فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / الحكم والسياسة / الانتخابات المبكرة في الكويت تؤكد على تصاعد التوترات السياسية

الانتخابات المبكرة في الكويت تؤكد على تصاعد التوترات السياسية

kuwait-governance-oil-workers-strike-fanack-hh-1024px
اضراب عمال النفط احتجاجاً على تدابير التقشف التي اتخذتها السُلطات الحكومية. فقد عزز قرار المسؤولين الحكوميين خفض الدعم عن الوقود من الأزمة السياسية التي انتهت بحل البرلمان والدعوة إلى إجراء انتخاباتٍ مبكرة من قِبل أمير الكويت، الشيخ صباح الاحمد الصباح. 17 أبريل 2016، مدينة الكويت، الكويت. Photo Noufal Ibrahim Xinhua / eyevine

أصدر أمير الكويت، الشيخ صباح الاحمد الصباح، في السادس عشر من أكتوبر 2016 مرسوماً أميرياً بحل برلمان البلاد، ممهداً الطريق أمام إجراء انتخاباتٍ برلمانيةٍ مبكرة. وبعد هذا الإعلان بوقتٍ قصير، امتلأت شوارع المناطق السكنية في الكويت بالملصقات الإعلانية الانتخابية، فلا وقت أمام المرشحين لإضاعته، إذ من المقرر إجراء الانتخابات في 26 نوفمبر2016.

أجرت الكويت آخر انتخاباتٍ برلمانية في عام 2013، وهي الرابعة منذ عام 2009. ومرة أخرى، لم تكمل الهيئة التشريعية، المكونة من 50 عضواً، الأربع سنوات من ولايتها. السبب، وفقاً لوكالة الأنباء الكويتية الرسمية (كونا)، “تنامي التحديات الأمنية، فضلاً عن التطورات الاقليمية المضطربة.” لمَ وكيف من شأن تقلب الوضع الأمني أن يتحسن بإقالة كلٍ من المجلس التشريعي والمجلس التنفيذي، أمرٌ ترك لمخيلة القرّاء.

انتشرت التكهنات حول السبب الحقيقي وراء الحل. إحدى هذه التكهنات الساذجة كان أنّ الانتخابات المقبلة، التي كان من المزمع عقدها في يوليو 2017، تُصادف في توقيتها شهر رمضان المبارك، وبالتالي سيكون الاقبال ضعيفاً. وهكذا، قرر الأمير، وفقاً للمادة 107 من الدستور، إجراء انتخاباتٍ مبكرة. ومع ذلك، كان يمكن تجنب مشكلة الجدولة هذه بحل البرلمان قبل أسابيع فحسب من نهاية ولايته، وليس قبل تسعة أشهر.

وعزت وسائل إعلامٍ دولية الأزمة السياسة الأخيرة بالخلاف حول الزيادة الأخيرة في أسعار الوقود. فقد تسبب انخفاض أسعار النفط بالتضييق مالياً على الكويت، حيث نفذت الحكومة عدداً من تدابير التقشف التي لم تحظى بشعبية، بما في ذلك خفض الدعم على الوقود، من دون موافقة البرلمان – أو هكذا يدعي البرلمان.

في واقع الأمر، كان النواب يخططون لشن هجومٍ على المسؤولين الحكوميين في الأشهر المقبلة حول هذه التدابير التقشفية، مما أثار التكهنات أن القصد من توقيت المرسوم هو إحباط هذه الإجراءات. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُعتبر البرلمان الحالي، إلى حدٍ كبير، موالٍ للحكومة، وذلك نتيجة مقاطعة المعارضة الغاضبة من نظام تصويتٍ جديد أدرج في الانتخابات الأخيرة. ويُنظر إلى الانتخابات المبكرة باعتبارها أفضل وسيلة للحفاظ على الوضع الراهن.

لماذا؟ لأن المعارض الأكثر أهمية، مسلم البراك، الذي سُجن في أعقاب الربيع العربي، لا يزال خلف القضبان. ومن المقرر إطلاق سراحه الربيع المقبل، أي قبل موعد الانتخابات المقبلة، بل إن إجراء انتخاباتٍ مبكرة من شأنه أن يمنعه من الترشح للبرلمان أو حشد الدعم الكافي.

الأمر نفسه ينطبق على المرشحين الجدد. فعلى الرغم من أن الدستور ينص على أن الانتخابات يجب أن تجرى في غضون شهرين بعد حل البرلمان، إلا أنه أقر إجراؤها في غضون أقل من ستة أسابيع بعد حل البرلمان. وبالتالي، سيكون من الصعب بالنسبة للقادمين الجدد القيام بحملات ناجحة في هذه المهلة القصيرة.

أحد هؤلاء القادمين الجدد هي غدير عسيري، واحدة من عدد قليل من النساء اللواتي أعلنّ ترشحهنّ. وعند سؤالها ما إذا كان الترشح في الوقت الحالي عملي، أجابت “عليّ القيام بذلك، حتى وإن كانت الفترة الزمنية قصيرة، فهذا هدفهم، عدم السماح للوجوه الجديدة بدخول البرلمان.”

كما رفعت المعارضة من مستوى التحدي، معلنةً إنهاء المقاطعة التي استمرت أربعة أعوامٍ، ودعت إلى المشاركة الفاعلة في الانتخابات. وحتى الآن، تقدم نحو 200 مرشح بأوراق الترشيح، إذ يمتلك المرشحون حتى 28 أكتوبر 2016 للتسجيل.

وفي ضوء ذلك، قد يلعب عاملٌ آخر دوراً في هذا؛ عاملٌ لا يمكن التغاضي عنه- على الرغم من عدم مناقشته علناً قط- فالأمير الحالي، الذي يبلغ من العمر اليوم 87 عاماً، سيتم استبداله خلال الدورة البرلمانية المقبلة.

ووفقاً للدستور، سيخلفه ولي العهد، الذي يبلغ بدوره 79 عاماً، وسيعيّن ولي عهد جديد. ولا بد من موافقة البرلمان على هذا التعيين، وهي ميزة فريدة من نوعها في المنطقة. وفي حال لم يوافق البرلمان على المرشح المقترح، ينبغي على الأمير اقتراح ثلاثة بدلاء، وعلى البرلمان اختيار أحدهم.

وليس من الواضح بعد من سيكون ولي العهد القادم، فهناك صراعٌ ضارٍ على السُلطة يدور حالياً داخل العائلة المالكة، وسيستغل مختلف أعضاء العائلة المالكة الانتخابات المقبلة لحشد الدعم البرلماني لصالح خيارهم المفضل، مما أدى إلى دعم بعض فروع العائلة المالكة للمعارضة.

ويبقى أن نرى كيف ستجري الأمور. ولكن، هناك أمرٌ واحدٌ أكيد: يوماً بعد يوم، ستغص منازل المرشحين بالرجال الذين يرتدون “الدشاشة” البيضاء، وستُقدم القهوة وتفوح رائحة الدخان أثناء جلسات النقاش التي ستخوض بكيفية قيام مُضيفهم بخدمة البلاد. ففي هذه الديوانيات، وفي هذه الحسينيات- بالنسبة للأقلية الشيعية في البلاد- تُدار الحملات الانتخابية في الكويت.

وأياً كانت نتائج الانتخابات، ومع تنامي التوترات السياسية، فمن المرجح أن يكون البرلمان المُقبل غير مستقر، مما قد يؤدي إلى حلٍ آخر وانتخاباتٍ أخرى. قد تكون هذه الطريقة الوحيدة لإطاحة المعارضة بالحرس القديم، الذين يعتبرون ممن يعيثون فساداً في البلاد. وإذا ما نجحت في ذلك، ستلحقها فيما بعد، وبكل تأكيد، اتهاماتٌ بالتزوير الانتخابي.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Noufal Ibrahim Xinhua / eyevine ©Hollandse Hoogte | Noufal Ibrahim Xinhua / eyevine ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Governance & Politics / In Kuwait, Early Elections Underline Growing Political Tensions

In Kuwait, Early Elections Underline Growing Political Tensions

kuwait-governance-oil-workers-strike-fanack-hh-1024px
Oil workers strike to protest against austerity measures taken by governmental authorities. Decision of cutting fuel subsidies by government officials has prompted a political crisis that ended with the dissolution of the parliament and the calling for early elections by the Emir of Kuwait, Sheikh Sabah al-Ahmad al-Sabah. 17 April 2016, Kuwait City, Kuwait. Photo Noufal Ibrahim Xinhua / eyevine ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Noufal Ibrahim Xinhua / eyevine

On 16 October 2016, the Emir of Kuwait, Sheikh Sabah al-Ahmad al-Sabah, issued a decree to dissolve the country’s parliament, paving the way for early elections. Almost immediately, the streets of Kuwait’s residential areas filled with electoral posters. The candidates had no time to lose; elections are scheduled for 26 November 2016.

Kuwait held its last parliamentary elections in 2013, the fourth since 2009. Once again, the 50-member legislative body has not completed its four-year term. The reason, according to the official KUNA state news agency, is ‘mounting security challenges as well as volatile regional developments’. Why and how a volatile security situation would improve by sending home both the legislative and executive bodies was left to the readers’ imagination.

Speculation about the real reason for the dissolution was rife. One rather innocent suggestion was that the next elections, scheduled for July 2017, would fall during Ramadan and voter turnout would be low. So the emir decided, as per article 107 of the constitution, to hold early elections. However, this scheduling problem could have been avoided by dissolving parliament a few weeks before the end of its term, not nine months.

International media attributed the latest political crisis to a row over the recent increase in fuel prices. With low oil prices squeezing Kuwait financially, the government implemented a number of unpopular austerity measures, including cutting fuel subsidies, without parliament’s approval – or so parliament claims.

Indeed, parliamentarians had been planning to grill government officials over the coming months about these austerity measures, prompting speculation that the decree’s timing was intended to thwart these proceedings. In addition, the current parliament is widely regarded as pro-government, the result of a boycott by the opposition angry over a new voting system during the last elections. Early elections are seen as the best way of maintaining the status quo.

Why? Because the most important opposition figure, Musallam al-Barrak, jailed following the Arab Spring, is still in prison. He is due to be released next spring, before the official election date. Holding elections early would prevent him from running for parliament or mobilizing sufficient support.

The same applies to all new candidates. Although the constitution stipulates that elections must be held within two months after parliament is dissolved, they are scheduled for less than six weeks after the dissolution. It will thus be hard for newcomers to run successful campaigns at such short notice.

One of these newcomers is Ghadeer Asiri, one of only a handful of women who have announced their candidacy. When asked whether running is doable in the time available, she replied, “I have to do it, even if it is in a short time, because that was their aim, to not let the new faces in.”

The opposition has also risen to the challenge, declaring an end to its four-year boycott and calling for active participation in the elections. So far, around 200 candidates have filed nomination papers. Candidates have until 28 October 2016 to register.

Against this backdrop, another factor may also play a role. It is not unthinkable – although never discussed openly – that the current emir, now 87 years old, will be replaced during the next parliamentary term.

According to the constitution, the crown prince, himself 79 years old, will succeed the emir and appoint a new crown prince. This appointment has to be approved by parliament, a unique feature in the region. If parliament does not approve the proposed candidate, the emir has to put forward three alternatives, one of which parliament must choose.

It is far from clear who the next crown prince will be. A fierce power struggle us underway within the royal family, and various members will use the forthcoming elections to gather parliamentary support for their preferred choice, resulting in some branches of the family supporting the opposition.

It remains to be seen how this will all play out. But one thing is sure: night after night, the front yards of the candidates’ houses will fill with men in white dishdashas (robes). Coffee will be served and cigarettes smoked as they discuss how their host can serve the country.

It is in these diwaniyas (reception areas) – and for the minority Shia population also the husseinyias (congregation halls) – that Kuwait’s election campaigns are run.

Whatever the results of the election, with political tensions on the rise, it is likely that the new parliament will be an unstable one, potentially leading to yet another dissolution and election. This may be the only way for the opposition to oust the old guard, which it deems corrupt. If it succeeds, accusations of electoral fraud will almost certainly follow.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Noufal Ibrahim Xinhua / eyevine | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Noufal Ibrahim Xinhua / eyevine

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.