٍ من أنشطتنا.”

وفي إشارةٍ إلى ما يمكن أن يحدث في الربيع، تابع: “مستوى الحرب سيرتفع أكثر.”

حتى بالنسبة لخبيرٍ مثل آرون شتاين، مدير برنامج الشرق الأوسط في معهد أبحاث السياسة الخارجية، من الصعب تحديد مدى قوة حزب العمال الكردستاني في الوقت الحالي. وبحسب قوله، “الجماعة غامضة لذا من الصعب للغاية الحكم بأي دقة حقيقية، لكن يبدو أنهم يتعرضون لضغوطٍ كبيرة داخل تركيا.” ولكن حزب العمال الكردستاني على وشك الانهيار؟ “لا تزال دوافع الصراع قائمة، مما يعني أنه من المرجح أن تستمر دورات التجنيد، مما يسمح للجماعة بالاحتفاظ بجاذبيتها الواسعة بالنسبة للأشخاص المحرومين من حقوقهم.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ARIS MESSINIS

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / The Kurds / In Turkey, PKK Weakened but Vows to Step Up Attacks in Spring

In Turkey, PKK Weakened but Vows to Step Up Attacks in Spring

Specials- Kurds turkey
Kurdish people attend a funeral ceremony for YPG (People’s Protection Units) fighters in the town of Suruc, Sanliurfa province, on October 14, 2014. Turkish jets bombed targets of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) in southeast Turkey, officials said. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ARIS MESSINIS

According to statements issued by the Turkish government in early 2019, more than 10,000 Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) fighters have been ‘neutralized’ since the end of the so-called ceasefire between the two sides in the summer of 2015, and only 700 fighters remain in the mountains in northern Iraq. It is hard to give this number credence: if it were accurate, Turkey would surely have wiped out the PKK by now. Then again, there have not been many recent PKK attacks in south-east Turkey, where the majority of Kurds live, and the armed movement seems at least weakened in its capability to strike. Fanack sorts out the facts.

The reported 10,000 dead PKK fighters is mentioned in the database of fatalities caused by the conflict maintained by the International Crisis Group (ICG). The group has kept a tally since 2011, based on open sources. However, the ICG points out that a more realistic number is the 2,453 fighters who have been ‘neutralized’ since the summer of 2015, which means they either surrendered or were killed or wounded. In the same period, at least 1,140 members of the security forces (soldiers, police officers and village guards) died. These numbers need some nuance though: in late 2015 and early 2016, the war was mainly waged in cities and towns in south-east Turkey, resulting in a relatively high loss of life. Since these urban wars ended, the number of casualties has decreased.

The number of casualties on both sides is always lower during the winter because the weather makes the mountainous Kurdish territory hard to access. The PKK uses these months mainly for training and education. Higher in the mountains, guerrilla fighters spend three or four months in caves equipped for longer stays, covered with a thick pack of snow.

It remains to be seen whether the spring marks another rise in casualties, and if so, where these casualties will fall. The Turkish army has gradually increased its presence in northern Iraq, on territory controlled by the Peshmerga of the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP), the political party led by the Barzani clan. From more than 20 bases in northern Iraq, the Turkish army is trying to put the boots on the ground that will finally drive the PKK out of the mountains, a result that air strikes alone have been unable to achieve. Ankara’s rhetoric is fierce, but the reality is that the PKK has had bases in the mountains alongside the Turkish and Iranian border since soon after the 1980 military coup in Turkey, and no attempt to stamp out the PKK has ever been even remotely successful.

If the number of PKK attacks is low in the coming months, this may well mean that the organization has been put on the defensive and is concentrating on defending the mountains instead of making offensive strikes in the Kurdish regions in Turkey.

When asked about the remaining 700 fighters, Erdal, a spokesperson for the HPG, the PKK’s military wing, told Fanack, “Because of our security and privacy rules, it would not be correct to reveal the current number of guerrillas. But I can say that we have enough power to fight the colonialist Turkish state and all the forces behind it.”

He added that the Turkish army is carrying out a war based on technique, trying to annihilate the guerrillas with unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) and warplanes. The PKK managed to strike in Turkey anyway, he said, carrying out “556 actions against the Turkish army in 2018, killing 2,103 soldiers. In the current situation, soldiers are stuck in outposts in many areas and only move around in their outposts.”

According to the ICG tally, in 2018, 124 members of the security forces were killed. The disparity is staggering, and the real number will likely remain unclear. The PKK claims that Turkey does not announce all its losses and pays families off to silence them. It is true that members of the special forces agree to a clause in their contract that their possible deaths may not be shared with the public. However, it seems unrealistic that the state would be able to cover up hundreds of deaths every year.

The UAVs do pose a problem for the PKK, however, since they can strike as soon as they detect a camp or group of fighters. Before the use of UAVs, fighters could go into hiding because it would take some time before an F16 could make it to the mountains from the airbase in Diyarbakir. On the other hand, in November 2018, the PKK carried out its first drone strike. According to the PKK, the attack on an army post in Semdinli, Hakkari province, killed seven soldiers. In other words, the Turkish army is not the only one able to modernize its weaponry. If the PKK manages to obtain more drones and arms, this could be problematic for Ankara.

Yet the almost 35-year-old fact remains that the PKK cannot compete with the army’s weaponry and its NATO allies whereas the army cannot beat the PKK when it comes to guerrilla techniques. Throughout this period, Ankara has never delivered on the countless promises that the end of the PKK was near. Eventually, the conflict will have to be solved at the negotiating table. The PKK has said numerous times it is ready to talk, and the Kurdish movement does everything it can to break the isolation of the organization’s imprisoned leader Abdullah Öcalan who should be involved in the talks, but the state shows no interest.

The urban wars, mentioned above, have shed an interesting light on the relationship between the PKK and the Kurdish people. Several neighbourhoods have been razed to the ground by the Turkish army, and several human rights and international organizations, including the UN, have accused Turkey of using disproportionate violence against young PKK-affiliated city guerrillas. At least some of the Kurds who are supportive of the PKK question the organization’s strategies in that specific conflict as well. Shouldn’t they have expected, based on past experience, that the state would react excessively? However, this does not mean that support for the PKK among Kurds is weakening. The bond, which was forged upon the organization’s founding in the 1970s, is too strong.

But what about the army’s efforts to enter the mountains in northern Iraq that are controlled by the PKK, in combination with increased use of UAVs? And what about joint operations with Iran against the PKK in Iraq, of which Turkish Interior Minister Süleyman Soylu spoke recently? The latter is not true, according to Iran, and it is not in Iran’s interest to fight the PKK inside Iraq anyway.

However, the PKK does have its hands full defending the mountains. The UAVs pose a problem, since they strike the moment they see their target, which doesn’t offer the target any possibility to run and hide. But Erdal, after giving the Turkish army’s coordinates, said: “They [the army] have not progressed into Qandil [the mountain range on the Turkish-Iranian border] at all. The army has not even be able progress one metre since the spring of 2018. They have been hit with great blows, and footage of our actions has been published.”

Hinting at what could happen in the spring, he continued: “The level of war will rise even more.”

Even for an expert like Aaron Stein, director of the Middle East Program of the Foreign Policy Research Institute, it is hard to determine how strong the PKK currently is. “The group is opaque so it’s very hard to judge with any real accuracy, but it does seem like they are under considerable pressure inside Turkey,” he said. But is it on the brink of collapse? “The drivers of the conflict remain in place, meaning that the cycles of recruitment are likely to continue, allowing for the group to retain its broad appeal for those disenfranchised.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ARIS MESSINIS | ©AFP ⁃ ARIS MESSINIS

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.