فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / من الماضي الى الحاضر

تاريخ الكويت من من الماضي الى الحاضر

سكان مدينة الكويت يحيون الجنود الأمريكيين بعد هزيمة الجيش العراقي.

تعج الكويت والجزر التابعة لها بآثارٍ تعود لأزمنة غابرة قبل الميلاد. وتجسد تلك الآثار حضارات لعصورٍ متعددة، بدأت مع العصور الحجرية مرورا بالعصور البرونزية. وقد وجدت بعض الآثار في جزيرة فيلكا، وجزيرة أم النمل، تعود إلى الحضارة الهلينستية؛ حيث تأثر سكان الكويت في تلك الفترة بالحضارة الدلمونية التي استقرت في البحرين.

وعلى الرغم أن الهيلينستيين عاشوا في جزيرة فيلكا منذ القرن السادس قبل الميلاد، غير أن أول ظهور للكويت في التاريخ، كان في عهد اليونانيين (القرن الثالث ق.م)، بعد أن استولت قوات الإسكندر الأكبر على جزيرة فيلكا، وأسماها اليونانيون باسم إيكاروس. وقد كانت الجزيرة سكناً لبعض اليونانيين وبعض التجار الأجانب والسكان المحليين.

ربما تكون فيلكا والساحل القريب منها قد سقطت تحت هيمنة السلوقيين والفرثيين (البارثيين) والسلالات الساسانية، خلال الألفية التي امتدت بين عصر الإسكندر والعصور الإسلامية.

كانت الكويت في العصور البعيدة جزءًا من منطقة البحرين القديمة التي تمتد من البصرة حتى عمان على ساحل الخليج العربي/الفارسي، والإحساء والبحرين وقطر. وكانت أرض الكويت موطنًا للقبائل العربية أهمها قبيلة تميم. ولما ظهرت دولة آل عريعر وأمراء قبيلة بني خالد بالإحساء وأمنت نفوذها إلى نجد وقطر والعراق، بنوا لهم حصنًا على أرض مدينة الكويت، وقبل تأسيسها سموها الكوت، ويقع على مرتفع البهنية أمام قصر السيف.

وصول آل الصباح والحماية البريطانية (١٦٠١-١٩٦١)

في القرن السابع عشر(1601–1700م)، تأسست المدينة وكان معظم سكانها –منذ تأسيسها– يمتهنون الغوص لجمع اللؤلؤ والتجارة البحرية بين الهند وشبة الجزيرة العربية، الأمر الذي ساعد في تحويل الكويت إلى مركزٍ تجاري في شمال الخليج العربي/الفارسي، وميناءٍ رئيسي لكل من شبه الجزيرة وبلاد الرافدين. وازدهرت المدينة بعدما استوطنها آل صباح وأقربائهم العتوب عام 1128هـ/1716م، بعد أن كانت تتبع حكم بني خالد.

حاولت الكويت المحافظة على استقلالها عن القوى الاستعمارية خلال هذه الحقبة الممتدة بين القرنين السابع عشر والثامن عشر. إلا أن ذلك الوضع قد تغير عام 1870م عندما بدأت الإمبراطورية العثمانية في التوسُّع باتجاه الجنوب، كرد فعل للسلطة المتنامية للإمبراطورية البريطانية في الخليج، وقد ضمت الكويت إلى أراضيها بجعلها تابعة إداريًا لولاية البصرة العثمانية.

وفي 1896، انقطعت العلاقات العثمانية الكويتية عندما اغتال الشيخ مبارك آل صباح أخويه محمد وجراح وأعلن نفسه حاكمًا للكويت محل محمد. بعد هذا الحادث طالب مبارك بالحماية البريطانية، وفي 1899م وقَّع على معاهدة سرية مع الإمبراطورية البريطانية وافق بموجبها على عدم تأجير أو التخلي عن أي منطقة كويتية لقوى أجنبية في مقابل حماية بريطانيا له ضد التهديدات الخارجية.

تلا معاهدة 1899م، التوقيع على مجموعة من الاتفاقيات الأخرى بين الكويت والحكومة البريطانية في بدايات القرن العشرين، والتي منحت طابعًا رسميًا للعلاقة بين البلدين. وكثير من هذه الاتفاقيات قيَّدت سلطات أسرة الصباح في الحُكم المستقل فلم يكن يتسنى لهم استغلال موارد النفط وتجارة اللؤلؤ دون الحصول على موافقة مسبقة من الحكومة البريطانية. وفي 1904م، عُيِّن أول وكيل سياسي بريطاني في الكويت، وقد اكتسب المنصب قدرًا كبيرًا من النفوذ واستمر حتى 1961م.

وعلى الرغم من أن الكويت حكمها 15 شيخا منذ عام 1716م، فقد اتفق سكان الكويت آنذاك على أن يتولى صباح الأول الرئاسة وشؤون الحكم وحتى اليوم، إلا أن الشيخ مبارك الصباح يُعتبر المؤسس الحقيقي والفعلي للدولة، وقد نص الدستور الكويتي في مادته الرابعة على أن جميع حكام الكويت من بعده هم من ذريته بأبنائه وأبناء أبناءه.

قامت أول تجربة انتخابية في هذا المجتمع الصغير عن طريق إنشاء المجلس البلدي عام 1930م. اختار الكويتيون مجلساً يتكون من 11 عضوا ورئيس دائم من آل الصباح.

وتلت انتخابات البلدية انتخابات لدوائر المعارف والصحة والأوقاف عام 1936م وكان لتلك الانتخابات أثرها الكبير في زيادة الوعي بمبدأ الشورى والمشاركة في تنظيم شؤون الدولة من خلال مؤسساتهم.

ظهرت أول مطالبة عراقية للكويت عام 1938م، وهو العام الذي اكتشف فيه النفط في الإمارة. على الرغم من أن العراق والإمبراطورية العثمانية لم يحكما الكويت بالفعل. وواصل العراق مطالبته ولو بجزء منها على الأقل، لا سيما جزر بيبان والوربة الاستراتيجية.

غادرت أولى شحنات التصدير النفطي عام 1946م. ومع تطور الصناعة النفطية، بدأت الدولة تحصد عوائد مرتفعة وانخفض اعتماد آل الصباح على الرسوم التجارية التي كان يسددها كبار التجار في الكويت.

من الاستقلال إلى الكويت اليوم (١٩٦١-٢٠٢٠)

في 19 يونيو 1961م، اعترفت بريطانيا باستقلال الكويت. بعد ستة أيام، جدد العراق ادعائه، والذي تم رفضها من قبل القوات البريطانية ثم من قبل جامعة الدول العربية.

لم يكن حتى أكتوبر 1963م أن اعترف النظام العراقي الجديد رسميًا باستقلال الكويت، وبعد ذلك، حدودها، مع الاستمرار في الضغط من أجل الوصول إلى الجزر.

إثر الغزو العراقي أغسطس 1990م استمرت حكومة الشيخ سعد العبد الله السالم تدبير شؤون البلاد من مدينة الطائف السعودية حتى ما بعد التحرير بحملة عسكرية قادتها الولايات المتحدة في فبراير 1991م.

في سياق الإصلاح السياسي، أصدر أمير البلاد جابر الأحمد الصباح مرسومًا تاريخيًا عام 2003م يفصل منصب رئيس الوزراء عن ولي العهد. بعد عامين انتزعت المرأة الكويتية حق التصويت والترشح في الانتخابات البرلمانية.

وفي يناير عام 2006م، تم مبايعة الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر، أميرًا للدولة خلفًا للشيخ سعد العبد الله السالم الصباح، الذي لم تدم فترة حكمة سوى أيام قليلة.

إقرأ المزيد

عام 1961، كانت الكويت أولى المشايخ الخاضعة للبريطانيين التي تحصل على الاستقلال، والوحيدة التي أخذت زمام المبادرة بنفسها.
نظراً لاعتماد الكويت على النفط، يبدو أنه من المناسب البدء بتاريخ البلاد في العصر الجوراسي (قبل 208-146 مليون سنة). حصرت العمليات ا...
في عهد الأمير جابر، الذي أصبح بالفعل أقوى رجل في الكويت في أوائل سبعينات القرن العشرين، بدأت تظهر في الكويت خصائص الدولة البول...
خلال عام 1990، ازداد التوتر بين العراق والكويت نتيجة الامتداد الهيكلي لحصة الكويت في إنتاج النفط في منظمة الأوبيك مما كان له تأث...
عندما أطاح الغزو الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة بنظام صدام حسين في أوائل عام 2003، اختبرت الكويت ازدهاراً اقتصادياً آخر. فقد تمكنت ...
عكست نتائج انتخابات شباط/فبراير 2012 الغضب الشعبي تجاه الفساد والركود السياسي بين الحكومة ومجلس الأمة. ورغم فوز المعارضة، إلا أ...
صدم هجوم انتحاري تم تنفيذه على مسجد شيعي مكتظ في منطقة الصوابر في مدينة الكويت خلال رمضان الجاري (26 يونيو 2015) المجتمع الكويتي. و...
عندما تكون البلاد محاطةً بقوى إقليمية مثل السعودية، والعراق، وإيران، فلا بدّ دوماً من وجود من يسعى خلف الحصول على خيرات البلا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Past to Present

History of Kuwait from Past to Present

Kuwait and its islands are full of monuments that might be traced back to ancient ages before Christ. These monuments represent civilizations of several ages, starting from the stone ages and passing by the bronze ages. Some have been found in Failaka Island and Umm Al Namil Island, dating back to the Hellenistic civilization. At that time, Kuwait’s populace was influenced by the Dilmun civilization that resided in Bahrain during this period.

Although the Hellenistic people have lived in Failaka Island since the 6th century BC, Kuwait’s first appearance in history was during the Greek era (3rd century BC). That was when Alexander the Great’s forces took over Failaka Island and named it “Icarus”. Alongside natives, Greeks and foreign traders lived in the island.

During the millennium covering the era running from Alexander’s time and the Islamic one, Failaka Island and the adjacent coast might have fallen under the domination of the Seleucids, Parthians and Sassanid dynasties.

During the far ancient ages, Kuwait was a part of the ancient Bahrain region, which extended from Basra to Oman on the Persian/Arab Gulf, covering the regions of Al-Ahsa, modern Bahrain and Qatar. The land of Kuwait was home to Arab tribes, the most prominent of which is the Banu Tamim tribe. The state of Ara’eer family and Bani Khalid Emirs appeared in Al-Ahsa and secured their dominance over Najd, Qatar, and Iraq. They built a fort in the location of Kuwait city (which was called Kut back then). The fort is located on the Bahniyah high plateau in front of Sayf Palace.

Arrival of Al-Sabah family and the British protection (1601-1961)

In the 17th century (1601-1700), the city of Kuwait was founded. Since the foundation of Kuwait city, most of its residents have been working as divers for collecting pearls and in naval trade between India and Arabia. This helped turning Kuwait into a commercial hub in northern Arabian/Persian Gulf. Kuwait became a main port for the Arabian Peninsula and Mesopotamia. The city has prospered since Al Sabah and their relative Banu Utbah settled in it in 1716 after it was under the Bani Khalid reign.

In the 17th and the 18th centuries, Kuwait tried to maintain its independence from colonial powers. However, the situation has changed in 1870 when the Ottoman Empire began expanding towards the south. This came as a reaction to the growing dominance of the British Empire in the Gulf region. The Ottoman Empire annexed Kuwait and made it a vassal of the Ottoman Basra Vilayet.

In 1896, the Kuwaiti-Ottoman relations were severed when Sheikh Mubarak Al-Sabah assassinated his brothers Muhammad and Jarrah. Sheikh Mubarak announced himself the ruler of Kuwait instead of his brother Muhammad. After this incident, Mubarak requested protection from the British. In 1899, he signed a secret treaty with the British Empire, whereby he agreed not to lease or forfeit any Kuwaiti land to foreign powers in exchange for the British protection against any external threats.

After the 1899 treaty, many other treaties were signed between Kuwait and the British government in the early 20th century. These treaties provided an official form to the relationship between the two countries. Most of these treaties restricted the authority of Al-Sabah family regarding the independent rule. Al Sabah were prohibited from using oil resources and trading pearl without a pre-approval from the British government. The first British political agent in Kuwait was appointed in 1904. A lot of authority was granted to the agents who remained in Kuwait until 1961.

Since 1716, Kuwait has been ruled by 15 Sheikhs. At that time, the populace of Kuwait that “Sabah I” would take charge. Since then, Al Sabah family rules the emirate. Sheikh Mubarak Al-Sabah is considered the true and actual founder of the state. The 4th article of the Kuwaiti constitution states that all of Kuwait rulers have to be from his descendants.

The first electoral experience in this small community was carried by establishing the Municipal Council in 1930. The Kuwaitis chose a council of 11 members and a permanent leader from Al Sabah dynasty.

The Municipal elections were followed by elections for the directorates of Education, Health, and Awqaf in 1936. These elections had a great impact, increasing awareness of the principle of consultation and participation when it comes to organizing state affairs through its institutions.

The first Iraqi claim in Kuwait was in 1938, which is the same year when oil was discovered in the emirate. However, Kuwait was never effectively ruled by Iraq and or the Ottoman Empire. Iraq continued its claim for even a single part of Kuwait, especially Bubiyan and Warbah strategic islands.

The first shipment of oil exports left in 1946. With the ongoing oil industry development, Kuwait began to reap high returns and Al-Sabah decreased their dependence on the commercial fees that used to be paid by senior traders in Kuwait.

From Independence to Current Kuwait (1961-2020)

Britain recognized Kuwait as an independent state on the 19th of June 1961. Six days later, Iraq renewed its claim in Kuwait, which was now rebuffed first by British and then by the Arab League.

It was not until October 1963 when a new Iraqi regime formally recognized both Kuwait’s independence and, subsequently, its borders. However, this regime continued to press for access to the islands.

In the aftermath of the Iraqi invasion, the government of Sheikh Saad Al-Abdullah Al-Salim continued managing the state affairs from the Saudi city of Taif. This process continued until the liberation of Kuwait by an American led military campaign in February 1991.

Regarding the political reform, Jaber Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah announced a historical decree in 2003 separating the prime minister position from the Crown Prince. Two years later, the Kuwaiti woman acquired her right to elect and run for parliamentary elections.

In January 2006, Sheikh Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber was pledged allegiance as an Emir for the country, succeeding Sheikh Saad Al-Abdullah Al-Salim Al-Sabah, whose reign only lasted for a few days.

Further Reading

Given Kuwait's dependence on oil, it seems appropriate to begin the country's history in the Jurassic period (208-146 million years ago). Tectonic processes during the Jurassic and the Cretaceous (146-165 million years ago) period...
In 1961, Kuwait was the first of the British controlled sheikhdoms of the Gulf to attain independence, and the only one to take the initiative itself.
Under Emir Jaber, who had already become the most powerful man in Kuwait in the early 1970s, Kuwait started began to assume the characteristics of a police state.
In the course of 1990 tensions between Iraq and Kuwait rose as a result of Kuwait’s structural extension of its OPEC oil-production quotum – which had a negative effect on oil prices – and the alleged stealing of oil from a...
When, in early 2003, a US-led invasion toppled the regime of Saddam Hussein, Kuwait enjoyed another economic boom. Kuwaiti firms were able to capitalize on their American contacts in order to gain lucrative contracts for trade, co...
The results of the February 2012 elections reflected popular anger against corruption and the political stalemate between the government and the National Assembly.
The suicide attack carried out in a packed Shia mosque in the Sawaber area of Kuwait City during Ramadan (26 June 2015) shocked Kuwait. The bombing has drawn attention to the problems faced by Kuwaiti society.
Surrounded by regional powerhouses like Saudi Arabia, Iraq and Iran, there could always be someone after your oil. That is the sentiment of many Kuwaitis, with some of them even using the word ‘monsters’ rather than ‘powerho...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!