فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / الحكم والسياسة / الانتخابات المبكرة في الكويت تؤكد على تصاعد التوترات السياسية / تمثيل شامل للمجتمع الكويتي في مجلس الامة الجديد

تمثيل شامل للمجتمع الكويتي في مجلس الامة الجديد

مجلس الامة الجديد في الكويت الانتخابات
امرأة تدلي بصوتها في مدينة الكويت، الكويت، 26 نوفمبر 2016. Photo imago stock&people

بعد ليلة طويلة من فرز الأصوات في انتخابات مجلس الأمة الكويتي في بثٍ مباشرٍ على التلفزيون، تصدر خمسون وجهاً لفائزين الصفحات الأولى للصحف، منهم 49 رجلاً وامرأة واحدة.

حملت إحدى الصحف عنوان “برلمان الشباب… وتغيير بنسبة 62%.” فمن الصحيح أنّ البرلمان الجديد شهد انتخاب بعض القادمين صغار السن نسبياً، إلا أنه من الصحيح أيضاً أن 62% من الأعضاء الجدد في مجلس الأمة لعام 2016، لم يكونوا نواباً في المجلس السابق الذي تم حله في أكتوبر2016. وسواء عنى هذا تغييراً ما، وإن كان كذلك، يبقى أن نرى أي نوعٍ من التغيير ذلك الذي نتحدث عنه.

فالمعارضة، التي تعارض الحكومة وبالتالي تعارض البرلمان السابق، الذي كان يعتبر مجرد امتدادٍ للحكومة، أبعد ما تكون عن الترابط. فمرشحوا المعارضة المنتخبون، الذين فازوا بـ24 مقعداً من أصل 50 مقعداً في هذه الانتخابات، يتراوحون بين الليبراليين والإسلاميين، بما في ذلك السلفيون وأعضاء جماعة مرتبطة بجماعة الإخوان المسلمين. وعلى هذا النحو، يبدو أنّ مجلس الأمة الجديد أبلى بلاءً حسناً في تمثيل المجتمع الكويتي من سابقاته.

وكما ذكرنا سابقاً، مجتمعٌ موجهٌ للذكور. فقد تم انتخاب إمرأة واحدة؛ صفاء الهاشم، وهي سياسية ليبرالية وسيدة أعمال انتخبت عضواً في مجلس الأمة لعام 2013 إلا أنها استقالت بعد عامٍ من ذلك. ولا يزال الرجال يهيمنون على نتائج الانتخابات، وهو أمرٌ لافتٌ للنظر، إذ أن الإناث أكثر نشاطاً من الناخبين الذكور في الكويت، ويرجع ذلك إلى حقيقة أنّ أفراد القوات المسلحة والشرطة لا يملكون الحق بالتصويت. ومن الجدير ذكره أن النساء حصلنّ على حق التصويت والترشح للمناصب في الكويت عام 2005.

فمن الصعب القول لمَ لا تصوت النساء للنساء في الكويت. قد يكون سلوكهنّ في التصويت إما إشارةً إلى رغبتهنّ ببساطة التصويت للمرشح الأفضل، بغض النظر عن الجنس، أو أنهنّ يصوتنّ كما يُملي عليهنّ أزواجهنّ. إلا إذا كان ذلك يعبر عن عدم ثقة في النفس، فوفقاً لإحدى الشابات “نحن النساء لا نتمتع بالقوة اللازمة للتعامل مع الرجال في مجلس الأمة.”

ومن الأمور اللافتة على حد سواء، انخفاض التمثيل القبلي. فعلى سبيل المثال، عادةً ما تحظى قبيلة المطيري، إحدى أكبر القبائل في البلاد، بتمثيلٍ قوي في البرلمان، الذي غالباً ما تحصل عليه، ببساطة، بفضل قاعدتها الواسعة من الناخبين. إلا أنه في هذه المرة، لم تفز قبيلة المطيري سوى بمقعدٍ واحد. يرجع السبب في ذلك إلى عدم توافقهم على مرشحين محددين وانتهى الأمربترشح 26 منهم، الذين، باستثناء ماجد المطيري عن الدائرة الخامسة، لم يحصلوا على أصوات كافية للوصول إلى البرلمان. وقد يكون هذا إشارةً على كسر التقاليد القبلية القوية التي تميّز السياسة الكويتية، إلا أنه يبقى التأكد من هذا الأمر على المدى الطويل.

وسواء ما إذا كان هذا التنوع في أعضاء الكوكبة الجديدة من مجلس الأمة سيؤدي إلى وضعٍ قابلٍ للتنفيذ، يعتمد إلى حدٍ كبير على تعيين أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح لأعضاء الحكومة الجديدة. فالتعاون بين البرلمان والحكومة قد يكون ممكناً فحسب إذا كان أعضاء مجلس الأمة الجديد مقبولين بالنسبة للأغلبية. ففي العصر الحالي من الضائقة الاقتصادية والافتقار إلى رؤية عامة، تبرز الحاجة بشكلٍ كبير لمثل هذا التعاون حول رؤيةٍ تحرّك البلاد إلى الأمام.

وإذا لم يتم التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ للتعاون بين الهيئتين، ستشهد البلاد معارك سياسية متواصلة. فبعض الأعضاء السابقين في البرلمان، الذين فشلوا في الحصول على مقاعد في مجلس الأمة الجديد، يتجادلون بالفعل حول النتائج، مدعين وجود عبثٍ في صناديق الاقتراع أثناء عملية فرز الأصوات. وبما أنّ أمير البلاد يملك السُلطة المطلقة في حل البرلمان، تبقى الديمقراطية المنقوصة في الكويت سريعة التأثر للسنوات المقبلة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: imago stock&people ©Hollandse Hoogte | imago stock&people ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Governance & Politics / In Kuwait, Early Elections Underline Growing Political Tensions / Opposition is back in the new Kuwaiti parliament

Opposition is back in the new Kuwaiti parliament

new kuwaiti parliament elections
A woman casts her ballot in Kuwaiti City, Kuwait, 26 November 2016. Photo imago stock&people ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ imago stock&people

After a long night of counting votes in Kuwait parliament elections live on TV, on 27 November 2016, fifty faces of winners appeared on the front pages of the newspapers. Forty-nine men and one woman.

‘The parliament of the youth…and 62% change’, one of the headlines read. It is true that some relatively young newcomers were elected. It is also true that 62% of the new members of the National Assembly 2016, did not serve in the previous one, dissolved in October 2016. Whether this meant change, and if so, what type of change, remained to be seen.

The opposition, against the government and so against the previous parliament, which was deemed merely an extension of the government, is far from united. The elected opposition candidates, who won 24 of the 50 seats in the election, range from liberals to Islamists, including Salafists and members of a group linked to the Muslim Brotherhood. As such, the new National Assembly seems to do a better job at representing the Kuwaiti society than the previous one.

And a male-oriented society at that. Only one woman was elected: Safa Al Hashem, a liberal politician and a businesswoman who served in the 2013 National Assembly but resigned after one year. The election results remain dominated by men, which is remarkable, since there are more active female than male voters in Kuwait, due to the fact that members of the armed forces and the police have no voting rights. Women gained the right to vote and stand for office in Kuwait in 2005.

It is hard to say why women don’t vote for women. Their voting behaviour may be either a sign that they simply want the best candidate, regardless gender, or that they vote as their husbands tell them. Unless it reflects a lack of self-confidence: “We women are not strong enough to deal with the men in parliament,” a young woman explained.

Equally remarkable is the tribal decline. For example, Al Mutairi, one of the country’s biggest tribes, traditionally has a strong representation in parliament, simply gained by their large base of voters. This time, however, the Al Mutairi tribe only won one seat. The reason: they could not agree on which delegates to run and ended up running with 26 candidates, who, except Majed Al Mutairi who was elected in the fifth district, did not get enough votes to reach the parliament. This could potentially be a sign of a breaking with the strong tribal tradition that marks Kuwaiti politics, but it remains to be confirmed in the longer term.

Whether this diversity of members of the new constellation of the National Assembly will lead to a workable situation largely depends on the appointment by the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah of new government members. Co-operation between parliament and the government may only be possible if the new Assembly members are acceptable for the majority. In current times of economic distress and a general lack of vision, such cooperation on a vision to move the country forwards would be much needed.

If no cooperation deal can be reached between the two entities, the country will witness ongoing political fights. Some former members of parliament who failed to return to the National Assembly are already contesting the results, claiming there was tampering with the ballot boxes during the poll count. As the Amir has the ultimate power to dismiss the parliament, Kuwait’s semi-democracy remains vulnerable for the years to come.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ imago stock&people | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ imago stock&people

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.