الصفحة الرئيسية / الأكراد / دعم الأكراد

دعم الأكراد


قتل ما لا يقل عن 200,000 من الثوار والمدنيين في إخماد الثورة. تجمعت حشود من اللاجئين العرب الشيعة والأكراد على حدود المملكة العربية السعودية وتركيا وإيران. صدمت لقطات تلفزيونية لأكراد منهكين في البرد القارص في المنطقة الحدودية مع تركيا الرأي العام الدولي، في حين لم يتم عرض صور مشابهة لمعاناة اللاجئين العرب الشيعة على الحدود مع إيران. كانت العلاقة بين مصير هؤلاء الأكراد والحرب في الكويت واضحة جداً بحيث لم يعد بإمكان التحالف المضاد للعراق تجاهلها. ضغطت الحكومة التركية على الحكومات الغربية لتهيئة الظروف في شمال العراق ليتمكن اللاجئون الأكراد في تركيا من العودة إلى ديارهم.

في منتصف نيسان/أبريل، تم اتخاذ قرار إقامة “ممر آمن” في قسم صغير من كردستان العراق بالقرب من زاخو ودهوك، ومنطقة حظر جوي شمال خط العرض 36. (تم ذلك كله دون أساس قانوني في قرارات مجلس الأمن). غطت المنطقة جزءً من كردستان العراق فقط، باستثناء مدينة السليمانية. قامت الطائرات الأمريكية والبريطانية و (في البداية) الفرنسية بجولات طيران استطلاعية يومية فوق المنطقة من قاعدة Incirlik للقوات الجوية في تركيا. وتم إجبار الجيش العراقي وقوات الأمن وأجهزة الاستخبارات على الانسحاب من الممر الآمن. وبعد عدة أشهر، في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1991، انسحبوا بشكل أحادي الجانب من معظم المنطقة الكردية، بعد أن أدركوا عدم قدرتهم على السيطرة على المنطقة دون تكبد خسائر كبيرة. ومن حسن حظ الأكراد، فتح هذا الطريق لكردستان حرة بحكم الأمر الواقع في العراق.

في آب/أغسطس عام 1992، أقيمت منطقة حظر جوي أخرى جنوب خط العرض 32 (امتد شمالاً إلى خط العرض 33 عام 1996). وفّر ذلك حماية قليلة للسكان العرب الشيعة، لأن الجيش والمخابرات، خلافاً لما حدث في الشمال، ظلوا ينشطون في المنطقة. كان الهدف من هذا الإجراء في المقام الأول حماية القوات الأجنبية المتمركزة في الكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية من الهجوم الجوي العراقي.

منذ ذلك الحين، أصبح هناك حكومة كردية ذاتية فعلية، حكومة إقليم كردستان، في المحافظات الشمالية الثلاث دهوك وأربيل والسليمانية وأجزاء من المحافظات المجاورة، ويقطنها الأكراد بشكل رئيسي. وجرت انتخابات عامة في 19 أيار/مايو عام 1992. نتج عنها  طريق مسدود تقريباً بين الحزبين الرئيسيين، الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني و الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني، مما أدى إلى تزايد التوترات السياسية. عام 1994، اندلعت حرب أهلية دامية أدت إلى تقسيم فعلي للمنطقة إلى منطقة يحكمها الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني وأخرى يحكمها الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني. وفقط بعد سقوط نظام صدام حسين عام 2003، تصالح الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني والاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني.


العراق الكويت
منطقة حظر الطيران فوق الأراضي العراقية بعد غزو الكويت عام 1991

قرية كردية مدمرة Photos Fanack
قرية كردية مدمرة Photos Fanack
عائلة مشردة عادت إلى قريتهم المدمرة
عائلة مشردة عادت إلى قريتهم المدمرة
دمار وإعادة إعمار
دمار وإعادة إعمار
أكراد في مآوي مؤقتة
أكراد في مآوي مؤقتة
تحديد أساسات بيت جديد
تحديد أساسات بيت جديد
وضع أساسات بيت جدي
وضع أساسات بيت جدي

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / The Kurds / Support for the Kurds

Support for the Kurds

At least 200,000 rebels and civilians were slain in putting down the rebellions. Floods of Shiite Arab and Kurdish refugees converged on the borders of Saudi Arabia, Iran, and Turkey. Television pictures of exhausted Kurds in the freezing cold in the border region with Turkey – similar images of suffering Shiite Arab refugees on the border with Iran remained largely unseen – shocked international public opinion. The relation between the fate of these Kurds and the war in Kuwait was so clear that the anti-Iraq coalition could no longer look the other way. The Turkish government pressured Western governments to create conditions in northern Iraq that would enable the Kurdish refugees to return home from Turkey.

In mid-April the decision was made to set up a ‘Safe Haven’ in a small section of Iraqi Kurdistan, near Zakho and Dohuk, and a No-Fly Zone, north of the 36th parallel. (This was all done without any juridical basis in UN Security Council resolutions.) The zone covered only part of Iraqi Kurdistan, excluding, for instance, the city of Sulaymaniya. US, British, and (initially) French planes carried out daily reconnaissance flights over the area from Turkey’s Incirlik Air Force Base. The Iraqi army and its security forces and intelligence services were forced to withdraw from the Safe Haven. After several months, in October 1991, they unilaterally withdrew from most of the Kurdish region, realizing that they could not control the area without incurring major costs. To the great joy of the Kurds, this opened the way for a de facto free Kurdistan in Iraq.

In August 1992 a second No-Fly Zone was established, south of the 32nd parallel (extended north to the 33rd parallel in 1996). This offered the Shiite Arab population little protection, because, unlike in the north, the army and secret police remained active in the zone. The measure was intended primarily to protect the foreign troops stationed in Kuwait and Saudi Arabia from Iraqi air attack.

From then on there was a de facto Kurdish self-government, the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG), in the three northern provinces of Dohuk, Arbil, and Sulaymaniya, as well as in parts of neighbouring provinces, inhabited mainly by Kurds. A general election was held on 19 May 1992. The result, a near stalemate between the two main parties, the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) and the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK), created growing political tensions. In 1994 a bloody civil war broke out, which led to a de facto division of the area into a KDP-ruled zone and a PUK-ruled zone. Only after the downfall of the regime of Saddam Hussein in 2003 were the KDP and the PUK reconciled.

Kurdish village destroyed, Photos Fanack
Kurdish village destroyed, Photos Fanack
Homeless family returned to their destroyed village
Homeless family returned to their destroyed village
Kurds in temporary shelters
Kurds in temporary shelters
Destruction and reconstruction
Destruction and reconstruction
Laying the foundation for a new house
Laying the foundation for a new house
Designing the foundation for a new house
Designing the foundation for a new house

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.