الصفحة الرئيسية / الأكراد / أزمة رئاسية مُقبلة في كردستان العراق

أزمة رئاسية مُقبلة في كردستان العراق

The motives behind the political stalemate of the Kurdistan Region in Iraq are explained
محتجون يدعون إلى حل الأزمة الرئاسية لحكومة إقليم كردستان يشعلون الإطارات أثناء اشتباكات مع قوات الأمن خلال مظاهرة في السليمانية، العراق، 10 أكتوبر. Photo Feriq Ferec / Anadolu Agency

بالكاد تعتبر أزمة الرئاسة في كردستان العراق في نوفمبر 2015 مفاجأة، إذ كان يتوجب أن تنتهي ولاية الرئيس مسعود بارزاني في عام 2013 الماضي. فقد نجح الحزبين الرئيسيين في الأقليم آنذاك بحبك حيلة، اعتبرها الكثيرون غير شرعية، تقتضي بتمديد ولايته لعامين إضافيين. ولم يكن هناك أي سببٍ لافتراض أنّ الرئيس سيتنحى عام 2015.

وغالباً ما ينظر إلى إقليم كردستان العراق باعتباره منارة للديمقراطية في جزء من العالم يعاني من حالة اضطراب، إذ يتمتع الإقليم بانتخابات نزيهة، وحقوق لكثير من الأقليات الدينية والعِرقية، وبرلمان فعّال. ولكن، بإلقاء نظرة أعمق على الطريقة التي تم فيها التعامل مع الانتخابات الرئاسية، تظهر صورة مغايرة.

تعاني كردستان من مشاكل أمنية واقتصادية هائلة منذ أوائل عام 2014، مما يعارض تغيير القيادة في المنطقة الآن. ويشّكل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” التهديد الأمني الأكبر للمنطقة. فقد صدّت قوات البشمركة، القوات المسلحة في كردستان، حتى الآن هجمات “داعش،” إلا أنّ التهديد لم ينحسر بعد.

أما المشاكل الاقتصادية فتتمحور بشكلٍ رئيسي حول النفط، وتنبع من رفض الحكومة المركزية في بغداد دفع الـ17% من عائدات النفط لأقليم كردستان التي تحق لها بموجب الدستور. وقد حاولت كردستان بيع النفط بشكلٍ مستقلٍ عن بغداد، ونجحت في ذلك بشكلٍ جزئي، ولكن عندما بدأ سعر النفط يتراجع إلى أقل من 45 دولار للبرميل الواحد، كما هو الحال في نوفمبر 2015، لم يبقى ما يُذكر لإنقاذ الاقتصاد.

نقص الموارد المالية يعني أن كردستان لا تستطيع دفع رواتب الموظفين الحكوميين، بما في ذلك قوات البشمركة، الذين يضطرون الآن إلى العمل في وظائف أخرى، في حال وجدوا، خلال الأوقات التي لا يكونون فيها في ساحة المعركة. وهذا يعني أن الرواتب لم تُدفع منذ ثلاثة أشهر.

ومما زاد الطين بِلة، أن كردستان تحاول التعامل مع حوالي 250,000 لاجىء سوري وحوالي مليون شخص من النازحين داخلياً، معظمهم من مدينة الموصل ومحافظة الأنبار التي تحتلها “داعش.” يضع تدفق الناس من خارج المنطقة المزيد من الضغوط على ميزانية اقليم كردستان فضلاً عن تعقيد الوضع الأمني، إذ أنّ احتمالية تسلل عناصر من “داعش” أمر وارد.

المشاكل حقيقية، وكذلك أيضاً المظهر المخادع للديمقراطية الهشة التي تخفي حقيقة أن إقليم كردستان يحكمه أساساً عشائر عميقة الجذور في المجتمع الكردي القبلي.

بدأت الأزمة الرئاسية عام 1992، عندما أعلن إقليم كردستان استقلاله عن نظام صدام حسين في بغداد. وبعد بضعة أشهر من الحكم المستقل على أرض الواقع في كردستان، جرت انتخابات رئاسية. الحزبين الأكثر أهمية في الأقليم، الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني الذي يتبع له بارزاني والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني الذي يتبع له جلال الطالباني، تنافسا في الانتخابات، إلا أن أياً منهم خرج منتصراً بالحد الأدنى من الـ50% من الأصوات. ولم تكن أي من العشيرتين على استعدادٍ لمنح السلطة للعشيرة الأخرى، مما أدى إلى الحرب الأهلية الكردية بين عامي 1994 و1998.

خلقت الحرب الأهلية الوضع الراهن اليوم، إذ يحكم الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني بقيادة جلال الطالباني جنوب كردستان تقريباً، حول منطقة السليمانية، في حين يحكم الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني بقيادة بارزاني الشمال، في جميع أنحاء أربيل. ولم يتم حل الخلاف القبلي العشائري، رسمياً، سوى في عام 2005، بعد أن أُدخل إقليم كردستان ذاتي الحكم في الدستور العراقي الجديد. أجريت الانتخابات البرلمانية، في كلٍ من العراق وإقليم كردستان، وقرر كل من الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني والحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني الاتحاد فيما يُعرف باسم التحالف الكردستاني. وبعد أن نجح التحالف في حصد أغلبية (90%) الأصوات (104 مقاعد من أصل 111)، وزّع كل من الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني والحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني مراكز القوى بينهما. أصبح بارزاني رئيس إقليم كردستان لمدة أربع سنوات، في حين أصبح الطالباني رئيساً للعراق.

ونص القانون على أن تعقد الانتخابات الرئاسية والبرلمانية كل أربع سنوات، وفي نفس اليوم. في عام 2009 اجتمع الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني مرة أخرى في التحالف الكردستاني ولكن بالكاد حصل على الأغلبية، مع 53% من الأصوات. وقد تم التصويت لتقليد مسعود بارزاني ولايته الثانية كرئيس، والتي تعتبر نهائية من الناحية القانونية، بأغلبية ساحقة من الأصوات (70%).

ومن ثم في عام 2013، وفي الأشهر التي سبقت الانتخابات الرئاسية والبرلمانية في 21 سبتمبر، صادق البرلمان فجأة على قانونٍ يسمح لبارزاني تمديد ولايته لعامين آخرين. الحزبين الرئيسيين في الأقليم، واللذان يمثلان أهم عشيرتين، وضعوا هذه الخطة وتخطوا القانون في سبيل تحقيق مآربهم.

ربما كان لهذا الأمر علاقة بالحزب الذي تسبب بخسارة تحالفهم الأصوات في انتخابات عام 2009، حركة غوران (التغيير)، وهو حزب جديد انشق عن الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني الطالباني واتخذ موقفاً ضد السياسة العشائرية والفساد. ففي عام 2009، حصلت حركة غوران على 22% من الأصوات، وبدت فرصهم في انتخابات عام 2013 واعدة إلى حدٍ أكبر. وفي الوقت نفسه، قرر الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني خوض الانتخابات كأحزاب منفصلة للمرة الأولى. وبدى أن العشائر التي تمتلك السُلطة تسعى لتأمين نفوذها من خلال حل المشكلة الرئاسية قبل أن تظهر بعد الانتخابات.

تمكنت حركة غوران بالتأكيد من تغيير ميزان القوى، لتصبح ثاني أكبر الأحزاب في الإقليم بحصدها 24 مقعداً مقابل 18 مقعد للاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني و38 مقعداً للحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني. وهذا يفسر المأزق الحالي، إذ يحاول الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني تمديد ولاية بارزاني لعامين إضافيين، إلى حين إجراء الانتخابات البرلمانية والرئاسية القادمة، إلا أن ذلك غير ممكن بمقاعده الـ38. وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، تقبل حركة غوران والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني خوض نقاش تمديد ولاية بارزاني لعامين آخرين فقط في حال استبدال النظام الرئاسي بنظام برلماني، وهو اقتراح مرفوض من قِبل الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني.

ويمكن لكلا الطرفين السعي لإيجاد حلٍ عن طريق بناء أغلبية بواسطة أحزاب أصغر حجماً، إلا أنها فشلت حتى الآن بالقيام بذلك. هذا وتفاقمت الأزمة مع نهاية شهر أكتوبر، عندما تم عزل أربعة وزراء من حركة غوران من مناصبهم الحكومية، بسبب ما قيل آنذاك باتهام الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني للحركة بالتحريض على العنف بدفع الحشود الغاضبة للتظاهر أمام مكاتب الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني في عدة مدن، احتجاجاً على قبضة بارزاني على السلطة. حتى أنه تم منع الناطق باسم حركة غوران في البرلمان من دخول أربيل.

يُبقي هذا المأزق بارزاني في السُلطة، إلا أن مجلس الشورى قرر قبل يومين من انتهاء ولاية بارزاني، أي في 18 أغسطس 2015، بقائه في السُلطة إلى حين إجراء الانتخابات المقبلة. وفي الوقت الراهن، تجري مناقشة شرعية هذا القرار، ولكن لا تملك الأحزاب الأخرى سوى القليل لفعله. ففي النهاية، لا تقع الرئاسة فقط بين يديّ عشيرة بارزاني، بل إنّ ابن شقيق الرئيس، نيجيرفان بارزاني، يحتل منصب رئيس الوزراء، في حين أن ابن الرئيس، مسرور بارزاني، يشغل حالياً منصب رئيس مجلس الأمن لإقليم كردستان، وهناك نقص في المؤسسات، مثل الشرطة، التي تعمل بشكلٍ مستقل عن من في السُلطة. وفي النهاية، يبدو أنّ لا مفر من حكم بارزاني كرئيس حتى عام 2017.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / The Kurds / A Presidency Crisis Foretold in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq

A Presidency Crisis Foretold in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq

The motives behind the political stalemate of the Kurdistan Region in Iraq are explained
People calling for a solution to the Kudistan Regional Government’s presidential crisis burn tires as they clash with the security forces during a protest in Suleymaniyah, Iraq, 10 October 2015. Photo Feriq Ferec / Anadolu Agency

The presidency crisis in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq in November 2015 is hardly a surprise. President Massoud Barzani’s term should have ended in 2013. The two main parties at the time developed a stratagem, considered illegal by many, that extended his term by two years. There was no reason to assume the president would step down in 2015.

The Kurdistan Region of Iraq is often considered a beacon of democracy in a part of the world that is in turmoil. They have fair elections, rights for the many religious and ethnic minorities, and a functioning parliament. But take a deeper look at the way the election of the president has been handled, and a different picture emerges.

Kurdistan has been suffering immense security and economic problems since early 2014, which argue against changing the leadership of the region now.
Islamic State (IS) poses the greatest security threat to the region. The peshmerga, the armed forces of Kurdistan, have so far repelled the IS attacks, but the threat hasn’t subsided.

The economic problems have everything to do with oil, originating in the refusal of the central Iraqi government in Baghdad to pay the Kurdistan Region the 17 per cent of the oil revenues to which it is constitutionally entitled. Kurdistan has tried to sell oil independently of Baghdad and has been partially successful, but, when the oil price started its slide to less than $45 per barrel as it is in November 2015, nothing remained to save the economy.

The lack of financial resources means that Kurdistan cannot pay the salaries of its public servants, including the peshmerga, who now have to work other jobs, if they can find any, during the times they are not at the battlefield. Salaries haven’t been paid for three months.

To make matters worse, Kurdistan is trying to cope with some 250,000 refugees from Syria and about one million internally displaced persons, mainly from the city of Mosul and Anbar Province, which are occupied by IS. The influx of people from outside the region puts more pressure on Kurdistan’s budget and complicates the security situation: infiltration by IS is a real possibility.

The problems are real, but so is the thin democratic veneer hiding the fact that the Kurdistan Region is essentially ruled by clans deeply rooted in tribal Kurdish society.

The presidential crisis began in 1992, when the Kurdish region was declared independent of Saddam Hussein’s regime in Baghdad. A few months after this de facto establishment of Kurdistan, presidential elections were held. The two most important parties, the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) of Barzani and the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) of Jalal Talabani competed, but neither won the required minimum of 50 per cent of the votes. Neither clan was willing to grant the other power, which led to a Kurdish civil war between 1994 and 1998.

The civil war created a situation that still exists today: Talabani’s PUK rules roughly southern Kurdistan, around Suleymania Sulaymaniyah, and Barzani’s KDP rules the north, around Erbil. The tribal feud was resolved officially only in 2005, after the autonomous Kurdistan Region was enshrined in the new Iraqi constitution. Parliamentary elections were held, in both Iraq and the Kurdistan Region, and the PUK and the KDP decided to combine their power in the Kurdistan Alliance. After the Alliance secured a majority (90 per cent) of the vote (104 seats in the 111-seat parliament), the PUK and KDP divided the powerful positions between them. Barzani became president of Kurdistan for a term of four years, while Talabani became president of Iraq.

The law stipulated that presidential and parliamentary elections were to be held every four years, on the same day. In 2009 the KDP and PUK joined forces again in the Kurdistan Alliance but barely secured a majority, with 53 per cent of the votes. Massoud Barzani was voted president for his second, and legally final, term, with a landslide (70 per cent) of the vote.

Then, in 2013, in the months leading up to the parliamentary and presidential elections on 21 September, a law was suddenly rushed through parliament allowing Barzani to retain the presidency for two more years. The main parties—that is, the main clans—cookedup this plan and broke the law to make this possible.

This may have had to do with the party that caused their bloc to lose so many votes in the 2009 elections—Gorran (Change), a new party that broke away from Talabani’s PUK and took a stand against clan-based politics and corruption. In 2009 Gorran received 22 per cent of the vote, and their chances in the 2013 elections seemed even more promising. At the same time, the KDP and the PUK decided to run as separate parties for the first time. It appears that the clans in power wanted to secure their power by solving the presidential problem before it could emerge after the elections.

Gorran did indeed manage to change the balance, becoming the second largest party, with 24 seats, against 18 for the PUK and 38 for the KDP. This explains the current deadlock. The KDP wants to extend Barzani’s term by another two years, until the next parliamentary and presidential elections, but can’t push that through with just its 38 seats. Gorran and the PUK want to discuss an extra two years for Barzani only if the presidential system is replaced by a parliamentary one, a proposal the KDP won’t accept.

Both sides can seek a solution by constructing a majority with smaller parties but have so far failed to do so. The crisis deepened at the end of October, when four government ministers from Gorran were removed from their posts, reportedly because the KDP accused the party of instigating violence by angry crowds against KDP offices in several cities, protesting Barzani’s grip on power. The Gorran speaker of parliament was even banned from entering Erbil.

The stalemate keeps Barzani in power. The Consultative Council decided two days before Barzani’s term ended, on 18 August, that he could remain in power until the next elections. The legitimacy of that ruling is debated, but there is little the other parties can do. After all, not only is the presidency in the hands of the Barzani clan, but the president’s nephew, Nechirvan Barzani, is prime minister, the president’s son, Masrour Barzani, is chancellor of the Kurdistan Region Security Council, and there is a lack of institutions, such as the police, that operate independently of those in power. It seems inevitable that Barzani will rule until 2017.