فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / وُجوه / مسلم البراك: مصلح حقيقي أم مجرد بيدق على لوح الشطرنج؟

مسلم البراك: مصلح حقيقي أم مجرد بيدق على لوح الشطرنج؟

زعيم المعارضة الكويتية مسلم البراك (Photo by YASSER AL-ZAYYAT / AFP)

ينتقد كتاب الأعمدة في الصحف والسياسيين والأساتذة جميعاً، وبشكلٍ علني، الشؤون السياسية الراهنة (2014- 2015)  في الكويت بشكلٍ يومي، إلا أنّ أياً منهم لايتجاوز الخط الأحمر، أو يعمد إلى الانتقاد المباشر للأمير صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح. ومع ذلك، وفي أكتوبر 2012 تجرأ مسلم البراك (مواليد 1956) على ذلك، مصرحاً أنّ الكويت أصبحت دولة استبدادية. أدى هذا إلى اعتقاله بتهمة إهانة الأمير، وأكدّ على أنّ البراك أضحى من أكثر شخصيات المعارضة جرأة وشهرة في الكويت.

وكأحد أفراد قبيلة المطير الضخمة، يعتبر أول الشخصيات من أصول قبلية بارزة، يخالف النخبة التجارية، المعروفون عادةً بالحضر (العائلات التجارية)، المُسيطرة على المشهد عبر التاريخ. وهم يعتبرون أنفسهم السكان الأصليين للكويت وينظرون نظرة دونية إلى البدو، كما يحلو لهم أن يطلقوا على الأفراد من أصول قبلية، الذين يشكّلون غالبية السكان.

ومن الخطأ القول أنّ البراك واجه المعارضة في الكويت، إذ لا يُمثل سوى شريحة  معينة من المعارضة، تلك الشريحة التي تؤمن أنّ الوقت قد حان ليُسمع صوتها، أي بشكلٍ عام، البدو والشيعة والبدون (البدو الذين لم يحصلوا على الجنسية الكويتية قط ويعتبرون الأقل مكانة على السلم الاجتماعي).

يَعتبر عبدالحكيم الفضلي، المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان والمناضل من أجل حقوق البدون، البراك صديق وزعيم زميل في حركة الاحتجاج. وصف الفضلي، البراك المعجب بشخصيته البراغماتية “إنه زعيم سياسي حقيقي وفريد وشخصية محبوبة للغاية” وأضاف “يتمتع بمرونة كافية لطلب المشورة من الأشخاص الذين يعرفهم، على سبيل المثال، الأشخاص الذين يعرفون كيفية تعبئة الشارع مثلي”.

يصف شفيق الغبرا، أستاذ العلوم السياسية في جامعة الكويت، البراك في مقالة لمعهد الشرق الأوسط بأنه “مزيج من النقابي، والزعيم الوطني والسياسي المحبوب الذي يهدف إلى إحداث تغيير سلمي لسياسات النخبة في الكويت، لتصبح كيان أكثر ديمقراطية وشمولاً وانفتاحاً”، إذ لا ينبغي اعتباره معتدلاً أو حتى علمانياً لأنه ليس كذلك.

سياسي محافظ

يعتبر البراك من المحافظين، الذي صوّتوا، عندما كان لا يزال عضواً في البرلمان وهو المنصب الذي خسره بعد مقاطعة الانتخابات عام 2012، على الفصل بين الجنسين في المدارس والجامعات وضد مشروع قانون منح المرأة الحق في التصويت (الذي تمت الموافقة عليه مؤخراً). وكثيراً ما اتهم من قبل الطبقة الحاكمة بوجود علاقات تربطه بجماعة الإخوان المسلمين وقبوله هدايا بما قيمة 200 مليون دولار من قطر.

وقال الفضلي “يتهموني أيضاً بانتمائي للإخوان المسلمين، ولم تثبت قط اتهامات الفساد التي طالت البراك. لا تنسوا أن بإمكان الحكام أيضاً شراء أي وسيلة إعلامية يريدون، من أجل الترويج لمثل هذه الإتهامات، حيث تم مؤخراً إغلاق الصحيفة ومحطة التلفزيون المعارضة الوحيدة”. في يوليو 2014، تم إغلاق المنفذين الإعلاميين، صحيفة العالم اليوم وقناة اليوم ،  اللذان اعتبرا مؤيدان للمعارضة، في حين أعلن رسمياً افتقارهما للتراخيص المطلوبة.

يرى البعض أن لا بأس في هذا: “إنهم مجموعة من سكان الصحراء، ممن يسمون أنفسهم معارضة وهم فخورون بتراثهم السعودي. هل أحتاج لقول المزيد؟” من الواضح أنّ وليد الغربلي، أحد أفراد العائلات التجارية في الكويت، لا يحب البراك ومؤيديه. وأضاف “إذا كان البراك بحاجة للمال لقبيلة المطير، لا مشكلة لديّ، ولكن لا يطلق على نفسه صفة معارض”.

تلك بالتحديد نقطة ضعف البراك، إذ لا تقتصر دائرة معارضيه على من يعارضونه فقط. يعارض أشخاص أمثال الغربلي العائلة الحاكمة تماماً مثل البراك، إلا أنّ فكرة حكم البدو للبلاد تدّب في قلوبهم الرعب، وستؤدي بنظرهم إلى تراجع البلاد عوضاً عن تقدمها. “السبب الوحيد لشعبيته وجود الكثير من الحمقى في البلاد، ولكن لا بد من الاعتراف بأنه يقوم بعمل جيد لصالح العائلة الحاكمة.”

يبدو أن فكرة إسداء البراك معروفاً للعائلة الحاكمة، رأي يتشاطره المؤيدون والمعارضون له على حد سواء. وقد سبق وصرّح العالم السياسي شفيق الغبرا بأنّ البراك هو صمام الأمان للنظام السياسي الكويتي، والذي يعتقد الغبرا أنه سيتغير، بطريقةٍ أو بأخرى.  وأضاف “بأنّ البراك من بين القلائل في هيكل سلطة المعارضين المتشددين الذين يتمتعون بمصداقية لعقد صفقة تسوية مع آل الصباح”.

لا يعتقد الغربلي أنّ آل الصباح يعتزمون إبرام أي اتفاق مع البراك، إذ يعتقد أنه بمثابة كبش الفداء الذي تستخدمه الحكومة لاسترضاء المواطنين الذي يطالبون بالإصلاحات السياسية. “يُستخدم من قبل الأسرة الحاكمة لتفريغ الحركات التي تسعى لتحقيق تغيير حقيقي. في الواقع، يدفع له نفس المشايخ الذين يقول أنه يرغب في إسقاطهم”.

حتى أنّ الفضلي يوافق على فكرة استغلال الأسرة الحاكمة للبراك: “بعد وفاة الأمير، يعولون على الخلافات التي ستنشأ داخل جماعات المعارضة. إنها لعبة رخيصة للغاية”. أياً كان السبب، يسود الهدوء مؤخراً حول البراك وحركته المعارضة، التي تعاني بالفعل من خلافاتٍ داخلية. إما أن البراك ينتظر الفرصة الملائمة ليضرب ضربته مجدداً، أو أنّ زوبعته تلاشت ولم يكن، في النهاية، سوى بيدق بيد الأمير على رقعة الشطرنج.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Faces / Musallam al-Barrak: Real Reformer or just a Pawn?

Musallam al-Barrak: Real Reformer or just a Pawn?

al-Barrak
Musallam al-Barrak

Columnists, politicians, professors—they all publicly criticize the current (2014-2015) state of political affairs in Kuwait on a daily basis, but they never cross the red line: direct criticism of the emir, Sabah al-Ahmed al-Jaber al-Sabah. In October 2012, however, Musallam al-Barrak (born 1956) did just that, saying that Kuwait was becoming an autocratic state. This led to his arrest for insulting the emir and confirmed al-Barrak’s status as Kuwait’s most famous and audacious opposition figure.

As a member of the large al-Mutairi tribe, he is one of the first leading figures of tribal origin, making a contrast with the commercial elites, usually called hadari (merchant families), who have predominated historically. They consider themselves the original settlers of Kuwait and look down on the Bedouins, as they call people of tribal origin, who comprise the majority of the population.

To say that al-Barrak is the opposition figure would thus be a mistake. He represents only a certain part of the Kuwaiti opposition, the marginalized part that believes their time has come to be heard—roughly speaking, the Bedouins, the Shia and the bidoun (stateless Bedouins who never received Kuwaiti citizenship and stand lowest on the social ladder).

Abdulhakim al-Fadhli, defender of human rights and fighter for bidoun rights considers al-Barrak a friend and a fellow leader of a protest movement. “He is a genuine and unique political leader and a very charismatic person.” Al-Fadhli admires his pragmatism. “He is flexible enough to seek advice from people who know, for example, how to mobilize the streets, like me.”

Shafeeq Ghabra, professor of political science at Kuwait University, describes al-Barrak in an article for the Middle East Institute as a “combination of a trade unionist, a charismatic nationalist leader and a politician whose aim is to change peacefully the elite politics of Kuwait into a more democratic, inclusive and open structure.” He should not be considered a moderate or even a secularist, for he is not.

Conservative

Al-Barrak is a conservative who voted—when he was still a member of parliament, a position he lost after boycotting the elections in 2012—for gender segregation in schools and universities and against a bill granting women the right to vote (which nevertheless passed). He has often been accused by the ruling class of having ties with the Muslim Brotherhood and of having accepted a gift of $200 million from Qatar.

Al-Fadhli: “They accuse me of being a Muslim Brother too, and the corruption claim against al-Barrak has never been proven. Don’t forget that the rulers can buy every media outlet they want in order to advertise these kind of accusations. The only real opposition newspaper and TV station were recently shut down.” In July 2014 al-Youm television and Alam al-Youm newspaper, both considered pro-opposition, were indeed closed, officially because they lacked the proper licenses.

This is fine with some: “They are a bunch of desert dwellers, who call themselves opposition. They are proud of their Saudi heritage; need I say more?” Walid Algharabally, a member of one of Kuwait’s merchant families, does not like al-Barrak and his supporters; that much is clear. “If al-Barrak would just say he needs money for the Mutairi tribe, that would be fine with me, but don’t call yourself the opposition.”

That is exactly al-Barrak’s weak point. His opposition is not the only opposition. People like Algharabally are as opposed to the ruling family as is al-Barrak, but they are horrified by the idea that Bedouins might rule the country, leading Kuwait backwards rather than forwards. “The only reason he is popular is that there are so many idiots in this country. But I admit, he is doing a good job for the ruling family.”

That he is doing a good job for the ruling family is an opinion both supporters and opponents seem to share. Political scientist Shafeeq Ghabra says that al-Barrak is a safety valve for the Kuwaiti political system, which Ghabra thinks will have to change, one way or another. “He is among the few in the hard-core opposition power structure that have the credibility to cut a compromise deal with the Sabahs.”

Algharabally does not believe that the Sabahs will strike a deal with him. He thinks al-Barrak is just used as a lightning rod to appease the citizens who are calling for fundamental reforms. “He is used by them to deflate movements that want real change. He is actually paid by the same sheikhs he says he wants to topple.”

Even al-Fadhli agrees that the ruling family is using al-Barrak. “After this emir passes away, they count on infighting within the opposition groups. It is a very mean game.” Whatever the reason, it has been quiet lately around al-Barrak and his opposition movement, which does indeed suffer from internal disagreements. Either al-Barrak is waiting for his chance to strike again, or he has faded away, a pawn in the game of the princes, after all.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!