فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأكراد / ترمب وتركيا والأكراد: أصدقاء مقربون وألدّ الأعداء

ترمب وتركيا والأكراد: أصدقاء مقربون وألدّ الأعداء

Specials- Manbij
مركبات عسكرية أمريكية تعبر حاجزاً لقوات الأمن الداخلي في منبج أثناء توجهها إلى قاعدتها على مشارف المدينة السورية الشمالية في 30 ديسمبر 2018. Photo AFP

بواحدةٍ من تغريداته التي أساءت لسمعة إدارته، أعاد الرئيس الأمريكي، دونالد ترمب، إشعال التوترات في الشرق الأوسط وأعاد تصدر العلاقات الأمريكية الكردية لعناوين الأخبار الدولية.

فقد أعلن ترمب، عبر تغريدةٍ وفيديو نُشر في ديسمبر 2018، إنسحاب القوات الأمريكية من سوريا، مُنهياً إنتشاراً يدعم القوات التي تقاتل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” بقيادة الأكراد. فقد زودت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية قوات سوريا الديمقراطية بميزاتٍ مهمة، بما في ذلك الضربات الجوية والقوات الخاصة والمدفعية. ولم تساعد هذه الميزات قوات سوريا الديمقراطية في إبعاد داعش فحسب، بل ساهمت أيضاً بحمايتها من اعتداءات القوات السورية والروسية والتركية. ومع قرار ترمب، يبدو أن السياسة الأمريكية-السورية باتت في مهب الريح، ومعها ومستقبل الأكراد. وعلى نحوٍ مفهوم، لم يتقبل الأكراد في شمال سوريا هذا الإعلان.

أسبابهم وجيه لتساورهم الشكوك، فمنذ عقودٍ مضت، وضع المجتمع الكردي (لا سيما أكراد العراق)، ثقتهم، مراراً وتكراراً، بالصداقة والمُحاباة الأمريكية ليتم في النهاية تبديد آمالهم بمجرد ما أن أصبحت مصالحهم تخالف مصالح واشنطن. فبدايةً، شجع الرئيس جورج بوش الأكراد على الإنتفاض ضد صدام حسين، ليتركهم دون حمايةٍ من القوة العسكرية في بغداد. وبعد سنوات، أي في عام 2017، بعد قتال داعش بدعمٍ جوي أمريكي، رفضت الولايات المتحدة دعم الاستفتاء الكردي للإستقلال عن بغداد. بل إن أي انسحابٍ فوري للولايات المتحدة من سوريا سيشكل بالتأكيد خيانةً أخرى للأكراد.

لم يخفِ ترمب رغبته في سحب القوات الأمريكية من الصراعات في الخارج، ولا تُشكل رغبته في الوفاء بوعود حملته أي مفاجأة، فأسلوبه العدواني، الذي لا يُعبر عن أي ندمٍ في الحكم، يُماثل أسلوب نظيره التركي رجب طيب أردوغان، الذي لربما لعب دوراً في هذا القرار.

الأكراد: بيادق الشطرنج؟

في السنوات الأخيرة، عانت الولايات المتحدة من علاقةٍ ذات طابعٍ سيء مع تركيا، مع توتراتٍ نابعة من مخاوف تتعلق بحقوق الإنسان في أعقاب محاولة الانقلاب في عام 2016 منذ حقبة أوباما، والاستبداد المتنامي لأردوغان، والاحتجاز الذي يبدو أن لا أساس له من الصحة لمواطنٍ أمريكي وعدة أشخاص آخرين من أصولٍ تركية، واحتجاز موظفين من القنصلية الأمريكية، ووجود المتهم الأول بالانقلاب الفاشل، فتح الله غولن، في الولايات المتحدة، ومحاكمة الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك خلق في نيويورك بتهمٍ تتعلق بتهربٍ تركي بملايين الدولارات من العقوبات الأمريكية على إيران.

وعلى الرغم من أن التوترات أخذت طابعاً أكثر صمتاً منذ إطلاق سراح أندرو برونسون، أحد المعتقلين الأمريكيين، إلا أنه لا تزال هناك مخاوف من أنّ سياسة أنقرة في سوريا وإصرار تركيا على شراء النظام الصاروخي الروسي من طراز إس 400، يعدّ انتهاكاً لاتفاقات حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو). لذا، كان من المفاجىء، بعض الشيء، لمراقبي تركيا أن يسمعوا أن قرار ترمب بالإنسحاب من سوريا جاء على ما يبدو خلال مكالمةٍ هاتفية مع أردوغان. عندما ضغط أردوغان على ترمب حول سياسة الولايات المتحدة في سوريا، ورد أن ترامب شكك في سبب بقاء القوات الأمريكية هناك على أي حال، حيث عرض على تركيا حكماً مجانياً في سوريا (وذلك ظاهرياً لإنهاء سيطرة داعش) كورقة مساومة – الذي يعدّ فوزاً كبيراً لأنقرة. من جهته، يشكل هذا الانسحاب منعطفاً للممارسات الأمريكية المتبعة في سوريا، وبالتحديد دعم الشركاء الأجانب لسحق داعش.

المصادر: Wikipedia, southfront.org, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy and The Middle East Eye. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

حربٌ كلامية

دون أدنى شك، أثلج قرار ترمب قلوب الإدارة التركية، حيث رحب أردوغان بهذه الخطوة وعرض السيطرة على الأمن في منبج، إحدى المدن الرئيسية في سوريا التي يسيطر عليها الأكراد. وعلى نطاقٍ أوسع، وعدت تركيا منذ فترةٍ طويلة بتوسيع نطاق عملياتها ضد الجماعات الكردية في المنطقة الواقعة غرب الفرات إلى الأراضي التي يسيطر عليها الأكراد شرق النهر. كانت العقبة الرئيسية أمام هذه الخطوة هي سلسلة المواقع الأمامية الأمريكية في المناطق الكردية، مما حدد خطوطاُ حمر أمام تركيا. وحتى إن أصبح التعاون التركي-الأمريكي أكثر وديةً في الأشهر الأخيرة، حتى مع خروج دورياتٍ مشتركة تجوب أطراف المناطق الكردية، فإن الحكومة التركية لا تزال تتطلع بشدة إلى فرصةٍ لتحييد التهديد الكردي على طول حدودها الجنوبية. فتركيا تعتبر ميليشيا وحدات حماية الشعب الكردية- السورية كياناً تابعاً لحزب العمال الكردستاني، المتمردون الأكراد الذين يشنون حرب عصاباتٍ ضعيفة نوعاً ما في تركيا منذ عقود.

ونتيجةً لذلك، رد ترمب على أنقرة، ووعد “بتدمير” اقتصاد تركيا إذا ما قامت بمهاجمة الأكراد السوريين. وعلى نحوٍ مفهوم، انفجر الأتراك غضباً، حيث اتهم زعيم المعارضة التركية الولايات المتحدة بالتصرف كأولاد المدارس “المتنمرين.” واعتباراً من أوائل عام 2019، لم يتحرك الأتراك مرةً أخرى داخل الشمال السوري، ولا شك أنهم ينتظرون معرفة متى أو ما إذا كان انسحاب الولايات المتحدة سيتم. ومع ذلك، من سخرية القدر، وفي نفس تغريدة تهديده بالدمار الاقتصادي لتركيا، أشار ترمب، على نحوٍ غامض، إلى “منطقة آمنة لمسافة 20 ميل” التي اقترحتها أنقرة لسنوات والتي دفع أردوغان مرةً أخرى لفرضها في يناير.

السؤال الحقيقي

إلا أن السؤال الحقيقي المطروح هو، ماذا سيفعل الأكراد؟ بدايةً، وبعد تغريدة ترمب بالإنسحاب الأمريكي، بدا أن تحالف قوات سوريا الديمقراطية مع نظام بشار الأسد وروسيا أمراً مرجحاً. فقد كانت هناك مؤشراتٌ مبكرة على تواصل قوات سوريا الديمقراطية مع كلا الطرفين والاحتجاج على الخطوة الأمريكية. وفي غضون أيام، كانت القوات الموالية للأسد تتحرك باتجاه مناطق كانت تهيمن عليها قوات سوريا الديمقراطية. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه سبق وتحالف الأكراد مع الأسد، فخلال معركة تحرير وحصار حلب، احتفظ الأكراد بالسيطرة على حي مركزي في المدينة، وعندما سقطت المدينة أخيراً، سُمح لقوات الأسد بالمرور عبر المناطق الكردية لمهاجمة المتمردين السوريين من الخلف. وعلى نحوٍ مماثل، وخلال العديد من مراحل الحرب، عاشت القوات الكردية والموالية للأسد جنباً إلى جنب في محافظة الحسكة. ويبدو أن الأسد قد سمح بهذا الحكم الذاتي الكردي كوسيلةٍ لتجنب إضافة جماعةٍ أخرى إلى القائمة الطويلة من معارضي النظام.

إنقطاع الأخبار مبشرٌ بالخير؟

ومع ذلك، وبمجرد إنطلاق صافرة الإنذار في أرجاء الطيف السياسي الأمريكي في أعقاب قرار ترمب، وتخفيف حدة ما بدا في بادىء الأمر انسحابٌ فوري، يبدو أنه تم تعليق النأي الكردي بالنفس عن أمريكا. ومع ذلك، تشبث ترمب برأيه، بالرغم من استقالة وزير دفاعه، الجنرال السابق جيم ماتيس.

ولأسباب واضحة، يُفضل الأكراد المحاباة الأمريكية على الروسية أو السورية. فقد رأى الأكراد في سوريا بالفعل كيف أن أكراد العراق يلوذون بالحكم الذاتي ويستفيدون من الاستقلال، على أرض الواقع، عن طريق استخدام القوة العسكرية الأمريكية (والغربية) لحماية أنفسهم من انتهاكات عهد صدام، وكذلك لعزل أنفسهم عن سيادة بغداد. وفي حين أن الولايات المتحدة قد رفضت أو لم تتمكن من تنفيذ منطقة حظر الطيران كما فعلت في العراق في التسعينيات، فإن وجود القوات الأمريكية شرقي الفرات أوقف حتى الآن القوات السورية أو الروسية من استعادة المنطقة في أيدي دمشق. ونتيجةً لذلك، تمكنت القوات الكردية من تحقيق منطقة حكمٍ ذاتي، تزخر بشكلٍ خاصٍ بالحكم، وبعلمها وباسمها.

إن الإنحياز إلى روسيا بشكلٍ وثيق الصلة يعني الإنحياز إلى الأسد، مما يستبعد على الأرجح إمكانية الحكم الذاتي في المستقبل. وعلاوةً على ذلك، أظهرت القوات الروسية استعداداً مباشراً لتحدي السيطرة الكردية على المناطق الغنية بالنفط في شمال شرق سوريا، الذي أوقفته فحسب قوة النيران الأمريكية. وفي الوقت الذي لا توجد فيه أي إشارةٌ إلى أن دمشق تضغط من أجل السيطرة على هذه المناطق التي يديرها الأكراد حتى الآن، فبمجرد أن يقوم الأسد (أو إذا ما نجح) بسحق المتمردين في إدلب، المعقل الرئيسي للمناهضين العرب للأسد، فمن المرجح أن يوجه اهتمامه نحو المناطق الكردية.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، أعاد مقتل أربعة جنودٍ أمريكيين في يناير الجاري بسبب هجومٍ انتحاري في منبج، الذي قامت به داعش على ما يبدو، تركيز اهتمام الولايات المتحدة على مهمتها في سوريا. وعلى الرغم من أن إعلان ترمب عن الاتجاه المستقبلي للسياسة الأمريكية في سوريا قد ألقي بظلالٍ جديدة من عدم اليقين على شمال البلاد، إلا أن الانسحاب كان حتى الآن، وإلى حدٍ كبير، مجرد حبرٍ على ورق.

وإلى حين اختفاء القوات من الميدان، قد لا يعني هذا “الإنسحاب” سوى تعقيداً آخر للحرب في سوريا.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / The Kurds / Trump, Turkey and the Kurds: Best Friends, Worst Enemies

Trump, Turkey and the Kurds: Best Friends, Worst Enemies

Specials- Manbij
US military vehicles drive through a checkpoint of the Internal Security Forces in Manbij as they head to their base on the outskirts of the northern Syrian city on December 30, 2018. Photo AFP

With one of the tweets that have made his administration infamous, US President Donald Trump has re-ignited tensions in the Middle East and thrust US-Kurdish relations back into international headlines.

In a December 2018 tweet and video, Trump announced that US forces would be withdrawing from Syria, ending a deployment supporting the Kurdish-led forces battling Islamic State (IS). The US has provided the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) with significant assets, including airstrikes, special forces and artillery. These have not only allowed the SDF to push aside IS but have also protected it from aggressions by Syrian, Russian and Turkish forces. With Trump’s decision, US-Syrian policy appears to be up in the air and the Kurds’ future with it. Understandably, the Kurds of northern Syria have not taken kindly to the announcement.

They have reason to be suspicious. For decades, the Kurdish community (but mainly the Kurds in Iraq) have repeatedly put their faith in American friendship and patronage only to have their hopes dashed when their interests no longer aligned with Washington’s. President George Bush encouraged the Kurds to rise up against Saddam Hussein, only to leave them unprotected from Baghdad’s military might. Years later, in 2017, after battling IS with US air support, the US refused to back a Kurdish referendum on independence from Baghdad. Any immediate US withdrawal from Syria would surely constitute another betrayal for the Kurds.

Trump has made no secret of his desire to pull US troops out of conflicts abroad, and it should come as little surprise that he has chosen to fulfil this campaign promise. His confrontational, unrepentant governing style matches that of Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, who may have played a role in the decision.

The Kurds: Pawns in a Chess Game?

In recent years, the US has had a fractious relationship with Turkey, with tensions stemming from Obama-era concerns over human rights following the 2016 attempted coup, Erdogan’s growing authoritarianism, the apparently baseless detention of a US citizen and several others of Turkish descent, the detention of US consular staff, the presence of accused failed coup leader Fethullah Gulen in the US and a New York prosecution of a Halkbank executive behind a multi-million dollar Turkish-enabled evasion of US sanctions on Iran.

Although tensions have been more muted since the release of Andrew Brunson, one of the US detainees, there are still concerns around Ankara’s Syria policy and Turkey’s determination to buy a Russian-made S-400 missile system, in violation of NATO conventions. So it was with some surprise that Turkey watchers heard that Trump’s Syria pull-out decision apparently came about during a phone call with Erdogan. When Erdogan pressed Trump on US policy in Syria, Trump reportedly questioned why US forces were still there anyway, offering Turkey free reign in Syria (ostensibly to finish off IS) as a bargaining chip – a major win for Ankara. This withdrawal constitutes a U-turn of established US practice in Syria, namely backing foreign partners to crush IS.

Sources: Wikipedia, southfront.org, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy and The Middle East Eye. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

War of Words

There is little doubt that Trump’s announcement would have been music to the ears of the Turkish leadership. Erdogan welcomed the move and offered to take control of security in Manbij, one of the key towns in Kurdish-controlled Syria. More broadly though, Turkey has long promised to expand its operations against Kurdish groups in the area west of the Euphrates to the Kurdish-held territory east of the river. The principal obstacle to this has been the string of US outposts in the Kurdish areas, demarcating a red line for Turkey. Even if Turkish-US cooperation has become more amicable in recent months, with joint patrols even starting on the edges of Kurdish areas, the Turkish government is still keenly eyeing an opportunity to neutralise the Kurdish threat along its southern border. Turkey considers the Syrian-Kurdish YPG militia to be an affiliate of the PKK, the Kurdish insurgents who have waged a low-level guerrilla war in Turkey for decades.

As a result, Trump fired back at Ankara, promising to “devastate” Turkey’s economy if it attacks the Syrian Kurds. The Turkish response was understandably outraged, with the Turkish opposition leader, Kemal Kilicdaroglu, accusing the US of acting like a “school bully”. As of early 2019, the Turks have not moved back into northern Syria, no doubt waiting to see when or if the US withdrawal occurs. Yet, ironically, in the same tweet as his threat of economic devastation, Trump made a vague reference to a ‘20-mile safe zone’ that Ankara has proposed for years and which Erdogan once again pushed for in January.

The Real Question

But the real question is, what will the Kurds do? Initially following Trump’s pull-out tweet, an SDF alliance with the regime of Bashar al-Assad and Russia seemed most likely. There were early signs of the SDF reaching out to both parties and protesting the US move. Within days, pro-al-Assad forces were reportedly moving into areas previously dominated by the SDF. There is a precedent for a Kurdish-al-Assad alliance. Throughout the entire battle and siege of Aleppo, the Kurds held a central quarter of the city, and when the city finally fell, al-Assad’s troops were allowed to pass through the Kurdish areas to attack the Syrian rebels from the rear. Likewise, throughout much of the war, loyalist and Kurdish forces have lived cheek by jowl in Hassakeh province. Al-Assad has seemingly allowed this Kurdish autonomy as a means of avoiding adding another group to the long list of regime opponents.

No News is Good News?

However, with alarm quick to spread across the American political spectrum following Trump’s decision, and a toning down of what at first appeared to be an immediate withdrawal, a Kurdish move away from the Americans seems to have been put on hold. That said, Trump has stuck to his guns, even as his defense secretary, ex-General Jim Mattis, resigned.

For obvious reasons, the Kurds would favour American patronage over Russian or Syrian. Syria’s Kurds have already seen how Iraq’s Kurds obtained autonomy and arguably de facto independence by using American (and Western) military muscle to protect themselves from Saddam-era abuses and also to isolate themselves from Baghdad’s sovereignty. While the US has refused or been unable to implement a no-fly zone like it did in Iraq in the 1990s, the presence of US forces east of the Euphrates has so far halted Syrian or Russian forces from reclaiming the territory for Damascus. As a result, Kurdish forces have been able to implement an autonomous territory, replete with its own form of governance, flag and name.

Siding with Russia inextricably means siding with al-Assad, likely ruling out the possibility of future autonomy. Furthermore, Russian forces have proven willing to directly challenge Kurdish control of oil-rich areas of north-eastern Syria, only stopped by US firepower. While there is no sign of Damascus pushing for control of these Kurdish-run regions yet, once (or if) al-Assad quashes the rebels in Idlib, the main bastion of anti-al-Assad Arab resistance, he is likely to turn his attention to the Kurdish areas.

Furthermore, the death in January of four US personnel in a suicide bombing in Manbij, purportedly by IS, has refocused US attention on its mission in Syria. Although Trump’s announcement of the future direction of US policy in Syria has thrown new uncertainty over the country’s north-east, the pull-out has so far been largely in name only.

Until boots on the ground begin disappearing, this ‘pull-out’ may mean nothing but another layer of complexity in the war in Syria.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.