فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / من الماضي الى الحاضر / هجوم على مسجد شيعي يصدم الكويت

هجوم على مسجد شيعي يصدم الكويت

هجوم على مسجد شيعي يصدم الكويت
الآلاف من السنة و الشيعة من جميع انحاء البلاد يشاركون في جنازة جماعية ل 26 شخصا قتلوا في التفجير الانتحاري الذي استهدف مسجد الإمام الصادق الشيعي في مدينة الكويت, 27 بونيو/حزيران 2015. Photo AP

صدم هجوم انتحاري تم تنفيذه على مسجد شيعي مكتظ في منطقة الصوابر في مدينة الكويت خلال رمضان الجاري (26 يونيو 2015) المجتمع الكويتي، حيث قام رجل يحمل الجنسية السعودية وفقاً لوزارة الداخلية الكويتية، والذي كان قد وصل إلى الكويت غداة يوم الهجوم، بتفجير نفسه مما أودى بحياة 26 من المصلين.

وأدان المواطنون والمسؤولون الكويتيين الهجوم على نطاق واسع، واصفين إياه بالفعل الإرهابي الإجرامي الذي لا يهدد فقط المواطنين الشيعة (حوالي 30% من السكان) بل يتعرّض أيضاً للوحدة الوطنية في الكويت. وعلى الرغم من ارتفاع وتيرة التوترات بين السُنة والشيعة في المنطقة، إلا أن الطائفتين كانتا تعيشان بسلام في الكويت، كما أنّهما ممثلتان في الحكومة والبرلمان.

وسرعان ما أعلنت ولاية نجد، التابعة لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في الجزيرة العربية، مسؤوليتها عن الهجوم. وفي رسالة صوتية تم بثها على موقع يوتيوب، أشار الانتحاري “أبو سليمان الموحد” إلى أنّ الشيعة في الكويت من الروافض (الأشخاص الذين يرفضون السلطة الدينية الشرعية).

كما أعلنت هذه الجماعة في السابق مسؤوليتها عن الهجومين اللذان وقعا على مسجدين في محافظة الشرقية في المملكة العربية السعودية في مايو 2015.
ويستهدف الهجوم الأخير، كحال سابقاته وبكل وضوح، المسلمين الشيعة الذين تكفرهم الدولة الإسلامية المتطرفة. وبالتالي، كانت الأقلية الشيعية الكبيرة في الكويت هدفاً سهلاً للإنتحاري، لذا من غير المستغرب وقوع الهجوم في الكويت.

وأفاد تقرير باعتقال السلطات لأولئك الذين ساعدوا الجاني، من بينهم ثلاثة من البدون (عديمي الجنسية) وواحد كويتي، الذي وفقاً للسلطات الكويتية، من المؤيدين “للفكر المتطرف المنحرف”. ويدل هذا على وجود شبكة محلية كانت تتواجد في المكان لمساعدة الانتحاري. وعلى الرغم من أن الانتحاري كما يقال يحمل الجنسية السعودية، والذي من شأنه أن يدعم الإدعاءات بأن الهجوم جاء من “الخارج،” إلا أنّ هناك أيضاً عوامل محلية كان لها دور فاعل، ومن بين أمور أخرى، وجود روابط قبلية ودينية بين الكويتيين والسعوديين.

عرضة للاضطرابات

إنّ حقيقة أنّ ثلاثة من شركاء الانتحاري من البدون، يُشير إلى أنّ جزءاً من السكان البدون المحرومين من حقوقهم في الكويت قد يكونون مستعدون لتنفيذ أو على الأقل دعم خطوات أكثر جدية من مجرد دعم المظاهرات. ومن جهة أخرى، سلط التفجير الأضواء على المشاكل التي يواجهها المجتمع الكويتي.

وبسبب افتقارهم إلى حق الإقامة في الكويت والعمل وغيرها من المزايا التي يتمتع بها المواطنون الكويتيون، يتظاهر البدون منذ عام 2011. وتصل أعداد أولئك الذين لا يحملون الجنسية 120,000 على الأقل، وفقاً لموقع حقوق البدون على شبكة الانترنت. الحكومة، التي لا تعترف بحق هؤلاء في الحصول على الجنسية الكويتية، تزعم أنهم يفتقرون إلى الوثائق المناسبة، وبأنهم أخفوا وثائقهم الأصلية الصادرة من المملكة العربية السعودية، أو سوريا أو العراق. وقد فشلت السلطات في منح حقوق للبدون، حتى لأولئك من أصحاب الحقوق المشروعة. ومن الجدير ذكره، أن احتجاجات البدون تعرضت للقمع في السابق.

وبالتالي، فإن قضية البدون من المشاكل العالقة بالنسبة للسطات الكويتية، مما يدفع أفراداً من السكان المحبطين إلى اللجوء للأفكار المتطرفة.
وفي السابق، تم إسكات المعارضة السياسية، حيث يقبع زعيمها، مسلم البراك، في السجن، بينما فشلت الحكومة في تلبية مطالب المعارضة. ووفقاً لأكاديمي كويتي، قد خلق هذا جواً يدفع أولئك المهمشين في المجتمع (كل من البدون والكويتيين من أصول قبلية)، بالإضافة إلى الشباب غير الراضي، إلى دفع عجلة الإضرابات وتهديد الاستقرار. ويعتقد أن السبيل الوحيد لتجنب الاضطرابات وحماية الاستقرار في الكويت، تكمن في تعزيز الحقوق السياسية وتلبية مطالب المعارضة. وأدى التفجير الأخير إلى تعاضد أفراد المجتمع الكويتي معاً، مما قد يوفر فرصاً للمصالحة.

ومع ذلك، فقد فشلت الحكومة حتى الآن في التحرك نحو هذا التفاهم. وفي محاولة للحفاظ على أمن واستقرار الكويت، تعهدت السلطات بملاحقة المسؤولين عن زعزعة أمنها، وعززت من قوانين مكافحة الإرهاب في الكويت، ومنحت الأجهزة الأمنية المزيد من الصلاحيات لملاحقة المتطرفين في البلاد.

وبحسب تقارير سابقة، يعمد بعض أثرياء من الكويت إلى تمويل الجماعات المتطرفة في سوريا. وفي مايو 2014، استقال وزير الأوقاف والشؤون الاسلامية الكويتي نايف العجمي من منصبه، بعد أن اتهمه وكيل وزارة الخزانة الاميركية لشؤون الارهاب والاستخبارات المالية بالترويج للجهاد (العنيف) في سوريا وتشجيع تمويل الإرهاب. واعترف العجمي بمشاركته في حملات لجمع التبرعات لسوريا إلا أنه نفى استفادة الجماعات الإرهابية منها.

وتعتبر الكويت من أكبر الجهات المانحة للاجئين السوريين، إلا أنها تبذل قصارى جهدها للسيطرة على التمويل غير الرسمي لجماعات المعارضة في سوريا من قِبل الأفراد. وقد انضم عدد من الكويتيين إلى تنظيم القاعدة أو الدولة الإسلامية (71، وفقا لصحيفة القبس الكويتية، نقلاً عن تقرير لصحيفة واشنطن بوست).

وكانت الكويت قد شددت بالفعل قوانين مكافحة الإرهاب للحد من تمويل المتطرفين، بعد تعرضها لضغوطات من قِبل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، إلا أنّ هذا أدى أيضاً إلى شن حملة على دعاة الإصلاح السياسي وأولئك الذين يعبرون عن وجهات نظرهم على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. فقد حوكم مغردون على موقع تويتر لمناقشتهم قضايا تتعلق بالسياسات المحلية وقضايا السُنة/ الشيعة ولإنتقادهم زعماء أجانب.

وفي الماضي، كان يتم السكوت على الهجوم اللفظي على الشيعة في الكويت، إلا أنه تم قمع الأصوات التي تُثير مثل هذه القضية. ومع ذلك، وبعد ساعات من الهجوم الأخير، أغلقت وزارة الإعلام قناة الوصال المحلية بتهمة تأجيج الصراع الطائفي، وبحسب ما ورد، فقد سبق ونشرت القناة تغريدات تدعو فيها السُنة إلى مهاجمة المساجد الشيعية.

وفي حال كانت القوانين الجديدة الأكثر صرامة تحدّ من حرية التعبير والحريات الأخرى المحمية بموجب القانون الكويتي، سيشكل هذا بكل تأكيد مصدر قلقٍ شديد.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن الكويت يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
وفي يناير عام 2006م، تم مبايعة الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر، أميرًا للد...
لطالما عُرفت الكويت، منذ أمدٍ طويل، بارتفاع سقف حريات الصحافة لا ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Uncredited ©Hollandse Hoogte | Uncredited ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Past to Present / Attack on Shia Mosque Shocked Kuwait

Attack on Shia Mosque Shocked Kuwait

Attack on Shia Mosque shocked Kuwait
Thousands of Sunnis and Shiites from across the country take part in a mass funeral procession for 26 people killed in a suicide bombing that targeted the Shia Imam Sadiq Mosque in Kuwait City, 27 June 2015. Photo AP

The suicide attack carried out in a packed Shia mosque in the Sawaber area of Kuwait City during Ramadan (26 June 2015) shocked Kuwaiti society. A man, alleged by the Kuwaiti ministry of Interior to be a Saudi national who had arrived in Kuwait on the day of the attack, blew himself up, taking the lives of 26 worshippers.

Kuwaiti citizens and officials widely condemned the attack, describing it as a criminal, terrorist deed, threatening not only the Shia part of the population (about 30 percent) but also the national unity of Kuwait. Although tensions between Sunnis and Shiites have been rising in the region, Kuwaitis of the two sects have been living together in peace, and both sects are represented in government and parliament.

Responsibility for the attack was quickly claimed by al-Najd Province, an IS-affiliated group in Saudi Arabia. The suicide bomber, ‘Abu Sulaiman al-Muwahhad’, denounced the Shia of Kuwait as rawafid (people who reject legitimate religious authority) in a voice message posted on YouTube.

The group was also responsible for two attacks on Shia mosques in the Eastern Province of Saudi Arabia in May 2015.

This recent attack, like the earlier ones, clearly targeted Shia Muslims, whom the extremist Islamic State regards as infidels. Kuwait’s large Shia minority was an easy target for the suicide bomber, so it is not surprising that the attack took place in Kuwait.

Authorities reportedly arrested those who assisted the perpetrator, including three bidoon (stateless persons) and one Kuwaiti, who, according to Kuwaiti authorities, subscribed to an “extremist and deviant ideology.” This indicates that a local network was in place to help the suicide bomber. Although the bomber was reportedly a Saudi national, supporting the claim that the attack came from ‘outside’, there are also local factors at play; among other things, Saudis and Kuwaitis share tribal and religious links.

Susceptible to unrest

The fact that three of the accomplices were bidoon indicates that part of the deprived bidoon population of Kuwait might be willing to carry out or at least support actions more serious than demonstrations.

The bombing has drawn attention to the problems faced by Kuwaiti society.

Lacking the rights to residence in Kuwait and to employment and other rights and benefits enjoyed by Kuwaiti citizens, bidoon have been protesting since 2011. Kuwait’s stateless population numbers at least 120,000, according to the web site Bedoon Rights. The government, which does not recognize the right of these residents to Kuwaiti nationality, claims that they lack the proper documents and that they have hidden their original identity documents issued by Saudi ArabiaSyria, or Iraq. Authorities have failed to grant rights to bidoon, even to those with legitimate demands. Protests by bidoon have been suppressed in the past.

The issue of the bidoon is therefore a lingering problem for the Kuwaiti authorities, leaving a frustrated part of the population susceptible to extremist ideologies.

The political opposition has been silenced. Its leader Musallam al-Barrak is in jail, and the government has failed to meet the demands of the opposition. This creates an atmosphere in which those on the fringes of society (both bidoon and Kuwaitis of tribal descent), in addition to dissatisfied youth, can fuel unrest and threaten stability, according to a Kuwaiti academic. The only way to avoid turmoil and protect Kuwait’s stability, he thinks, is to strengthen political rights and meet the opposition’s demands. The bombing has brought Kuwaitis together and might provide an opportunity for reconciliation.

The government has, however, so far failed to move towards such an understanding. In an attempt to safeguard Kuwait’s stability and security, authorities vowed to prosecute those responsible and strengthen counter-terrorism laws and give the security services more freedom to prosecute extremists in the country.

Wealthy individuals from Kuwait have reportedly been financing extremist groups in Syria. In May 2014, Kuwait’s justice minister Nayef al-Ajmi resigned after an undersecretary of the US Treasury accused him of calling for (violent) jihad in Syria and promoting the funding of terrorism. Al-Ajmi admitted he had taken part in fundraising campaigns for Syria but denied that they benefited terrorist groups.

Kuwait is one of the biggest donors to Syrian refugees but has struggled to control unofficial funding of Syrian opposition groups by private individuals. A number of Kuwaitis have joined al-Qaeda or the Islamic State (71, according to the Kuwaiti daily al-Qabas, citing a report by the Washington Post).

Kuwait had already toughened its counter-terrorism laws in order to curb financiers of extremism, under pressure from the United States, but this has led also to a crackdown on those calling for political reform and expressing their views on social media. Twitter users have been prosecuted for discussing issues such as local politics and Sunni/Shiite issues and for criticizing foreign leaders.

Verbal attacks on Kuwait’s Shiites were tolerated in the past, but voices countering these attacks have been suppressed. Hours after the attack, however, the Ministry of Information closed down the local al-Wesal TV channel for fuelling sectarian conflict. The channel had reportedly sent out tweets calling on Sunnis to attack Shia mosques.

If the new, tougher laws further limit the freedom of expression and other freedoms protected in the Kuwaiti constitution, it will be a cause of serious concern.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Kuwait country file provides a comprehensive overview about Kuwait, its history, politics, culture, economy a...
In January 2006, Sheikh Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber was pledged allegiance as an Emir for the country, succeeding Sheikh Saad Al-A...
Kuwait was long known for its high degree of press freedom, particularly when compared to other Gulf states. Criticism o...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Uncredited ©Hollandse Hoogte | Uncredited ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update